DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasue (JP 2022110731 A) in view of Tanaami (US 20230059095 A1) in further view of Ogawa (US 20150145193 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasue teaches A controller of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the controller comprising:
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece ([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
a function for executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism ([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; and ([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
a function for determining that, when the force detection unit detects that the moment acting in a direction correcting the posture of the workpiece exceeds a first threshold value during the position of the workpiece is corrected, ([0067] in S23, the processor 21 judges whether or not the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than a second threshold. In S23, if the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are not less than the second threshold (S23: NO), i.e., if the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are equal to or higher than the second threshold, the processor 21 carries out the correcting step (S25).[0070] In the correcting step S25, the processor 21 corrects the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than the second threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007]).
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Nagasue teaches A controller of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the controller comprising:
a function for storing the position and the posture of a first workpiece when the force control is normally executed; and ([0011] a camera provided on the hand portion of the robot and capable of imaging a workpiece grasped by the hand portion, and a reference image storage unit that stores in advance an image of the workpiece captured by the camera when the workpiece is grasped by the robot's hand portion in a normal posture as a reference image, wherein, when performing the workpiece setting process, the control device is configured to cause the camera to capture an image of the workpiece while the robot's hand portion is grasping the workpiece, and to control the operation of the robot so that the setting posture of the workpiece in the workpiece mounting portion becomes a predetermined setting posture based on a comparison between the image of the workpiece captured by the camera and the reference image stored in the reference image storage unit)
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece ([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
a function for executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; ([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
a function for determining that, when the controller detects that a difference between a position and a posture of a second workpiece when the force control is executed and the stored position and the stored posture of the first workpiece exceeds a second threshold value ([0059] If the normal reaction FZ is within the given range (S21: YES), the robot controller 20 advances to S22. Meanwhile, if the normal reaction FZ is outside the given range (S21: NO), the robot controller 20 carries out a correcting step (S25). In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range [0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ. [0061] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too low, for example, it is presumed that the painting roller 11 is not sufficiently pressed onto the workpiece W. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to increase a pressing force given by the painting roller 11 with respect to the workpiece W. With this, it is possible to increase the value of the normal reaction FZ.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007]).
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the second workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasue teaches A controller of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the controller comprising:
a function for storing the position and the posture of a first workpiece when the force control is normally executed; ([0011] a camera provided on the hand portion of the robot and capable of imaging a workpiece grasped by the hand portion, and a reference image storage unit that stores in advance an image of the workpiece captured by the camera when the workpiece is grasped by the robot's hand portion in a normal posture as a reference image, wherein, when performing the workpiece setting process, the control device is configured to cause the camera to capture an image of the workpiece while the robot's hand portion is grasping the workpiece, and to control the operation of the robot so that the setting posture of the workpiece in the workpiece mounting portion becomes a predetermined setting posture based on a comparison between the image of the workpiece captured by the camera and the reference image stored in the reference image storage unit)
a function for executing position control in which a position and a posture of a second workpiece are corrected so that the position and the posture of the second workpiece coincide with the stored position and the stored posture of the first workpiece; and ([0013] The control device then controls the robot's movement so that the workpiece is placed in a predetermined position on the workpiece mounting unit, based on a comparison between the reference image stored in the memory unit and the image of the workpiece captured by the camera [0014] According to this, even if the gripping position of the workpiece by the hand deviates from the correct position due to defects in the shape of the workpiece or foreign matter getting caught between the hand and the workpiece, the workpiece can be mounted in a predetermined set position on the workpiece mounting section of the machine tool by controlling (correcting) the robot's posture)
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece ([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
a function for executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism ([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; ([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
a function for determining that, when the force detection unit detects that a force or torque applied to the second workpiece exceeds a third threshold value when the second workpiece is fixed by the fixing mechanism after the position control, ([0064] Thereafter, the robot controller 20 judges whether or not the frictional force FX is less than a first threshold (S22). Assume that the first threshold is set in accordance with a remaining level, a viscosity coefficient, and/or the like of the paint L1. Note that, as described above, the first threshold used herein may be a threshold that is determined in the setting step Si and transmitted to the robot controller 20.[0065] If the frictional force FX is less than the first threshold (S22: YES), the processor 21 determines that the paint L1 in the painting roller 11 is run out, and carries out a replenishing step of replenishing the application hand 10 with the paint L1 (S24). Meanwhile, if the frictional force FX is not less than the first threshold (S22: NO), i.e., if the frictional force FX is equal to or higher than the first threshold, the processor 21 advances to S23.[0070] In the correcting step S25, the processor 21 corrects the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than the second threshold. As described above, this step reduces turning of the application hand 10 about the rotational axis that is horizontal to the application surface of the workpiece W and turning of the application hand 10 about the rotational axis that is perpendicular to the application surface of the workpiece W. This makes it possible to carry out accurate painting of the workpiece W while increasing a contact area between the application hand 10 and the workpiece W.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007]).
