DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is a responsive to the amendment filed on 7/8/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07/8/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded and approved on 07/18/2026.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner notes that U.S. Patent No. US11943257B2 changed assignment from “ABNORMAL SECURITY CORPORATION” to “ABNORMAL AI, INC.” on 3/28/25.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Drawings
Applicant’s Response:
The attached sheets of drawings include formalized versions of Figures 10, 12, and 13. These sheets, which includes Figures 10, 12, and 13, replaces the original sheet including Figures 10, 12, and 13.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 7/8/26, with respect to Figures 10, 12, and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 4/8/26 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s Response:
Claims 1-20 have been rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting. It is believed that the Terminal Disclaimer filed herewith is sufficient to overcome the double patenting rejection.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 7/8/26, with respect to claims 1, 12 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 4/8/26 has been withdrawn.
Rejection of Claims under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Response:
Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach the newly added limitations of:
replacing for the message the specific linked resource reference with a replacement linked resource reference to an interstitial resource, wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to amended subject matter properly addressed with the newly cited reference of Tyler et al. (US 20200137110 A1).
The combination of Jakobsson et al. (US 10880322 B1) and Brown et al. (US 20140259158 A1) and Tyler et al. (US 20200137110 A1) teaches the language of the independent claims.
All remaining arguments are now moot in regards to the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 10880322 B1) and further in view of Brown et al. (US 20140259158 A1) and Tyler et al. (US 20200137110 A1).
As to claim 1, Jakobsson et al. teaches a method, comprising: receiving a message (See Col 28 Ln 58, Teaches that information associated with a message (e.g., message to be delivered to an intended recipient) is received. In some embodiments, the information is received at analysis server 102 of FIG. 1. The information may include information included in or related to the message. For example, the information includes email header information including information related to email accounts (e.g., email address, display name, etc.) of the sender, recipient(s) information, devices used to compose/send the message (e.g., mail user agent, operating system, location, device time zone, etc.), networks utilized (e.g., server, IP address, cellular network/carrier, etc.), automation, if any, utilized to send the message (e.g., whether a script/API was utilized to send the message), etc. In some embodiments, the information associated with the message includes contents of the message (e.g., a copy of the message) and/or attachments of the message. Examples of the message include an electronic mail (i.e., email), an instant message, a chat message, and any other forms of electronic messages.);
identifying one or more linked resource references included in the message (See Col 30 Ln 51, Teaches that the received message information is analyzed and one or more resource identifiers in the received message to be replaced are identified. Examples of the resource identifiers include URLs, URIs, hyperlinks, mailto/reply-to links, call-to-numbers, click-to-call links, File Transfer Protocol links, linked files, attachments, and references to any other materials that a message recipient may interact with. In some embodiments, all resource identifiers (e.g., URLs) included in the message are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. In some embodiments, only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. There are benefits associated with replacing all resources identifiers, as opposed to only resource identifiers that are considered high risk. Namely, this approach produces a uniform view from the user's perspective; it permits retroactive classification of threats; and it creates insight into user behavior, including actions taken by users on personal devices. Such devices commonly do not have the same degree of protection as enterprise-issued computers, and introducing URL proxies is helpful to monitor and audit risk.);
determining that the threat score satisfies a replacement criterion (See Col 30 Ln 60, Teaches that only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers.);
replacing for the message the specific linked resource reference with a replacement linked resource reference to an interstitial resource (See Col 37 Ln 12, Teaches that the identified one or more resource identifiers are replaced in the message with corresponding determined alternative resource identifier(s). The modified message with the alternative resource identifier(s) may then be allowed to be delivered to the intended recipient(s) of the message instead of the original message. Because the alternative resource identifier(s) can point a proxy that can dynamically track when the recipient requests content of the alternative resource identifier, further security analysis can be performed dynamically when the request is made. For example, using the alternative resource identifier, the corresponding original resource identifier and associated context information are obtained and used in analyzing a security risk of content referenced by the original resource identifier. If it is determined that content referenced by the original resource identifier is safe, the content is obtained and provided and/or the requester is redirected to the original resource identifier. Otherwise, the request for the content is blocked or a modified content is provided.);
tracking one or more user interactions with the replacement linked resource reference (See Col 33 Ln 46, Teaches that the alternative resource identifier is based at least in part on the original resource identifier and an intended recipient of the received message. This allows the generated alternative resource identifier to be specific to a particular intended recipient and a particular original resource identifier. For example, if the received message is sent to a plurality of recipients, a different alternative resource identifier is generated for each intended recipient (e.g., different one for each recipient email address specified in the message) for the same original resource identifier. By using a different alternative resource identifier for different recipients, actions of each different recipient can be individually tracked based on the corresponding different alternative resource identifier. At least a portion of the alternative resource identifier may identify an encrypted/encoded identifier of a corresponding intended recipient of the received message.);
