DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the preliminary amendment filed 2 July 2025
Claims 1-16, 20-22, 30-35 and 38-39 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 17-19, 23-29, 36-37 and 40-41 have been canceled.
Claims 1-16, 20-22, 30-35 and 38-39 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 27 January 2025 and 8 January 2025 have been considered by the examiner and an initialed copies of the IDSs are hereby attached.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
The use of the term ANT+ which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
The examiner requests Applicant to review the specification for additional trademarks not identified above (see especially page 1, lines 22-26).
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6-10, 12-15, 30-35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the operating element is substantially ring-shaped, such as substantially cylindrical, optionally tapered and/or beveled, optionally including one or more protrusions and/or depressions.” The terms “such as” and “optionally” imply that the limitation is not required. MPEP 2173.05(d). Thus, it is not clear to the examiner if the claim requires that the operating element is cylindrical, tapered, beveled and whether protrusions or depressions are required by the claim.
The term “substantially ring-shaped” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially ring-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the scope of a “substantially ring-shaped” operating element would entail.
The term “substantially cylindrical” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially cylindrical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the scope of a “substantially cylindrical” operating element would entail.
Claim 6 recites “wherein an inner diameter of the base is equal to or larger than an outer diameter of the handlebar, e.g. about 20 mm or about 22 mm or larger”. It is not clear if the claim requires that the diameter of the base is about 20 mm or 22mm or if it is larger. The recitation of “e.g.” implies the following values are examples, and are not required by the claims. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites “wherein an outer of diameter the operating element is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller”. It is not clear if the claim requires that the diameter of the operating element is smaller than about 45 mm or smaller than about 40 mm. The term “preferably” implies that the following limitations are not required. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites “wherein an outer diameter the operating element, excluding the one or more protrusions, is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller. It is not clear if the claim requires that the diameter of the operating element is smaller than about 45 mm or smaller than about 40 mm. The term “preferably” implies that the following limitations are not required. See MPEP 2173.05(d). Further, claim 8 recites “wherein an outer diameter the operating element, excluding the one or more protrusions” The examiner notes that claim 8 depends from claim 3 which does not require protrusions and/or depressions as noted above, with respect to claim 3.
Claim 12 recites “ wherein the default position is rotationally between two of the at least two activation positions, in particular between the first activation position and the second activation position. The term “in particular” implies that that the following limitation is not required. It is not clear if the default position must between the first activation position and the second activation position.
Claim 13 recites “ wherein the operating element is biased towards the default position, away from the at least one activation position, in particular away from each activation position of the at least one activation position.” The term “in particular” implies that that the following limitation is not required. It is not clear if the operating element is biased away from away from each activation position.
Claim 15 recites “ the wireless control device according to claim 1, configured to be arranged adjacent or in a grip for the handlebar and to continue a gripping surface of the grip when so arranged.”. The phrase “when so arranged” implies that the following arrangement is not required by the claim. It is not clear if the claim requires that the wireless control device to continue a gripping surface.
Claim 30 recites “such as a chain” in line 6. The term “such as” implies that that the following limitation is not required. It is not clear if the claim requires that the drive member be a chain. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 30 recites “a first activation position” in line 13. Claim 30 depends from claim 11 which previously recited “a first activation position” . It is not clear if the first activation position of claim 30 is the same or different than that of claim 11.
Claim 32 recites “an operating element”, “a base”, “a rotation axis” “a local center line” “a default position” “a plurality of rotational positions” “ at least two activation positions” “a first activation position”, “a second activation position” and “a wireless communication unit”, “one or more messages”, and “one or more control messages”. Claim 32 is dependent from claim 30, claim 11 and claim 1. Claim 1 previously recited these terms. Thus, it is not clear if the elements recited in claim 32 are the same or different than those introduced in claim 1.
Claim 33 recites “a handlebar”. Claim 33 depends from claim 20 which depends from claim 1. Claim 1 previously recites “a handlebar”. It is not clear if the handlebar of claim 33 is the same or different than that recited in claim 1.
Claim 34 recites “a further wireless control device comprising an operating element”. Claim 34 is dependent from claim 33 which is dependent from claim 20 which is dependent from claim 1. Claim 1 previously recited “an operating element”. It is not clear if the operating element of claim 34 is the same or different than that recited in claim 1.
Claim 34 recites “a base”, “a rotation axis” “a local center line” “a default position” “ at least one activation position” “and “a wireless communication unit”, “one or more messages”, and “one or more control messages”. Claim 34 is dependent from claim 33 which is dependent from claim 20 which is dependent from claim 1. Claim 1 previously recited these terms. Thus, it is not clear if the elements recited in claim 34 are the same or different than those introduced in claim 1.
Claim 34 recites “wherein the base of the further wireless control device is fixed to the handlebar of the bicycle at an opposite side of the handlebar.” It is not clear to the examiner what the opposite side of the handlebar is with respect to. What is it the base fixed opposite to?
Claim 39 recites “a bicycle” in multiple lines. Claim 39 depends from claim 1 which previously recited “a bicycle” and “the bicycle”. It is not clear if the bicycle of claim 39 is the same or different than that of claim 1.
Claim 8 depends from claim 3 and is similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on its dependency on claim 3.
Claims 31-32 depend from claim 30 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency on claim 30.
Claims 34-35 depend from claim 33 and are similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on their dependency on claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 15-16, 20-22, 33-35 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurokawa (US Patent No. US-10889346-B2 hereinafter “Kurokawa”).
