DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 23 Jun 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 14: the limitation "the second end of the third switching component". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-12 and 17-18 are objected to on the basis of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 1, line 15: the limitation "third switching component" should have a “;” added after it to make it grammatically clear that the inductor is always connected to those points, rather than connected only "when the output power of the power converter is less than a specified power".
Claims 2-12 and 17-18 are objected to on the basis of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 5, line 5: the limitation “the first direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 suffers from the same deficiency.
Claims 6-8 are objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 5, Claim 16 is objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 15.
Claim 6, line 5: the limitation “the input voltage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 suffers from the same deficiency.
Claim 8 is objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 6.
Claim 7, line 4: the limitation “fourth time periods”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 suffers from the same deficiency.
Claim 13, lines 18- 19: the limitation “the third switching component”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there are two previous recitations of “a third switching component”.
Claims 14-16 are objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 13.
Claim 13, line 19: the limitation “the second switching component”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there are two previous recitations of “a second switching component”.
Claims 14-16 are objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 13.
Claim 13, line 19: the limitation “the fourth switching component”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there are two previous recitations of “a fourth switching component”.
Claims 14-16 are objected to on the basis of its dependency on Claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4: presents an alternative structural embodiment that replaces Claim 3’s fourth switching component with a different type of switch. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets the above phrase to mean the fourth switch is MOSFET.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20240266959 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a power converter (Fig 1) comprising: a first switching component, wherein a first end of the first switching component is connected to a positive electrode of an input end of the power converter (top of S1 connected to + side of Vin, Fig 1); a second switching component, wherein a second end of the second switching component is connected to a negative electrode of the input end of the power converter and a second end of the first switching component is connected to a first end of the second switching component (S2 connected to - side of Vin and bottom of S1, Fig 1); a third switching component, wherein a first end of the third switching component is connected to a positive electrode of an output end of the power converter (top of S3 connected to top of Vo, Fig 1); a fourth switching component, wherein a second end of the fourth switching component is connected to a negative electrode of the output end of the power converter (bottom of S4 connected to bottom of Vin, Fig 1); and an inductor (L, Fig 1), wherein a first end of the inductor is connected to the second end of the first switching component, and a second end of the inductor is connected to the second end of the third switching component (left side of L is connected to the bottom of S1 and right side of L is connected to the bottom of S3, Fig 1) ; when an output power of the power converter is less than a first specified power, the power converter runs in a first mode comprising a plurality of first periods, and each first period comprises a first time period and a second time period (Io<I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "In Boost mode…T.sub.3 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.1 and T.sub.2 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased….In Buck mode…T.sub.1 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.2 and T.sub.3 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased.", Fig 6, [0042-3]); in the first time period of the first period, the first switching component and the fourth switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); and in the second time period of the first period, the first switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T2, Fig 2A); and when the output power of the power converter is greater than or equal to the first specified power, the power converter runs in a second mode comprising a plurality of second periods, wherein each second period comprises a first time period, a second time period, and a third time period (Io>I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "when the load current reaches the critical load value…In a Boost mode, T.sub.3 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.1 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0. In a Buck mode, T.sub.1 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.3 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0." and T1-3 increase with the load current, Fig 7, [0039, 0042-3]); in the first time period of the second period, the first switching component and the fourth switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); in the second time period of the second period, the first switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T2, Fig 2A); and in the third time period of the second period, the second switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the first switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T3, Fig 2A).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein when the output power of the power converter is less than the first specified power and an output voltage of the power converter is not less than an input voltage ("When V.sub.in<V.sub.out that is, in a Boost mode", [0014]), the power converter runs in the first mode, wherein the first mode comprises the plurality of first periods, in the first time period of the first period, the first switching component and the fourth switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); and in the second time period of the first period, the first switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T2, Fig 2A).