and performing a security action based on the tracked one or more user interactions (See Col 44 Ln 22, Teaches that an action is performed based on the analysis, if applicable. Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determining a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference; wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Brown et al., from analogous art, teaches for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determining a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference (See ¶ [0063], Teaches that determines a risk score for the original (actual) webpage. If the determined risk score is greater than a predetermined risk score (i.e., the remote webpage is potentially malicious)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Brown et al. into Jakobsson et al. in order to reduce risks from phishing electronic message (See Brown et al. ¶ [0003]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Tyler et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat (See ¶¶ [0133], [0093], Teaches that When user 2501 clicks encoded link 2411, the threat protection system may perform additional checks 2502 to determine whether the original link target is a potential threat. It may then display a warning message such as 2503. One or more embodiments may not perform any additional checks, but instead may directly display a warning when an encoded link is checked. One or more embodiments may block a site entirely if the check 2502 indicates that the site is a potential threat. Warning message 2503 may for example explain to the user why the link is a potential threat. It may also caution the user not to provide any personal or sensitive information to the site. The warning may provide the user with an option 2504 to proceed to the original site 2505, or an option 2506 to not connect. One or more embodiments may provide any desired information, education, warnings, caveats, or options to the user when the user clicks an encoded link or otherwise accesses a message that has been transformed by the threat protection system.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tyler et al. into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. in order to analyze the content to determine whether such content would pose a security threat if the user were to fully interact with such content (See Tyler et al. ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference are based on one or more of the following associated with the specific linked resource reference: a domain name, a keyword, a use of a reference shortener, a use of authentication, an authentication type, or a past knowledge of the specific linked resource reference (See Col 46 Ln 3, Teaches that content included in a message is analyzed to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message. For example, a message body of the message is analyzed to identify whether it includes one or more text/keywords from a list of keywords associated with a security risk. A keyword may be included in the list because the keyword identifies conversations about sensitive content that could cause harm to the recipient if the recipient replies or takes action related to the keyword. For example, keywords “social security number,” “password,” “login,” “wire instructions,” “confidential,” “payment,” “ID,” obfuscated text, etc. may be included in the list of keywords associated with a security risk. A content risk component score is determined based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, an increase in the number (e.g., of different types) and degree of risk of security risk keywords included in the message increases the associated content risk component score. If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the content risk component score based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, if it is common for a sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment, an inclusion of a keyword related to invoices and payment would not cause the content risk component score to go up as much as compared to a situation in which it is not common for sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment. Thus a contribution of a security risk keyword included in the message to the content risk component score is reduced if the same or similar keyword in scope and topic (e.g., keyword that is a synonym or topically related word) has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on the number and length of time the same or similar keyword in scope and topic has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. In some embodiments, analyzing content included in the message to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message includes determining a content risk component score based on a message signature included in the message. For example based on past observations about types of email signatures typically included in email messages from the sender of the message, the associated content risk component score is increased if an expected signature is not included in the message (e.g., given other detected attributes of the message and the expected signature for the given other detected attributes) or if an unexpected signature is detected (e.g., never observed signature or included signature is an out of context signature that does not match an expected signature for the given detected attributes of the message). At 404, entries included in a header of the message are analyzed to determine one or more header entry risk component scores of the message.).
As to claim 3, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference are based on one or more of the following associated with the message: a message subject, a message header, an Internet Protocol (IP) address, message text, or an attachment (See Col 46 Ln 3, Teaches that content included in a message is analyzed to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message. For example, a message body of the message is analyzed to identify whether it includes one or more text/keywords from a list of keywords associated with a security risk. A keyword may be included in the list because the keyword identifies conversations about sensitive content that could cause harm to the recipient if the recipient replies or takes action related to the keyword. For example, keywords “social security number,” “password,” “login,” “wire instructions,” “confidential,” “payment,” “ID,” obfuscated text, etc. may be included in the list of keywords associated with a security risk. A content risk component score is determined based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, an increase in the number (e.g., of different types) and degree of risk of security risk keywords included in the message increases the associated content risk component score. If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the content risk component score based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, if it is common for a sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment, an inclusion of a keyword related to invoices and payment would not cause the content risk component score to go up as much as compared to a situation in which it is not common for sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment. Thus a contribution of a security risk keyword included in the message to the content risk component score is reduced if the same or similar keyword in scope and topic (e.g., keyword that is a synonym or topically related word) has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on the number and length of time the same or similar keyword in scope and topic has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. In some embodiments, analyzing content included in the message to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message includes determining a content risk component score based on a message signature included in the message. For example based on past observations about types of email signatures typically included in email messages from the sender of the message, the associated content risk component score is increased if an expected signature is not included in the message (e.g., given other detected attributes of the message and the expected signature for the given other detected attributes) or if an unexpected signature is detected (e.g., never observed signature or included signature is an out of context signature that does not match an expected signature for the given detected attributes of the message). At 404, entries included in a header of the message are analyzed to determine one or more header entry risk component scores of the message).
