DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This final office action is a response to the reply received on 08/24/2026. Claims 1-8 are pending. None of the claims have been amended, newly added, or canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 09/11/2026 has been annotated and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et. al. (US 20200338748 A1, corresponding to CN111843988A in IDS received 09/11/2026) in view of Koshimura (JP2013247747A, IDS received 01/07/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka discloses:
A terminal support device comprising: (See at least ¶0005 via "there is provided a teaching device on which portable terminal equipment is mounted, the teaching device being used to teach operation to a robot" and ¶0019 via "The teaching device 300 is used to teach operation to the robot 100.")
an attachment base attachably and detachably attaching a mobile communication terminal (See at least ¶0019 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted on the teaching device 300" and ¶0024 via "the teaching device 300 includes a case section 310 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is detachably mounted, the case section 310 including a mounting surface 312 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted." as well as Figure 2)
configured to command a controller of a robot regarding a motion of the robot through a (See at least ¶0021 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 has stored therein an application program for teaching processing for teaching operation to the robot 100". And ¶0022 via "The first wire 301 is used as a transmission path for transmitting, to the control device 200, a signal for instructing a stop output from the teaching device 300 when the stop switch 370 is operated by the operator. The second wire 302 is used for mutual communication between the portable terminal equipment 350 and the control device 200.")
a safety switch configured to output a safety signal to the controller; (See at least ¶0022 via "The first wire 301 is used as a transmission path for transmitting, to the control device 200, a signal for instructing a stop output from the teaching device 300 when the stop switch 370 is operated by the operator.")
an interface unit configured to be connected to an electric cable including a signal line configured to transmit the safety signal to the controller and a power line configured to transmit electric power supplied from the controller; and (See at least ¶0036 via "A composite cable 305 is used for the coupling of the teaching device 300 and the control device 200. In the composite cable 305, a plurality of wires including the first wire 301 and the second wire 302 are collected on the inside. In this embodiment, the composite cable 305 includes, in addition to the first wire 301 and the second wire 302, a power feeding wire for receiving supply of electric power from the control device 200. Various interfaces such as RS422 and IDE can be used for coupling of the control device 200 and the teaching device 300.")
(See at least ¶0036 via "a power feeding wire for receiving supply of electric power from the control device 200. Various interfaces such as RS422 and IDE can be used for coupling of the control device 200 and the teaching device 300.")
However, Tanaka's first embodiment is directed towards commanding a controller of a robot regarding motion of the robot through wired communication. Nevertheless, Tanaka's eighth embodiment discloses commanding a controller of a robot regarding motion of the robot through wireless communication: configured to command a controller of a robot regarding a motion of the robot through a wireless communication, based on a teaching operation content; (See at least ¶0021 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 has stored therein an application program for teaching processing for teaching operation to the robot 100". And ¶0055 via the eighth embodiment: "In the embodiments, the teaching units 400 and 600 and the control device 200 are coupled by wired connection. However, coupling is not limited to this. For example, the teaching devices 300 and 500 and the control device 200 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth (registered trademark). In this case, the teaching device 300 may be capable of automatically recognizing, through pairing or the like with the control device 200, the control device 200 coupled to the teaching device 300. The teaching devices 300 and 500 and the portable terminal equipment 350 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth. In this case, the teaching device 300 may be capable of automatically recognizing, through pairing or the like with the portable terminal equipment 350, the portable terminal equipment 350 coupled to the teaching device 300. The portable terminal equipment 350 may be coupled to the control device 200 not via the teaching device 300. In this case, the portable terminal equipment 350 and the control device 200 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to utilize wireless communication between the portable terminal 350 and the control device 200 while utilizing the first wire 301 for transmitting the stop signal and the power-feeding wire for receiving power from the control device 200 in substituting the need for a wired connection between the portable terminal and the controller, which would enable a user to provide instructions: "The portable terminal equipment 350 is used to give the robot 100 an instruction other than an instruction to stop to the robot 100. In this embodiment, the portable terminal equipment 350 is a tablet PC." [Tanaka ¶0021], while being more mobile/able to move around. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to implement this disclosed alternative of wireless communication while keeping wired connections for other communications, such as the stop operation, as the user/operator is able to stop the robot even if the portable terminal is detached or unavailable: "even in a state in which the portable terminal equipment 350 is not mounted, the teaching device 300 can execute an instruction to stop the robot 100" [Tanaka ¶0022], which increases the safety of the operation.
However, although Tanaka discloses a power-feeding wire that receives power from the controller, Modified Tanaka does not explicitly disclose supplying received power wirelessly to the mobile communication terminal.
