DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 37-49, in the reply filed on 8/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 50-67 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/24/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating system” and “extraction device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abfalterer (US 2015/0290556) taken in combination with Schabel et al (US 2017/0283706) and Lin (US 2011/0034712).
Regarding claims 37, Abfalterer teaches a method of use of and a device for the material treatment of raw materials (see title, abstract), comprising a heating system 2, a distillation unit 3 and a reaction unit 4, wherein the heating system 2 is openable and closable in order to be loaded with the reaction unit 4, the distillation unit 3 has a cooling section 12, and the reaction unit 4 is loadable with the raw materials, wherein an exhaust gas line 11/11a/11b is formed between the reaction unit 4 and the distillation unit 3 for discharging the exhaust gases from the reaction unit 4, the cooling section 12 of the distillation unit 3 has a device for forced cooling, wherein the cooling section is located inside an air guide housing for selectively guiding ambient air via the cooling section: the arrangement of the tubes as two parallel tube rows provided with ribs thus forms an air guide housing in the cooling section 12 and water cooling can be used in order to cool the gases produced (Figs 1-9, [0102-0147]).
However Abfalterer does not teach the system comprising temperature sensors connected to a control device, wherein at least one temperature sensor is associated with the heating system and at least one temperature sensor is associated with the distillation unit; an extraction device for extracting gases from the reaction unit, wherein the extraction device is connected to the control device nor an exhaust gas line for discharging exhaust gases from the reaction unit, the exhaust gas line connecting reaction unit to the distillation unit and including a connecting element for connecting to a device for introducing a gaseous flushing medium into the reaction unit.
Schabel teaches process, apparatus and controller for producing petroleum from raw mixed plastics materials in a pyrolysis system (title, abstract), Schabel teaches controller box 86, with processor 88 and memory 89, is connected to temperature sensors 91, 93, 140, 142, 144, via exhaust vents 40, 42, 120, 122, 124 (extraction locations), each line having flow control devices 44, 46, 130, 132, 134 (extraction devices), as well as sensors 92, 94, 150, 152, 154 for control of the flow control devices, and having sweep gas supply 84 and feed line 82 to sweep gas into line 38 through the reactor 100 to outlets (See Figs 2-3, [0056-0057,0068-0070,0080]), the controller controls parameters in the reactor such as temperature, to adjust the flow control devices and therefore controls the products evolved from the reactor outlet ports ([0081-0086]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abfalterer in view of the teachings of Schabel to arrive at the system comprising temperature sensors connected to a control device, wherein at least one temperature sensor is associated with the heating system and at least one temperature sensor is associated with the distillation unit; an extraction device for extracting gases from the reaction unit, wherein the extraction device is connected to the control device nor an exhaust gas line for discharging exhaust gases from the reaction unit, the exhaust gas line connecting reaction unit to the distillation unit and including a connecting element for connecting to a device for introducing a gaseous flushing medium into the reaction unit because Schabel teaches measuring parameters of the reactor such as temperature and by using a controller to control the parameters of the reactor control the products generated by the pyrolysis system.
However Abfalterer does not teach the system wherein the extraction device is for generating negative pressure inside the reaction unit.
Lin teaches a system and method of use for dry distillation pyrolysis cracking of raw materials such as biomass wastes to extract oils (title, abstract), Lin teaches that reactor 1 comprises vacuum pump 4 to decrease pressure of reaction vessel 1 to a low vacuum condition to evolve cracking gases generated that can be distilled in condenser 2, thus preventing generated gases from being in the high temperature environment for too long which would cause them to be scorched excessively (Fig 1, [0026-0034], claim 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lin in view of the teachings of Schabel to arrive at the system wherein the extraction device is for generating negative pressure inside the reaction unit, by incorporating vacuum pump which would prevent generated gases from being in the high temperature environment for too long which would cause them to be scorched excessively as taught by Lin.
Regarding claim 38, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, incorporating the temperature sensors of Schabel would arrive at the system wherein the temperature sensors include at least two temperature sensors for determining the temperature within the reaction unit that are arranged in an intermediate space formed between the reaction unit and a jacket element of the heating system when the heating system is in the closed state as modified.
Regarding claim 39, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, Abfalterer has taught the heating system connected with the exhaust line 11a/b (Fig 3-5, [0116]).
Regarding claim 40, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, incorporating the temperature sensors of Schabel would arrive at the system wherein at least one of the temperature sensors is arranged on the exhaust gas line
Regarding claim 41-42, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, further incorporating fans were known to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to increase convection heat transfer and therefore further increase heat exchange rates and would be incorporated through routine experimentation with the expected result of increasing heat exchange rates of the cooling section.
Regarding claim 43, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, Lin has taught the extraction device 4 is arranged downstream of an oil tank 36 (see Lin Fig 1, [0032]).
Regarding claim 44-49, in modified Abfalterer as set forth above, Abfalterer has taught details of the heating system having top element 7 jacket element 8 and support elements 6 that form hood with the system in the manners as claimed (see Abfalterer Figs 3-4, [0111-0121]).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagai (US 5,584,969) teaches pyrolysis system. Ballantine (US 2003/0010266) teaches thermolysis. Bernd (US 2005/0234274) teaches a pyrolysis system. Ni (US 2015/0184090) teaches waste gasification system. .
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772