Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (9787335) in view of Komatsuzaki (2017/0331435).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a method for monitoring hardware alarms (claim 1 about a method for determining a validity of samples used to estimate a pre-distortion coefficient by a digital pre-distortion apparatus for compensating for a nonlinearity of a power amplifier) for a plurality of conditions in a radio network (106), the method comprising: capturing, by a digital pre-distortion (DPD) application, a predefined number of DPD data samples over a pre-defined time period (see paragraph [0038] : "The sample validity determining unit 120 acquires N input samples (x(n), n=1, N) from the input signal (Step S210) wherein the DPD data samples include values of a transmit power to a radio frequency (RF) antenna (218) and a feedback power received from the RF antenna (218) ; filtering, by a processing module (240), valid DPD data samples from the DPD data samples (see paragraph [0042] "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes"), wherein a DPD data sample is invalid if the transmit power or the feedback power is negative, infinity or zero (Col. 6;45-51), and the DPD data sample is valid if a difference between the transmit power and the feedback power is less than a maximum difference between the transmit power and the feedback power (see figure 5 where power amplifier output is fed back to frequency downconverter and sample is validated in sample validity determination unit through memory unit); analyzing, by the processing module (240), the valid DPD data samples to compare the transmit power against a first transmit threshold value and a second transmit threshold, and the feedback power against a first feedback threshold value and a second feedback threshold value; upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are greater than the first transmit threshold value and the first feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing, by the processing module (240), a high transmit power alarm counter; and upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are less than the second transmit threshold value and the second feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing by the processing module (240), a low transmit power alarm counter (see paragraph [0041]: "the plurality of groups into which the input samples are classified includes a first group which is beyond a predetermined range of magnitudes between an upper threshold and a lower threshold and a plurality of second groups which are within the predetermined range of the magnitudes and are quantitatively divided by a plurality of sub-ranges"; and paragraph [0042]: "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes. The first group may indicate a group of invalid samples, and the second may indicate a group of valid samples. Jeong does not disclose the use of upper and lower limit thresholds to indicate abnormalities in the signal. However, Komatsuzaki teaches indicating abnormality when electrical power of an signal is greater/lesser than thresholds (see paragraph [0055]: "if the electrical power of the compensation signal is not included in the allowable ranges specified by the upper limit thresholds and the lower limit thresholds, the monitoring unit 303 determines that an abnormality has occurred in the distortion compensation"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowable ranges to indicate abnormality in order to indicate when the system is operating out of specification.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong discloses a system for monitoring hardware alarms (claim 4 about a system for determining a validity of samples used to estimate a pre-distortion coefficient by a digital pre-distortion apparatus for compensating for a nonlinearity of a power amplifier) for a plurality of conditions in a radio network (106), the method comprising: capturing, by a digital pre-distortion (DPD) application, a predefined number of DPD data samples over a pre-defined time period (see paragraph [0038] : "The sample validity determining unit 120 acquires N input samples (x(n), n=1, N) from the input signal (Step S210) wherein the DPD data samples include values of a transmit power to a radio frequency (RF) antenna (218) and a feedback power received from the RF antenna (218) ; filtering, by a processing module (240), valid DPD data samples from the DPD data samples (see paragraph [0042] "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes"), wherein a DPD data sample is invalid if the transmit power or the feedback power is negative, infinity or zero (Col; 6;45-51), and the DPD data sample is valid if a difference between the transmit power and the feedback power is less than a maximum difference between the transmit power and the feedback power (see figure 5 where power amplifier output is fed back to frequency downconverter and sample is validated in sample validity determination unit through memory unit); analyzing, by the processing module (240), the valid DPD data samples to compare the transmit power against a first transmit threshold value and a second transmit threshold, and the feedback power against a first feedback threshold value and a second feedback threshold value; upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are greater than the first transmit threshold value and the first feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing, by the processing module (240), a high transmit power alarm counter; and upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are less than the second transmit threshold value and the second feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing by the processing module (240), a low transmit power alarm counter (see paragraph [0041]: "the plurality of groups into which the input samples are classified includes a first group which is beyond a predetermined range of magnitudes between an upper threshold and a lower threshold and a plurality of second groups which are within the predetermined range of the magnitudes and are quantitatively divided by a plurality of sub-ranges"; and paragraph [0042]: "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes. The first group may indicate a group of invalid samples, and the second may indicate a group of valid samples. Jeong does not disclose the use of upper and lower limit thresholds to indicate abnormalities in the signal. However, Komatsuzaki teaches indicating abnormality when electrical power of an signal is greater/lesser than thresholds (see paragraph [0055]: "if the electrical power of the compensation signal is not included in the allowable ranges specified by the upper limit thresholds and the lower limit thresholds, the monitoring unit 303 determines that an abnormality has occurred in the distortion compensation"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowable ranges to indicate abnormality in order to indicate when the system is operating out of specification.