Nevertheless, Koshimura--who is directed towards a power supply device and information apparatus--discloses: a wireless power transmission unit configured to wirelessly feed part of electric power (See at least ¶0030 via "the notebook personal computer 1 according the present embodiment includes a non-contact power supply unit 18 having a function of supplying power to a portable terminal 30, which is a power-supplied device, in a non-contact manner" as well as ¶0034 via "the non-contact power supply unit 18 is configured to supply power to the mobile terminal 30 in a non-contact manner by an electromagnetic induction method…" as well as ¶0041 via "In step s5, the non-contact charging device control LSI20 supplies power to the power feeding coil 19. As a result, electric power is supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside, and a secondary battery mounted in the mobile device 30 can be charged by placing the mobile device 30 on the 3b of the back portion of the cover 3." and ¶0052 via "In addition to being used as an information device, the tablet PC 41 according to the present embodiment has a function of wirelessly supplying power to the mobile terminal 30, which is a power-supplied device including a rechargeable secondary battery.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Tanaka in view of incorporating Koshimura's contactless power supply unit to supply power to the portable terminal of Tanaka without requiring a separate wired charging cable, which one of ordinary skill recognizes as simplifying the system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the wireless/contactless supply unit into the teaching device of Tanaka while supplying power to it through Tanaka's power-feeding wire in order to utilize an existing power supply rather than requiring a separate power source for the contactless power supply unit: "Many of the non-contact power feeding devices proposed in the related art… are configured as a device dedicated to power feeding… user has to always carry the non-contact power feeding device in order to charge the secondary battery built in the power fed device such as a mobile phone device, which is troublesome" [Koshimura ¶0005]; thus further simplifying the system.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et. al. (US 20200338748 A1, corresponding to CN111843988A in IDS received 09/11/2026) and Koshimura (JP2013247747A, IDS received 01/07/2025) in view of Muneto (US 20190299404 A1, corresponding to JP2017202550A in IDS received 01/07/2025).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Tanaka discloses the terminal support device according to Claim 1.
However, Modified Tanaka does not explicitly disclose, but Muneto--who is directed towards a robot teaching apparatus--discloses: wherein the safety switch includes: an enable switch configured to output, as the safety signal, an enable signal permitting control of a motion of the robot by the controller when being depressed and prohibiting control of a motion of the robot by the controller when depression is released; and an emergency stop button configured to output, as the safety signal, an emergency stop signal commanding the controller to cause the robot to make an emergency stop when being operated (See at least ¶0040 via "In the robot operation unit 3, operation buttons 8 and an emergency stop button 4 are disposed on the front side, and a trigger switch 5 is disposed on the back side. The emergency stop button 4 and the trigger switch 5 configure a safety securing unit for securing the safe operation of the robot." and ¶0042 via "The robot operates only while pressing the trigger switch 5, and does not operate unless it is pressed." **Which corresponds to the enable switch. Also see ¶0043 via "Further, the emergency stop button 4 is used to emergently stop the operation of the robot in the case of an unexpected operation or runaway when causing the robot to perform a reproduction operation for checking a teaching operation or the like. When the emergency stop button 4 is pressed, an emergency stop switch 20 is turned off, and the signal is sent to the safety circuit 25 in the robot control device 28 to stop the robot" **Which corresponds to an emergency stop button).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Tanaka in view of Muneto's trigger switch and emergency stop button to provide improved safety functions for the robotic operation: "securing the safe operation of the robot…" [Muneto ¶0040] by giving the user/operator more control over the operation in teaching or emergency situations, while mitigating/preventing unexpected operation or runaway: "Thereby, unexpected operation, runaway, and the like of the robot during teaching work can be prevented" [Muneto ¶0042].
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka discloses:
A teaching operation device comprising: a mobile communication terminal configured to command a controller of a robot regarding a motion of the robot through a wireless communication, based on a teaching operation content; and (See at least ¶0021 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 has stored therein an application program for teaching processing for teaching operation to the robot 100". And ¶0055 via the eighth embodiment: "In the embodiments, the teaching units 400 and 600 and the control device 200 are coupled by wired connection. However, coupling is not limited to this. For example, the teaching devices 300 and 500 and the control device 200 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth (registered trademark). In this case, the teaching device 300 may be capable of automatically recognizing, through pairing or the like with the control device 200, the control device 200 coupled to the teaching device 300. The teaching devices 300 and 500 and the portable terminal equipment 350 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth. In this case, the teaching device 300 may be capable of automatically recognizing, through pairing or the like with the portable terminal equipment 350, the portable terminal equipment 350 coupled to the teaching device 300. The portable terminal equipment 350 may be coupled to the control device 200 not via the teaching device 300. In this case, the portable terminal equipment 350 and the control device 200 may be coupled by wireless connection such as Bluetooth", also see Claim 1 rejection regarding the eighth embodiment and rationale).
