DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 09/28/2026 concerning application no. 18/992,165 filed on 01/07/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending (Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending (Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the lens elements in the first group are configured to introduce a first mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, and the lens elements in the second group are configured to introduce a second mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, the first mechanical time delay being different from the second mechanical time delay” (Claim 1) and “The sparse-array ultrasound imaging system of claim 5, wherein the one or more lens layers comprise an acoustic lens and are coupled to the ultrasound transducer at a first spacing relative to the transducer array, and wherein the first spacing is adjustable, and wherein at least one of the first and second mechanical time delays is adjustable by adjusting a height of each element in the acoustic lens relative to a spacing with the transducer array” (Claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the plurality of lens elements comprises at least a first group of lens elements and a second group of lens elements”. Paragraphs 0006, 0012-13, and 0037 disclose the groups having the lens elements. The specification fails to disclose the invention such that the lens elements include one or more groups of elements. Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one with ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claim invention at the time of filing.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are also rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claims 2-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “each of the first and second groups comprises a plurality of lens elements”. This claim element is indefinite. Claim 1 establishes “the plurality of lens elements comprises at least a first group of lens elements and a second group of lens elements”. It would be unclear two one with ordinary skill in the art if the plurality of lens elements comprise the groups or the groups comprise the plurality of lens elements.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a plurality of lens elements”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “plurality of lens elements” is the same as the “plurality of lens elements” established in claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 6 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “wherein the first spacing is adjustable, and wherein at least one of the first and second mechanical time delays is adjustable by adjusting a height of each element in the acoustic lens relative to a spacing with the transducer array”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what manner the first spacing is adjustable. Furthermore, it is unclear if the spacing being adjustable is in association with the adjustment of the height or is conducted in another manner.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “wherein the first spacing is adjustable, and wherein at least one of the first and second mechanical time delays is adjustable by adjusting a height of each element in the acoustic lens relative to a spacing with the transducer array”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what form the spacing and the height are adjusted. One interpretation is that there is thermal deformation. Another interpretation is that there is fluid lenses that are deformed. A third interpretation is that the acoustic lens is interchangeable. A fourth interpretation is that the positioning of the lens is altered.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a spacing”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “spacing” is the same as the “first spacing” established in the preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the one or more lens layers comprise an acoustic lens”. This claim element is indefinite. It is understood in the art that an acoustic lens is “in ultrasonography, a lens used to focus or diverge a sound beam…”1. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what manner the lens layers comprise an acoustic lens as the lens is made up of a material for the ultrasound transmission2.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
The claim as a whole would be unclear to one with ordinary in the art what the scope of the claim element is as in its present form, the claim element is grammatically incorrect.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishrak et al. (US Patent No. 5,922,962) in view of Martin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0060736).
Regarding claim 1, Ishrak teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
an ultrasound transducer comprising a transducer array having a plurality of transducer elements defining an element layer, the plurality of transducer elements being configured to emit ultrasound signals; and one or more lens layers positioned over the element layer, the one or more lens layers comprising a plurality of lens elements positioned over and corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of transducer elements; wherein the plurality of lens elements comprises at least a first group of lens elements and a second group of lens elements; wherein the first and second mechanical time delays provide front-end beamforming of the ultrasound signals (Col. 11, lines 56-58, teach Fig. 8 shows a block diagram of circuitry which may be used in conjunction with any of the sparse transducer arrays of Fig. 4a-6e. See Fig. 5A, Fig. 8. Abstract teaches the plurality of transducer elements are arranged in an array into columns and rows. Elements 510, 512, 514 define an element layer. Col. 9, lines 30-39 teaches as each transducer element is activated, the energy is then focused by compound lens 503 according to the portion of the lens to which the transducer element(s) are affixed. Thus, when element 510 is activated, the energy generated is focused by the portion 511 of lens 503, causing the focusing of the energy at focal zone (the near-field) A shown in FIG. 5b. Likewise, when elements 512 and 514 are activated via channel 552, the portions 513 and 515 of lens 503 cause the ultrasonic burst to be focused at focal zone B (the far-field) shown in FIG. 5b. The wavefront is shown as 530 in FIG. 5b. Col. 9, lines 22-24 teach a compound lens 503 is affixed to the sparse transducer array shown as elements 501 using an epoxy or other similar adhesive medium 502. Lens portions 511, 513, 515 correspond, respectively, with elements 510, 512, 514. See Fig. 5A. Col. 9, lines 22-57 teach a compound lens 503 is affixed to the sparse transducer array. Lens portions 511, 513, 515 have different thicknesses and thus affect time delays of signals emitted by the elements 510, 512, 514. The lenses 511 and 515 provide a common focus and the elements within lens 513 provide a common focus. Abstract teaches that the emission and activation is simultaneous to focus on the specified location and can be done based on the lens. See Fig. 5B. Col. 9, lines 22-24 teach a compound lens 503 is affixed to the sparse transducer array. Lens portions 511, 513, 515 have different thicknesses and thus affect time delays of signals emitted by the elements 510, 512, 514. Col. 2, lines 60- Col. 3, lines 31 attribute the delay according to lens dimensions. See Fig. 5).