Regarding claim 19, Jeong discloses a system for monitoring hardware alarms (claim 4 about a system for determining a validity of samples used to estimate a pre-distortion coefficient by a digital pre-distortion apparatus for compensating for a nonlinearity of a power amplifier) for a plurality of conditions in a radio network (106), the method comprising: capturing, by a digital pre-distortion (DPD) application, a predefined number of DPD data samples over a pre-defined time period (see paragraph [0038] : "The sample validity determining unit 120 acquires N input samples (x(n), n=1, N) from the input signal (Step S210) wherein the DPD data samples include values of a transmit power to a radio frequency (RF) antenna (218) and a feedback power received from the RF antenna (218) ; filtering, by a processing module (240), valid DPD data samples from the DPD data samples (see paragraph [0042] "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes"), wherein a DPD data sample is invalid if the transmit power or the feedback power is negative, infinity or zero, and the DPD data sample is valid if a difference between the transmit power and the feedback power is less than a maximum difference between the transmit power and the feedback power (see figure 5 where power amplifier output is fed back to frequency downconverter and sample is validated in sample validity determination unit through memory unit); analyzing, by the processing module (240), the valid DPD data samples to compare the transmit power against a first transmit threshold value and a second transmit threshold, and the feedback power against a first feedback threshold value and a second feedback threshold value; upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are greater than the first transmit threshold value and the first feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing, by the processing module (240), a high transmit power alarm counter; and upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are less than the second transmit threshold value and the second feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing by the processing module (240), a low transmit power alarm counter (see paragraph [0041]: "the plurality of groups into which the input samples are classified includes a first group which is beyond a predetermined range of magnitudes between an upper threshold and a lower threshold and a plurality of second groups which are within the predetermined range of the magnitudes and are quantitatively divided by a plurality of sub-ranges"; and paragraph [0042]: "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes. The first group may indicate a group of invalid samples, and the second may indicate a group of valid samples. Jeong does not disclose the use of upper and lower limit thresholds to indicate abnormalities in the signal or user device. However, Komatsuzaki teaches a user device (radio equipment device 200) which indicating abnormality when electrical power of an signal is greater/lesser than thresholds (see paragraph [0055]: "if the electrical power of the compensation signal is not included in the allowable ranges specified by the upper limit thresholds and the lower limit thresholds, the monitoring unit 303 determines that an abnormality has occurred in the distortion compensation"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowable ranges to indicate abnormality in order to indicate when the system is operating out of specification.