As to claim 4, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the threat score includes at least a risk score component and an abnormality score component (See Col 47 Ln 13, Teaches that the header entry risk component score for a header entry is reduced if the same or similar entry (e.g., change in entry from a previously observed entry conforms to known change pattern) has been previously observed in previous message headers of messages from the sender of the message. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on degree of similarity and/or conformance to a typical pattern of change from previous observations. In some embodiments, the header entry risk component score for a header entry is associated with whether the message is an automatically generated message. For example, one or more x-header entries identify whether the message was automatically generated. These entries may be identified based on keywords that identify that the message was generated using a script (e.g., generated using a PHP mailer/script). If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about headers of messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the header entry risk component scores. For example, the header entry risk component score for a header entry identifying an automatically generated message is reduced if the sender typically sends automatically generated messages (e.g., including the same or similar header entry) to the recipient of the message. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on degree of similarity and/or conformance to a typical pattern of change from previous observations.).
As to claim 5, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein determining that the threat score satisfies the replacement criterion includes comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against one or more reference criteria (See Col 62 Ln 65, Teaches that it is determined whether a sender of the message exactly matches a trusted contact. For example, it is determined whether an address of the sender of the message (e.g., in a “From:” field of a message header) exactly matches an address of a trusted contact in a list of trusted contacts for the recipient of the message. In some embodiments, the trusted contacts include trusted contacts identified in 702 and/or 704 of FIG. 7. For example, a list of trusted contacts for the recipient of the message is obtained from storage and email addresses for each trusted contact of the list are compared with the email address of a sender of the message to identify whether there is an exact match.).
As to claim 7, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein tracking the one or more user interactions with the replacement linked resource reference includes tracking one or more of the following: an identity of a visiting user, a time of a visit to the interstitial resource by the visiting user, an access by the visiting user to the specific linked resource reference from the interstitial resource, or a time of an access to the specific linked resource reference from the interstitial resource by the visiting user (See Col 33 Ln 46, Col 35 Ln 19, Teaches that the alternative resource identifier is based at least in part on the original resource identifier and an intended recipient of the received message. This allows the generated alternative resource identifier to be specific to a particular intended recipient and a particular original resource identifier. For example, if the received message is sent to a plurality of recipients, a different alternative resource identifier is generated for each intended recipient (e.g., different one for each recipient email address specified in the message) for the same original resource identifier. By using a different alternative resource identifier for different recipients, actions of each different recipient can be individually tracked based on the corresponding different alternative resource identifier. At least a portion of the alternative resource identifier may identify an encrypted/encoded identifier of a corresponding intended recipient of the received message. Examples of the associated context information (e.g., stored in a database entry associated with at least a portion of the alternative resource identifier or encrypted and included in the alternative resource identifier) include: a display name, an address, an associated security risk, and any other information associated with a sender of the original message; a display name, an address, an associated security risk, and any other information associated with one or more intended recipients of the original message; a classification/security risk analysis result associated with the original message; a classification/security risk analysis result associated with the original resource identifier; at least a portion of a metadata of the original message; at least a portion of a message content of the original message; a sent time, receipt time, and any other time associated with the original message; and any other information associated with the original message or the original resource identifier. The database storing the context information may be used to track and store interaction information associated with the corresponding resource identifiers. For example, the database is updated when a message recipient interacts with an alternative resource identifier (e.g., time/date and which message recipient accesses content of the alternative resource identifier). The database can be used to associate together and track interaction statistics for the same original resource identifier across various different message recipients. For example, the database links together the various different alternative resource identifiers associated with different message recipients for the same original resource identifier and the database is updated every time one of the alternative resource identifiers for this original resource identifier is accessed.).