Regarding 1, Kurokawa discloses wireless control device for a bicycle, comprising:
a base fixable to a handlebar of the bicycle (see at least Kurokawa Figure 14, base 114. See also col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25 “As shown in FIG. 14, the base member 114 includes a bicycle mounting part 114a, a support member 114b and a cover 114c. The bicycle mounting part 114a is non-movable mounted on the handlebar H.”)
an operating element coupled to the base so as to be rotatable with respect to the base about a rotation axis parallel to a local center line of the handlebar when the base is fixed to the handlebar, the rotatability being at least between a plurality of rotational positions including a default position (see at least Kurokawa Figure 14, See also col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25, “ As shown in FIG. 14, the base member 114 includes a bicycle mounting part 114a, a support member 114b and a cover 114c. The bicycle mounting part 114a is non-movable mounted on the handlebar H. The support member 114b rotatably supports the rotary operating member 120. The rotary operating member 120 includes an annular gripping portion 124 that is rotatably disposed about the longitudinal axis A. The rotary operating member 120 further includes a flexible grip cover 126 and an inner part 128, as will be further discussed below. The flexible grip cover 126 is disposed over the annular gripping portion 124, while the inner part 128 is disposed inside the annular gripping portion 124. The annular gripping portion 124, the flexible grip cover 126 and the inner part 128 are rotatable together as a unit with respect to the base member 114. The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position”) and at least one activation position (see at least Kurokawa Figure 14, See also col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25, a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send one or more messages (see at least Kurokawa, Figure 14, D1 and D2. See at least column 18, lines 46-61 “The base member 114 fixedly secures the switch unit 116 onto the handlebar H, while the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable with respect to the base member 114 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. In particular, the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable about the longitudinal axis A of a handlebar H between a rest position and one or more operated positions. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is movable between a rest position and an operated position. The rotary operating member 120 is rotatable in a first direction D1 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H and is rotatable in a second direction D2 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. The second direction D2 is opposite the first direction D1. Thus, the rotary operating member 120 is movable in both of the first direction D1 and the second direction D2 about a circumferential direction of the longitudinal axis A.” See also col 10, lines 35-51)
a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send or more messages including one or more control messages, in response to the operating element rotating among the plurality of rotational positions (see at least Kurokawa col 18, lines 13-19 “The electric twist-grip operating device 110A basically comprises a base member 114 and a switch unit 116. The electric twist-grip operating device 110A further comprises an electronic controller and a wireless transceiver in the same manner as shown in FIG. 2 for the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A.” col 8, line 49 through col 9, line 35 “Here, in the illustrated embodiments, the electronic controller 18 is configured to selectively communicate with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS via wireless communications. The electronic controller 18 is also configured to communicate with the rear derailleur RD via wireless communications. Thus, as seen in FIG. 2, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A includes a wireless transceiver WT (i.e., a communication device) that carries out two-way wireless communications between the electronic controller 18 and the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. The term “wireless communication device” as used herein includes a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a transmitter-receiver, and contemplates any device or devices, separate or combined, capable of transmitting and/or receiving wireless communication signals, including shift signals or control, command or other signals related to some function of the component being controlled. Here, the wireless transceiver WT is illustrated as a wireless communication device that carries out two-way wireless communications. However, the wireless transceiver WT can be replaced with a one-way communication device as needed and/or desired….In this way, the electronic controller 18 is configured to output control signal(s) via the wireless transceiver WT to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RI). Alternatively, the cycle computer CC can be equipped with a wireless communication device. The electronic controller 18 can output control signals(s) to the cycle computer CC, which then transmits the control signals to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. Thus, in the illustrated embodiment, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A is in wireless communication with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. However, the electronic controller 18 and each of the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD can communicate via electrical wires such as dedicated signal lines or via power line communications (PLC).” See also col. 11 line 45 through col 12 line 31).
Regarding 2, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1 wherein the operating element is arranged to extend circumferentially around the handlebar (see at least Kurokawa, operating element 20, 120 see at least Figure 3-6 and 13-14).
Regarding 3, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 2, wherein the operating element is substantially ring-shaped, such as substantially cylindrical, optionally tapered and/or beveled, optionally including one or more protrusions and/or depressions (see at least Kurokawa, operating element 20, 120 see at least Figure 3-6 and 13-14).
Regarding 6, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the base is equal to or larger than an outer diameter of the handlebar, e.g. about 20 mm or about 22 mm or larger (see at least Kurokawa, operating element 20, 120 see at least Figure 3-6 and 13-14. The examiner notes the 112 rejection above, with respect to the recitation of “e.g. about 20 mm or about 22mm or larger”).
Regarding 9, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein an axial width of the operating element corresponds to, or is larger than, an axial width of the base (see at least Kurokawa, operating element 20, 120 is larger than base 14, 114 as shown in at least Figure 3-6 and 13-14. ).
Regarding 11, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one activation position comprises at least two activation positions, including a first activation position and a second activation position (see at least Kurokawa, Figure 14, D1 and D2. See at least column 18, lines 46-61 “The base member 114 fixedly secures the switch unit 116 onto the handlebar H, while the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable with respect to the base member 114 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. In particular, the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable about the longitudinal axis A of a handlebar H between a rest position and one or more operated positions. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is movable between a rest position and an operated position. The rotary operating member 120 is rotatable in a first direction D1 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H and is rotatable in a second direction D2 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. The second direction D2 is opposite the first direction D1. Thus, the rotary operating member 120 is movable in both of the first direction D1 and the second direction D2 about a circumferential direction of the longitudinal axis A.” See also col 10, lines 35-51 and col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25, “ …The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position”)
Regarding 12, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 11, wherein the default position is rotationally between two of the at least two activation positions, in particular between the first activation position and the second activation position (see at least Kurokawa col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25, “…The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position”)
Regarding 13, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the operating element is biased towards the default position, away from the at least one activation position, in particular away from each activation position of the at least one activation position (see at least Kurokawa col 18, lines 62 through col. 19, line 25, “…The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position”).
