DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the frequency offset" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 13-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2015/0327265).
Lee discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a method performed by a coverage enhancing device controlling node (see AP in Figs. 1-2, or “root AP” as used throughout the document), for controlling a CED (see Relays in Figs. 1-2), the method comprising: transmitting, to the CED a configuration message, the configuration message comprising a frequency width parameter (see “the root AP may inform the relay of channel allocation information such as a relay BSS starting channel number, a relay primary channel number, and a relay bandwidth, and a relay beacon interval allowed by the root AP” recited in paragraph [0385]), wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of a frequency width adjustment (see “For example, the root AP may transfer a reduced bandwidth or a disallowed channel number to the other relay to which the channel is overlappingly allocated” recited in paragraph [0392]; see “a root AP may inform the relay 3 of a bandwidth reduced to be less than an initially allocated bandwidth” recited in paragraph [0393]; or see “The root AP may transmit information on an extended bandwidth or information on a channel additionally allocated to a resource allocation IE for the corresponding relay” recited in paragraph [0394]) to be applied by the CED to a signal retransmitted by the CED (paragraph [0392] directed to the resource allocation of the relay and see “By forwarding the data transmitted from the STA 1 and the STA 3 using a relay 1 and a relay 2, such issues may be resolved. A relay may be used for uplink (UL) transmission, and downlink (DL) transmission from an AP to an STA” recited in paragraph [0075], showing that the relay forwards the data for UL/DL transmission between the AP and the STA, which is equivalent to retransmitting a signal in the UL or DL direction).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the retransmitted signal is a signal received from a transmitter node and retransmitted by the CED to a receiver node (see “By forwarding the data transmitted from the STA 1 and the STA 3 using a relay 1 and a relay 2, such issues may be resolved. A relay may be used for uplink (UL) transmission, and downlink (DL) transmission from an AP to an STA” recited in paragraph [0075], showing that the relay forwards the data for UL/DL transmission between the AP and the STA, which is equivalent to retransmitting a signal in the UL or DL direction; wherein in the DL direction, the relay retransmits DL signal from the root AP to the STA), the frequency width parameter being indicative of one or more duplications of the signal received from the transmitter node over a second frequency range, the second frequency range being broader than a first frequency range of the signal received from the transmitter node (see Fig. 40, wherein Relay 3 transmits at a broader frequency range than the Root AP transmission).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of one or more of: a number of the one or more duplications to be applied to the signal received from the transmitter node, a transmit power to be applied to the one or more duplications to be applied to the signal received from the transmitter node, a frequency offset of the one or more duplications from a centre frequency of the signal received from the transmitter node, and the second frequency range in which the one or more duplications are to be distributed (see paragraph [0392] and Fig. 40, which shows the frequency range for the relay transmission during each Relay’s transmission duration, wherein the relay transmission is equivalent the claimed duplications to be distributed).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second frequency range is indicated as one or more of: an absolute frequency range (see frequency range as shown in Fig. 4 in the vertical axis), a number of subcarriers (see “frequency subbands” recited in paragraph [0392] of the channels CH1-CH4 shown in Fig. 40), a number of resource blocks, and a number of resource elements.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the configuration message comprises a duration parameter being indicative of a duration during which the frequency width adjustment is to be applied to the signal retransmitted by the CED (see paragraph [0352], which shows the AP allocating bandwidth to be used by the relay and the transmission duration of the relay; or see “the root AP may inform a relay that is allowed to use an overlappingly allocated channel in a predetermined time duration” recited in paragraph [0392]; or see “In a case in which there is a duration in which a bandwidth temporarily varies in a duration allocated to a relay, the duration may need to be divided and thereby be indicated” recited in paragraph [0412]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the duration parameter is indicative of a start time at which the frequency offset is to be applied (see Fig. 40, wherein each transmission duration having different start time and frequency channels; or see paragraph [0408], which recites “frequency sub-channel information” being included in the allocation information, the use of different frequency channels requires different frequency offset to be applied; and see “relay start time” being included in the Resource Allocation Information recited in paragraph [0405]).
