DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 19, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi et al. (US20190246083A1), hereinafter referred to as Tripathi, in view of Sheng et al. (CN111061421A - copy of English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereinafter referred to as Sheng and further, in view of d3 Technologies (, “Projector Simulation,” d3 Technologies website, Internet Archive Wayback Machine, archived Mar. 30, 2015, http://web.archive.org/web/20150330144818/http://www.d3technologies.com/features/projector_simulation (accessed Oct. 5, 2026)), hereinafter referred to as d3.
Regarding claim 1, Tripathi discloses a calibration method of an immersive projection system (See ¶¶ [0036]- [0039] explaining that image warp parameters for a given projection surface may be calculated by simulation and without the need for physical calibration), the calibration method comprising:
setting a virtual projection position and a virtual image distortion correction of a projection device (See ¶¶ [0050]- [0051] disclosing a generation of a warp transformation matrix, so the projected image may be viewed substantially without any visual distortion; and ¶ [0071] disclosing surface center coordinate information, projection region information, projector positional coordinate information, camera coordinate information, and so on);
setting a virtual photographing position of a camera device (See ¶ [0071] disclosing camera coordinate information; and [0080] disclosing that the virtual camera device could be positioned at a three-dimensional point corresponding to a position of an intended viewer);
simulating a projection region of the projection device (See ¶ [0071] disclosing projection region information; ¶ [0075] disclosing marks a projection region on the fabricated surface; and ¶ [0076] disclosing simulates a projection of the image);
defining a plurality of first feature points in the projection region (See ¶ [0072] disclosing detecting feature points within the originally projected image and detecting corresponding features in the observed image);
simulating a virtual shooting image of the camera device, wherein the virtual shooting image comprises the projection region and the first feature points (See ¶ [0069] disclosing that a virtual camera is used to determine a viewable image of the projected image; and ¶ [0072] disclosing that an observed image without geometric correction is captured using a virtual camera device);
adjusting the virtual image correction of the projection device based on the first feature points (See ¶¶ [0072] and [0073] disclosing creates a mapping of feature points and generation of a piecewise transformation matrix based on the feature mapping);
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose adjusting the virtual projection position of the projection device based on the first feature points.
However, Sheng from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses adjusting the virtual projection position of the projection device based on the first feature points (See ¶ [0013] disclosing based on the position information of the moved marker point, the projection parameters of the virtual projector are adjusted. The projection parameters of the virtual projector include the position, tilt angle, and throw ratio of the virtual projector).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Tripathi to add the teachings of Sheng as above, in order to adjust the projection parameters of the virtual projector (Sheng, [0013]).
Regarding the limitation outputting a simulated overview, wherein the simulated overview profile comprises the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction both being adjusted.
Tripathi discloses generating adjusted warp transformation information based on feature point mapping (See ¶ [0072]); applying the warp to reduce visual distortion, including keystone and geometric distortion (See ¶ [0073]); and the generated warp information is then provided to the projection control component (See ¶ [0054])
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose outputting the adjusted virtual projection position in the same simulated overview profile.
However, Sheng from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses adjusting the virtual projector position based on moved marker points (See ¶¶ [0013] and [0073]- [0075])
Furthermore, d3 from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses generating output from a configured virtual projector, including an updated projector position (pp. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Tripathi and Sheng to add the teachings of d3 as above, in order to boost creative freedom while saving time, money and expensive rendering time (d3, p. 1)
Regarding claim 5, Tripathi, Sheng and d3 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose the calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the setting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device further comprises: setting a virtual color and a virtual brightness of the projection device; and adjusting the virtual color and the virtual brightness of the projection device based on the first feature points, wherein the simulated overview profile further comprises the virtual color and the virtual brightness both being adjusted.
However, d3 from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses the calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the setting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device further comprises: setting a virtual color and a virtual brightness of the projection device (See pp. 4 and 8); and
adjusting the virtual color and the virtual brightness of the projection device based on the first feature points (See pp. 4 and 8),
wherein the simulated overview profile further comprises the virtual color and the virtual brightness both being adjusted. (See pp. 1 and 3).
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng and d3 has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Tripathi, Sheng and d3 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose the calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the setting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device further comprises:
setting a plurality of virtual projection positions and a plurality of virtual image distortion corrections of a plurality of projection devices;
wherein the adjusting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device based on the first feature points further comprises:
adjusting a blending calibration profile of the projection devices based on the first feature points,
wherein the simulated overview profile further comprises the blending calibration profile being adjusted.
However, d3 from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses the calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the setting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device further comprises:
setting a plurality of virtual projection positions and a plurality of virtual image distortion corrections of a plurality of projection devices (See pp. 1 and 8);
wherein the adjusting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device based on the first feature points further comprises:
adjusting a blending calibration profile of the projection devices based on the first feature points (See pp. 5 and 8),
wherein the simulated overview profile further comprises the blending calibration profile being adjusted (See pp. 1, 3, 4 and 8)
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng and d3 has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claim 1, since they claim analogous subject matter in for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Regarding claims 14 and 20, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claims 1, 5 and 6, since they claim analogous subject matter in for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Claims 2-4, 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi, in view of Sheng and d3 further, in view of Grundhofer (US20160134851A1) hereinafter referred to as Grundhofer.