However, Ishrak is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, wherein the lens elements in the first group are configured to introduce a first mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, and the lens elements in the second group are configured to introduce a second mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, the first mechanical time delay being different from the second mechanical time delay.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding acoustic lens design and ultrasound imaging, Martin teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, wherein the lens elements in the first group are configured to introduce a first mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, and the lens elements in the second group are configured to introduce a second mechanical time delay to ultrasound signals emitted by corresponding ones of the transducer elements, the first mechanical time delay being different from the second mechanical time delay (Paragraph 0049 teaches the use of Fresnel lens for the transducer end. Paragraph 0105 teaches that the ultrasound propagation is distorted by the lens. The lens functions bend and focus the ultrasound over time. See Figs. 23-28. For instance, over time, the ultrasound emission on the ends of the transducer has exceeded the ultrasound transmission in the center elements at particular instances of time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ishrak with Martin’s teaching of varying mechanical time delays due to the lens. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve ultrasonic applicators amenable for use in catheteric medical procedures (Paragraph 0011 of Martin). Furthermore, the modification will improve sonic focusing (Paragraph 0049 of Martin).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Ishrak further teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, wherein each of the first and second groups comprises a plurality of lens elements, and the lens elements within each of the first and second groups are of the same type (Fig. 5A shows lens portions 511, 513, 515 that define an element layer that correspond to the respective elements that they are above. Each of the portions are shown to have multiple portions as seen in Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Ishrak further teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, wherein different lens layers associated with the first and second groups lens elements have different lens thicknesses (Figs. 5A-5B lens portions are shown to have differing thickness across the differing groups).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Ishrak further teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging system, wherein the one or more lens layers are configured to be coupled to the ultrasound transducer of the sparse-array ultrasound imaging system (Col. 9, lines 22-24 teach a compound lens 503 is affixed to the sparse transducer array shown as elements 501 using an epoxy or other similar adhesive medium 502. Lens portions 511, 513, 515 correspond, respectively, with elements 510, 512, 514. See Fig. 5A).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishrak et al. (US Patent No. 5,922,962) in view of Martin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0060736) further in view of Sinelnikov (PGPUB No. US 2013/0060141).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Ishrak and Martin is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the one or more lens layers comprise an acoustic lens and are coupled to the ultrasound transducer at a first spacing relative to the transducer array, and wherein the first spacing is adjustable, and wherein at least one of the first and second mechanical time delays is adjustable by adjusting a height of each element in the acoustic lens relative to a spacing with the transducer array.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging control, Sinelnikov teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the one or more lens layers comprise an acoustic lens and are coupled to the ultrasound transducer at a first spacing relative to the transducer array, and wherein the first spacing is adjustable, and wherein at least one of the first and second mechanical time delays is adjustable by adjusting a height of each element in the acoustic lens relative to a spacing with the transducer array (Paragraph 0009 teaches the implementation of Fresnel lenses differing design and emission depths. Paragraph 0091 teaches the implementation of a Fresnel lens in the transducer. The lens is able to be rotatable relative to the array. Such an implementation alters the relative depth of the element as the angle of approach is altered. See Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Ishrak and Martin with Sinelnikov’s teaching of adjustable acoustic lens with respect to the spacing to the transducer. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve an imaging resolution for deep seated organ (Paragraph 0034 of Sinelnikov). Furthermore, the modification allows the manipulation of the focus (Paragraph 0019 of Sinelnikov).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishrak et al. (US Patent No. 5,922,962) in view of Martin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0060736) further in view of Rodriguez-Molares et al. ("Sequential CPWC: From ultrafast to ultralight", 2017).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Ishrak and Martin is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein a number of receive elements of the transducer array is reduced by a channel reduction factor and wherein the channel reduction factor is 8/5 or greater.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging control, Rodriguez-Molares teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein a number of receive elements of the transducer array is reduced by a channel reduction factor and wherein the channel reduction factor is 8/5 or greater (Paragraph 1 of Discussion section teaches that the channel reduction factor can be up to 18. Paragraphs 1-3 teach the control of the transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Ishrak and Martin with Rodriguez-Molares’s teaching of the reduction according to a defined channel reduction factor. This modified apparatus would allow the user to utilize a simpler method than synthetic aperture sequential beamforming (SASB) (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares). Furthermore, the modification is able to reduce the number of channels between probe and the scanner (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Ishrak and Martin is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the channel reduction factor is 4 or greater.