Regarding claim 20, Jeong discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium (Col 9;33-50) comprising instructions that when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (claim 1 about a method for determining a validity of samples used to estimate a pre-distortion coefficient by a digital pre-distortion apparatus for compensating for a nonlinearity of a power amplifier) for a plurality of conditions in a radio network (106), the method comprising: capturing, by a digital pre-distortion (DPD) application, a predefined number of DPD data samples over a pre-defined time period (see paragraph [0038] : "The sample validity determining unit 120 acquires N input samples (x(n), n=1, N) from the input signal (Step S210) wherein the DPD data samples include values of a transmit power to a radio frequency (RF) antenna (218) and a feedback power received from the RF antenna (218) ; filtering, by a processing module (240), valid DPD data samples from the DPD data samples (see paragraph [0042] "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes"), wherein a DPD data sample is invalid if the transmit power or the feedback power is negative, infinity or zero, and the DPD data sample is valid if a difference between the transmit power and the feedback power is less than a maximum difference between the transmit power and the feedback power (see figure 5 where power amplifier output is fed back to frequency downconverter and sample is validated in sample validity determination unit through memory unit); analyzing, by the processing module (240), the valid DPD data samples to compare the transmit power against a first transmit threshold value and a second transmit threshold, and the feedback power against a first feedback threshold value and a second feedback threshold value; upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are greater than the first transmit threshold value and the first feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing, by the processing module (240), a high transmit power alarm counter; and upon determining that the transmit power and the feedback power are less than the second transmit threshold value and the second feedback threshold value, respectively, incrementing by the processing module (240), a low transmit power alarm counter (see paragraph [0041]: "the plurality of groups into which the input samples are classified includes a first group which is beyond a predetermined range of magnitudes between an upper threshold and a lower threshold and a plurality of second groups which are within the predetermined range of the magnitudes and are quantitatively divided by a plurality of sub-ranges"; and paragraph [0042]: "The sample validity determining unit 120 according to some embodiments classifies the input samples into a plurality of groups including the first group and the second group, in order to filter inappropriate samples and extract samples having various magnitudes. The first group may indicate a group of invalid samples, and the second may indicate a group of valid samples. Jeong does not disclose the use of upper and lower limit thresholds to indicate abnormalities in the signal. However, Komatsuzaki teaches indicating abnormality when electrical power of an signal is greater/lesser than thresholds (see paragraph [0055]: "if the electrical power of the compensation signal is not included in the allowable ranges specified by the upper limit thresholds and the lower limit thresholds, the monitoring unit 303 determines that an abnormality has occurred in the distortion compensation"). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include allowable ranges to indicate abnormality in order to indicate when the system is operating out of specification.
Regarding claims 2-3, 11-12, Jeong discloses the monitoring of upper/lower thresholds (Col. 7;40-54) while performing DPD predistortion compensation . Jeong fails to disclose incrementing a counter the lower/higher threshold and comparing it to a predefined count to indicate alarms. However, Komatsuzaki teaches both an upper and lower limit threshold, and comparing a running count to a predefined threshold count (Figure 14, step 502, para 126-127). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include predefined threshold counts in order to prevent false indications of failure to the end user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The present invention is directed to detecting failure or abnormalities in a radio network via DPD application and monitoring of transmit power. The closest prior art (Jeong and Komatsuzaki) disclose that DPD compensation and threshold values can be used to indicate radio conditions in a transmitter via threshold values In particular Jeong discloses monitoring for abnormal or normal transmission against lower and upper limits, while Komatsuzaki discloses that threshold monitoring can include a running count as well as upper/lower thresholds to monitor. However none of the prior art of record discloses nor fairly suggests transmitting a chain failure alarm, when the invalid data count is greater than a threshold invalid data count, or capturing the transmit power value and feedback power value, and determine a maximum value for the transmit power and the maximum value for the feedback power from second predefined samples, wherein the maximum value determined from the first transmit power value is the first transmit threshold value and wherein the maximum value determined for the feedback power is the first feedback threshold value..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saikrishna (12,562,699) discloses power amplifier compensation based on feedback loops.
Zhao (10,951,249) discloses DPD compensation based on detected power levels.
Nguyen (2014/0133531) discloses DPD coefficients that are adjusted based on transmit power levels.
Brobston (2009/0256630) discloses DPD compensation based on gain/compression compensation of a transmitted signal.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641