As to claim 8, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches further comprising: receiving a request to the interstitial resource; and in response to the request to the interstitial resource, providing information on the linked resource reference (See Col 44 Ln 23, Teaches that Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier.).
As to claim 9, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 8 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the provided information includes a description of a security threat associated with the linked resource reference.
Tyler et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the provided information includes a description of a security threat associated with the linked resource reference (See ¶¶ [0133], [0093], Teaches that When user 2501 clicks encoded link 2411, the threat protection system may perform additional checks 2502 to determine whether the original link target is a potential threat. It may then display a warning message such as 2503. One or more embodiments may not perform any additional checks, but instead may directly display a warning when an encoded link is checked. One or more embodiments may block a site entirely if the check 2502 indicates that the site is a potential threat. Warning message 2503 may for example explain to the user why the link is a potential threat. It may also caution the user not to provide any personal or sensitive information to the site. The warning may provide the user with an option 2504 to proceed to the original site 2505, or an option 2506 to not connect. One or more embodiments may provide any desired information, education, warnings, caveats, or options to the user when the user clicks an encoded link or otherwise accesses a message that has been transformed by the threat protection system.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tyler et al. into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. in order to analyze the content to determine whether such content would pose a security threat if the user were to fully interact with such content (See Tyler et al. ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 8 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the provided information includes a description of one or more security threat characteristics associated with the linked resource reference.
Tyler et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the provided information includes a description of one or more security threat characteristics associated with the linked resource reference (See ¶¶ [0133], [0093], Teaches that When user 2501 clicks encoded link 2411, the threat protection system may perform additional checks 2502 to determine whether the original link target is a potential threat. It may then display a warning message such as 2503. One or more embodiments may not perform any additional checks, but instead may directly display a warning when an encoded link is checked. One or more embodiments may block a site entirely if the check 2502 indicates that the site is a potential threat. Warning message 2503 may for example explain to the user why the link is a potential threat. It may also caution the user not to provide any personal or sensitive information to the site. The warning may provide the user with an option 2504 to proceed to the original site 2505, or an option 2506 to not connect. One or more embodiments may provide any desired information, education, warnings, caveats, or options to the user when the user clicks an encoded link or otherwise accesses a message that has been transformed by the threat protection system.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tyler et al. into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. in order to analyze the content to determine whether such content would pose a security threat if the user were to fully interact with such content (See Tyler et al. ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 8 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the provided information includes a reference to the specific linked resource reference accessible from the interstitial resource (See Col 44 Ln 23, Teaches that Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier).
As to claim 12, Jakobsson et al. teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the memory is configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions which when executed cause the one or more processors to: receive a message (See Col 28 Ln 58, Teaches that information associated with a message (e.g., message to be delivered to an intended recipient) is received. In some embodiments, the information is received at analysis server 102 of FIG. 1. The information may include information included in or related to the message. For example, the information includes email header information including information related to email accounts (e.g., email address, display name, etc.) of the sender, recipient(s) information, devices used to compose/send the message (e.g., mail user agent, operating system, location, device time zone, etc.), networks utilized (e.g., server, IP address, cellular network/carrier, etc.), automation, if any, utilized to send the message (e.g., whether a script/API was utilized to send the message), etc. In some embodiments, the information associated with the message includes contents of the message (e.g., a copy of the message) and/or attachments of the message. Examples of the message include an electronic mail (i.e., email), an instant message, a chat message, and any other forms of electronic messages.);
identify one or more linked resource references included in the message (See Col 30 Ln 51, Teaches that the received message information is analyzed and one or more resource identifiers in the received message to be replaced are identified. Examples of the resource identifiers include URLs, URIs, hyperlinks, mailto/reply-to links, call-to-numbers, click-to-call links, File Transfer Protocol links, linked files, attachments, and references to any other materials that a message recipient may interact with. In some embodiments, all resource identifiers (e.g., URLs) included in the message are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. In some embodiments, only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. There are benefits associated with replacing all resources identifiers, as opposed to only resource identifiers that are considered high risk. Namely, this approach produces a uniform view from the user's perspective; it permits retroactive classification of threats; and it creates insight into user behavior, including actions taken by users on personal devices. Such devices commonly do not have the same degree of protection as enterprise-issued computers, and introducing URL proxies is helpful to monitor and audit risk.);
determine that the threat score satisfies a replacement criterion (See Col 30 Ln 60, Teaches that only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers.);
