DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 42a and 42b in Fig. 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012-165611 A (hereinafter “Koyanagi”) in view of JP 2010-193593 A (hereinafter “Ayano”).
Regarding claim 1, Koyanagi discloses a power conversion device (see Abstract) comprising:
a composite laminate having a first surface (81);
at least one capacitor (capacitors 3a and 3b) mounted on the first surface of the composite laminate (see Fig. 1); and
an input-side semiconductor module (switching circuits 21-23) and an output-side semiconductor module (switching circuits 24-26) disposed to sandwich the at least one capacitor in a first direction along the first surface (see Fig. 1) and electrically connected to each other via the at least one capacitor (see Fig. 7),
the composite laminate being detachably supported by each of the input-side semiconductor module and the output-side semiconductor module (see p. 5, ¶ 3: The switching elements, which comprise switching circuits 21-26, are connected to composite laminate 81 via terminal connection bolts 15. Thus, composite laminate 81 can be detached from switching circuits 21-26 by removing bolts 15; see also, Fig. 1).
Koyanagi discloses a composite laminate comprising conductors and bus bars sandwiched between insulating boards (see Fig. 2) rather than a conventional printed circuit board.
Ayano discloses a power conversion device (see p. 1, ¶ 2) comprising a plurality of capacitors (capacitors 2n1-8 and 2p1-8) disposed on a printed circuit board (printed wiring board 1) between an input-side semiconductor module (switching elements 3R-T) and an output-side semiconductor module (switching elements 3U-W; see Figs. 1-3).
Koyanagi and Ayano are considered to be analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to attach the capacitors and semiconductor modules to a printed circuit board rather than the composite laminate disclosed in Koyanagi. A printed circuit board is essentially equivalent in structure to the composite laminate disclosed in Koyanagi. Both consist of a laminated sandwich structure of conductive and insulating layers. Using a conventional printed circuit board would be beneficial because they are mass produced and easier to source.
Regarding claim 2, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first cooling unit (Koyanagi: cooling device 4a) connected to the input-side semiconductor module (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1); and
a second cooling unit (Koyanagi: cooling device 4b) connected to the output-side semiconductor module (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1),
wherein the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit are disposed on the side of the at least one capacitor with respect to the printed circuit board in a second direction orthogonal to the first surface (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1), and
the at least one capacitor is spaced apart from the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit are separate members (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein
a length of the at least one capacitor in the second direction is longer than a length of each of the input-side semiconductor module and the output-side semiconductor module in the second direction (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1), and
a portion of the at least one capacitor is disposed between the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit in the first direction (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 6
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 6, wherein the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit are separate members (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first terminal (Koyanagi: terminal 17a) and a second terminal (Koyanagi: terminal 18a) electrically connected to the input-side semiconductor module and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 2; see also, Fig. 7).
and the printed circuit board is formed with a slit between the first terminal and the second terminal (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1 showing a gap or “slit” between terminals 17a and 18a).
Regarding claim 9, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first conductor pattern (Koyanagi: bus bar 17) and a second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: bus bar 18) spaced apart from each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first surface (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2) and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 3), and
an area of a region of the second conductor pattern that faces the first conductor pattern in the second direction is 20% or more of an area of the second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein
the at least one capacitor includes a plurality of capacitors (Koyanagi: 3a and 3b), and
each of the plurality of capacitors includes a portion overlapping with each of the input-side semiconductor module and the output-side semiconductor module when viewed from the first direction (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein
the printed circuit board (Ayano: 1) further includes a second surface (Ayano: top surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4) opposite to the first surface (Ayano: bottom surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4), and
the power conversion device further includes at least one capacitor mounted on the second surface of the printed circuit board (Ayano: Figs. 2 and 4 showing capacitors mounted on the surface opposite to the surface on which the switching elements are mounted).
It would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount some
capacitors on the second surface in order to accommodate additional capacitors.
Regarding claim 12, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first terminal (Koyanagi: 17a) and a second terminal (Koyanagi: 18a) electrically connected to the input-side semiconductor module and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 2; see also, Fig. 7), and
the printed circuit board is formed with a slit between the first terminal and the second terminal (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1 showing a gap or “slit” between terminals 17a and 18a).
Regarding claim 13, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first conductor pattern (Koyanagi: 17) and a second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: 18) spaced apart from each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first surface (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2) and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 3), and
an area of a region of the second conductor pattern that faces the first conductor pattern in the second direction is 20% or more of an area of the second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein
the at least one capacitor includes a plurality of capacitors (Koyanagi: 3a and 3b), and
each of the plurality of capacitors includes a portion overlapping with each of the input-side semiconductor module and the output-side semiconductor module when viewed from the first direction (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2
as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein
the printed circuit board (Ayano: 1) further includes a second surface (Ayano: top surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4) opposite to the first surface (Ayano: bottom surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4), and
the power conversion device further includes at least one capacitor mounted on the second surface of the printed circuit board (Ayano: Figs. 2 and 4 showing capacitors mounted on the surface opposite to the surface on which the switching elements are mounted).
