Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/23/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 18 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 1, 19 and 20 of Application No. 18/822,855. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 20 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/822,855 (Kim et al) and in view of Dutta et al (US20180336676, hereinafter “Dutta”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the copending application since the copending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter as follows:
18/991,923
18/822,855
Claim 1. A method for generating an aneurysm region performed by an electronic device, comprising:
obtaining, by at least one processor, input images;
generating, by the at least one processor, a vessel mesh based on the input images;
determining, by the at least one processor, an adhered vessel from the vessel mesh; and separating, by the at least one processor, the adhered vessel…
(an adhered vessel is understood to be the same as a kissing vessel in light of the instant specifications [00192])
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A method for generating an aneurysm region comprising:
obtaining an input image;…
and Claim 20 An electronic device comprising:a processor;…
Claim 1…generating a vessel mesh based on the input image;…
and Claim 20 An electronic device comprising:a processor;…
Claim 19….determining a kissing vessel in contact with the aneurysm region; and separating the kissing vessel.
Regarding Claim 1: Claims 1, 19 and 20 of Application no. 18/822,855 Kim et al teach the limitations of independent claim 1 and the instant application but fails to disclose based on user input.
Dutta et al teaches separating, by the at least one processor, ([0034] “In one implementation, computer system 201 comprises a processor device or central processing unit (CPU)”) the adhered vessel based on user input. ([0042] “eliminates vessels that are indirectly connected to the aneurysm… enable selection of the aneurysm dome point in the volumetric image data via a user interface presented at workstation 234.” Dutta’s indirectly connected vessel which is connected to the aneurysm is understood to be the same as the claimed adhered vessel in light of instant specifications [0191-0192])
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to have separating the adhered vessels based on user input as taught by Dutta to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that (Dutta et al [0032] “the aneurysm segmentation unit generates segmentation results that are much more accurate and shows minimal amount of leak outside the actual aneurysm.”)
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/822,855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the copending application since the copending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter as follows:
18/991,923
18/822,855
Claim 18.
An electronic device comprising: a processor and a memory connected to the processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, wherein the processor is configured to execute the program, and when the program is executed, the steps of the method according to claim 1 are implemented.
Claim 20. (Currently Amended)
An electronic device comprising: a processor; and a memory connected to the processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, the processor is configured to execute the program, and when the program is executed by the processor, the method according to claim 1 are implemented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smiricinschi et al. (US20210015373, hereinafter “Smiricinschi”) and in view of Dutta et al (US20180336676, hereinafter “Dutta”)
Claim 1. Smiricinschi teaches A method for generating an aneurysm region performed by an electronic device, comprising: obtaining, by at least one processor, ([0263] “the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform the operations described herein.”) input images; ([0149] “the image apparatus 110 from FIG. 1 provides the images”) generating, by the at least one processor, a vessel mesh based on the input images; ([0146] “The virtual skeleton model 400 is created by the skeletonization module 102 from an exemplary blood vessel network 402 of a patient.” And [0149] “the image apparatus 110 from FIG. 1 provides the images used to create a model of the blood vessel network 402.” And [0116] “virtual skeleton model of the blood vessel network is at least created in part based on images taken of the blood vessel network.”)
Smiricinschi does not explicitly teach determining, by the at least one processor, an adhered vessel from the vessel mesh; and separating, by the at least one processor, the adhered vessel based on user input.
Dutta teaches determining, by the at least one processor, ([0035] “The computer-readable program code is executed by CPU 204 to process data acquired by, for example, imaging device 230.”) an adhered vessel from the vessel mesh; ([0054] “determine the borderline of the kissing vessel and aneurysm surface.”) and separating, by the at least one processor, the adhered vessel ([0050] “eliminates any kissing vessel with a large connection with the aneurysm in the combined mask. Kissing vessels with small connection (e.g., 2 voxels wide) with the aneurysm are eliminated by the cleanup performed in previous steps.”) based on user input. ([0042] “eliminates vessels that are indirectly connected to the aneurysm… enable selection of the aneurysm dome point in the volumetric image data via a user interface presented at workstation 234.” Dutta’s indirectly connected vessel which is connected to the aneurysm is understood to be the same as the claimed adhered vessel in light of instant specifications [0191-0192])
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smiricinschi to have separating the adhered vessels based on user input as taught by Dutta to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that (Dutta et al [0032] “the aneurysm segmentation unit generates segmentation results that are much more accurate and shows minimal amount of leak outside the actual aneurysm.”)
Claim 18. Smiricinschi and Dutta teach and when the program is executed, the steps of the method according to claim 1 are implemented.
Smiricinschi teaches An electronic device comprising: a processor and a memory connected to the processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, ([0140] “program, software, stored in the memory 204 (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) and executed by the CPU 202 to process data.”) wherein the processor is configured to execute the program, ([0140] “general-purpose computer system that becomes a specific purpose computer system when executing the subroutine, routine, program, software, stored in the memory 204.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dutta et al US20180336676 discloses eliminating kissing vessel connected to the aneurysm by detecting a crown shape based on a center point of the aneurysm dome point but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole.
Smiricinschi et al US20210015373 discloses identifying a cutting plane based on a point and ellipse measurements as well as a dome height and width but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole.
Hirohata et al US20150245776 discloses calculating a torsion angle in the center line of each node to analyze and track an aneurysm and its forcible displacement to the blood vessel wall surface but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole.
Cárdenes et al “Automatic Aneurysm Neck Detection Using Surface Voronoi Diagrams” discloses vessel segmentation for automatic aneurysm detection but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Cárdenes et al “Automatic Aneurysm Neck Detection Using Surface Voronoi Diagrams” discloses vessel segmentation for automatic aneurysm detection.
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663