DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s submission filed on 12/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (US 20200153821) in view of Lewis (US 20200210649).
Regarding Claim 1, Cao discloses: 1. A method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: (see fig. 2, processor)
receiving, from a client device of a user, a request to initiate a user interaction with a third-party software application, the third-party software application being distinct from an automated assistant software application that is being utilized during a dialog session between the user and an automated assistant that is accessible at the client device, ([0081] At the outset in the method 400, (like in the method 300), the user 112 attempts to access, at 402, the skill 126, at the VID 114, by asking a question, providing a direction or instruction, etc. The input from the user 112 may include, as shown, a request for the balance of a credit card, or the amount of a next payment for the credit card, or a direction to transfer funds, etc. It should be understood that the user 112 is associated with an account for the skill 126, whereby a backend for the skill 126, such as, for example, the issuer 108, is permitted to identify the user 112. In addition, as described above, the user 112 is associated with an account for the VID 114, whereby the VID server 128 associates the user 112 (and certain information about the user 112) with the VID 114.) [VID 114/VID server 128 are the automated assistant which is different from skills 126/issuer 108 backend]
and the request being received responsive to determining user input received during the dialog session requires the user interaction with the third-party software application that is distinct from the automated assistant application; ([0081] At the outset in the method 400, (like in the method 300), the user 112 attempts to access, at 402, the skill 126, at the VID 114, by asking a question, providing a direction or instruction, etc. The input from the user 112 may include, as shown, a request for the balance of a credit card, or the amount of a next payment for the credit card, or a direction to transfer funds, etc. It should be understood that the user 112 is associated with an account for the skill 126, whereby a backend for the skill 126, such as, for example, the issuer 108, is permitted to identify the user 112.) [VID 114/VID server 128 are the automated assistant which is different from skills 126/issuer 108 backend]
in response to receiving the request from the client device: causing rendering, at an additional client device of the user, of a prompt for completing the user interaction with the third-party software application via the additional client device, ([0082] In response to the access of the skill 126, in this exemplary embodiment, the VID 114 requests, at 404, authentication of the user 112, from the VID server 128. The request includes an identifier associated with the user 112 and/or the VID 114 (e.g., an email address, an account number, a phone number, a MAC address, etc.). In response to the request, the VID server 128 identifies, at 406, the user 112, and often, the account associated with the user 112. More specifically, the account of the user 112 is associated with certain personal identifying information, such as a device ID of the communication device 130 (e.g., a MAC address, a phone number, etc.) (or application ID for the application 132 (published by the issuer 108, for example)). Thereafter, the VID server 128 requests, at 408, an authentication input for the user 112, via the communication device 130 (as identified in the account of the user 112). For example, the VID server 128 may send an SMS message soliciting an authentication input (e.g., a passcode, a PIN, etc.), or instructing the application 132 to solicit a biometric authentication input (e.g., a facial image, a fingerprint scan, etc.).)[communication device 130 is the separate, additional device that is associated with the user]
and generating, a token associated with the user interaction that was completed via the additional client device, wherein generating the token is based on user input that is received from the user of the additional client device responsive to rendering the prompt, ([0082] In response to the access of the skill 126, in this exemplary embodiment, the VID 114 requests, at 404, authentication of the user 112, from the VID server 128. The request includes an identifier associated with the user 112 and/or the VID 114 (e.g., an email address, an account number, a phone number, a MAC address, etc.). In response to the request, the VID server 128 identifies, at 406, the user 112, and often, the account associated with the user 112. More specifically, the account of the user 112 is associated with certain personal identifying information, such as a device ID of the communication device 130 (e.g., a MAC address, a phone number, etc.) (or application ID for the application 132 (published by the issuer 108, for example)). Thereafter, the VID server 128 requests, at 408, an authentication input for the user 112, via the communication device 130 (as identified in the account of the user 112). For example, the VID server 128 may send an SMS message soliciting an authentication input (e.g., a passcode, a PIN, etc.), or instructing the application 132 to solicit a biometric authentication input (e.g., a facial image, a fingerprint scan, etc.).) [authentication of input means implicitly results in generation of authentication token to validate the user identity, additionally, token is explicitly taught in secondary reference, Lewis see below]
Cao is silent in the storing of the dialog state between the user and the automated assistant.
