DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the terms "insufficient” and “sufficient” are relative term which render the claims indefinite. The terms "insufficient” and “sufficient” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 11, 22, 24, 25, and 28, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shito (US2017/0282597 A1) in view of Shigeru et al. (KR 20120024348 A with English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin comprising ([0015]): arranging a plurality of light sources at a preset interval along the first direction on the substrate and placed such that a direction of an optical axis is matched to a direction perpendicular to the substrate surface ([0034], claim 1, Fig. 2); and wherein UV light emitted from each light source has respective energy levels that are insufficient to crosslink a resin ([0051], claim 8), the irradiation intensity distributions of each UV light overlap with each other, thereby obtaining desired irradiation intensity and irradiation intensity distribution of UV rays between predetermined working distances (for example, between WD60 and WD100) and the light overlapped is light of a wavelength that acts on an ultraviolet curable resin, the resin and bonds the resin to a plurality of electrical contacts ([0040], [0046], claim 8, fig. 3). Shito does not explicitly teach intersecting the first and second light beams in the resin so as to define a location of beam intersection along the first and second widths, wherein the location of became intersection defines an elongate line and has an energy level sufficient to crosslink the resin, such that the intersecting step crosslinks the resin and bonds the resin to a plurality of electrical contacts when the location of beam intersection is in the resin. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin comprising ultraviolet rays emitted from ultraviolet light-emitting diodes (LEDs) have directionality of X axis and Y axis and overlap each other, and ultraviolet rays of a certain line width are formed and irradiated onto a substrate, the resin and bonds the resin ([0036], [0055], Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply intersecting the first and second light beams in the resin so as to define a location of beam intersection along the first and second widths to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of intersecting the first and second light beams in the resin so as to define a location of beam intersection along the first and second widths to cure and bond the substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of maintaining a Moire' interference out of the resin during the intersecting step. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin comprising further comprising the step of maintaining a Moire' interference (Moire interference is the two sets of grids are overlapped together and is rotated an angle can produce an interference as evidenced by Li et al. CN 111216484 A [0003]) out of the resin during the intersecting step ([0036], Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply intersecting the first and second light beams in the resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of intersecting the first and second light beams in the resin to cure the resin ([0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of sweeping the first and second light beams so as to move the location of intersection in the resin. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin comprising further comprising the step of sweeping the first and second light beams so as to move the location of intersection in the resin ([0036], Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the sweeping to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of sweeping to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the sweeping step comprises sweeping the first and second light beams along respective first and second sweeping directions in first and second sweeping planes that intersect the location of beam intersection. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the sweeping step comprises sweeping the first and second light beams along respective first and second sweeping directions in first and second sweeping planes that intersect the location of beam intersection ([0036], Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the sweeping to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of sweeping to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the first light beam extends along a first length to the resin, the first light beam defining a first width perpendicular to the first length, wherein the first length and the first width are oriented along a common first plane. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the first light beam extends along a first length to the resin, the first light beam defining a first width perpendicular to the first length, wherein the first length and the first width are oriented along a common first plane ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the first light beam extends along a first length to the resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of the first light beam extends along a first length to the resin to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the second light beam extends along a second length to the resin, the second light beam defining a second width perpendicular to the second length, wherein the second length and the second width are oriented along a common second plane that intersects the common first plane to define the location of beam intersection. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the second light beam extends along a second length to the resin, the second light beam defining a second width perpendicular to the second length, wherein the second length and the second width are oriented along a common second plane that intersects the common first plane to define the location of beam intersection ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the second light beam extends along a first length to the resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of the second light beam extends along a second length to the resin to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of at least one of the first and second widths. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of at least one of the first and second widths ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of at least one of the first and second widths to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of at least one of the first and second widths to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 11, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of each of the first and second widths so as to define a straight line. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of each of the first and second widths so as to define a straight line ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of each of the first and second widths so as to define a straight line to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the location of beam intersection is continuous along an entirety of each of the first and second widths so as to define a straight line to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the location of beam intersection defines a plurality segmented elongate lines. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the location of beam intersection defines a plurality segmented elongate lines ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the location of beam intersection defines a plurality segmented elongate lines to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the location of beam intersection defines a plurality segmented elongate lines to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the segmented elongate lines are collinear. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the segmented elongate lines are collinear ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the segmented elongate lines are collinear to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the segmented elongate lines are collinear to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the first beam comprises a first segmented light beam having first regions of light that are aligned with each other along the first width. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the first beam comprises a first segmented light beam having first regions of light that are aligned with each other along the first width ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the first beam comprises a first segmented light beam having first regions of light that are aligned with each other along the first width to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the first beam comprises a first segmented light beam having first regions of light that are aligned with each other along the first width to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the second beam comprises a second segmented light beam having second regions of light that are aligned with each other along the second width. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the second beam comprises a second segmented light beam having second regions of light that are aligned with each other along the second width ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the second beam comprises a second segmented light beam having second regions of light that are aligned with each other along the second width to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the second beam comprises a second segmented light beam having second regions of light that are aligned with each other along the second width to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 16, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein each of the first regions of light intersects a respective different one of the second regions of light such that the location of beam intersection comprises a plurality of line segments. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein each of the first regions of light intersects a respective different one of the second regions of light such that the location of beam intersection comprises a plurality of line segments ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein each of the first regions of light intersects a respective different one of the second regions of light such that the location of beam intersection comprises a plurality of line segments to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein each of the first regions of light intersects a respective different one of the second regions of light such that the location of beam intersection comprises a plurality of line segments to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 17, Shito teaches wherein the beams have wavelengths such as 365nm ([0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the first light beam comprises a plurality of first light beams, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the plurality of first light beams in the resin. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the first light beam comprises a plurality of first light beams, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the plurality of first light beams in the resin ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the first light beam comprises a plurality of first light beams, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the plurality of first light beams in the resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the first light beam comprises a plurality of first light beams, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the plurality of first light beams in the resin to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of first light beams extends along respective first planes to the resin, wherein the first planes are spaced from each other, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the first light beams. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the plurality of first light beams extends along respective first planes to the resin, wherein the first planes are spaced from each other, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the first light beams ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the plurality of first light beams extends along respective first planes to the resin, wherein the first planes are spaced from each other, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the first light beams to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the plurality of first light beams extends along respective first planes to the resin, wherein the first planes are spaced from each other, and the second light beam intersects at least one of the first light beams to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the second light beam comprises a plurality of second light beams, and each first light beam intersects at least one of the second light beams in the resin. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein the second light beam comprises a plurality of second light beams, and each first light beam intersects at least one of the second light beams in the resin ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the second light beam comprises a plurality of second light beams, and each first light beam intersects at least one of the second light beams in the resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the second light beam comprises a plurality of second light beams, and each first light beam intersects at least one of the second light beams in the resin to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 21, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein each of the second light beams extend to the resin along respective second planes that are spaced from each other. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin wherein each of the second light beams extend to the resin along respective second planes that are spaced from each other ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein each of the second light beams extend to the resin along respective second planes that are spaced from each other to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein each of the second light beams extend to the resin along respective second planes that are spaced from each other to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 22, Shito teaches further comprising the step of stamping and forming a metal sheet so as to define the plurality of electrical contacts, and bringing the plurality of electrical contacts into the resin prior to the step of intersecting ([0036], [0040]).