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the second workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Nagasue teaches A robot system comprising the controller according to any one of claim 1, and a robot controlled by the controller. (Abstract The robot is equipped with a reference image storage section that stores in advance an image of the workpiece W taken by the robot as a reference image, and a control device that controls the robot. )
Regarding claim 8, Nagasue teaches A control method of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the control method comprising:
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism ([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; and([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
judging that, when the force detection unit detects that the moment acting in a direction correcting the posture of the workpiece exceeds a first threshold value during the position of the workpiece is corrected, ([0067] in S23, the processor 21 judges whether or not the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than a second threshold. In S23, if the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are not less than the second threshold (S23: NO), i.e., if the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are equal to or higher than the second threshold, the processor 21 carries out the correcting step (S25).[0070] In the correcting step S25, the processor 21 corrects the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than the second threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007])
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Nagasue teaches A control method of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the control method comprising:
storing the position and the posture of a first workpiece when the force control is normally executed; and([0011] a camera provided on the hand portion of the robot and capable of imaging a workpiece grasped by the hand portion, and a reference image storage unit that stores in advance an image of the workpiece captured by the camera when the workpiece is grasped by the robot's hand portion in a normal posture as a reference image, wherein, when performing the workpiece setting process, the control device is configured to cause the camera to capture an image of the workpiece while the robot's hand portion is grasping the workpiece, and to control the operation of the robot so that the setting posture of the workpiece in the workpiece mounting portion becomes a predetermined setting posture based on a comparison between the image of the workpiece captured by the camera and the reference image stored in the reference image storage unit)
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism ([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; ([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
judging that, when a controller for the robot detects that a difference between a position and a posture of a second workpiece when the force control is executed and the stored position and the stored posture of the first workpiece exceeds a second threshold value, ([0059] If the normal reaction FZ is within the given range (S21: YES), the robot controller 20 advances to S22. Meanwhile, if the normal reaction FZ is outside the given range (S21: NO), the robot controller 20 carries out a correcting step (S25). In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range [0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ. [0061] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too low, for example, it is presumed that the painting roller 11 is not sufficiently pressed onto the workpiece W. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to increase a pressing force given by the painting roller 11 with respect to the workpiece W. With this, it is possible to increase the value of the normal reaction FZ.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007]).
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the second workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Nagasue teaches A control method of a robot configured to supply a workpiece held by the robot to a fixing mechanism ([0011] In one aspect of the present invention, a workpiece mounting system comprises a robot having a hand portion and a control device that controls the robot to perform a workpiece setting process in which the hand portion grasps a workpiece placed in a predetermined position and sets it in a workpiece mounting portion within a machine tool), the control method comprising:
storing the position and the posture of a first workpiece when the force control is normally executed; ([0011] a camera provided on the hand portion of the robot and capable of imaging a workpiece grasped by the hand portion, and a reference image storage unit that stores in advance an image of the workpiece captured by the camera when the workpiece is grasped by the robot's hand portion in a normal posture as a reference image, wherein, when performing the workpiece setting process, the control device is configured to cause the camera to capture an image of the workpiece while the robot's hand portion is grasping the workpiece, and to control the operation of the robot so that the setting posture of the workpiece in the workpiece mounting portion becomes a predetermined setting posture based on a comparison between the image of the workpiece captured by the camera and the reference image stored in the reference image storage unit)
executing position control in which a position and a posture of a second workpiece are corrected so that the position and the posture of the second workpiece coincide with the stored position and the stored posture of the first workpiece; and([0013] The control device then controls the robot's movement so that the workpiece is placed in a predetermined position on the workpiece mounting unit, based on a comparison between the reference image stored in the memory unit and the image of the workpiece captured by the camera [0014] According to this, even if the gripping position of the workpiece by the hand deviates from the correct position due to defects in the shape of the workpiece or foreign matter getting caught between the hand and the workpiece, the workpiece can be mounted in a predetermined set position on the workpiece mounting section of the machine tool by controlling (correcting) the robot's posture)
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Tanaami discloses and having a force detection unit for detecting a force and a moment applied to the workpiece([0035] The force sensor 14 detects the forces and moments applied by the workpiece W through the application hand 10, and outputs the forces and moments to the robot controller 20.)
executing force control in which a posture of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected during the robot supplies the workpiece to the fixing mechanism ([0059] In the correcting step S25, the robot controller 20 controls the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the normal reaction FZ falls within the given range.), and then a position of the workpiece relative to the fixing mechanism is corrected; ([0060] In a case where a value of the normal reaction FZ is too high, for example, it is presumed that the robot arm 13 is pressing the painting roller 11 onto the workpiece W too strongly. Thus, in such a case, the robot controller 20 adjusts the position and angle of the painting roller 11 so as to reduce a pressing force applied to the workpiece W by the painting roller 11. With this, it is possible to reduce the value of the normal reaction FZ.)
