DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKATA et al. (US 20210215923 A1) in view of Groszmann (US 20080091069 A1).
Regarding claim 1. NAKATA discloses An imaging device for imaging a sample (abstract, A microscope system includes an eyepiece, an objective, a tube lens, an imaging apparatus, a projection apparatus that projects a projection image onto an image plane between the tube lens and the eyepiece on which an optical image is formed; [0031] The microscope system 1 is used to observe a sample), the imaging device comprising:
an image sensor having a sensor area for receiving detection light from the sample ([0007] an imaging apparatus that acquires digital image data of the sample on the basis of light therefrom), and configured to generate an image from the detection light received by an active area, wherein the active area is rectangular and a part of the sensor area of the image sensor ([0007] a projection apparatus that projects a projection image onto an image plane between the tube lens and the eyepiece on which the optical image is formed; figure 15, [0097] signals may be read from pixels included in a region A2);
a camera adapter configured to mount the image sensor ([0037] The tube 120 is a trinocular tube mounted with the eyepiece 104 and the imaging apparatus 140); and
a controller configured to determine a magnification of the camera adapter ([0032] the control apparatus 10 in the microscope system 1 manages microscope information MI; [0059] microscope information MI includes at least a projection magnification α, i.e., a first magnification at which an image of a sample is projected onto the image plane IP1, a projection magnification β, i.e., a second magnification at which an image of the sample is projected onto the imaging apparatus 140, a projection magnification γ, i.e., a third magnification at which an image of the projection apparatus 131 is projected onto the image plane IP1), determine a size of the sensor area of the image sensor ([0059] the size A of the imaging apparatus 140), and set a size of the active area based on the magnification of the camera adapter and the size of the sensor area ([0097] the control apparatus 10 may determine, on the basis of the projection magnification β and the size A of the image sensor 141, pixels from which signals are to be read among the effective pixels of the image sensor 141) such that a side of the active area matches a diameter of a circular current field of view of the imaging device ([0059] The projection magnification α, the projection magnification β, the projection magnification γ, the size A of the imaging apparatus 140, and the size B of the projection apparatus 131 are information used to project a projection image having a desired size onto a desired position on an optical image; figure 15, [0097] signals may be read from pixels included in a region A2).
Groszmann also discloses changing endoscope magnification to reduce black space surrounding the circular endoscope images in the rectangular projected images on a charge-coupled device (CCD) ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inventions of NAKATA and Groszmann, to change the dimensions of the active area relative to the dimensions of the field of view, to match a diagonal (instead of a side) of the active area with a diameter of the field of view, in order to further reduce the black space.
See 2144.04. IV. A. Changes in Size/Proportion, “the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”.
Regarding claim 3. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising a first camera port with a first field of view, the first camera port being configured to receive the camera adapter so that, when the camera adapter is arranged between the first camera port and the image sensor, the current field of view of the imaging device is defined by the first field of view (figure 1, [0037] The tube 120 is a trinocular tube mounted with the eyepiece 104 and the imaging apparatus 140).
Regarding claim 5. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to detect a change of the camera adapter, and upon detecting the change of the camera adapter, set the size of the active area based on the changed camera adapter ([0092] the control apparatus 10 changes the image acquisition setting on the basis of the microscope information acquired in step S22; [0068] projection image data is generated on the basis of the microscope information MI acquired by the projection image generation section 23 in step S2, the projection image generation section 23 may generate projection image data representing a projection image P1 including a scale, such as that depicted by the image V2 in FIG. 5, by using the projection magnification γ, the projection magnification γ, and the size B of the projection apparatus 131, which are included in the microscope information MI).
Regarding claim 6. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising an optical detection system configured to receive the detection light from the sample, and direct the detection light onto the sensor area of the image sensor via the camera adapter ([0007] an imaging apparatus that acquires digital image data of the sample on the basis of light therefrom, a projection apparatus that projects a projection image onto an image plane between the tube lens and the eyepiece on which the optical image is formed).
