Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-8, 12-14, 17-21 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 17 recite “wherein in response to the AI model being deployed on the terminal device or a base station”. However, it is unclear the meaning of “in response to” because claims 1 and 15 which claims 3 and 5 depend on didn’t disclose any limitation directed to “AI model being deployed on the terminal device or a base station”.
The same issue exists in claims 5-8, 12-14, 18-21 and 26-27.
Claim 7 depends on canceled claim 4.
Corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-15, 17-21, 26-27 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isson (US PUB US2020/0033438 A1)
As per claim 1, Isson teaches a method for determining an input of an artificial intelligent (AI) model, wherein an output of the AI model is configured to determine a position of a terminal device, and the method is performed by the terminal device [abstract, par. 12-13] and comprises:
obtaining positioning measurement results corresponding to a preset number X of base stations [i.e., N value, par. 99], wherein the preset number X is less than a total number M of all base stations [i.e., total number of reference data, par. 102] participating in a positioning measurement, where X and M are both positive integers [Fig. 1, par. 13-20, 23, 25, 56-59, 102, 116-117]; and
determining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the X base stations as the input of the AI model [Fig. 2, 4, par. 33-39, 61-63].
As per claim 2, Isson teaches wherein the positioning measurement results each comprise at least one of an impulse response obtained by measuring a channel between a base station and the terminal device being located; or a measurement power obtained by measuring a reference signal transmitted between a base station and the terminal device being located [par. 31, 58-59, 66-68].
As per claim 3, Isson teaches wherein in response to the AI model being deployed on the terminal device or a base station [i.e., leaning model works with both terminal and base station], and the positioning measurement results being obtained by a measurement by the terminal device, obtaining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the preset number X of base stations comprises:
determining positioning measurement results corresponding to the M base stations obtained by the measurement; selecting the X base stations from the M base stations; and obtaining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the X base stations [par. 13-20, 23-25, 56-59, 97-99, 102, 116-117]; or
in response to the AI model being deployed on the terminal device, and the positioning measurement results being obtained by a measurement by the base station, obtaining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the preset number X of base stations comprises: obtaining corresponding positioning measurement results sent by the M base stations; selecting the X base stations from the M base stations; and obtaining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the X base stations [par. 13-20, 23-25, 56-59, 97-99, 102, 116-117].
As per claim 5, Isson further teaches sending the positioning measurement results corresponding to the X base stations, as the input of the AI model, to a base station where the AI model is deployed [par. 70-71, 76-82].
As per claim 6, Isson further teaches the X base stations selected by the terminal device from the M base stations are the same as X base stations selected by other terminal devices [i.e., the communication system has more than one terminal of interest, par. 12; 70, Fig. 1].
As per claim 7, Isson further teaches determining a value of X; arranging the M base stations according to a position order of the M base stations; and uniformly or non-uniformly selecting the X base stations from arranged M base stations [par. 81]; or determining a base station set, wherein the base station set comprises the X base stations of the M base stations, and determining the X base stations based on the base station set [par. 83]; or determining a value of X, and selecting the X base stations from the M base stations based on first path arrival times of channels between the M base stations and the terminal device [i.e., the base station located within defined range, par. 71, 99].
As per claim 8, Isson further teaches wherein a manner for determining the value of X comprises at least one of determining the value of X based on a protocol agreement ; or determining the value of X based on a configuration of the base station; or wherein a manner for determining the base station set comprises at least one of: determining the base station set based on a protocol agreement, or determining the base station set based on a configuration of the base station [par. 79-83].
As per claim 12, Isson further teaches selecting the X base stations from the M base stations, wherein the X base stations having shortest first path arrival times among the first path arrival times of the channels between the M base stations and the terminal device are selected [i.e., the base station located within defined range, par. 71, 99].
As per claim 13, Isson further teaches determining position coordinates of the X base stations selected [par. 84-88].
As per claim 14, Isson further teaches determining the positioning measurement results corresponding to the X base stations and the position coordinates of the X base stations as the input of the AI model [par. 84-88].
As per claims 15, 17-18, 21 and 26-27, since they have the same limitations as claims 1, 3, 5 and 12-14 from different prospector [i.e., input vs output], they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1, 3, 5 and 12-14 set forth above.
As per claim 19, Isson teaches the base station receiving positioning measurement results corresponding to the same or different X base stations from a plurality of terminal devices in a case that the AI model is configured to position the plurality of terminal devices [i.e., the system has different terminal of interest 70 and base station 81, Fig 1, abstract].
As per claim 20, Isson further teaches selecting the same or different X base stations from the all M base stations for different terminal devices in a case that the AI model is configured to position a plurality of terminal devices [i.e., the system has different terminal of interest 70 and base station 81, Fig 1, abstract].
As per claims 31 and 32, since they are device claim claims 1 and 15, they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1 and 15 set forth above.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Awww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643