judging that, when the force detection unit detects that a force or torque applied to the second workpiece exceeds a third threshold value when the second workpiece is fixed by the fixing mechanism after the position control, , ([0064] Thereafter, the robot controller 20 judges whether or not the frictional force FX is less than a first threshold (S22). Assume that the first threshold is set in accordance with a remaining level, a viscosity coefficient, and/or the like of the paint L1. Note that, as described above, the first threshold used herein may be a threshold that is determined in the setting step Si and transmitted to the robot controller 20.[0065] If the frictional force FX is less than the first threshold (S22: YES), the processor 21 determines that the paint L1 in the painting roller 11 is run out, and carries out a replenishing step of replenishing the application hand 10 with the paint L1 (S24). Meanwhile, if the frictional force FX is not less than the first threshold (S22: NO), i.e., if the frictional force FX is equal to or higher than the first threshold, the processor 21 advances to S23.[0070] In the correcting step S25, the processor 21 corrects the posture of the robot arm 13 so that the first turning moment MX and the second turning moment MZ are less than the second threshold. As described above, this step reduces turning of the application hand 10 about the rotational axis that is horizontal to the application surface of the workpiece W and turning of the application hand 10 about the rotational axis that is perpendicular to the application surface of the workpiece W. This makes it possible to carry out accurate painting of the workpiece W while increasing a contact area between the application hand 10 and the workpiece W.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Tanaami with a reasonable expectation of success by enabling automatic and accurate application as taught by Tanaami ([0007]).
Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the second workpiece and the fixing mechanism. ([0030] The foreign matter detecting part 113 detects fluctuations in pressure of the pressurized fluid which occur when the pressurized fluid leaks out from the openings 101 c of the fluid feed path 101 b through the spaces between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a. The foreign matter detecting part 113 determines that foreign matter is interposed between the workpiece W and the seat parts 101 a when the pressure of the pressurized fluid falls beyond a predetermined threshold value.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success by preventing foreign matter from ending up damaging an object as taught by Ogawa (abstract).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasue (JP 2022110731 A) in view of Tanaami (US 20230059095 A1) in further view of Ogawa (US 20150145193 A1) in further view of Yamane (US 20220258295 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Yamane discloses The controller according to any one of claim 1, further comprising a function for outputting a command for cleaning the fixing mechanism when it is judged that the foreign matter is caught. ([0049] the machine tool 1 according to the present embodiment includes cleaning means 60 that removes the foreign object D on the rail 20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Yamane with a reasonable expectation of success by removing foreign objects as taught by Yamane ([0011]).
Regarding claim 7, Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Yamane discloses The robot system according to claim 6, further comprising a nozzle configured to spray fluid toward the fixing mechanism when it is judged that the foreign matter is caught. ([0049] the machine tool 1 according to the present embodiment includes cleaning means 60 that removes the foreign object D on the rail 20)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Yamane with a reasonable expectation of success by removing foreign objects as taught by Yamane ([0011]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasue (JP 2022110731 A) in view of Tanaami (US 20230059095 A1) in further view of Ogawa (US 20150145193 A1) in further view of Lu (US 20150066208 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Nagasue does not expressly disclose but Lu discloses The controller according to any one of claim 1, further comprising a function for outputting an alarm when it is judged that the foreign matter is caught. ([0014] the processing unit 50 activates the alarm unit 70 to raise an alarm for a preset time period, and controls the driving unit 60 to stop moving the main body 11.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Nagasue with the teachings of Lu with a reasonable expectation of success by avoiding harm to people and harm to the mechanical hand as taught by Lu ([0015]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 112 interpretation to the claims should not be maintained in view of “Applicant respectfully submits that claim 7 should no longer be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).” This argument is persuasive in view of the amendment. Therefore, the interpretation is not maintained.
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “Applicant submits that the purpose of the system and method described in Tanaami is to "accurately apply" the paint L1 to the workpiece W ([0010], [0011], [0071], [0076], etc.), rather than to determine whether "a foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism" as claimed.” However, no rejection is made that Tanaami teaches a foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism. Ogawa discloses a foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism in [0030]. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues “Applicant submits that Ogawa does not teach or suggest using a moment to determine whether foreign matter is caught between a workpiece and a fixing mechanism, as claimed.” However, no rejection is made that Ogawa teaches determining a moment. Ogawa discloses foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism in [0030]. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Nagasue, Tanaami and Ogawa does not teach or suggest the claimed feature of utilizing a moment to determine whether foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism. Applicant submits that the same reasoning is also applicable to claims 2 and 9, which utilize the position and posture of the workpiece when the force control is normally executed and claims 3 and 10, which utilize the force or moment... Yamane fails to provide the teaching missing from Nagasue, Tanaami and Ogawa necessary to make Applicant's claimed invention obvious… Lu fails to provide the teaching missing from Nagasue, Tanaami and Ogawa necessary to make Applicant's claimed invention obvious.” However, Ogawa discloses foreign matter is caught between the workpiece and the fixing mechanism in [0030] and Tanaami discloses a function for determining that, when the force detection unit detects that the moment acting in a direction correcting the posture of the workpiece exceeds a first threshold value during the position of the workpiece is corrected in [0067]-[0070]. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656