Regarding claim 2, Tripathi, Sheng and d3 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi discloses the disclose the calibration method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a plurality of second feature points in the virtual shooting image based on the first feature points (See ¶¶ [0072] and [0073]);
comparing the first feature points and the second feature points to obtain a virtual image difference parameter (See ¶ [0072])
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose setting a projection position and an image distortion correction of the projection device and setting a photographing position of the camera device based on the simulated overview profile;
obtaining a shooting image through the camera device;
However, d3 from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses setting a projection position and an image distortion correction of the projection device based on the simulated overview profile. (See pp. 2 and 6)
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng and d3 has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Moreover, Grundhofer from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses setting a projection position and an image distortion correction of the projection device and setting a photographing position of the camera device (See ¶¶ [0036], [0037] and [0076]- [0078]); and
obtaining a shooting image through the camera device (See ¶ [0027])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Tripathi, Sheng and d3 to add the teachings of Grundhofer as above, in order to use a technique that can more accurately and automatically calibrate laser projectors (Grundhofer, [0004])
Regarding the limitation adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the virtual image difference parameter and the shooting image, Tripathi discloses adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the virtual image difference parameter (See ¶¶ [0072] and [0073]).
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the shooting image.
However, Grundhofer from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses disclose adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the shooting image (See [0079], [0080] and [0095])
Regarding claim 3, Tripathi, Sheng, d3 and Grundhofer disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose the calibration method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining of the shooting image through the camera device further comprises:
obtaining a plurality of third feature points in the shooting image based on the first feature points; and
comparing the virtual image difference parameter and the third feature points to obtain an image difference parameter.
However, Grundhofer from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses the calibration method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining of the shooting image through the camera device further comprises:
obtaining a plurality of third feature points in the shooting image based on the first feature points (See ¶¶ [0066]- [0069]).; and
comparing the virtual image difference parameter and the third feature points to obtain an image difference parameter (See ¶ [0079]).
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng, d3 and Grundhofer has been discussed in connection with claims 1 and 2, above.
Regarding claim 4, Tripathi, Sheng, d3 and Grundhofer disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose the calibration method according to claim 3, wherein the adjusting of the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the virtual image difference parameter and the shooting image further comprises: adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the image difference parameter.
However, Grundhofer from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses the calibration method according to claim 3, wherein the adjusting of the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the virtual image difference parameter and the shooting image further comprises: adjusting the projection position and the image distortion correction of the projection device based on the image difference parameter. (See ¶ [0079]).
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng, d3 and Grundhofer has been discussed in connection with claims 1 and 2, above.
Regarding claims 11-13 and 18, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claims 2-4, since they claim analogous subject matter in for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripathi, in view of Sheng and of d3 in further view of Wenbin et al. (CN114827569A - copy of English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereinafter referred to as Wenbin.
Regarding claim 7, Tripathi, Sheng and d3 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tripathi discloses the calibration method according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting of the virtual projection position and the virtual image distortion correction of the projection device based on the first feature points further comprises:
obtaining a plurality of second feature points in the virtual shooting image based on the first feature points (See ¶ [0072])
comparing the first feature points and the second feature points to obtain a virtual image difference parameter (See ¶ [0072])
Tripathi, alone, does not explicitly disclose the adjusting the virtual photographing position of the camera device based on the virtual image difference parameter.
However, Wenbin from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses adjusting the virtual photographing position of the camera device by offsetting the position of the virtual camera to obtain a corrected position (See pp. 5-7 - step S300).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Tripathi, Sheng and d3 to add the teachings of Wenbin. as above, in order to solve the problem of the existing VR video edge stretching phenomenon (Wenbin, p.1).
Regarding claim 8, Tripathi, Sheng and d3 disclose all the limitations of claim 7 and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tripathi does not explicitly disclose the calibration method according to claim 7, wherein the adjusting of the virtual photographing position of the camera device based on the virtual image difference parameter further comprises: adjusting a simulated photographing parameter of the camera device based on the virtual image difference parameter.
However, Wenbin from the same or similar endeavor of image projection discloses the calibration method according to claim 7, wherein the adjusting of the virtual photographing position of the camera device based on the virtual image difference parameter further comprises: adjusting a simulated photographing parameter of the camera device based on the virtual image difference parameter (See pp. 5-7 - step S300)..
The motivation for combining Tripathi, Sheng, d3 and Wenbin has been discussed in connection with claim 1 and 7, above.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claims 7 and 8, since they claim analogous subject matter in for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486