Regarding 15, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, configured to be arranged adjacent or in a grip for the handlebar and to continue a gripping surface of the grip when so arranged (See at least Kurokawa .Figure 3-6 and 13-14).
Regarding 16, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, comprising a respective activation switch for each activation position of the at least one activation position, each activation switch being configured to switch a respective electronic circuit when the operating element reaches and/or leaves the respective activation position, the electronic circuit being operatively connected with the wireless communication unit (see at least Kurokawa col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51 “In particular, the rotary operating member 20 is rotatable with respect to the base member 14 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H in at least one of a first direction D1 and a second direction D2. In particular, the switch unit 16 is configured to output one of the first control signal and the second control signal in response to the rotation of the rotary operating member 20 in at least one of a first direction D1 and a second direction D2.”) .
Regarding 20, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more control messages include one or more gear control messages (see at least Kurokawa col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51 and claim 2 “wherein the rotary operating member is rotatable with respect to the base member circumferentially around the longitudinal axis of the bicycle handlebar in at least one of a first direction and a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction, and the switch unit is configured to output the one of the first control signal and the second control signal in response to a rotation of the rotary operating member in the at least one of the first direction and the second direction, the second control signal being configured to operate a gear transmission.”).
Regarding 21, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more messages further include a wireless pairing message (see at least Kurokawa col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51 and claim 2 “wherein the rotary operating member is rotatable with respect to the base member circumferentially around the longitudinal axis of the bicycle handlebar in at least one of a first direction and a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction, and the switch unit is configured to output the one of the first control signal and the second control signal in response to a rotation of the rotary operating member in the at least one of the first direction and the second direction, the second control signal being configured to operate a gear transmission.” The examiner notes that the claim is directed a device configured to send a pairing message. Kurokawa is capable of sending messages and thus is capable of sending pairing message. Further, any message can be considered a pairing message as the message is sent and received and indicates pairing.)
Regarding 22, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to wirelessly send the one or more messages in response to the operating element rotating among the rotational positions according to at least one predefined sequence (see at least Kurokawa col. 8, line 49 through col 9 line 35 “Here, in the illustrated embodiments, the electronic controller 18 is configured to selectively communicate with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS via wireless communications. The electronic controller 18 is also configured to communicate with the rear derailleur RD via wireless communications. Thus, as seen in FIG. 2, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A includes a wireless transceiver WT (i.e., a communication device) that carries out two-way wireless communications between the electronic controller 18 and the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. The term “wireless communication device” as used herein includes a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a transmitter-receiver, and contemplates any device or devices, separate or combined, capable of transmitting and/or receiving wireless communication signals, including shift signals or control, command or other signals related to some function of the component being controlled. Here, the wireless transceiver WT is illustrated as a wireless communication device that carries out two-way wireless communications. However, the wireless transceiver WT can be replaced with a one-way communication device as needed and/or desired.” See also see at least Kurokawa col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51) .
Regarding claim 33, Kurokawa discloses a bicycle provided with the wireless control device, according to claim 20, wherein the base is fixed to a handlebar of the bicycle (see at least Kurokawa Figure 3-6 and 13-14).
Regarding claim 34, Kurokawa discloses the bicycle according to claim 33, further comprising a further wireless control device comprising an operating element coupled to a base so as to be rotatable with respect to the base about a rotation axis parallel to a local center line of the handlebar when the base is fixed to the handlebar, the rotatability being at least between a plurality of rotational positions including a default position and at least one activation position (see at least Kurokawa Figures 3-6 and 13-14 and col 18, lines 46 through col. 19, line 25, “The base member 114 fixedly secures the switch unit 116 onto the handlebar H, while the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable with respect to the base member 114 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. In particular, the rotary operating member 120 is rotatable about the longitudinal axis A of a handlebar H between a rest position and one or more operated positions. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is movable between a rest position and an operated position. The rotary operating member 120 is rotatable in a first direction D1 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H and is rotatable in a second direction D2 about the longitudinal axis A of the handlebar H. The second direction D2 is opposite the first direction D1. Thus, the rotary operating member 120 is movable in both of the first direction D1 and the second direction D2 about a circumferential direction of the longitudinal axis A.” … As shown in FIG. 14, the base member 114 includes a bicycle mounting part 114a, a support member 114b and a cover 114c. The bicycle mounting part 114a is non-movable mounted on the handlebar H. The support member 114b rotatably supports the rotary operating member 120. The rotary operating member 120 includes an annular gripping portion 124 that is rotatably disposed about the longitudinal axis A. … The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position”) and a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send one or more messages, including one or more control messages, in response to the operating element rotating among the plurality of rotational positions, wherein the base of the further wireless control device is fixed to the handlebar of the bicycle at an opposite side of the handlebar (See at least Kurokawa col 10, lines 35-51 and col 18, lines 13-19 “The electric twist-grip operating device 110A basically comprises a base member 114 and a switch unit 116. The electric twist-grip operating device 110A further comprises an electronic controller and a wireless transceiver in the same manner as shown in FIG. 2 for the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A.” See also col 8, line 49 through col 9, line 35 “Here, in the illustrated embodiments, the electronic controller 18 is configured to selectively communicate with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS via wireless communications. The electronic controller 18 is also configured to communicate with the rear derailleur RD via wireless communications. Thus, as seen in FIG. 2, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A includes a wireless transceiver WT (i.e., a communication device) that carries out two-way wireless communications between the electronic controller 18 and the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. The term “wireless communication device” as used herein includes a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a transmitter-receiver, and contemplates any device or devices, separate or combined, capable of transmitting and/or receiving wireless communication signals, including shift signals or control, command or other signals related to some function of the component being controlled. Here, the wireless transceiver WT is illustrated as a wireless communication device that carries out two-way wireless communications. However, the wireless transceiver WT can be replaced with a one-way communication device as needed and/or desired….In this way, the electronic controller 18 is configured to output control signal(s) via the wireless transceiver WT to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RI). Alternatively, the cycle computer CC can be equipped with a wireless communication device. The electronic controller 18 can output control signals(s) to the cycle computer CC, which then transmits the control signals to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. Thus, in the illustrated embodiment, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A is in wireless communication with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. However, the electronic controller 18 and each of the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD can communicate via electrical wires such as dedicated signal lines or via power line communications (PLC).” See also col. 11 line 45 through col 12 line 31).