Modified Tanaka discloses: the terminal support device according to Claim 2, (See Claim 2 rejection and ¶0024).
Tanaka also discloses the mobile communication terminal (See at least ¶0019 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted on the teaching device 300" and ¶0024 via "the teaching device 300 includes a case section 310 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is detachably mounted, the case section 310 including a mounting surface 312 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted." as well as Figure 2).
However, Tanaka does not explicitly disclose, but Koshimura discloses: wherein the mobile communication terminal includes a wireless power reception unit configured to receive electric power wirelessly fed from the wireless power transmission unit in the terminal support device (See at least ¶0030, and ¶0033 via "power is being supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside in this way, by installing the portable device 30, which is a power-supplied device, on the rear surface portion 3a of the cover 3 on the opposite side to the front surface portion 3b, it is possible to charge the secondary battery mounted in the portable device 30." and ¶0041 via "the non-contact charging device control LSI20 supplies power to the power feeding coil 19. As a result, electric power is supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside, and a secondary battery mounted in the mobile device 30 can be charged by placing the mobile device 30 on the 3b of the back portion of the cover 3." and ¶0044 via "When the secondary battery in the mobile device 30 installed on the 3b of the rear portion of the cover 3 is fully charged, the current value of the coil current flowing through the power receiving coil provided in the mobile device 30 becomes close to 0.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Tanaka in view of incorporating Koshimura's contactless power supply unit to supply power to the portable terminal of Tanaka without requiring a separate wired charging cable, which one of ordinary skill recognizes as simplifying the system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the wireless/contactless supply unit into the teaching device of Tanaka while supplying power to it through Tanaka's power-feeding wire in order to utilize an existing power supply rather than requiring a separate power source for the contactless power supply unit: "Many of the non-contact power feeding devices proposed in the related art… are configured as a device dedicated to power feeding… user has to always carry the non-contact power feeding device in order to charge the secondary battery built in the power fed device such as a mobile phone device, which is troublesome" [Koshimura ¶0005]; thus further simplifying the system.
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Tanaka discloses the teaching operation device according to Claim 3.
Furthermore, Tanaka discloses the mobile communication terminal (See at least ¶0019 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted on the teaching device 300" and ¶0024 via "the teaching device 300 includes a case section 310 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is detachably mounted, the case section 310 including a mounting surface 312 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted." as well as Figure 2).
However, Tanaka does not explicitly disclose, but Koshimura discloses: wherein the mobile communication terminal includes a battery configured to store electric power received by the wireless power reception unit, and (See at least ¶0001 via "a power supply device that is mounted on an information device and performs non-contact power supply to a power-supplied device such as a cellular phone device and a PDA ( Personal Digital Assistant )…" and ¶0002 via "A portable terminal device such as a portable telephone device or a PDA is operated by power supplied from a rechargeable secondary battery" as well as ¶0041 via "the non-contact charging device control LSI20 supplies power to the power feeding coil 19. As a result, electric power is supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside, and a secondary battery mounted in the mobile device 30 can be charged by placing the mobile device 30 on the 3b of the back portion of the cover 3.")
at least either of electric power received by the wireless power reception unit and electric power stored in the battery is used as driving power for the mobile communication terminal depending on charge status of the battery (See at least ¶0023 via "in a state in which power is supplied from the commercial power supply to the notebook personal computer 1 via the AC ( Alternating Current ) adapter 7…the notebook type personal computer 1 is operated by using power supplied from a commercial power source, and when the secondary battery 12 is not fully charged, the secondary battery 12 is charged…" as well as ¶0038 via "the CPU 11 determines whether or not power is being supplied from the commercial power source to the notebook computer 1, and determines whether or not the amount of power remaining in the rechargeable batteries 12 exceeds a predetermined value..." and ¶0040 via "the CPU 11 controls the on/ off switching of the switch 1521 to supply power from the commercial power source or the secondary cell 12 to the non-contact power feeding unit 18, and causes the non-contact charging device control LSI20 to start the power feeding operation").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Tanaka in view of incorporating Koshimura's contactless power supply unit to supply power to the portable terminal of Tanaka without requiring a separate wired charging cable, which one of ordinary skill recognizes as simplifying the system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the wireless/contactless supply unit into the teaching device of Tanaka while supplying power to it through Tanaka's power-feeding wire in order to utilize an existing power supply rather than requiring a separate power source for the contactless power supply unit: "Many of the non-contact power feeding devices proposed in the related art… are configured as a device dedicated to power feeding… user has to always carry the non-contact power feeding device in order to charge the secondary battery built in the power fed device such as a mobile phone device, which is troublesome" [Koshimura ¶0005]; thus further simplifying the system.