Lewis in the related art of transitioning between dialog context in automated assistants discloses: in response to generating the token associated with the user interaction: transmitting, to the client device of the user, the token associated with the user interaction, wherein transmitting the token associated with the user interaction causes the client device of the user to store the token in association with a stored state of the dialog session between the user and the automated assistant. ([0026] associating the one or more stored second parameters of the second human-to-computer dialog with the second third party application may include creating a second token which is invokable, in response to the receipt of the transition command to transition from the second third party application to the automated assistant, by the one or more processors, to retrieve the stored one or more second parameters associated with the second third party application. In various implementations, the second token may include a link between the stored one or more second parameters and the second third party application.) Also see [0095] the system may associate one or more stored first parameters of the first human-to-computer dialog between the user and the automated assistant with a first third party application accessible by the user from the first human-to-computer dialog between the user and the automated assistant. These parameters may be stored in computer memory that is, for instance, located at a remote server and/or locally at the client device. …)
Cao and Lewis are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cao to combine the teaching of Lewis, because techniques enables users to transition to and/or between the multiple dialog contexts to resume previous conversations with automated assistants (Lewis, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 2, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 1,
Lewis further discloses: wherein transmitting the token associated with the user interaction further causes the client device of the user to load, at the client device via the automated assistant software application, the state of the dialog session between the user and the automated assistant at the client device along with an indication of the token. ([0026] associating the one or more stored second parameters of the second human-to-computer dialog with the second third party application may include creating a second token which is invokable, in response to the receipt of the transition command to transition from the second third party application to the automated assistant, by the one or more processors, to retrieve the stored one or more second parameters associated with the second third party application. In various implementations, the second token may include a link between the stored one or more second parameters and the second third party application.) para 0087 explicitly discloses dialog states.
The rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 3, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 2,
Lewis further discloses: wherein loading the state of the dialog session along with the indication of the token at the client device is responsive to causing the client device to store the token associated with the user interaction that was completed. ([0026] associating the one or more stored second parameters of the second human-to-computer dialog with the second third party application may include creating a second token which is invokable, in response to the receipt of the transition command to transition from the second third party application to the automated assistant, by the one or more processors, to retrieve the stored one or more second parameters associated with the second third party application. In various implementations, the second token may include a link between the stored one or more second parameters and the second third party application.) para 0087 explicitly discloses dialog states.
The rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 4, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 2,
Lewis further discloses: wherein loading the state of the dialog session along with the indication of the token at the client device is responsive to receiving additional user input, from the user of the client device, to resume the dialog session. ([0014] … Rather than rebuilding the shoe shopping conversation from scratch, the user may employ techniques described herein to resume the shoe shopping conversation where it left off when the user was interrupted by the friend. In particular, the user may be able to issue one or more commands to transition to the prior dialog context generated while the user shopped for shoes, e.g., by pressing a back button or by issuing one or more vocal commands. This may be achieved by forming an association in computer memory between the prior dialog context and a particular third-party application which is relevant to that context, such as a third-party shoe-shopping application. Once back in the shoe-shopping application, the user may be able to issue a transition command to return to the assistant in the prior dialog context—i.e. shopping for women's dress shoes in size 7. …)
The rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 5, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 2,
Lewis further discloses: wherein loading the state of the dialog session along with the indication of the token at the client device causes the stored state of the ongoing dialog session to be resumed at a given state that is progressed beyond the stored state of the ongoing dialog session. ([0014] … Rather than rebuilding the shoe shopping conversation from scratch, the user may employ techniques described herein to resume the shoe shopping conversation where it left off when the user was interrupted by the friend. In particular, the user may be able to issue one or more commands to transition to the prior dialog context generated while the user shopped for shoes, e.g., by pressing a back button or by issuing one or more vocal commands. This may be achieved by forming an association in computer memory between the prior dialog context and a particular third-party application which is relevant to that context, such as a third-party shoe-shopping application. Once back in the shoe-shopping application, the user may be able to issue a transition command to return to the assistant in the prior dialog context—i.e. shopping for women's dress shoes in size 7. …)
The rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 6, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 1,
