DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18-20 recites The recording medium, … (line 1). Suggest adding “non-transitory computer-readable” between “the” and “recording medium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 13, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashizawa (JP 2023163692 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ashizawa discloses an image generation apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (Fig.7: memory 92, notice processor 91 shown in Fig.7, therefore Ashizawa indirectly discloses the memory stores instructions to drive the processor 91); and
at least one processor (Fig.7: processor 91) configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire a synthetic aperture radar (SAR) image (Fig.2 and p.2
);
detect an object included in the SAR image (p.2
);
determine a size of a cut-out image corresponding to the object (p.4:
Also see image 42 in Fig.4 below
); and
generate a cut-out image obtained by cutting out an image having the determined size from the SAR image in such a way that a position of the object in the cut-out image is random (Fig.6 and p.7
).
Regarding Claim 3/15/19, Ashizawa further discloses randomly determine a position of a reference point in a detection range in which the object is detected in the cut-out image (p.7:
Notice the center of circle which is defined by 513/514 is interpreted as the reference point).
Regarding Claim 4/16/20, Ashizawa discloses generate the cut-out image in such a way that the entire detection range in which the object is detected is included in the cut-out image (see Fig.4: cutout image 42.
).
Regarding Claim 12, Ashizawa further discloses generate the cut-out image cut out from the SAR image so as not to include the object (Fig.4 image 43. Also see p.4
).
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is/are similar to Claim 1 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is/are similar to Claim 1 except in the format of non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 11, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashizawa (JP 2023163692 A).
Regarding Claim 2/14/18, Ashizawa teaches in order to detect a target object from an actual SAR image with relatively high accuracy using machine learning, SAR images of the target object captured at various angles are required as a learning data set (p.3 5th paragraph). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to generate the cut-out image in such a way that the position of the object in the cut-out image is random to such an extent that the position of the object is not learned as one of feature amounts in order to ensure accuracy in detecting the target object since it is difficult to prepare SAR images taken at various angles as suggested by Ashizawa (p.3 5th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 5-6, Ashizawa discloses randomly assigning cutout X/Y coordinates, object X/Y coordinates and azimuth 515 (p.7 eight paraph). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Ashizawa and to include the limitation of output a screen on which a cut-out range of the cut-out image is capable of being adjusted; receive an instruction to generate the cut-out image in the adjusted cut-out range; and generate the cut-out image in the adjusted cut-out range and the limitation of output a screen capable of designating a position of the object in the cut-out image; receive designation of the position of the object in the cut-out image; and generate the cut-out image in such a way that the object is included at the designated position in order to allow users to make fine adjustments.
Regarding Claim 11, Ashizawa discloses The learning data generation device 1 generates a learning data set for machine learning to detect a target object from a remote sensing image (p.2
). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Ashizawa and to include the limitation of detect a similar object that looks similar to the object; and generate the cut-out image in such a way that a position of the similar object in the cut-out image is random in order to use the training data to detect the target object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose or render obviousness the limitation of create a distribution map representing a positional deviation of the object in the cut-out image; and output a screen displaying the distribution map as claimed in dependent Claim 7. The closest prior art, Ashizawa (JP 2023163692 A), discloses generating randomly cut-out SAR images. However, it fails to disclose including a distribution map in the cut-out image. Claims 8-10 are objected due to their dependency on Claim 7.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613