Regarding claim 35, Kurokawa discloses the bicycle according to claim 33 further provided with a wireless gear changing device configured to effect a gear change in a drive train of the bicycle in response to receiving a wireless gear control message (see at least Kurokawa col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51 and claim 2 “wherein the rotary operating member is rotatable with respect to the base member circumferentially around the longitudinal axis of the bicycle handlebar in at least one of a first direction and a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction, and the switch unit is configured to output the one of the first control signal and the second control signal in response to a rotation of the rotary operating member in the at least one of the first direction and the second direction, the second control signal being configured to operate a gear transmission.” See also col 7 lines 5-37 )
Regarding claim 38, Kurokawa discloses a combination of at least one wireless control device according to claim 1, and at least one further wireless device, the at least one further wireless device being configured to receive at least one of the one or more messages from the at least one wireless control device, at least after a pairing procedure in which the at least one further wireless device is paired with the at least one wireless control device (see at least Kurokawa Figure 2 wherein See also Kurokawa col 18, lines 13-19 “The electric twist-grip operating device 110A basically comprises a base member 114 and a switch unit 116. The electric twist-grip operating device 110A further comprises an electronic controller and a wireless transceiver in the same manner as shown in FIG. 2 for the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A.” See col. 8, line 49 through col 9, line 35 “Here, in the illustrated embodiments, the electronic controller 18 is configured to selectively communicate with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS via wireless communications. The electronic controller 18 is also configured to communicate with the rear derailleur RD via wireless communications. Thus, as seen in FIG. 2, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A includes a wireless transceiver WT (i.e., a communication device) that carries out two-way wireless communications between the electronic controller 18 and the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. The term “wireless communication device” as used herein includes a receiver, a transmitter, a transceiver, a transmitter-receiver, and contemplates any device or devices, separate or combined, capable of transmitting and/or receiving wireless communication signals, including shift signals or control, command or other signals related to some function of the component being controlled. Here, the wireless transceiver WT is illustrated as a wireless communication device that carries out two-way wireless communications. However, the wireless transceiver WT can be replaced with a one-way communication device as needed and/or desired….In this way, the electronic controller 18 is configured to output control signal(s) via the wireless transceiver WT to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RI). Alternatively, the cycle computer CC can be equipped with a wireless communication device. The electronic controller 18 can output control signals(s) to the cycle computer CC, which then transmits the control signals to the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. Thus, in the illustrated embodiment, the first electric twist-grip operating device 10A is in wireless communication with the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD. However, the electronic controller 18 and each of the height adjustable seatpost SP, the front suspension FS and/or the rear suspension RS and the rear derailleur RD can communicate via electrical wires such as dedicated signal lines or via power line communications (PLC).” See also col. 11 line 45 through col 12 line 31 and col 18 lines 13-45 and col 10 lines 35-51 and claim 2 “wherein the rotary operating member is rotatable with respect to the base member circumferentially around the longitudinal axis of the bicycle handlebar in at least one of a first direction and a second direction, the second direction being opposite to the first direction, and the switch unit is configured to output the one of the first control signal and the second control signal in response to a rotation of the rotary operating member in the at least one of the first direction and the second direction, the second control signal being configured to operate a gear transmission.” The examiner notes that the claim is directed a device configured to send a pairing message. Kurokawa is capable of sending messages and thus is capable of sending pairing message. Further, any message can be considered a pairing message as the message is sent and received and indicates pairing.)
Regarding claim 39, Kurokawa discloses the bicycle according to claim 33 combination according to claim 38, wherein the at least one further wireless device comprises, and/or is configured to adjust, one or more of the following: a gear changing device for a bicycle, a motor for a bicycle, a shock absorber for a bicycle, a seat post for a bicycle, a light for a bicycle, a camera for a bicycle, a speaker for a bicycle, a sensor for a bicycle, a body-worn sensor, a break for a bicycle, a display for a bicycle, a navigation device for a bicycle, and a mobile device (see at least Kurokawa Figure 2 and wherein the at least one further wireless device is a bicycle gear changing device).
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-12, 15, 20-22, 33-35, and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitamura (US Patent No. US-8402664-B1 hereinafter “Kitamura”).