Regarding claim 7. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to set the size of the active area based on an optical parameter of the optical detection system ([0032] the control apparatus 10 in the microscope system 1 manages microscope information MI; [0059] microscope information MI includes at least a projection magnification α, i.e., a first magnification at which an image of a sample is projected onto the image plane IP1, a projection magnification β, i.e., a second magnification at which an image of the sample is projected onto the imaging apparatus 140, a projection magnification γ, i.e., a third magnification at which an image of the projection apparatus 131 is projected onto the image plane IP1; [0097] the control apparatus 10 may determine, on the basis of the projection magnification β and the size A of the image sensor 141, pixels from which signals are to be read among the effective pixels of the image sensor 141).
Regarding claim 8. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to detect a change of the optical parameter of the optical detection system, and upon detecting the change of the optical parameter of the optical detection system, set the size of the active area based on the changed the optical parameter ([0032] the control apparatus 10 in the microscope system 1 manages microscope information MI; [0059] microscope information MI includes at least a projection magnification α, i.e., a first magnification at which an image of a sample is projected onto the image plane IP1, a projection magnification β, i.e., a second magnification at which an image of the sample is projected onto the imaging apparatus 140, a projection magnification γ, i.e., a third magnification at which an image of the projection apparatus 131 is projected onto the image plane IP1; [0097] the control apparatus 10 may determine, on the basis of the projection magnification β and the size A of the image sensor 141, pixels from which signals are to be read among the effective pixels of the image sensor 141).
Regarding claim 9. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising a user input unit configured to receive a user input; wherein the controller is configured to determine the magnification of the camera adapter and/or the size of the sensor area of the image sensor based on the user input ([0049] The input apparatus 40 outputs, to the control apparatus 10, an operation signal that corresponds to an input operation performed by the user; [0054] A region of interest to be tracked may be determined by analyzing digital image data or may be determined by a user designating the same using the input apparatus 40; [0058]).
Regarding claim 12. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device is configured for fluorescence imaging ([0036] the turret 111 may have disposed thereon a fluorescence cube to be used in a fluorescent observation method).
Regarding claim 13. NAKATA discloses The imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device is a microscope (abstract, A microscope system includes an eyepiece, an objective, a tube lens, an imaging apparatus, a projection apparatus that projects a projection image onto an image plane between the tube lens and the eyepiece on which an optical image is formed; [0031] The microscope system 1 is used to observe a sample).
Regarding claim 14, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKATA et al. (US 20210215923 A1) in view of Belote et al. (US 20170126986 A1).
Regarding claim 4. Belote discloses a second camera port with a second field of view, the second camera port being configured to receive the camera adapter so that, when the camera adapter is arranged between the second camera port and the image sensor, the current field of view of the imaging device is defined by the second field of view (figure 1, [0024] The optical system 100 includes two sets of front objective optics, one for the primary field-of-view, referred to as primary FOV optics 130, and one for the secondary field-of-view, referred to as secondary FOV optics 140. Similarly, the secondary FOV optics 140 collects and directs electromagnetic radiation corresponding to the secondary field-of-view of the system, referred to herein as the secondary FOV 145, that is processed by the detector assembly 120 to produce secondary field-of-view image frames), wherein the controller is configured to set the size of the active area based on whether the camera adapter is arranged on the first camera port or the second camera port ([0026] The field-of-view selection mechanism 160 can be configured to alter the output 165 between these two options upon command from a user or automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of NAKATA and Belote, to include multiple camera ports/optics, in order to better image the sample.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKATA et al. (US 20210215923 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20220206007 A1).
Regarding claim 10. Li discloses a camera adapter is a c-mount adapter, an f-mount adapter or a t-mount adapter ([0031] C-mount imaging lens acting as tube lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of NAKATA and Li, to use C-mount imaging lens acting as tube lens/a camera adapter, in order to effectively image the sample.
Regarding claim 11. Li discloses the magnification of the camera adapter is in a range from 0.25× to 2× ([0008] The platform has an imaging module with a magnification ranging from 1× to 100× which is application specific).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488