Regarding claim 13, a method performed by a CED (see Relays in Figs. 1-2), the method comprising: receiving, from a CED controlling node (see AP in Figs. 1-2, or “root AP” as used throughout the document), a configuration message, wherein the configuration message comprises a frequency width parameter (see “the root AP may inform the relay of channel allocation information such as a relay BSS starting channel number, a relay primary channel number, and a relay bandwidth, and a relay beacon interval allowed by the root AP” recited in paragraph [0385]), wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of a frequency width adjustment (see “For example, the root AP may transfer a reduced bandwidth or a disallowed channel number to the other relay to which the channel is overlappingly allocated” recited in paragraph [0392]; see “a root AP may inform the relay 3 of a bandwidth reduced to be less than an initially allocated bandwidth” recited in paragraph [0393]; or see “The root AP may transmit information on an extended bandwidth or information on a channel additionally allocated to a resource allocation IE for the corresponding relay” recited in paragraph [0394]) to be applied by the CED to a signal retransmitted by the CED (paragraph [0392] directed to the resource allocation of the relay and see “By forwarding the data transmitted from the STA 1 and the STA 3 using a relay 1 and a relay 2, such issues may be resolved. A relay may be used for uplink (UL) transmission, and downlink (DL) transmission from an AP to an STA” recited in paragraph [0075], showing that the relay forwards the data for UL/DL transmission between the AP and the STA, which is equivalent to retransmitting a signal in the UL or DL direction), applying the frequency width adjustment to a signal received from a transmitter node, and transmitting, to a receiver node, the signal with the applied frequency width adjustment (paragraphs [0392]-[0393] shows the change in bandwidth used by the relay for communication with the STA; Fig. 1-2, 40 shows the relay forwarding received data to the STAs).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the retransmitted signal is a signal received from a transmitter node and retransmitted by the CED to a receiver node (see “By forwarding the data transmitted from the STA 1 and the STA 3 using a relay 1 and a relay 2, such issues may be resolved. A relay may be used for uplink (UL) transmission, and downlink (DL) transmission from an AP to an STA” recited in paragraph [0075], showing that the relay forwards the data for UL/DL transmission between the AP and the STA, which is equivalent to retransmitting a signal in the UL or DL direction; wherein in the DL direction, the relay retransmits DL signal from the root AP to the STA), the frequency width parameter being indicative of one or more duplications of the signal received from the transmitter node over a second frequency range, the second frequency range being broader than a first frequency range of the signal received from the transmitter node (see Fig. 40, wherein Relay 3 transmits at a broader frequency range than the Root AP transmission).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of one or more of: a number of the one or more duplications to be applied to the signal received from the transmitter node, a transmit power to be applied to the one or more duplications to be applied to the signal received from the transmitter node, a frequency offset of the one or more duplications from a centre frequency of the signal received from the transmitter node, and the second frequency range in which the one or more duplications are to be distributed (see paragraph [0392] and Fig. 40, which shows the frequency range for the relay transmission during each Relay’s transmission duration, wherein the relay transmission is equivalent the claimed duplications to be distributed).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of the second frequency range in which the one or more duplications are to be distributed (see paragraph [0392] and Fig. 40, which shows the frequency range for the relay transmission during each Relay’s transmission duration, wherein the relay transmission is equivalent the claimed duplications to be distributed).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the second frequency range is indicated as one or more of: an absolute frequency range (see frequency range as shown in Fig. 4 in the vertical axis), a number of subcarriers (see “frequency subbands” recited in paragraph [0392] of the channels CH1-CH4 shown in Fig. 40), a number of resource blocks, and a number of resource elements.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the configuration message comprises a duration parameter being indicative of a duration during which the frequency width adjustment is to be applied to the signal retransmitted by the CED (see paragraph [0352], which shows the AP allocating bandwidth to be used by the relay and the transmission duration of the relay; or see “the root AP may inform a relay that is allowed to use an overlappingly allocated channel in a predetermined time duration” recited in paragraph [0392]; or see “In a case in which there is a duration in which a bandwidth temporarily varies in a duration allocated to a relay, the duration may need to be divided and thereby be indicated” recited in paragraph [0412]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Saito (US 2011/0105016).
Lee discloses the features as shown above.
Lee does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 5 and 18, wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of one or more antenna element frequency offsets, wherein each of the one or more antenna element frequency offsets is to be applied to a respective set of antenna elements of the CED upon retransmitting the signal to the receiver node.