Lewis further discloses: wherein loading the state of the dialog session along with the indication of the token at the client device causes the stored state of the ongoing dialog session to be resumed at a given state that is progressed beyond the stored state of the ongoing dialog session. ([0014] As an illustrative example, suppose a user previously engaged with an automated assistant to shop for women's' dress shoes in size 7. Suppose further the user was interrupted from the shopping by a text message from a friend to make a dinner reservation, and that the user engaged with the automated assistant (i.e., changes subjects) to open a third party application to make a dinner reservation. When the user returns to the automated assistant to continue shoe shopping, the last dialog context will relate to the dinner reservation. Rather than rebuilding the shoe shopping conversation from scratch, the user may employ techniques described herein to resume the shoe shopping conversation where it left off when the user was interrupted by the friend. In particular, the user may be able to issue one or more commands to transition to the prior dialog context generated while the user shopped for shoes, e.g., by pressing a back button or by issuing one or more vocal commands. This may be achieved by forming an association in computer memory between the prior dialog context and a particular third-party application which is relevant to that context, such as a third-party shoe-shopping application. Once back in the shoe-shopping application, the user may be able to issue a transition command to return to the assistant in the prior dialog context—i.e. shopping for women's dress shoes in size 7. …)
The rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 7, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 1,
Lewis further discloses: wherein the automated assistant is accessible at each of the client device, the additional client device, and a further additional client device, wherein the additional client device is in addition to the client device and the further additional client device, and wherein the further additional client device is in addition to the client device and the additional client device. ([0040] Each of the client computing devices 106.sub.1-N may operate a variety of different applications, such as a corresponding one of a plurality of message exchange clients 107.sub.1-N. Message exchange clients 107.sub.1-N may come in various forms and the forms may vary across the client computing devices 106.sub.1-N and/or multiple forms may be operated on a single one of the client computing devices 106.sub.1-N. In some implementations, one or more of the message exchange clients 107.sub.1-N may come in the form of a short messaging service (“SMS”) and/or multimedia messaging service (“MMS”) client, an online chat client (e.g., instant messenger, Internet relay chat, or “IRC,” etc.), a messaging application associated with a social network, a personal assistant messaging service dedicated to conversations with automated assistant 120, and so forth. In some implementations, one or more of the message exchange clients 107.sub.1-N may be implemented via a webpage or other resources rendered by a web browser (not depicted) or other application of client computing device 106.) Also see para 0041, As described in more detail herein, automated assistant 120 engages in human-to-computer dialog sessions with one or more users via user interface input and output devices of one or more client devices 106.sub.1-N. Also see para 0043.
Cao and Lewis are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cao to combine the teaching of Lewis, because techniques enables users to transition to and/or between the multiple devices to resume previous conversations with automated assistants without losing context (Lewis, [0040-0041]).
Regarding Claim 8, Cao and Lewis disclose all the elements of claim 7,
Lewis further discloses: wherein the one or more processors are of the additional client device. ([0043] Each of the client computing devices 106.sub.1-N and computing device(s) operating cloud-based automated assistant components 119 may include one or more memories for storage of data and software applications, one or more processors for accessing data and executing applications, and other components that facilitate communication over a network. The operations performed by one or more of the client computing devices 106.sub.1-N and/or by automated assistant 120 may be distributed across multiple computer systems. Automated assistant 120 may be implemented as, for example, computer programs running on one or more computers in one or more locations that are coupled to each other through a network.)
Cao and Lewis are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cao to combine the teaching of Lewis, because the distributed system described offer scalability and lower latency (Lewis, [0043]).
Regarding Claim 9, Cao discloses: 9. A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to be operable to: (see fig. 2, where a processor and memory is shown)
As for the rest of the claim, they recite the elements from the method of claim 1, therefore similar rationale and grounds of rejection are applicable.
Claims 10-16 are system claims that correspond to claims 2-8 respectively, therefore similar grounds of rejection are applicable.
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses: 17. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer readable instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to execute the computer readable instructions to: ([0124] in some embodiments, may be described in computer executable instructions stored on a computer readable media, and executable by one or more processors. The computer readable media is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.)
As for the rest of the claim, they recite the elements from the method of claim 1, therefore similar rationale and grounds of rejection are applicable.
Claim 18, corresponds to claim 2, therefore similar rationale and grounds of rejection is applicable.
Claim 19, corresponds to claims 2 and claim 3 combined, therefore similar rationale and grounds of rejection is applicable.
Claim 20, corresponds to claim 5, therefore similar rationale and grounds of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wadley US 20180189078 – discloses management of network handoffs for automated assistant. See Abstract, para 0012, 0029 and figs. 1, 2, 4-6 for additional details.
Lewis WO 2019143614 – discloses method and system for providing dialogue assistants links to facilitate transition of third-party dialog session. See Abstract, and figs. 1-4 for additional details.
Shah US 20040088546 – discloses system for Add-on services, secondary authentication, authorization and secure communication for dialog system. See Abstract and para 0045, and fig. 1, 4A/4B, 5A/5B for additional details.
/PHILIP H LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656