Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on August 14, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Van de Vrie does not disclose the common technical feature. This is persuasive, however Alam in view of Swanson or Dudley renders the common technical feature obvious, as described in detail in the 35 USC 103 rejections below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because there are no active, positive steps delimiting how the method is practiced, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the surface." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the finished eyeglass structure." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the connecting region." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the phrase is referring back to the previously recited “at least one connecting region” or a second connecting region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam (“Development of 3D-Printed Glasses for Color Vision Deficiency” Adv. Eng. Mater. 2022, 24, 2200211) in view of Swanson (US 2014/0252684).
Claims 1-3 and 10: Alam discloses a method for additively manufacturing a component of an eyeglass structure by stereolithography (abstract), wherein the component includes at least one eyeglass frame having an inner edge (fig. 2), wherein an outer support structure for supporting the eyeglass frame is manufactured together with the eyeglass frame wherein the outer support structure of the manufactured component is connected to the component (fig. 2; pages 3-4; Table 1),wherein the surface of the component includes at least one connecting region (fig. 2), wherein the connecting region is concealed in a use position of the finished eyeglass structure (fig. 2).
Alam is silent as to positions of additional support structures. However, in the same field of endeavor, Swanson discloses a method for additively manufacturing components, including building support structures as needed to support areas of the components being printed (¶ 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included multiple support structures in the method of Alam in order to support areas of the components being printed.
Claims 4-5: Swanson discloses support structures in cavities being disc-shaped (¶ 4).
Claim 6-7: Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 245 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 8: Alam discloses the component including two eyeglass frames connected by a bridge (fig. 2).
Claim 9: Alam discloses the bridge being arranged vertically during the manufacturing (fig. 2).
Claim 11: Alam discloses the component and structure being manufactured from a same material (pp. 3-4).
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam (“Development of 3D-Printed Glasses for Color Vision Deficiency” Adv. Eng. Mater. 2022, 24, 2200211) in view of Dudley (US 2014/0265034).
Claims 1-3 and 10: Alam discloses a method for additively manufacturing a component of an eyeglass structure by stereolithography (abstract), wherein the component includes at least one eyeglass frame having an inner edge (fig. 2), wherein an outer support structure for supporting the eyeglass frame is manufactured together with the eyeglass frame wherein the outer support structure of the manufactured component is connected to the component (fig. 2; pages 3-4; Table 1),wherein the surface of the component includes at least one connecting region (fig. 2), wherein the connecting region is concealed in a use position of the finished eyeglass structure (fig. 2).
Alam is silent as to positions of additional support structures. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dudley discloses a method for additively manufacturing components by stereolithography, including automatically generating and building support structures as needed to support areas of the components being printed (¶¶ 106-110). SLA processes inherently require supports to stabilize overhangs and to connect parts to the build platform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included multiple support structures in the method of Alam in order to support areas of the components being printed.
Claims 4-5: Dudley discloses support structures in cavities being disc-shaped (¶ 97).
Claim 6-7: Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 245 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 8: Alam discloses the component including two eyeglass frames connected by a bridge (fig. 2).
Claim 9: Alam discloses the bridge being arranged vertically during the manufacturing (fig. 2).
Claim 11: Alam discloses the component and structure being manufactured from a same material (pp. 3-4).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754