Saito discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, wherein the frequency width parameter is indicative of one or more antenna element frequency offsets, wherein each of the one or more antenna element frequency offsets is to be applied to a respective set of antenna elements of the CED upon retransmitting the signal to the receiver node (see “Base station 10 may control and notify offset information to relay station 20, and relay station 20 itself may control offset information” recited in paragraph [0040] and “Radio transmitting section 205 performs transmitting processing including D/A conversion and up-conversion on the signal with the frequency offset, and relays the resulting signal from antenna 201 to mobile station 30” recited in paragraph [0042], wherein the relay transmission that is associated with the frequency offset as shown in Saito is associated with the frequency width parameter as shown in Lee as applied in the rejections above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current Application to modify the system of Lee using features, as taught by Saito, in order to reduce overhead due to frequency switching processing (see paragraph [0013] of Saito).
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claims 6 and 19 above, and further in view of Kusashima (US 2024/0023315).
Lee discloses the features as shown above.
Lee does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 7 and 20, wherein the duration is indicated as one or more of a number of symbols and a number of slots.
Kusashima discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, wherein the duration is indicated as one or more of a number of symbols and a number of slots (see “DCI for the repeater device 30 includes information about a transmission duration… information about a slot to which the PDCCH to be transferred is transmitted and CORESET in which the PDCCH to be transferred is positioned (the number of symbols of CORESET)” recited in paragraph [0325]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Lee using features, as taught by Kusashima, in order to indicate duration where data is to be transferred (see paragraphs [0323]-[0325] of Kusashima).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Queseth (US 2012/0176958).
Lee discloses the features as shown above.
Lee does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the configuration message comprises a pattern indicator indicating a pattern in which the frequency width adjustment is to be applied; regarding claim 10, wherein the pattern indicator indicates that the frequency width adjustment is to be applied to uplink and/or downlink signaling.
Queseth discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the configuration message comprises a pattern indicator indicating a pattern in which the frequency width adjustment is to be applied (see “wherein the information includes an identifier which identifies whether the at least one bandwidth being configured in the relay node is for an uplink, a downlink or both the uplink and the downlink” recited in claim 8, wherein the indication of uplink and/or downlink is considered the claimed pattern).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the pattern indicator indicates that the frequency width adjustment is to be applied to uplink and/or downlink signaling (see “wherein the information includes an identifier which identifies whether the at least one bandwidth being configured in the relay node is for an uplink, a downlink or both the uplink and the downlink” recited in claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Lee using features, as taught by Queseth, in order to uniquely indicate the bandwidth used by the relay (see paragraphs [0077]-[0086] of Queseth).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2024/0031005).
Lee discloses the features as shown above.
Lee does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, receiving, from the CED, a capability message indicating that the CED can apply a frequency width adjustment to the signal retransmitted by the CED; regarding claim 12, wherein the capability message comprises an indication for a frequency bandwidth supported by the CED.
Liu discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 11, receiving, from the CED, a capability message indicating that the CED can apply a frequency width adjustment to the signal retransmitted by the CED (see “In an embodiment, the relay node may report capability information of the relay node to the network device. The capability information may include a quantity of supported receive channels and transmit channels, a maximum quantity of supported frequencies, frequency shift modes, and frequency domain positions, and the like” recited in paragraph [0151]; and see “A frequency domain position may also be referred to as a frequency, a center frequency band, a component carrier, a serving cell, a carrier, or a bandwidth part (BWP), and may be a frequency domain resource used to carry a signa” recited in paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the capability message comprises an indication for a frequency bandwidth supported by the CED (see “In an embodiment, the relay node may report capability information of the relay node to the network device. The capability information may include a quantity of supported receive channels and transmit channels, a maximum quantity of supported frequencies, frequency shift modes, and frequency domain positions, and the like” recited in paragraph [0151]; and see “A frequency domain position may also be referred to as a frequency, a center frequency band, a component carrier, a serving cell, a carrier, or a bandwidth part (BWP), and may be a frequency domain resource used to carry a signa” recited in paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Lee using features, as taught by Liu, in order to obtain capability information to perform frequency shifting (see paragraphs [0144]-[0150] of Liu.).
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473