DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a display region and a peripheral region located at a periphery of the display region; wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region and a second bezel region arranged opposite to each other along a first direction; the display region is located between the first bezel region and the second bezel region, the display region comprises a first display region and a second display region, the first display region comprises a first sub-region and a second sub-region, at least a part of the second sub-region is located in a same row as the second display region along the first direction, and the first sub- region and the second display region are located in different rows along the first direction;”
Claim 1 recites “the plurality of first scanning lines comprising a plurality of first target scanning lines, at least a part of each of the first target scanning lines is located in the second sub-region, and in each of the first target scanning lines, a first end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a first end of the second scanning layer, and is coupled to a corresponding first scanning driving unit of the first scanning driving units, a second end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a second end of the second scanning layer, the first ends are located in the first bezel region, and the second ends are located in the second bezel region.”
Claim sentences are very long.
Examiner suggests break this limitations into different limitations to improve claim clarity.
Claims 19 has same issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first scanning lines comprise a first scanning layer and a second scanning layer;”.
A line is a straight, continuous, one-dimensional figure that extends infinitely in both directions and has no thickness.
A "layer" refers to a single thickness, coating, fold, or stratum of material spread over or lying under another.
Claim is unclear the structure why “the first scanning lines (no thickness) comprises a first scanning layer (a single thickness) and a second scanning layer (a single thickness) ;”?
Claims 19 has same issue.
Claims 2 – 18 and 20 have same issue because of claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0058728 A1) in view of Cha et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220173205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, In view of 35 USC 112 rejection above, as best understood by the Examiner, Song discloses A display substrate, comprising:
a display region (Fig. 1, display region DA) and a peripheral region (peripheral region NDA1 and NDA2) located at a periphery of the display region; wherein the peripheral region comprises a first bezel region (Fig. 1 NDA1) and a second bezel region (Fig. 1 NDA1, [0045] – [0048]) arranged opposite to each other along a first direction; the display region is located between the first bezel region and the second bezel region, the display region (Fig. 1, display region DA) comprises a first display region and a second display region, the first display region comprises a first sub-region (Fig. 2A, sub pixels OLED, [0131] – [0136]) and a second sub-region, at least a part of the second sub-region is located in a same row as the second display region along the first direction, and the first sub- region and the second display region are located in different rows along the first direction; (Fig. 2A, sub pixels OLED [0149] – [0155])
the display substrate further comprising: a plurality of first scanning driving units (Fig. 7, [0077] – [0083]) and a plurality of first scanning lines (Fig. 7, PL0, PL1 [0077] – [0083]); wherein the first scanning driving units are located in the first bezel region; the first scanning lines comprise a first scanning layer and a second scanning layer; ([0146] – [0153])
Song does not disclose “the plurality of first scanning lines comprising a plurality of first target scanning lines, at least a part of each of the first target scanning lines is located in the second sub-region, and in each of the first target scanning lines, a first end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a first end of the second scanning layer, and is coupled to a corresponding first scanning driving unit of the first scanning driving units, a second end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a second end of the second scanning layer, the first ends are located in the first bezel region, and the second ends are located in the second bezel region”.
Cha discloses “the plurality of first scanning lines comprising a plurality of first target scanning lines, at least a part of each of the first target scanning lines is located in the second sub-region, and in each of the first target scanning lines, a first end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a first end of the second scanning layer, and is coupled to a corresponding first scanning driving unit of the first scanning driving units, a second end of the first scanning layer is coupled to a second end of the second scanning layer, the first ends are located in the first bezel region, and the second ends are located in the second bezel region”. (Fig, 8A – Fig 11, [0161] – [0170])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate line structure by Cha into device of Song. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Cha: [0161])
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for same reason as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 18, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220328595 A1 disclose line structure on Fig. 1B
US 12002410 B2 discloses scanning line on abstract
US 20230351957 A1 discloses scanning line on [0123]
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629