replace for the message the specific linked resource reference with a replacement linked resource reference to an interstitial resource (See Col 37 Ln 12, Teaches that the identified one or more resource identifiers are replaced in the message with corresponding determined alternative resource identifier(s). The modified message with the alternative resource identifier(s) may then be allowed to be delivered to the intended recipient(s) of the message instead of the original message. Because the alternative resource identifier(s) can point a proxy that can dynamically track when the recipient requests content of the alternative resource identifier, further security analysis can be performed dynamically when the request is made. For example, using the alternative resource identifier, the corresponding original resource identifier and associated context information are obtained and used in analyzing a security risk of content referenced by the original resource identifier. If it is determined that content referenced by the original resource identifier is safe, the content is obtained and provided and/or the requester is redirected to the original resource identifier. Otherwise, the request for the content is blocked or a modified content is provided.);
track one or more user interactions with the replacement linked resource reference (See Col 33 Ln 46, Teaches that the alternative resource identifier is based at least in part on the original resource identifier and an intended recipient of the received message. This allows the generated alternative resource identifier to be specific to a particular intended recipient and a particular original resource identifier. For example, if the received message is sent to a plurality of recipients, a different alternative resource identifier is generated for each intended recipient (e.g., different one for each recipient email address specified in the message) for the same original resource identifier. By using a different alternative resource identifier for different recipients, actions of each different recipient can be individually tracked based on the corresponding different alternative resource identifier. At least a portion of the alternative resource identifier may identify an encrypted/encoded identifier of a corresponding intended recipient of the received message.);
and perform a security action based on the tracked one or more user interactions (See Col 44 Ln 22, Teaches that an action is performed based on the analysis, if applicable. Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determine a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference; wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Brown et al., from analogous art, teaches for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determine a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference (See ¶ [0063], Teaches that determines a risk score for the original (actual) webpage. If the determined risk score is greater than a predetermined risk score (i.e., the remote webpage is potentially malicious)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Brown et al. into Jakobsson et al. in order to reduce risks from phishing electronic message (See Brown et al. ¶ [0003]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Tyler et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat (See ¶¶ [0133], [0093], Teaches that When user 2501 clicks encoded link 2411, the threat protection system may perform additional checks 2502 to determine whether the original link target is a potential threat. It may then display a warning message such as 2503. One or more embodiments may not perform any additional checks, but instead may directly display a warning when an encoded link is checked. One or more embodiments may block a site entirely if the check 2502 indicates that the site is a potential threat. Warning message 2503 may for example explain to the user why the link is a potential threat. It may also caution the user not to provide any personal or sensitive information to the site. The warning may provide the user with an option 2504 to proceed to the original site 2505, or an option 2506 to not connect. One or more embodiments may provide any desired information, education, warnings, caveats, or options to the user when the user clicks an encoded link or otherwise accesses a message that has been transformed by the threat protection system.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tyler et al. into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. in order to analyze the content to determine whether such content would pose a security threat if the user were to fully interact with such content (See Tyler et al. ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference are based on one or more of the following associated with the specific linked resource reference: a domain name, a keyword, a use of a reference shortener, a use of authentication, an authentication type, or a past knowledge of the specific linked resource reference (See Col 46 Ln 3, Teaches that content included in a message is analyzed to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message. For example, a message body of the message is analyzed to identify whether it includes one or more text/keywords from a list of keywords associated with a security risk. A keyword may be included in the list because the keyword identifies conversations about sensitive content that could cause harm to the recipient if the recipient replies or takes action related to the keyword. For example, keywords “social security number,” “password,” “login,” “wire instructions,” “confidential,” “payment,” “ID,” obfuscated text, etc. may be included in the list of keywords associated with a security risk. A content risk component score is determined based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, an increase in the number (e.g., of different types) and degree of risk of security risk keywords included in the message increases the associated content risk component score. If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the content risk component score based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, if it is common for a sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment, an inclusion of a keyword related to invoices and payment would not cause the content risk component score to go up as much as compared to a situation in which it is not common for sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment. Thus a contribution of a security risk keyword included in the message to the content risk component score is reduced if the same or similar keyword in scope and topic (e.g., keyword that is a synonym or topically related word) has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on the number and length of time the same or similar keyword in scope and topic has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. In some embodiments, analyzing content included in the message to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message includes determining a content risk component score based on a message signature included in the message. For example based on past observations about types of email signatures typically included in email messages from the sender of the message, the associated content risk component score is increased if an expected signature is not included in the message (e.g., given other detected attributes of the message and the expected signature for the given other detected attributes) or if an unexpected signature is detected (e.g., never observed signature or included signature is an out of context signature that does not match an expected signature for the given detected attributes of the message). At 404, entries included in a header of the message are analyzed to determine one or more header entry risk component scores of the message.).