Regarding 1, Kitamura discloses wireless control device for a bicycle, comprising:
a base fixable to a handlebar of the bicycle (see at least Kitamura Figure 5 base 34 and col 3 lines 25-30 “Now the user operating unit 20 will be discussed in more detail with reference to FIGS. 4 to 6. Basically, the user operating unit 20 includes a fixed member 34 and a user operating member 36. The fixed member 34 fixedly secures the user operating unit 20 onto the handlebar 10, while the user operating member 36 is rotatably mounted to the fixed member 34.” See also col 47-53 “ Now the fixed member 34 will be discussed in more detail with reference mainly to FIGS. 5 and 6. Basically, the fixed member 34 includes a bicycle mounting part 42 for clamping onto the handlebar 10. The bicycle mounting part 42 is a conventional type of tube clamp that includes a band clamp 42a and a clamping bolt 42b. When the clamping bolt 42b is rotated to draw the free ends of the clamp 42a together, the band clamp 42a then squeezes the handlebar 10.”);
an operating element coupled to the base so as to be rotatable with respect to the base about a rotation axis parallel to a local center line of the handlebar when the base is fixed to the handlebar, the rotatability being at least between a plurality of rotational positions including a default position and at least one activation position bicycle (see at least Kitamura Figure 5 operating member 36 and col 3 lines 25-47 “Now the user operating unit 20 will be discussed in more detail with reference to FIGS. 4 to 6. Basically, the user operating unit 20 includes a fixed member 34 and a user operating member 36. The fixed member 34 fixedly secures the user operating unit 20 onto the handlebar 10, while the user operating member 36 is rotatably mounted to the fixed member 34. The user operating unit 20 has a center rotation axis R that coincides with a center longitudinal axis of the handlebar 10. Thus, the user operating member 36 is mounted onto the handlebar 10 such that the rider can rotate the user operating member 36 on the handlebar 10. Since the electric control device 12 is a twist type shifter that is mounted to the bicycle handlebar 10, the user operating unit 20 also preferably has a position setting unit 38 for maintaining a selected position of the user operating member 36 relative to the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34. In this way, when the rider rotates or twists the user operating member 36 on the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34, the user operating member 36 will stay in the selected position relative to the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34 once the rider lets go of the user operating member 36. Thus, the user operating unit 20 constitutes a shifter with the position setting unit 38 constitutes an indexing device of the shifter.” See also Figure 11, wherein Stage Position 1 can be considered the default position) and
a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send one or more messages including one or more control messages, in response to the operating element rotating among the plurality of rotational positions (see at least Kitamura col. 2 line 64 through column 3, line 10 “Basically, as discussed below, a magnetic field is generated between the user operating unit 20 and the position sensing unit 22. Using the generated magnetic field, the position sensing unit 22 senses the operation (i.e., rotation or twisting in the illustrated embodiment) of the user operating unit 20 by the rider, and then transmits data indicative of the operation of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component such as a derailleur or internally geared hub. As explained below, in the illustrated embodiment, the position sensing unit 22 wirelessly transmits positioning data indicative of a current position of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component. However, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from this disclosure that the position sensing unit 22 can be electrically connected to a bicycle component with a wire, if needed and/or desired.” See also claim 11 and Figure 10 for wireless communication unit).
Regarding 2, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1 wherein the operating element is arranged to extend circumferentially around the handlebar (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-6).
Regarding 3, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 2, wherein the operating element is substantially ring-shaped, such as substantially cylindrical, optionally tapered and/or beveled, optionally including one or more protrusions and/or depressions (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-6).
Regarding 4, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication unit is positioned so as to be between the handlebar and the operating element during use and/or so as to be enclosed by the operating element when viewed in the direction of the rotation axis (see at least Kitamura Figure 4 and col. 7, lines 53-62 “) Basically, the microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11. The wireless transmitter 86D includes an antenna 86E. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit the digital data D1 to D11 via the antenna 86E.”).
Regarding 5, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication unit is provided with an antenna which is arranged so as to be between the handlebar and the operating element during use and/or so as to be enclosed by the operating element when viewed in the direction of the rotation axis (see at least Kitamura Figure 4 and col. 7, lines 53-62 “) Basically, the microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11. The wireless transmitter 86D includes an antenna 86E. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit the digital data D1 to D11 via the antenna 86E.”).
Regarding 6, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the base is equal to or larger than an outer diameter of the handlebar, e.g. about 20 mm or about 22 mm or larger (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-6).
Regarding 9, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein an axial width of the operating element corresponds to, or is larger than, an axial width of the base (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-6).
Regarding 11, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one activation position comprises at least two activation positions, including a first activation position and a second activation position (see at least Kitamura Figure 11 and col. 8, line 35 through col. 9, line 10 “With the electric control device 12, eleven stage positions (e.g., shift positions) are provided by the position setting unit 38. The user operating member 36 and the position setting unit 38 are configured such that the sixth position is a center position of the user operating member 36. The user operating member 36 is operated a prescribed operating amount (e.g., 15.degree.) to change between each of the adjacent stage positions. The position sensor 76 outputs the position signal SW-POS as different voltages V1 to V11 for each of the stage positions in response to the rider twisting (rotating) the user operating member 36. The output voltages V1 to V11 are converted to digital data D1 to D11 by the A/D converter 86C. The digital data D1 to D11 constitutes a component control signal for controlling a bicycle component…. When the user operating member 36 is twisted (rotated) in either rotational direction about the rotation axis R, the first magnetic element 56 rotates such that the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b moves relative to the second magnetic element 74. As a result, the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b interferes with the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 74a which in turn causes the rotating member 70 to rotate within the handlebar 10. Since the position sensor 76 is fixed to the shaft 78 of the rotating member 70, this rotation of the rotating member 70 results in the position sensor 76 being rotated. Rotation of the position sensor 76 results in one of the output voltages V1 to V11 being sent to the control unit 86 as the position signal SW-POS in accordance with the relative position of the position sensor 76 with respect to the tubular portion 44a (the first base member) and the tubular support 72 (the second base member). The microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 (the position signal SW-POS) from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 (the component control signal). The microcomputer 86A uses the output of the A/D converter 86C to detect the output voltages V1 to V11. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit a digital signal with the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 to a bicycle component (e.g., a rear derailleur in the illustrated embodiment) via the antenna 86E.”)
