DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Platt et al. (U.S. Patent # 3301578).
Regarding Claim 1, Platt discloses a pump (figs 1 and 2) for cryogenic liquids comprising at least one static seal (30) suitable for ensuring sealing between a first mechanical component (10) and a second mechanical component (20), the first mechanical component (10) having a duct (12) intended to contain cryogenic liquid with an opening (Col 2 Lines 24 – 28) in one end of the first mechanical component ( end of 10), said end (6) of the first mechanical component having a contact surface (contact surface of 10), the seal having a first face (first face of 30) bearing against the contact surface (7) of the first mechanical component (10) and a second face (second face of 30) bearing against a contact surface of the second mechanical component (20) arranged at one end of said second mechanical component (fig 2),
wherein the contact surface (7) of the first mechanical component (3) comprises at least one closed groove (12) surrounding the opening (5) in the end (6) of the first mechanical component, in that the second mechanical component (8) has a duct (13) intended to contain cryogenic liquid with an opening (14) in the end of the second mechanical component, the seal (2) having an opening (16) connecting the openings (5, 14) of the first and second mechanical component, and in that the contact surface (11) of the second mechanical component (20) comprises at least one closed groove (18) surrounding the opening (14) in the end of the second mechanical component (20).
Regarding Claim 2, Platt discloses the pump, wherein the contact surface of the first mechanical component (10) comprises a plurality of successive closed grooves (18) starting from the opening of duct (12) of the first mechanical component (18), a first groove being closest to the opening (first groove of 18 closest to opening 12), the second groove and subsequent ones surrounding the groove(s) positioned closer to the opening of duct of the first mechanical component (second groove and subsequent grooves 18 closer to opening 12).
Regarding Claim 3, Platt discloses the pump, wherein the contact surface of the second mechanical component (20) comprises a plurality of multiple successive closed grooves (18) starting from the opening (14) of the second mechanical component, a first groove (first groove 18) being closest to the opening (14), the second groove and subsequent ones of the contact surface (other grooves 18) of the second mechanical component (20) surrounding the groove(s) the surface of the contact surface of the second mechanical component (20) positioned closer to the opening (14) in the end of the second mechanical component (20).
Regarding Claim 4, Platt discloses the pump, wherein the closed grooves (18) are concentric (18 are concentric).
Regarding Claim 5, Platt discloses the pump, wherein the closed grooves (18) form closed channels (channels formed by grooves 18) delimited by protruding edges (edges delimiting channels formed by grooves 18).
Regarding Claim 6, Platt discloses the pump, the static seal (30) also ensures sealing with a third mechanical component (22), the seal having a third face (third face of 30) bearing against a contact surface of the third mechanical component (contact surface of 22), wherein the contact surface of the third mechanical component (contact surface of 22) is devoid of grooves (18).
Regarding Claim 7, Platt discloses the pump, wherein the static seal (30) forms a triangular section torus (triangular section torus formed by 30).
Regarding Claim 12, Platt discloses the pump, wherein it is suitable for pumping liquid hydrogen (Col 2 Lines 24 – 28 : pump of fig 1 suitable for pumping liquid hydrogen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platt in view of Rezaei (U.S. Provisional application # 66340102).
Regarding Claim 8, Platt discloses the pump.
Platt does not disclose wherein the static seal is made of polymer.
However, Rezaei teaches wherein the static seal (30) is made of polymer (Para 0032 – seal made of polymer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the seal of Platt with that of Rezaei with a reasonable expectation of success so that the polymer seal provides rigidity and durability.
Regarding Claim 9, Platt discloses the pump.
Platt does not disclose wherein the static seal is made of Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
However, Rezaei teaches wherein the static seal is made of Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (Para 0032 – seal made of PTFE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the seal of Platt with that of Rezaei with a reasonable expectation of success so that the PTFE seal provides rigidity and durability.
Regarding Claim 10, Platt discloses the pump.
Platt does not disclose wherein the static seal (2) is made of Polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE).
However, Rezaei teaches wherein the static seal (2) is made of Polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE) (Para 0032 – seal made of PCTFE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the seal of Platt with that of Rezaei with a reasonable expectation of success so that the PCTFE seal provides rigidity and durability.
Regarding Claim 11, Platt discloses the pump.
Platt does not disclose wherein the static seal is made of polyimide.
However, Rezaei teaches wherein the static seal is made of polyimide (Para 0032 – seal made of polyimide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the seal of Platt with that of Rezaei with a reasonable expectation of success so that the polyimide seal provides rigidity and durability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675