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging control, Rodriguez-Molares teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the channel reduction factor is 4 or greater (Paragraph 1 of Discussion section teaches that the channel reduction factor can be up to 18. Paragraphs 1-3 teach the control of the transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Ishrak and Martin with Rodriguez- Molares’s teaching of the reduction according to a defined channel reduction factor. This modified apparatus would allow the user to utilize a simpler method than synthetic aperture sequential beamforming (SASB) (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares). Furthermore, the modification is able to reduce the number of channels between probe and the scanner (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Ishrak and Martin is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the channel reduction factor is 8 or greater.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging control, Rodriguez-Molares teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein the channel reduction factor is 8 or greater (Paragraph 1 of Discussion section teaches that the channel reduction factor can be up to 18. Paragraphs 1-3 teach the control of the transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Ishrak and Martin with Rodriguez- Molares’s teaching of the reduction according to a defined channel reduction factor. This modified apparatus would allow the user to utilize a simpler method than synthetic aperture sequential beamforming (SASB) (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares). Furthermore, the modification is able to reduce the number of channels between probe and the scanner (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ishrak teaches the sparse-array ultrasound imaging in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Ishrak and Martin is silent regarding a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein a number of transmit elements of the transducer array is reduced by the same channel reduction factor as the number of receive elements.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging control, Rodriguez-Molares teaches a sparse-array ultrasound imaging, wherein a number of transmit elements of the transducer array is reduced by the same channel reduction factor as the number of receive elements (Paragraph 1 of Discussion section teaches that the channel reduction factor can be up to 18. Paragraphs 1-3 teach the control of the transmission and reception).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Ishrak and Martin with Rodriguez- Molares’s teaching of the reduction according to a defined channel reduction factor with respect to the transmission and the reception. This modified apparatus would allow the user to utilize a simpler method than synthetic aperture sequential beamforming (SASB) (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares). Furthermore, the modification is able to reduce the number of channels between probe and the scanner (Abstract of Rodriguez-Molares).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kunkel et al. (PGPUB No. US 2014/0204717): Teaches adjustment of an acoustic lens element with respect to height to alter the time delay.
Shinomura et al. (PGPUB No. US 2005/0124880): Teaches adjustment of an acoustic lens element with respect to height to alter the time delay.
Towfiq et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0043206): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Slayton et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0074313): Teaches adjustment of an acoustic lens element with respect to height to alter the time delay.
Hsieh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0093289): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Hollender et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0305841): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Brown et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0041644): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Maurice et al. (PGPUB No. US 2022/0128687): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Owen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0298309): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Slayton et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0074355): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Sliwa et al. (PGPUB No. US 2008/0194967): Teaches adjustment of an acoustic lens element with respect to height to alter the time delay.
Hao et al. (PGPUB No. US 2012/0046548): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Bates (PGPUB No. US 2020/00405260): Teaches variation of the lens element to alter time delays.
Hokanson et al. (US Patent No. 4,532,933): Teaches adjustment of an acoustic lens element with respect to height to alter the time delay.
Nguyen et al. ("Fresnel Beamforming for Low-Cost, Portable Ultrasound Systems", 2013): Teaches Fresnel beamforming and shows varying time delays.
Latham et al. ("Simultaneous Azimuth and Fresnel Elevation Compounding: A Fast 3-D Imaging Technique for Crossed-Electrode Arrays", 2018): Teaches Fresnel beamforming and shows varying time delays.
Augspurger ("The Acoustic Lens", 1962): Teaches beamforming and shows varying time delays via an acoustic lens.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 Link: https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/acoustic+lens
2 “You can switch between convex, concave, Fresnel (zone plate), and GRIN (gradient-index) lens designs; set the speed ratio c_lens/c₀ for slower or faster lens materials” (Link: https://www.mysimulator.uk/sound/acoustic-lens/)