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Tanaka discloses the teaching operation device according to Claim 3.
Furthermore, Tanaka discloses the mobile communication terminal (See at least ¶0019 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted on the teaching device 300" and ¶0024 via "the teaching device 300 includes a case section 310 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is detachably mounted, the case section 310 including a mounting surface 312 on which the portable terminal equipment 350 is mounted." as well as Figure 2). However, Tanaka does not explicitly disclose, but Koshimura discloses the wireless charging and also:
wherein electric power received by the wireless power reception unit is used as driving power for the mobile communication terminal (See at least ¶0002 via "A portable terminal device such as a portable telephone device or a PDA is operated by power supplied from a rechargeable secondary battery. In general, the secondary battery is charged by a power supply device dedicated to the portable terminal device" and ¶0023 via "in a state in which power is supplied from the commercial power supply to the notebook personal computer 1 via the AC (Alternating Current) adapter 7connected to the connection terminals 13 Each part in the notebook type personal computer 1 is operated by using power supplied from a commercial power source, and when the secondary battery is not fully charged, the secondary battery 12 is charged through a charging circuit 14 and a switch 15" as well as ¶0033 via "power is being supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside in this way, by installing the portable device 30, which is a power-supplied device, on the rear surface portion 3a of the cover 3 on the opposite side to the front surface portion 3b, it is possible to charge the secondary battery mounted in the portable device 30." and ¶0041 via "the non-contact charging device control LSI20 supplies power to the power feeding coil 19. As a result, electric power is supplied from the power supply coil 19 to the outside, and a secondary battery mounted in the mobile device 30 can be charged by placing the mobile device 30 on the 3b of the back portion of the cover 3.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Tanaka in view of incorporating Koshimura's contactless power supply unit to supply power to the portable terminal of Tanaka without requiring a separate wired charging cable, which one of ordinary skill recognizes as simplifying the system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the wireless/contactless supply unit into the teaching device of Tanaka while supplying power to it through Tanaka's power-feeding wire in order to utilize an existing power supply rather than requiring a separate power source for the contactless power supply unit: "Many of the non-contact power feeding devices proposed in the related art… are configured as a device dedicated to power feeding… user has to always carry the non-contact power feeding device in order to charge the secondary battery built in the power fed device such as a mobile phone device, which is troublesome" [Koshimura ¶0005]; thus further simplifying the system.
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Tanaka discloses the teaching operation device according to Claim 3.
Furthermore Tanaka discloses: wherein the mobile communication terminal includes a control unit configured to execute a teaching software program for controlling the controller in such a way that the robot moves based on a teaching operation content on the robot (See at least ¶0021 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 has stored therein an application program for teaching processing for teaching operation to the robot 100. The portable terminal equipment 350 is, for example, a tablet PC or a smartphone. The portable terminal equipment 350 is used to give the robot 100 an instruction other than an instruction to stop to the robot 100. In this embodiment, the portable terminal equipment 350 is a tablet PC" as well as ¶0019 via "The teaching device 300 transmits, to the control device 200, a signal indicating an instruction from a user in performing teaching. The instruction from the user in performing the teaching is, for example, an instruction to stop, an instruction to switch a teaching method, an input of teaching content, and an instruction to execute the teaching content." and ¶0017 via "The control device 200 controls the operation of the robot 100 by driving an actuator according to teaching data stored in the main memory. Programs stored in the nonvolatile memory in advance are used to realize various functions of the control device 200")
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Tanaka discloses the teaching operation device according to Claim 3.
Furthermore Tanaka discloses: wherein the mobile communication terminal is either one of a tablet terminal and a smartphone (See at least ¶0021 via "The portable terminal equipment 350 is, for example, a tablet PC or a smartphone")
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Tanaka discloses:
A robot control system comprising: a controller of a robot; and (See at least Figures 1-2 as well as ¶0015 via "The robot system includes a robot 100, a control device 200, and a teaching unit 400. ")
Modified Tanaka discloses: the teaching operation device according to Claim 3 (See claim 3 rejection).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 09/11/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657