DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 9, line 3, the phrase “unconnected component” should be “unconnected components”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his
invention.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites the limitation “assigning an edge of the segmented individual heap at a ground level.” It is unclear whether this limitation means that an edge of the heap is positioned at ground level, or that a height of an edge of the heap is set to ground level. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as meaning a height of an edge of the segmented individual heap is set to ground level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014).
Regarding Claim 1, Prietzsch teaches:
A computer-implemented method of stockpile monitoring, comprising the steps of:
obtaining an image of a ground surface area acquired by a remote sensing synthetic aperture radar ([p. 202]: “TerraSAR-X HS300 imagery”; [p. 203]: “Bistatic image pairs”);
segmenting individual heaps in the obtained image ([p. 202]: “large coal stockpiles”; “the pile’s base area”; [p. 203]: “selected coal stock pile”; Figure 3 showing delineated coal stockpiles);
for each segmented individual heap, determining a 3D model of the segmented individual heap … ([p. 202]: “we present an interferometric based volume analysis of large coal stockpiles”; “By simple integration of the derived height over the pile’s base area a volume of almost 117,000 m3 is derived in this example.”).
Prietzsch does not explicitly teach:
determining a 3D model of the segmented individual heap by performing shape-from-shading reconstruction of the segmented individual heap.
However, Di Martino is in the field of SAR image processing (Di Martino [Abstract]) and teaches:
determining a 3D model of a SAR image by performing shape-from-shading reconstruction of the SAR image (Di Martino [p. 1333]: “The problem of Shape from Shading is to determine the shape of a surface given a single gray-level image of that surface. The image can be acquired … in the microwave region (radar or SAR image).”; [p. 1334]: “we propose a new technique for SAR SfS based on the use of fractal models”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and determine the 3D model by performing shape-from-shading reconstruction, as taught by Di Martino, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Di Martino’s known shape-from-shading technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of accurately computing a 3D models of a stockpile heaps with low computational complexity (Di Martino [p. 1334]).
Regarding Claim 11, Prietzsch as modified teaches: determining heights … and projecting the determined heights onto the ground surface area ([p. 202]: “the derived height”; Figure 3).
Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach – but Di Martino teaches: determining heights in a ground range-azimuth plane of slope α with respect to the ground surface area (Di Martino [p. 1335]: “an estimate of the slopes of the surface in the range direction, which can be integrated to obtain an estimate of the corresponding elevation profile”; “range and azimuth profiles”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and determine heights in a ground range-azimuth plane of slope α with respect to the ground surface area, as taught by Di Martino, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Di Martino’s known height determination technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of accurately determining the height of a heap.
Regarding Claim 12, Prietzsch as modified teaches: the method further comprising determining a volume of each segmented individual heap based on its 3D model ([p. 202]: “By simple integration of the derived height over the pile’s base area a volume of almost 117,000 m3 is derived in this example.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Prietzsch as modified teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claims 1 ([p. 201]: “commercial spaceborne SAR system”; [p. 202]: “SAR processing”).
Regarding Claim 14, Prietzsch as modified teaches: A system for stockpile monitoring in synthetic aperture radar remote sensing images, comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 1 ([p. 201]: “commercial spaceborne SAR system”; [p. 202]: “SAR processing”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Mircean (US 2015/0154522).
Regarding Claim 2, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: the method further comprising, before segmenting the individual heaps in the obtained image, the successive steps of segmenting and masking out individual cranes in the obtained image.
However, Mircean is in the field of image processing (Mircean [Abstract]) and teaches: segmenting and masking out individual cranes in the obtained image (Mircean [0069]: “The resulting layout for “sea level” is segmented and information extracted regarding cranes, platforms and supply vessels. At least one mask of the cranes, platforms and supply vessels is generated. The resulting layout is also used as a basis for generating limitations, restrictions, and/or optimizations.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and segment and mask out individual cranes in the obtained image, as taught by Barbour, with a reasonable expectation of success. Segmenting and masking out unnecessary objects, such as cranes, is beneficial for improving the accuracy of stockpile monitoring.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014) and Mircean (US 2015/0154522), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Yankeelov (US 2025/0302394).
Regarding Claim 3, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: wherein segmenting an individual crane comprises intensity thresholding within a bounding box drawn around the individual crane.
However, Yankeelov is in the field of image segmentation (Yankeelov [Abstract]) and teaches: intensity thresholding within a bounding box drawn around tumor (Yankeelov [0067]: “if provided with a conservatively drawn “bounding box” (i.e., a hand drawn polygon that surrounds the tumor, but not its specific contours), thresholding based on enhancement may be used to determine the boundaries of tumors from DCE-MRI data. This threshold is a value chosen for which any voxel with signal intensity above that threshold in the post contrast image is considered part of the tumor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and segment an individual crane by drawing a bounding box and performing intensity thresholding within the bounding box, as taught by Yankeelov, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Yankeelov’s known bounding box thresholding technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of accurately segmenting an individual crane.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014) and Mircean (US 2015/0154522), as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2014/0169695).