Regarding 12, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 11, wherein the default position is rotationally between two of the at least two activation positions, in particular between the first activation position and the second activation position (see at least Kitamura Figure 11 and col. 8, line 35 through col. 9, line 10 “With the electric control device 12, eleven stage positions (e.g., shift positions) are provided by the position setting unit 38. The user operating member 36 and the position setting unit 38 are configured such that the sixth position is a center position of the user operating member 36. The user operating member 36 is operated a prescribed operating amount (e.g., 15.degree.) to change between each of the adjacent stage positions. The position sensor 76 outputs the position signal SW-POS as different voltages V1 to V11 for each of the stage positions in response to the rider twisting (rotating) the user operating member 36. The output voltages V1 to V11 are converted to digital data D1 to D11 by the A/D converter 86C. The digital data D1 to D11 constitutes a component control signal for controlling a bicycle component…. When the user operating member 36 is twisted (rotated) in either rotational direction about the rotation axis R, the first magnetic element 56 rotates such that the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b moves relative to the second magnetic element 74. As a result, the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b interferes with the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 74a which in turn causes the rotating member 70 to rotate within the handlebar 10. Since the position sensor 76 is fixed to the shaft 78 of the rotating member 70, this rotation of the rotating member 70 results in the position sensor 76 being rotated. Rotation of the position sensor 76 results in one of the output voltages V1 to V11 being sent to the control unit 86 as the position signal SW-POS in accordance with the relative position of the position sensor 76 with respect to the tubular portion 44a (the first base member) and the tubular support 72 (the second base member). The microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 (the position signal SW-POS) from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 (the component control signal). The microcomputer 86A uses the output of the A/D converter 86C to detect the output voltages V1 to V11. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit a digital signal with the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 to a bicycle component (e.g., a rear derailleur in the illustrated embodiment) via the antenna 86E.”).
Regarding 15, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, configured to be arranged adjacent or in a grip for the handlebar and to continue a gripping surface of the grip when so arranged (see at least Kitamura Figures 1-2).
Regarding 20, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more control messages include one or more gear control messages (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-2 and col. 2 lines 30-50 “Referring initially to FIG. 1, a bicycle handlebar 10 is illustrated that is provided with a pair of electric control devices 12 and 14 in accordance with a first embodiment. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are electric twist shifters that operatively control electric gear changing devices (not shown). The gear changing devices are part of a conventional bicycle driving system that is used to shift a bicycle chain for changing speeds of the drive train in a relatively conventional manner. Thus, the gear changing devices will not be shown or described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are essentially identical in operation, except that they are mirror images of each other and they may have a different number of shift operations. In other words, the electric control device 14 is substantially identical to the electric control device 12, except that the electric control device 14 has been modified to be a mirror image and to decrease the number of gears that can be shifted. Thus, only the electric control device 12 will be discussed and illustrated herein.”)
Regarding 21, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more messages further include a wireless pairing message (see at least Kitamura col. 2 line 64 through column 3, line 10 “Basically, as discussed below, a magnetic field is generated between the user operating unit 20 and the position sensing unit 22. Using the generated magnetic field, the position sensing unit 22 senses the operation (i.e., rotation or twisting in the illustrated embodiment) of the user operating unit 20 by the rider, and then transmits data indicative of the operation of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component such as a derailleur or internally geared hub. As explained below, in the illustrated embodiment, the position sensing unit 22 wirelessly transmits positioning data indicative of a current position of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component. However, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from this disclosure that the position sensing unit 22 can be electrically connected to a bicycle component with a wire, if needed and/or desired.” See also Kitamura Figure 11 and col. 8, line 35 through col. 9, line 10 “With the electric control device 12, eleven stage positions (e.g., shift positions) are provided by the position setting unit 38. The user operating member 36 and the position setting unit 38 are configured such that the sixth position is a center position of the user operating member 36. The user operating member 36 is operated a prescribed operating amount (e.g., 15.degree.) to change between each of the adjacent stage positions. The position sensor 76 outputs the position signal SW-POS as different voltages V1 to V11 for each of the stage positions in response to the rider twisting (rotating) the user operating member 36. The output voltages V1 to V11 are converted to digital data D1 to D11 by the A/D converter 86C. The digital data D1 to D11 constitutes a component control signal for controlling a bicycle component…. When the user operating member 36 is twisted (rotated) in either rotational direction about the rotation axis R, the first magnetic element 56 rotates such that the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b moves relative to the second magnetic element 74. As a result, the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b interferes with the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 74a which in turn causes the rotating member 70 to rotate within the handlebar 10. Since the position sensor 76 is fixed to the shaft 78 of the rotating member 70, this rotation of the rotating member 70 results in the position sensor 76 being rotated. Rotation of the position sensor 76 results in one of the output voltages V1 to V11 being sent to the control unit 86 as the position signal SW-POS in accordance with the relative position of the position sensor 76 with respect to the tubular portion 44a (the first base member) and the tubular support 72 (the second base member). The microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 (the position signal SW-POS) from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 (the component control signal). The microcomputer 86A uses the output of the A/D converter 86C to detect the output voltages V1 to V11. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit a digital signal with the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 to a bicycle component (e.g., a rear derailleur in the illustrated embodiment) via the antenna 86E.”“ Kitamura is capable of sending messages and thus is capable of sending pairing message. Further, any message can be considered a pairing message as the message is sent and received and indicates pairing.)