As to claim 14, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference are based on one or more of the following associated with the message: a message subject, a message header, an Internet Protocol (IP) address, message text, or an attachment (See Col 46 Ln 3, Teaches that content included in a message is analyzed to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message. For example, a message body of the message is analyzed to identify whether it includes one or more text/keywords from a list of keywords associated with a security risk. A keyword may be included in the list because the keyword identifies conversations about sensitive content that could cause harm to the recipient if the recipient replies or takes action related to the keyword. For example, keywords “social security number,” “password,” “login,” “wire instructions,” “confidential,” “payment,” “ID,” obfuscated text, etc. may be included in the list of keywords associated with a security risk. A content risk component score is determined based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, an increase in the number (e.g., of different types) and degree of risk of security risk keywords included in the message increases the associated content risk component score. If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the content risk component score based on whether the message includes a text/keywords from the list of keywords (or associated synonyms or related words) associated with a security risk. For example, if it is common for a sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment, an inclusion of a keyword related to invoices and payment would not cause the content risk component score to go up as much as compared to a situation in which it is not common for sender to communicate with the recipient about invoices and payment. Thus a contribution of a security risk keyword included in the message to the content risk component score is reduced if the same or similar keyword in scope and topic (e.g., keyword that is a synonym or topically related word) has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on the number and length of time the same or similar keyword in scope and topic has been previously observed in previous messages from/to the sender to/from the recipient. In some embodiments, analyzing content included in the message to determine one or more content risk component scores of the message includes determining a content risk component score based on a message signature included in the message. For example based on past observations about types of email signatures typically included in email messages from the sender of the message, the associated content risk component score is increased if an expected signature is not included in the message (e.g., given other detected attributes of the message and the expected signature for the given other detected attributes) or if an unexpected signature is detected (e.g., never observed signature or included signature is an out of context signature that does not match an expected signature for the given detected attributes of the message). At 404, entries included in a header of the message are analyzed to determine one or more header entry risk component scores of the message).
As to claim 15, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the threat score includes at least a risk score component and an abnormality score component (See Col 47 Ln 13, Teaches that the header entry risk component score for a header entry is reduced if the same or similar entry (e.g., change in entry from a previously observed entry conforms to known change pattern) has been previously observed in previous message headers of messages from the sender of the message. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on degree of similarity and/or conformance to a typical pattern of change from previous observations. In some embodiments, the header entry risk component score for a header entry is associated with whether the message is an automatically generated message. For example, one or more x-header entries identify whether the message was automatically generated. These entries may be identified based on keywords that identify that the message was generated using a script (e.g., generated using a PHP mailer/script). If the sender of the message has been determined to have an established relationship with the recipient of the message, past observations about headers of messages sent by the sender are utilized in determining the header entry risk component scores. For example, the header entry risk component score for a header entry identifying an automatically generated message is reduced if the sender typically sends automatically generated messages (e.g., including the same or similar header entry) to the recipient of the message. The magnitude of this reduction may depend on degree of similarity and/or conformance to a typical pattern of change from previous observations.).
As to claim 16, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein determining that the threat score satisfies the replacement criterion includes comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against one or more reference criteria (See Col 62 Ln 65, Teaches that it is determined whether a sender of the message exactly matches a trusted contact. For example, it is determined whether an address of the sender of the message (e.g., in a “From:” field of a message header) exactly matches an address of a trusted contact in a list of trusted contacts for the recipient of the message. In some embodiments, the trusted contacts include trusted contacts identified in 702 and/or 704 of FIG. 7. For example, a list of trusted contacts for the recipient of the message is obtained from storage and email addresses for each trusted contact of the list are compared with the email address of a sender of the message to identify whether there is an exact match.).
