DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
This action is in response to amendment filed on July 1st, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belwal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0217223 A1 (hereinafter Belwal), and further in view of Hohl et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0152651 A1 (hereinafter Hohl).
As per claims 1, 11, 16, Belwal discloses a provisioning system, comprising:
one or more processors (see processor 06 on page 12 section [0127] and Figure 6); and
a memory (see memory 04 on page 12 section [0127] and Figure 6) operatively coupled with the one or more processors, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions which, when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a provisioning request corresponding to a computing device (see provision requests corresponds to requesting subscriber device ID on page 10 section [0109]) via a provisioning node (see receiving a provisioning request 310 at the mediation system 304 via provisioning log system 302, or provisioning node as claimed, on page 8 section [0100]);
determine one or more databases associated with the computing device (see provision requests corresponds to requesting subscriber device ID matching criteria on database on page 10 section [0109]) based on the received provisioning request (see step 404 determining whether a plurality of databases being associated with a different wireless communication protocol has already been provisioned to access on page 10 section [109] and Figure 4);
multicast the provisioning request to provision a user associated with the computing device to the determined one or more databases (see provisioning requests 310, 312, and 314 being sent out in parallel to different databases DB1, 2 and 3 in parallel, or multicast requests to databases as claimed on page 9 section [0102]);
Belwal do not disclose expressly: receive a response from the one or more databases based on provisioning identified in the provisioning request; and transmit the response to the provisioning node.
Hohl teaches: receive a response from the one or more databases (see data provision component using database on page 2 section [0016] and see multiple database in Figure 1) based on provisioning identified in the provisioning request (see receiving request message 101 and send response message 301 on page 4 section [0042]); and transmit the response to the provisioning node (see sending response message 301 back to requester data retrieval component DQ on page 4 section [0046]).
Belwal and Hohl are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, data provisioning and request system. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have database response to provisioning request. The motivation for doing so would have been to use database to resolve provision request for data (see page 1 section [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Belwal and Hohl for the benefit of database response message to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 11, 16.
As per claims 2, 12, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are to multicast the provisioning request to the one or more databases via an intermediary node (see message broker MB serves as intermediary node on page 2 section [0020] in Hohl). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claims 3, 13, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the response comprises one of: a success response, a partial success response, and a failure response (see success response in form of a processed data in response message 301 on page 4 section [0042] in Hohl). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claim 6, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the provisioning request comprises at least one of: a transaction identifier (ID), an order ID, uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a service selected by the user of the computing device, file name, and file location (se subscriber URL to request service on page 9 section [0106] in Belwal). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claim 7, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are to multicast the provisioning request to the one or more databases over a RESTful interface (see using REST API interface for database query on page 4 section [0047] in Hohl). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claim 8, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more databases comprise information about the user associated with the computing device served by a particular network domain (see databases such as DB2 DB3 for subscriber Mobile Directory Number on page 8 section [0101] each database serving different network domain such as 4G, 5G, and LTE on page 9 section [0106] in Belwal). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claim 9, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the network domain comprises at least one of: 4G network domain, and 5G network domain (see each database serving different network domain such as 4G, 5G, and LTE on page 9 section [0106] in Belwal). The motivation to combine is same as above.
As per claim 10, Belwal and Hohl disclose the provisioning system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the one or more databases comprise at least one of: 4G mobility database, 4G Internet of Things (IoT) database, 5G mobility database, and 5G IoT database (see each database serving different network domain such as 4G, 5G, and LTE on page 9 section [0106] in Belwal and see serving Internet of Things IoT communication network on page 2 section [0023] in Hohl). The motivation to combine is same as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As per claim 1, the applicant asserts that Belwal do not disclose: “receive a provisioning request corresponding to a computing device via a provisioning node” (see Remarks on page 7). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Belwal teaches: receive a provisioning request corresponding to a computing device via a provisioning node (see receiving a provisioning request 310 at the mediation system 304 via provisioning log system 302, or provisioning node as claimed, on page 8 section [0100]). Belwal teaches a provisioning node as provisioning log system 302.
As per claim 1, the applicant asserts that Belwal do not disclose: “multicast the provisioning request to the determined one or more database” (see Remarks on page 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Belwal teaches: multicast the provisioning request to the determined one or more database (see provisioning requests 310, 312, and 314 being sent out in parallel to different databases DB1, 2 and 3 in parallel, or multicast requests to databases as claimed on page 9 section [0102]). Belwal teaches sending multiple provisioning requests in parallel and at the same time, which is the definition of multicast as claimed.
As per claim 1, the applicant asserts that Belwal and Hohl do not disclose: “receiving a response from the one or more database based on the provisioning identified in the provisioning request” (see Remarks on page 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Hohl discloses: receive a response from the one or more databases (see data provision component using database on page 2 section [0016] and see multiple database in Figure 1) based on provisioning identified in the provisioning request (see receiving request message 101 and send response message 301 on page 4 section [0042]); and transmit the response to the provisioning node (see sending response message 301 back to requester data retrieval component DQ on page 4 section [0046]).
Hohl teaches returning a respond message from a database with data provisioning component (see page 4 section [0047]) to a requesting client that is receiving the response message as claimed (see page 4 section [0042]).
As per claim 1, the applicant asserts that Belwal and Hohl does not perform or coordinate provisioning operations (see Remarks on page 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Hohl teaches client request and receiving data provisioning component from database (see page 4 section [0047]). Hohl teaches provisioning operation for clients by retrieving data from the server (see page 4 section [0047]).
As per claim 1, the applicant asserts that proposed combination of Belwal and Hohl would not render the claimed invention obvious because the two references are structurally and functionally incompatible (see Remarks on page 9). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Belwal discloses which databases to multicast the provisioning requests to. Hohl teaches the receiving the Belwal’s multicast provisioning requests at a database and reply with a provisioning response. Both inventions work sequentially and do not interfere with each other.
As per claims 2 and 12, the applicant asserts that Belwal and Hohl do not disclose: “multicast the provisioning request to the one or more data bases via an intermediary node” (see Remarks on page 10). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Belwal teaches: multicast the provisioning request to the determined one or more database (see provisioning requests 310, 312, and 314 being sent out in parallel to different databases DB1, 2 and 3 in parallel, or multicast requests to databases as claimed on page 9 section [0102]). Belwal teaches sending multiple provisioning requests in parallel and at the same time, which is the definition of multicast as claimed. Hohl teaches a message broker MB that act as an intermediary node as claimed (see page 2 section [0020]).
As per claims 3 and 13, the applicant asserts that Belwal and Hohl do not disclose: “the response comprises one of: a success response, a partial success response, and a failure response” (see Remarks on page 11). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Hohl teaches returning a response message 301, or a success response as claimed, on page 4 section [0042].
As per claim 6, the applicant asserts that Belwal do not disclose: “the provisioning request comprises at least one of: a transaction identifier (ID), an order ID, uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a service selected by the user of the computing device, file name, and file location” (see Remarks on page 12). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Belwal teaches provisioning client using subscriber request using URL for specific services, or uniform resource locator (URL) as claimed, to request service on page 9 section [0106].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN S CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451