It would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount some
capacitors on the second surface in order to accommodate additional capacitors.
Claims 3 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi and Ayano as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of JP H07-245951 A (hereinafter “Osada”) and US 2020/0359533 A1 (hereinafter “Iwakiri”).
Regarding claim 3, Koyanagi in view of Ayano teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano lacks a specific teaching that the first cooling unit and the second cooling unit constitute a cooler as a single component.
Osada discloses similar power conversion device to that of Koyanagi, and teaches that its first (cooling device 4a) and second (cooling device 4b) cooling units may constitute a single component (see p. 7, ¶ 7).
Osada is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to have the first and second cooling units constitute a single component. Doing so would allow a cooling fluid to flow from one end of the cooling unit to the other and/or provide a larger cooling surface.
Koyanagi and Osada both disclose that their cooling units are spaced apart from their capacitors in the first direction (see Fig. 1 in both Koyanagi and Osada). This suggest that if a single cooling component were to be used, as taught in Osada, it would be beneficial to include a portion spaced apart from the capacitors in the second direction.
Iwakiri discloses a power conversion device comprising a cooler (6) having a cooling surface (10) formed therein, a semiconductor module (10) provided on the cooling surface (see Fig. 3), and a capacitor module (5) facing the cooling surface, but set apart from the cooling surface (see Fig. 3) in order to more effectively cool the capacitor (see ¶¶ 0005-0006).
Iwakiri is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to configure the cooler to have a portion spaced apart from the capacitors in the second direction in order to more effectively cool the capacitors (Iwakiri: see ¶¶ 0005-0006).
Regarding claim 16, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 3, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first terminal (Koyanagi: 17a) and a second terminal (Koyanagi: 18a) electrically connected to the input-side semiconductor module and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 2; see also, Fig. 7), and
the printed circuit board is formed with a slit between the first terminal and the second terminal (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1 showing a gap or “slit” between terminals 17a and 18a).
Regarding claim 17, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri teaches all of the
limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 3, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first conductor pattern (Koyanagi: 17) and a second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: 18) spaced apart from each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first surface (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2) and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 3), and
an area of a region of the second conductor pattern that faces the first conductor pattern in the second direction is 20% or more of an area of the second conductor pattern (Koyanagi: see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri teaches all of the
limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 3, wherein
the at least one capacitor includes a plurality of capacitors (Koyanagi: 3a and 3b), and
each of the plurality of capacitors includes a portion overlapping with each of the input-side semiconductor module and the output-side semiconductor module when viewed from the first direction (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri teaches all of the
limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 3, wherein
the printed circuit board (Ayano: 1) further includes a second surface (Ayano: top surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4) opposite to the first surface (Ayano: bottom surface as depicted in Figs. 2 and 4), and
the power conversion device further includes at least one capacitor mounted on the second surface of the printed circuit board (Ayano: Figs. 2 and 4 showing capacitors mounted on the surface opposite to the surface on which the switching elements are mounted).
It would be an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount some
capacitors on the second surface in order to accommodate additional capacitors.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of JP 2003-199361 A (hereinafter “Takayama”).
Regarding claim 4, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, and Iwakiri fails to teach that
the printed circuit board includes at least one support member located on the first surface, and
the support member is in contact with the portion of the cooler spaced apart from the at least one capacitor in the second direction.
Takayama discloses a power conversion device having a support member (columns 23)
located on a first surface of a printed circuit board (main substrate 13) and attached to a cooler (heat sink 22).
Takayama is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to include a support member located on the first surface of the printed circuit board and in contact with the portion of the cooler spaced apart form the capacitors in the second direction. Doing so would provide additional support to the portion of the printed circuit board on which the capacitors are mounted.
Regarding claim 20, Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, Iwakiri, and Takayama teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 as stated above. Koyanagi in view of Ayano, Osada, Iwakiri, and Takayama further teaches the power conversion device according to claim 4, wherein
the printed circuit board further includes a first terminal (Koyanagi: 17a) and a second terminal (Koyanagi: 18a) electrically connected to the input-side semiconductor module and having different potentials (Koyanagi: see p. 4, ¶ 2; see also, Fig. 7), and
the printed circuit board is formed with a slit between the first terminal and the second terminal (Koyanagi: see Fig. 1 showing a gap or “slit” between terminals 17a and 18a).
Conclusion
/R.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841