As to claim 18, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein to track the one or more user interactions with the replacement linked resource reference includes one or more of the following: to track an identity of a visiting user, a time of a visit to the interstitial resource by the visiting user, an access by the visiting user to the specific linked resource reference from the interstitial resource, or a time of an access to the specific linked resource reference from the interstitial resource by the visiting user (See Col 33 Ln 46, Col 35 Ln 19, Teaches that the alternative resource identifier is based at least in part on the original resource identifier and an intended recipient of the received message. This allows the generated alternative resource identifier to be specific to a particular intended recipient and a particular original resource identifier. For example, if the received message is sent to a plurality of recipients, a different alternative resource identifier is generated for each intended recipient (e.g., different one for each recipient email address specified in the message) for the same original resource identifier. By using a different alternative resource identifier for different recipients, actions of each different recipient can be individually tracked based on the corresponding different alternative resource identifier. At least a portion of the alternative resource identifier may identify an encrypted/encoded identifier of a corresponding intended recipient of the received message. Examples of the associated context information (e.g., stored in a database entry associated with at least a portion of the alternative resource identifier or encrypted and included in the alternative resource identifier) include: a display name, an address, an associated security risk, and any other information associated with a sender of the original message; a display name, an address, an associated security risk, and any other information associated with one or more intended recipients of the original message; a classification/security risk analysis result associated with the original message; a classification/security risk analysis result associated with the original resource identifier; at least a portion of a metadata of the original message; at least a portion of a message content of the original message; a sent time, receipt time, and any other time associated with the original message; and any other information associated with the original message or the original resource identifier. The database storing the context information may be used to track and store interaction information associated with the corresponding resource identifiers. For example, the database is updated when a message recipient interacts with an alternative resource identifier (e.g., time/date and which message recipient accesses content of the alternative resource identifier). The database can be used to associate together and track interaction statistics for the same original resource identifier across various different message recipients. For example, the database links together the various different alternative resource identifiers associated with different message recipients for the same original resource identifier and the database is updated every time one of the alternative resource identifiers for this original resource identifier is accessed.).
As to claim 19, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. Jakobsson et al. further teaches wherein the memory is further configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions which when executed cause the one or more processors to: receive a request to the interstitial resource; and in response to the request to the interstitial resource, provide information on the linked resource reference including a reference to the specific linked resource reference accessible from the interstitial resource (See Col 44 Ln 23, Teaches that Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier.).
As to claim 20, Jakobsson et al. teaches a computer program product, the computer program product being embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for: receiving a message (See Col 28 Ln 58, Teaches that information associated with a message (e.g., message to be delivered to an intended recipient) is received. In some embodiments, the information is received at analysis server 102 of FIG. 1. The information may include information included in or related to the message. For example, the information includes email header information including information related to email accounts (e.g., email address, display name, etc.) of the sender, recipient(s) information, devices used to compose/send the message (e.g., mail user agent, operating system, location, device time zone, etc.), networks utilized (e.g., server, IP address, cellular network/carrier, etc.), automation, if any, utilized to send the message (e.g., whether a script/API was utilized to send the message), etc. In some embodiments, the information associated with the message includes contents of the message (e.g., a copy of the message) and/or attachments of the message. Examples of the message include an electronic mail (i.e., email), an instant message, a chat message, and any other forms of electronic messages.);
identifying one or more linked resource references included in the message (See Col 30 Ln 51, Teaches that the received message information is analyzed and one or more resource identifiers in the received message to be replaced are identified. Examples of the resource identifiers include URLs, URIs, hyperlinks, mailto/reply-to links, call-to-numbers, click-to-call links, File Transfer Protocol links, linked files, attachments, and references to any other materials that a message recipient may interact with. In some embodiments, all resource identifiers (e.g., URLs) included in the message are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. In some embodiments, only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers. There are benefits associated with replacing all resources identifiers, as opposed to only resource identifiers that are considered high risk. Namely, this approach produces a uniform view from the user's perspective; it permits retroactive classification of threats; and it creates insight into user behavior, including actions taken by users on personal devices. Such devices commonly do not have the same degree of protection as enterprise-issued computers, and introducing URL proxies is helpful to monitor and audit risk.);
determining that the threat score satisfies a replacement criterion (See Col 30 Ln 60, Teaches that only those resource identifiers identified to pose a threshold security risk are to be replaced with corresponding alternative resource identifiers.);
replacing for the message the specific linked resource reference with a replacement linked resource reference to an interstitial resource (See Col 37 Ln 12, Teaches that the identified one or more resource identifiers are replaced in the message with corresponding determined alternative resource identifier(s). The modified message with the alternative resource identifier(s) may then be allowed to be delivered to the intended recipient(s) of the message instead of the original message. Because the alternative resource identifier(s) can point a proxy that can dynamically track when the recipient requests content of the alternative resource identifier, further security analysis can be performed dynamically when the request is made. For example, using the alternative resource identifier, the corresponding original resource identifier and associated context information are obtained and used in analyzing a security risk of content referenced by the original resource identifier. If it is determined that content referenced by the original resource identifier is safe, the content is obtained and provided and/or the requester is redirected to the original resource identifier. Otherwise, the request for the content is blocked or a modified content is provided.);