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: a control circuit ("the controller generates driving signals for each transistor switch in the four-switch buck-boost converter based on the real-time input voltage, the real-time output voltage and the real-time load current of the four-switch buck-boost converter", Claim 10) configured to: when the output power of the power converter is less than the first specified power, control the power converter to run in the first mode (Io<I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "In Boost mode…T.sub.3 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.1 and T.sub.2 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased….In Buck mode…T.sub.1 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.2 and T.sub.3 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased.", Fig 6, [0042-3]).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses a control method, applied to a power converter (Fig 1), comprising: when an output power of the power converter is less than a first specified power, controlling the power converter to run in a first mode comprising a plurality of first periods, wherein each first period comprises a first time period and a second time period (Io<I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "In Boost mode…T.sub.3 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.1 and T.sub.2 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased….In Buck mode…T.sub.1 is kept at the minimum value for achieving soft-switching, while T.sub.2 and T.sub.3 remain unchanged, only T.sub.4 is decreased.", Fig 6, [0042-3]); in the first time period of the first period, a first switching component and a fourth switching component are turned on, and a second switching component and a third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); and in the second time period of the first period, the first switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T2, Fig 2A); and when the output power of the power converter is greater than or equal to the first specified power, controlling the power converter to run in a second mode comprising a plurality of second periods, wherein each second period comprises a first time period, a second time period, and a third time period (Io>I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "when the load current reaches the critical load value…In a Boost mode, T.sub.3 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.1 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0. In a Buck mode, T.sub.1 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.3 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0." and T1-3 increase with the load current, Fig 7, [0039, 0042-3]); in the first time period of the second period, a first switching component and a fourth switching component are turned on, and a second switching component and a third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); in the first time period of the second period, a first switching component and a fourth switching component are turned on, and a second switching component and a third switching component are turned off (T1, Fig 2A); in the second time period of the second period, the first switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the second switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T2, Fig 2A); and in the third time period of the second period, the second switching component and the third switching component are turned on, and the first switching component and the fourth switching component are turned off (T3, Fig 2A).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: a control circuit ("the controller generates driving signals for each transistor switch in the four-switch buck-boost converter based on the real-time input voltage, the real-time output voltage and the real-time load current of the four-switch buck-boost converter", Claim 10) configured to: when the output power of the power converter is greater than or equal to the first specified power, control the power converter to run in the second mode (Io>I1 is directly proportional to power in the basic power equation P=IV and "when the load current reaches the critical load value…In a Boost mode, T.sub.3 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.1 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0. In a Buck mode, T.sub.1 is kept at its minimum value for achieving ZVS, T.sub.2 is calculated based on an energy formula, T.sub.3 takes a value corresponding to i.sub.L reaching 0, and T.sub.4 is 0." and T1-3 increase with the load current, Fig 7, [0039, 0042-3]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20240266959 A1) in view of Vinciarelli (US 20180041125 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Liu does not disclose wherein the third time period of the second period further comprises a first sub-time period and a second sub-time period, and the second period further comprises a fifth time period; in the first sub-time period, the inductor discharges in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction from the second end of the first switching component to the second end of the third switching component; in the second sub-time period, the inductor is charged in a second direction, wherein the second direction is a direction from the second end of the third switching component to the second end of the first switching component; and in the fifth time period of the second period, the inductor discharges in the second direction.