Regarding 22, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication unit is configured to wirelessly send the one or more messages in response to the operating element rotating among the rotational positions according to at least one predefined sequence (see at least Kitamura Figure 11 and col. 8, line 35 through col. 9, line 10 “With the electric control device 12, eleven stage positions (e.g., shift positions) are provided by the position setting unit 38. The user operating member 36 and the position setting unit 38 are configured such that the sixth position is a center position of the user operating member 36. The user operating member 36 is operated a prescribed operating amount (e.g., 15.degree.) to change between each of the adjacent stage positions. The position sensor 76 outputs the position signal SW-POS as different voltages V1 to V11 for each of the stage positions in response to the rider twisting (rotating) the user operating member 36. The output voltages V1 to V11 are converted to digital data D1 to D11 by the A/D converter 86C. The digital data D1 to D11 constitutes a component control signal for controlling a bicycle component…. When the user operating member 36 is twisted (rotated) in either rotational direction about the rotation axis R, the first magnetic element 56 rotates such that the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b moves relative to the second magnetic element 74. As a result, the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b interferes with the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 74a which in turn causes the rotating member 70 to rotate within the handlebar 10. Since the position sensor 76 is fixed to the shaft 78 of the rotating member 70, this rotation of the rotating member 70 results in the position sensor 76 being rotated. Rotation of the position sensor 76 results in one of the output voltages V1 to V11 being sent to the control unit 86 as the position signal SW-POS in accordance with the relative position of the position sensor 76 with respect to the tubular portion 44a (the first base member) and the tubular support 72 (the second base member). The microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 (the position signal SW-POS) from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 (the component control signal). The microcomputer 86A uses the output of the A/D converter 86C to detect the output voltages V1 to V11. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit a digital signal with the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 to a bicycle component (e.g., a rear derailleur in the illustrated embodiment) via the antenna 86E.”).
Regarding claim 33, Kitamura discloses a bicycle provided with the wireless control device, according to claim 20, wherein the base is fixed to a handlebar of the bicycle (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-2 and col. 2 lines 30-50 “Referring initially to FIG. 1, a bicycle handlebar 10 is illustrated that is provided with a pair of electric control devices 12 and 14 in accordance with a first embodiment. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are electric twist shifters that operatively control electric gear changing devices (not shown). The gear changing devices are part of a conventional bicycle driving system that is used to shift a bicycle chain for changing speeds of the drive train in a relatively conventional manner. Thus, the gear changing devices will not be shown or described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are essentially identical in operation, except that they are mirror images of each other and they may have a different number of shift operations. In other words, the electric control device 14 is substantially identical to the electric control device 12, except that the electric control device 14 has been modified to be a mirror image and to decrease the number of gears that can be shifted. Thus, only the electric control device 12 will be discussed and illustrated herein.”)
Regarding claim 34, Kitamura discloses the bicycle according to claim 33, further comprising a further wireless control device comprising an operating element coupled to a base so as to be rotatable with respect to the base about a rotation axis parallel to a local center line of the handlebar when the base is fixed to the handlebar, the rotatability being at least between a plurality of rotational positions including a default position and at least one activation position (see at least Kitamura Figure 5 base 34 and operating member 36 and col 3 lines 25-47 “Now the user operating unit 20 will be discussed in more detail with reference to FIGS. 4 to 6. Basically, the user operating unit 20 includes a fixed member 34 and a user operating member 36. The fixed member 34 fixedly secures the user operating unit 20 onto the handlebar 10, while the user operating member 36 is rotatably mounted to the fixed member 34. The user operating unit 20 has a center rotation axis R that coincides with a center longitudinal axis of the handlebar 10. Thus, the user operating member 36 is mounted onto the handlebar 10 such that the rider can rotate the user operating member 36 on the handlebar 10. Since the electric control device 12 is a twist type shifter that is mounted to the bicycle handlebar 10, the user operating unit 20 also preferably has a position setting unit 38 for maintaining a selected position of the user operating member 36 relative to the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34. In this way, when the rider rotates or twists the user operating member 36 on the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34, the user operating member 36 will stay in the selected position relative to the handlebar 10 and the fixed member 34 once the rider lets go of the user operating member 36. Thus, the user operating unit 20 constitutes a shifter with the position setting unit 38 constitutes an indexing device of the shifter.” See also Figure 11, wherein Stage Position 1 can be considered the default position); and a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send one or more messages, including one or more control messages, in response to the operating element rotating among the plurality of rotational positions, wherein the base of the further wireless control device is fixed to the handlebar of the bicycle at an opposite side of the handlebar (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-2 and col. 2 line 64 through column 3, line 10 “Basically, as discussed below, a magnetic field is generated between the user operating unit 20 and the position sensing unit 22. Using the generated magnetic field, the position sensing unit 22 senses the operation (i.e., rotation or twisting in the illustrated embodiment) of the user operating unit 20 by the rider, and then transmits data indicative of the operation of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component such as a derailleur or internally geared hub. As explained below, in the illustrated embodiment, the position sensing unit 22 wirelessly transmits positioning data indicative of a current position of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component. However, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from this disclosure that the position sensing unit 22 can be electrically connected to a bicycle component with a wire, if needed and/or desired.” See also claim 11 and Figure 10 for wireless communication unit. )
Regarding claim 35, Kitamura discloses the bicycle according to claim 33 further provided with a wireless gear changing device configured to effect a gear change in a drive train of the bicycle in response to receiving a wireless gear control message (see at least Kitamura col. 2 lines 30-50 “Referring initially to FIG. 1, a bicycle handlebar 10 is illustrated that is provided with a pair of electric control devices 12 and 14 in accordance with a first embodiment. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are electric twist shifters that operatively control electric gear changing devices (not shown). The gear changing devices are part of a conventional bicycle driving system that is used to shift a bicycle chain for changing speeds of the drive train in a relatively conventional manner. Thus, the gear changing devices will not be shown or described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are essentially identical in operation, except that they are mirror images of each other and they may have a different number of shift operations. In other words, the electric control device 14 is substantially identical to the electric control device 12, except that the electric control device 14 has been modified to be a mirror image and to decrease the number of gears that can be shifted. Thus, only the electric control device 12 will be discussed and illustrated herein.”)