Regarding claim 23, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of applying a release layer onto at least one portion of a surface of the electrical contacts to prevent bonding of the resin to the at least one portion. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin further comprising the step of applying a release layer onto at least one portion of a surface of the electrical contacts to prevent bonding of the resin to the at least one portion ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply further comprising the step of applying a release layer onto at least one portion of a surface of the electrical contacts to prevent bonding of the resin to the at least one portion to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of further comprising the step of applying a release layer onto at least one portion of a surface of the electrical contacts to prevent bonding of the resin to the at least one portion to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 24, Shito teaches further comprising the steps of bonding the resin to different locations along respective lengths of the electrical contacts, and severing the electrical contacts between the locations so as to produce singulated wafers each having a wafer housing defined by the crosslinked resin, and a respective number of electrical contacts supported by the wafer housing ([0040], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 25, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach further comprising: directing the location of beam intersection toward a platform of a shuttle so as to cause the resin to crosslink on the platform while the platform is spaced from the electrical contacts; after the step of directing the location of beam intersection toward the platform, moving the shuttle such that the crosslinked resin on the platform is aligned with the electrical contacts; after the moving step, directing the location of beam intersection toward the resin to crosslink the resin onto each of 1) the crosslinked resin on the platform, and 2) the electrical contacts. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin further comprising further comprising: directing the location of beam intersection toward a platform of a shuttle so as to cause the resin to crosslink on the platform while the platform is spaced from the electrical contacts; after the step of directing the location of beam intersection toward the platform, moving the shuttle such that the crosslinked resin on the platform is aligned with the electrical contacts; after the moving step, directing the location of beam intersection toward the resin to crosslink the resin onto each of 1) the crosslinked resin on the platform, and 2) the electrical contacts ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply further comprising the step of applying further comprising: directing the location of beam intersection toward a platform of a shuttle so as to cause the resin to crosslink on the platform while the platform is spaced from the electrical contacts; after the step of directing the location of beam intersection toward the platform, moving the shuttle such that the crosslinked resin on the platform is aligned with the electrical contacts; after the moving step, directing the location of beam intersection toward the resin to crosslink the resin onto each of 1) the crosslinked resin on the platform, and 2) the electrical contacts to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of further comprising the step of applying further comprising: directing the location of beam intersection toward a platform of a shuttle so as to cause the resin to crosslink on the platform while the platform is spaced from the electrical contacts; after the step of directing the location of beam intersection toward the platform, moving the shuttle such that the crosslinked resin on the platform is aligned with the electrical contacts; after the moving step, directing the location of beam intersection toward the resin to crosslink the resin onto each of 1) the crosslinked resin on the platform, and 2) the electrical contacts to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 26, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of removing the platform from the crosslinked resin. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin further comprising further comprising the step of removing the platform from the crosslinked resin ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply further comprising the step of removing the platform from the crosslinked resin to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of further comprising further comprising the step of removing the platform from the crosslinked resin to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 27, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the step of moving the shuttle causes such that the crosslinked resin on the platform to abut the electrical contacts. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin further comprising wherein the step of moving the shuttle causes such that the crosslinked resin on the platform to abut the electrical contacts ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the step of moving the shuttle causes such that the crosslinked resin on the platform to abut the electrical contacts to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the step of moving the shuttle causes such that the crosslinked resin on the platform to abut the electrical contacts to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Regarding claim 28, Shito teaches a method for irradiating curable resin. Shito does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second light beams are of a first fabrication station, and the location of intersection causes the resin to bond to a first surface of the electrical contacts, the method further comprising the steps of: directing first and second light beams from first and second light sources of a second fabrication station so as to define a second location of beam intersection of the second fabrication station in the resin so as to crosslink the resin and bond the resin to a second surface of the plurality of electrical contacts opposite the first surface. However, an analogous art, Shigeru teaches a method for irradiating curable resin further comprising wherein the first and second light beams are of a first fabrication station, and the location of intersection causes the resin to bond to a first surface of the electrical contacts, the method further comprising the steps of: directing first and second light beams from first and second light sources of a second fabrication station so as to define a second location of beam intersection of the second fabrication station in the resin so as to crosslink the resin and bond the resin to a second surface of the plurality of electrical contacts opposite the first surface ([0036], [0037], Fig. 6, 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wherein the first and second light beams are of a first fabrication station, and the location of intersection causes the resin to bond to a first surface of the electrical contacts, the method further comprising the steps of: directing first and second light beams from first and second light sources of a second fabrication station so as to define a second location of beam intersection of the second fabrication station in the resin so as to crosslink the resin and bond the resin to a second surface of the plurality of electrical contacts opposite the first surface to the method in Shito, because Shigeru disclosed the use of wherein the first and second light beams are of a first fabrication station, and the location of intersection causes the resin to bond to a first surface of the electrical contacts, the method further comprising the steps of: directing first and second light beams from first and second light sources of a second fabrication station so as to define a second location of beam intersection of the second fabrication station in the resin so as to crosslink the resin and bond the resin to a second surface of the plurality of electrical contacts opposite the first surface to better bond substrate ([0055]).
Conclusion
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717