Regarding Claim 4, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: wherein masking out the individual cranes is preceded by a step of area filtering the segmented individual cranes to remove one or more connected components that have an area smaller than a predetermined threshold.
However, Lin is in the field of image processing (Lin [Abstract]) and teaches: area filtering segmented images to remove one or more connected components that have an area smaller than a predetermined threshold (Lin [Claim 6]: “the image segmentation step comprises: … filtering out any connected components having an area smaller than an area threshold”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and, prior to masking the individual cranes, filter the image by removing one or more connected components that have an area smaller than a predetermined threshold, as taught by Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Lin’s known area filtering technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of removing connected components smaller than an area threshold in order to accurately mask the individual cranes.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of d’Autume (d’Autume, M. et al., “STOCKPILE MONITORING USING LINEAR SHAPE-FROM-SHADING ON PLANETSCOPE IMAGERY,” 2020).
Regarding Claim 5, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: the method further comprising delineating a region of interest within the obtained image and masking out in the obtained image parts of the ground surface area that are outside the region of interest.
However, d’Autume is in the field of stockpile monitoring using shape-from-shading (d’Autume [Abstract]) and teaches: the method further comprising delineating a region of interest within the obtained image and masking out in the obtained image parts of the ground surface area that are outside the region of interest (d’Autume [p. 428]: “we delineate the coal storage areas”; [p. 431]: “The region of interest Ω is thus a subset of the vertex set”; “boundary condition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and delineate a region of interest and mask out the area outside the region of interest, as taught by d’Autume, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying d’Autume’s known masking technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of removing unnecessary areas from the SAR images in order to more accurately monitor the stockpile heaps.
Regarding Claim 10, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach – but d’Autume teaches: wherein performing shape-from-shading reconstruction (SfS) of a segmented individual heap comprises assigning an edge of the segmented individual heap at a ground level (d’Autume [p. 429]: “we will always assume homogeneous Dirichlet boundary conditions (h = 0 on ∂Ω)”; [p. 430]: “Assuming that the ground on which the coal is deposited is flat it is coherent to enforce Dirichlet boundary conditions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and assign an edge of the segmented individual heap at a ground level, as taught by d’Autume, with a reasonable expectation of success. Assigning an edge of the segmented individual heap at a ground level is beneficial for accurately modeling the stockpile heaps.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto (JP 2006176071 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: the method further comprising rotating the obtained image to have rails horizontal therein.
However, Enomoto is in the field of railway image analysis (Enomoto [0001]) and teaches: rotating the obtained image to have rails horizontal therein (Enomoto [0054]: “the image may be adjusted and used so that the rails extend horizontally”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and rotating the obtained image to have rails horizontal, as taught by Enomoto, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Enomoto’s known railway image analysis technique to Prietzsch’s stockpile monitoring system yields the predictable result of rotating the image to have a consistent orientation.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014) and Enomoto (JP 2006176071 A), as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Barbour (US 2022/0405874).
Regarding Claim 7, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: the method further comprising segmenting and masking out the rails in the obtained image.
However, Barbour is in the field of image processing (Barbour [Abstract]) and teaches: segmenting and masking out the rails in the obtained image (Barbour [0136]: “segmentation and masking (which separate elements within the same scene, examples being rails…)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and segment and mask out the rails in the obtained image, as taught by Barbour, with a reasonable expectation of success. Segmenting and masking out unnecessary objects, such as rails, is beneficial for improving the accuracy of stockpile monitoring.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prietzsch (C. Prietzsch et al., “Site Monitoring applications with high-resolution TerraSAR-X data,” 2014) in view of Di Martino (G. Di Martino et al., “On shape from shading and SAR images: An overview and a new perspective,” 2014), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Najman (EP 1394725 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach: wherein segmenting an individual heap in the obtained image comprises segmenting two unconnected components of the individual heap and merging the two unconnected components with an intermediate area therebetween.
However, Najman is in the field of image processing (Najman [0001]) and teaches: segmenting two unconnected components and merging the two unconnected components with an intermediate area therebetween (Najman [0024]: “Application of the closing operator to an image tends to close holes or slits in the image if they are smaller than the structuring element and to cause the union of “islands” to the “mainland””; “Application of this run-length-smoothing algorithm tends to blur the words in a text line into blobs which merge together into a black band”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and segment and merge two unconnected components with an intermediate area therebetween, as taught by Najman, with a reasonable expectation of success. Segmenting and merging two unconnected components is beneficial for correctly identifying and segmenting a heap.
Regarding Claim 9, Prietzsch as modified does not explicitly teach – but Najman teaches: wherein the intermediate area comprises rows of pixels between a first one of the two unconnected components and the other one of the two unconnected component (Najman [0042]: “closing the image A using a linear structuring element … which is a horizontal linear segment”), the rows of pixels being aligned along a specific direction (Najman [0044]: “a linear structuring element … oriented at any chosen angle α”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Prietzsch and connect the unconnected components using a row of pixels aligned along a stockpile formation direction with a reasonable expectation of success. Connecting the unconnected components using a row of pixels aligned along a stockpile formation direction is beneficial for accurately connecting two components of a single heap.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least Claim 1.
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648