Vinciarelli teaches conventional operating cycles for use in a buck-boost converter (see Fig 2A) including wherein the third time period of the second period further comprises a first sub-time period (t4-ty, Fig 2A) and a second sub-time period (ty-t5, Fig 2A), and the second period further comprises a fifth time period (t5-t8, Fig 2A); in the first sub-time period, the inductor discharges in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction from the second end of the first switching component to the second end of the third switching component; in the second sub-time period, the inductor is charged in a second direction, wherein the second direction is a direction from the second end of the third switching component to the second end of the first switching component; and in the fifth time period of the second period, the inductor discharges in the second direction ("Achieving ZVS of switch S4 during ZVS-S4 (t5-t6) and of switch S1 during ZVS-S1 (t7-t8) depends on the magnitude, I.sub.N, of a negative inductor current flowing at time t5 (when S3 is turned OFF ending the freewheeling phase) and at time t7 (when S2 is turned OFF ending the clamp phase. As discussed in the Adaptive Patent, the magnitude of inductor current, I.sub.N, flowing at time t5 may be adjusted by keeping switch S3 ON for a period of time after the inductor current I.sub.L passes though zero at time t.sub.y (FIG. 2A) (creating a “reverse energy phase”, as that term is used in the Adaptive Patent, between times t.sub.y and t5).", Fig 2A, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the operating cycles in Liu, as taught by Vinciarelli, as it provides the advantage of precisely controlling the magnitude of the reverse inductor current to achieve ZVS ([0021] of Vinciarelli).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Liu and Vinciarelli discloses all of the limitations of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the inductor charges a parasitic capacitance of the second switching component in the fifth time period of the second period; and when the fifth time period of the second period ends, a voltage of the parasitic capacitance is the same as the input voltage ("[0002] “Switching loss” refers to power dissipated in a switch, e.g. when the switch is turned ON. Capacitances, both parasitic and lumped, across a switch, if not discharged before the switch is turned ON, may be a major contributor to switching loss, particularly in switching power converters operating at high frequencies. One way to reduce switching losses in a switching power converter (e.g., a buck, a boost, or a buck-boost switching power converter) uses an inductive current to charge and discharge the capacitances associated with a switch before turning it ON to achieve zero voltage switching", the capacitance at node 128 has charged to Vin at t8, Fig 1/2B, [0021] of Vinciarelli).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Liu and Vinciarelli discloses all of the limitations of claim 5, and further discloses wherein durations of first time periods of any two second periods are the same, durations of second time periods of any two second periods are the same, durations of third time periods of any two second periods are the same, durations of fourth time periods of any two second periods are the same, and durations of fifth time periods of any two second periods are the same (at the critical load the converter operates at a fixed frequency and T1-T3 stay the same and T4=0, [0017, 0023] of Liu).
Regarding Claim 8, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 15, Liu discloses all of the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses a first end of the first switching component is connected to a positive electrode of an input end of the power converter, a second end of the second switching component is connected to a negative electrode of the input end of the power converter, a first end of the third switching component is connected to a positive electrode of an output end of the power converter, a second end of the fourth switching component is connected to a negative electrode of the output end of the power converter, the second end of the first switching component is connected to a first end of the second switching component, the second end of the third switching component is connected to a first end of the fourth switching component, a first end of the inductor is connected to the second end of the first switching component, and a second end of the inductor is connected to the second end of the third switching component (identical circuit shown in Fig 1).
Liu does not disclose wherein the third time period of the second period further comprises a first sub-time period and a second sub-time period, and the second period further comprises a fifth time period; in the first sub-time period, the inductor discharges in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction from the second end of the first switching component to the second end of the third switching component; in the second sub-time period, the inductor is charged in a second direction, wherein the second direction is a direction from the second end of the third switching component to the second end of the first switching component; and in the fifth time period of the second period, the inductor discharges in the second direction.
Vinciarelli teaches a conventional operating cycles for use in a buck-boost converter (see Fig 2A) including wherein the third time period of the second period further comprises a first sub-time period (t4-ty, Fig 2A) and a second sub-time period (ty-t5, Fig 2A), and the second period further comprises a fifth time period (t5-t8, Fig 2A); in the first sub-time period, the inductor discharges in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction from the second end of the first switching component to the second end of the third switching component; in the second sub-time period, the inductor is charged in a second direction, wherein the second direction is a direction from the second end of the third switching component to the second end of the first switching component; and in the fifth time period of the second period, the inductor discharges in the second direction ("Achieving ZVS of switch S4 during ZVS-S4 (t5-t6) and of switch S1 during ZVS-S1 (t7-t8) depends on the magnitude, I.sub.N, of a negative inductor current flowing at time t5 (when S3 is turned OFF ending the freewheeling phase) and at time t7 (when S2 is turned OFF ending the clamp phase. As discussed in the Adaptive Patent, the magnitude of inductor current, I.sub.N, flowing at time t5 may be adjusted by keeping switch S3 ON for a period of time after the inductor current I.sub.L passes though zero at time t.sub.y (FIG. 2A) (creating a “reverse energy phase”, as that term is used in the Adaptive Patent, between times t.sub.y and t5).", Fig 2A, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the operating cycles in Liu, as taught by Vinciarelli, as it provides the advantage of precisely controlling the magnitude of the reverse inductor current to achieve ZVS ([0021] of Vinciarelli).
Regarding Claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for Claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (CN 116207988 A) discloses an H-bridge buck-boost converter with multiple modes and ZVS.
/J.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/GARY L LAXTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 8/04/2026