DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19, 25-26, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arcelik (WO 2017/080583 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Arcelik figures 1-5 teach a dishwasher, comprising:
a dishwasher cavity (tub) designed to receive an item to be washed;[0034]
a circulating pump (4);[0033-34]
a circulating line (3 conveying means, 10 first duct, 12 extension) connected downstream of the circulating pump and supplying washing liquor to a spray apparatus (5 flexible spray element), said circulating line comprising a mouth (11 connection port) leading into the dishwasher cavity and designed to connect the spray apparatus;
a branching arranged along the circulating line, with the mouth of the circulating line connected downstream of the branching (shown in figure 3); and
a removable closure designed to close the mouth of the circulating line (a shutting
element, for preventing the liquid from flowing through the connection port 11 when
the dishwasher is operated with the flexible spray element 5 removed.)[0052]
Regarding claim 17, Arcelik is directed towards a dishwasher.[Abstract].
Regarding claim 18, Arcelik teaches a shutting element, for preventing the liquid from flowing through the connection port 11 when the dishwasher is operated with the flexible spray element 5 removed thereby suggesting wherein the closure is designed to sealingly close the mouth relative to washing liquor.[0052]
Regarding claim 19, Arcelik teaches wherein the closure (shutting element) is designed to encompass the mouth(11 connection port).
Regarding claim 25, Arcelik a shutting element, for preventing the liquid from flowing through the connection port 11 when the dishwasher is operated with the flexible spray element 5 removed thereby suggesting wherein the closure comprises a plug portion which engages in the circulating line in a closed position of the closure.
Regarding claim 26, Arcelik suggests wherein the plug portion is dimensioned in order to engage in the circulating line from the mouth to the branching.
Regarding claim 35, Arcelik figures 1-5 teach a receptacle for items to be washed, the receptacle comprising:
a supply coupling (4 pump);
a circulating line (10 first duct) connected downstream of the supply coupling, wherein the supply coupling is designed to supply washing liquor into the circulating line;
a branching (12 extension) arranged along the circulating line; and
a mouth (11 connection port) connected downstream of the branching, said mouth being designed for connecting a spray apparatus (5 flexible spray element) and closed by a removable closure (a shutting element, for preventing the liquid from flowing through the connection port 11 when the dishwasher is operated with the flexible spray element 5 removed.)[0052]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arcelik (WO 2017/080583 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Arcelik 921 (WO 2015/096921).
Regarding claim 20, Arcelik 921 figure 5 at least one channel (6) that is arranged on the water supply line (5) such that one end remains inside the water supply line (5) and the other end opens into the washing tub (2). Arcelik 921 teaches a valve (8) that is disposed on each channel (6) and that prevents water from passing from the channel (6) into the washing tub (2) by at least partially closing the channel (6).[0024-26]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention to provide a configuration as taught by Arcelik 921 to increase washing effectiveness.[0004]
Regarding claim 21, Arcelik 921 teaches a valve (8) that is disposed on each channel (6) and that prevents water from passing from the channel (6) into the washing tub (2) by at least partially closing the channel (6) thereby suggesting wherein the closure comprises a first latching contour and the circulating line comprises a second latching contour, with the first and second latching contours being complementary to one another to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 22, Arcelik 921 suggests wherein the first latching contour positively engages behind the second latching contour to be an obvious modification as a change in shape.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 27, Arcelik 921 figure 4 suggests wherein the circulating line comprises a supply branch which is connected or connectable to the circulating pump, and a parallel branch which is connected in parallel to the mouth, with the supply branch and the parallel branch coming into contact in the branching, said plug portion having a footprint which in the closed position transitions into an inner wall of the supply branch and an inner wall of the parallel branch.
Regarding claim 28, Arcelik 921 figures 1-4 suggest wherein the branching is arranged in the dishwasher cavity.
Regarding claim 29, Arcelik 921 figures 2 and 4 suggest wherein the mouth is arranged on a bottom of the dishwasher cavity.
Regarding claim 30, Arcelik 921 figures 2 and 4 suggest wherein the branching and the mouth are arranged on a bottom of the dishwasher cavity.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arcelik (WO 2017/080583 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Arcelik 961 (WO 2016/086961 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 23, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the closure comprises a lever which is designed to release a latching engagement as Arcelik 961 teaches a bayonet connection, a threaded connection, a snap-fit connection, a press fit connection or the like for the attachment between the closure member and the aperture.[0008]
Regarding claim 24, Arcelik 961 suggests wherein the lever is dimensioned for release of the latching engagement without use of a tool or with use of a tool to be an obvious modification.
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arcelik (WO 2017/080583 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Koch (US 7,754,024 cited in IDS)
Regarding claim 31, Koch teaches that intensive washing zone 4 is preferably formed by rod-shaped pipe elements 5 and 6, which are provided with outlet nozzles 7. Pipe elements 5 and 6 are attached to wire members 8 of rack 1 thereby reading on a receptacle for items to be washed, said mouth being arranged on the receptacle.[col 3 lines 40-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide an assembly as taught by Koch to provide a dish rack for a dishwasher, including a feed tube for a wash chamber, such that the cleaning efficiency is improved, especially from the underside, by additional intensive washing zones and in such a way that the configuration of the intensive washing zone will not impair the usability of the dish rack.[col 2 lines 5-15]
Regarding claim 32, Koch figure 1 teaches the receptacle is a basket.
Regarding claim 33, Koch figure 1 teaches a receptacle for items to be washed, said branching and said mouth being arranged on the receptacle.
Regarding claim 34, Koch figure 1 teaches wherein the receptacle is a basket.
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711