tracking one or more user interactions with the replacement linked resource reference (See Col 33 Ln 46, Teaches that the alternative resource identifier is based at least in part on the original resource identifier and an intended recipient of the received message. This allows the generated alternative resource identifier to be specific to a particular intended recipient and a particular original resource identifier. For example, if the received message is sent to a plurality of recipients, a different alternative resource identifier is generated for each intended recipient (e.g., different one for each recipient email address specified in the message) for the same original resource identifier. By using a different alternative resource identifier for different recipients, actions of each different recipient can be individually tracked based on the corresponding different alternative resource identifier. At least a portion of the alternative resource identifier may identify an encrypted/encoded identifier of a corresponding intended recipient of the received message.);
and performing a security action based on the tracked one or more user interactions (See Col 44 Ln 22, Teaches that an action is performed based on the analysis, if applicable. Examples of the action includes allowing access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier (e.g., either as proxy or by redirection to the original resource identifier), blocking access to the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a modified version (e.g., modifying the functionality) of the content referenced by the original resource identifier, providing a warning, notifying an administrator, requiring an additional user action, logging an event/action associated with the resource identifier, providing a report, and/or storing information related to the resource identifier.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determining a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference; wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Brown et al., from analogous art, teaches for a specific linked resource reference included in the one or more linked resource references, determining a threat score based at least in part on one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference (See ¶ [0063], Teaches that determines a risk score for the original (actual) webpage. If the determined risk score is greater than a predetermined risk score (i.e., the remote webpage is potentially malicious)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Brown et al. into Jakobsson et al. in order to reduce risks from phishing electronic message (See Brown et al. ¶ [0003]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat.
Tyler et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the interstitial resource is customized for the specific linked resource reference to provide details on the specific linked resource reference including one or more specific warning reasons that suggest the specific linked resource reference is a security threat (See ¶¶ [0133], [0093], Teaches that When user 2501 clicks encoded link 2411, the threat protection system may perform additional checks 2502 to determine whether the original link target is a potential threat. It may then display a warning message such as 2503. One or more embodiments may not perform any additional checks, but instead may directly display a warning when an encoded link is checked. One or more embodiments may block a site entirely if the check 2502 indicates that the site is a potential threat. Warning message 2503 may for example explain to the user why the link is a potential threat. It may also caution the user not to provide any personal or sensitive information to the site. The warning may provide the user with an option 2504 to proceed to the original site 2505, or an option 2506 to not connect. One or more embodiments may provide any desired information, education, warnings, caveats, or options to the user when the user clicks an encoded link or otherwise accesses a message that has been transformed by the threat protection system.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tyler et al. into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. in order to analyze the content to determine whether such content would pose a security threat if the user were to fully interact with such content (See Tyler et al. ¶ [0011]).
Claims 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 10880322 B1) and Brown et al. (US 20140259158 A1) and Tyler et al. (US 20200137110 A1) and further in view of Jakobsson et al. (US 20240089285 A1), hereinafter Jakobsson’285.
As to claim 6, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the method according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against the one or more reference criteria includes applying one or more logical operations to a set of the one or more attributes.
Jakobsson’285, from analogous art, teaches wherein comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against the one or more reference criteria includes applying one or more logical operations to a set of the one or more attributes (See ¶ [0392], Teaches that Such risk-based modifications can preferably be performed conditional on a certain recent activity, e.g., only if the signature has been matched at least twice in a day; risk-based score modifications can also be performed using any other arithmetic and logical operations, just like the score function may be using any such operations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jakobsson’285 into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. in order to perform an initial security analysis prior to allowing the message to be delivered (See Jakobsson’285 ¶ [0050]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. teaches the system according to claim 12 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against the one or more reference criteria includes applying one or more logical operations to a set of the one or more attributes.
Jakobsson’285, from analogous art, teaches wherein comparing the one or more attributes of the specific linked resource reference against the one or more reference criteria includes applying one or more logical operations to a set of the one or more attributes (See ¶ [0392], Teaches that Such risk-based modifications can preferably be performed conditional on a certain recent activity, e.g., only if the signature has been matched at least twice in a day; risk-based score modifications can also be performed using any other arithmetic and logical operations, just like the score function may be using any such operations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jakobsson’285 into the combination of Jakobsson et al. and Brown et al. and Tyler et al. in order to perform an initial security analysis prior to allowing the message to be delivered (See Jakobsson’285 ¶ [0050]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
James Hollister
/J.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2499 9/29/26
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499