Regarding claim 38, Kitamura discloses a combination of at least one wireless control device according to claim 1, and at least one further wireless device, the at least one further wireless device being configured to receive at least one of the one or more messages from the at least one wireless control device, at least after a pairing procedure in which the at least one further wireless device is paired with the at least one wireless control device (see at least Kitamura col. 2 line 64 through column 3, line 10 “Basically, as discussed below, a magnetic field is generated between the user operating unit 20 and the position sensing unit 22. Using the generated magnetic field, the position sensing unit 22 senses the operation (i.e., rotation or twisting in the illustrated embodiment) of the user operating unit 20 by the rider, and then transmits data indicative of the operation of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component such as a derailleur or internally geared hub. As explained below, in the illustrated embodiment, the position sensing unit 22 wirelessly transmits positioning data indicative of a current position of the user operating unit 20 to a bicycle component. However, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from this disclosure that the position sensing unit 22 can be electrically connected to a bicycle component with a wire, if needed and/or desired.” See also Kitamura Figure 11 and col. 8, line 35 through col. 9, line 10 “With the electric control device 12, eleven stage positions (e.g., shift positions) are provided by the position setting unit 38. The user operating member 36 and the position setting unit 38 are configured such that the sixth position is a center position of the user operating member 36. The user operating member 36 is operated a prescribed operating amount (e.g., 15.degree.) to change between each of the adjacent stage positions. The position sensor 76 outputs the position signal SW-POS as different voltages V1 to V11 for each of the stage positions in response to the rider twisting (rotating) the user operating member 36. The output voltages V1 to V11 are converted to digital data D1 to D11 by the A/D converter 86C. The digital data D1 to D11 constitutes a component control signal for controlling a bicycle component…. When the user operating member 36 is twisted (rotated) in either rotational direction about the rotation axis R, the first magnetic element 56 rotates such that the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b moves relative to the second magnetic element 74. As a result, the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 56b interferes with the magnet fields of the permanent magnets 74a which in turn causes the rotating member 70 to rotate within the handlebar 10. Since the position sensor 76 is fixed to the shaft 78 of the rotating member 70, this rotation of the rotating member 70 results in the position sensor 76 being rotated. Rotation of the position sensor 76 results in one of the output voltages V1 to V11 being sent to the control unit 86 as the position signal SW-POS in accordance with the relative position of the position sensor 76 with respect to the tubular portion 44a (the first base member) and the tubular support 72 (the second base member). The microcomputer 86A detects the corresponding one of the output voltages V1 to V11 (the position signal SW-POS) from the position sensor 76 and stores (memorizes) the new position corresponding to the detected output voltage in the memory device 86B. The A/D converter 86C of the control unit 86 converts the detected output voltage to the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 (the component control signal). The microcomputer 86A uses the output of the A/D converter 86C to detect the output voltages V1 to V11. The microcomputer 86A uses the wireless transmitter 86D to transmit a digital signal with the corresponding one of the digital data D1 to D11 to a bicycle component (e.g., a rear derailleur in the illustrated embodiment) via the antenna 86E.”“ Kitamura is capable of sending messages and thus is capable of sending pairing message. Further, any message can be considered a pairing message as the message is sent and received and indicates pairing.)
Regarding claim 39, Kitamura discloses the bicycle according to claim 33 combination according to claim 38, wherein the at least one further wireless device comprises, and/or is configured to adjust, one or more of the following: a gear changing device for a bicycle, a motor for a bicycle, a shock absorber for a bicycle, a seat post for a bicycle, a light for a bicycle, a camera for a bicycle, a speaker for a bicycle, a sensor for a bicycle, a body-worn sensor, a break for a bicycle, a display for a bicycle, a navigation device for a bicycle, and a mobile device (see at least Kitamura Figure 1-2 and col. 2 lines 30-50 “Referring initially to FIG. 1, a bicycle handlebar 10 is illustrated that is provided with a pair of electric control devices 12 and 14 in accordance with a first embodiment. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are electric twist shifters that operatively control electric gear changing devices (not shown). The gear changing devices are part of a conventional bicycle driving system that is used to shift a bicycle chain for changing speeds of the drive train in a relatively conventional manner. Thus, the gear changing devices will not be shown or described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the electric control devices 12 and 14 are essentially identical in operation, except that they are mirror images of each other and they may have a different number of shift operations. In other words, the electric control device 14 is substantially identical to the electric control device 12, except that the electric control device 14 has been modified to be a mirror image and to decrease the number of gears that can be shifted. Thus, only the electric control device 12 will be discussed and illustrated herein.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa in view of Slone (US Pub. No. US-20130133467-A1, hereinafter “Slone”).
Regarding 7, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, including wherein the wireless control device is part of a grip on a handlebar of a bicycle, but does not explicitly discloses wherein an outer of diameter the operating element is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller.
Slone teaches that the standard bicycle handle bars are generally about 22-24 mm in diameter and grips may be providing wherein the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm, thus resulting in a maximum diameter of 44 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kurokawa with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 50 mm because as Slone teaches the grip should be less than 44 mm and because this allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Regarding 8, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim wherein an outer diameter the operating element, excluding the one or more protrusions, is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller.
Slone teaches that the standard bicycle handle bars are generally about 22-24 mm in diameter and grips may be providing wherein the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm, thus resulting in a maximum diameter of 44 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kurokawa with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 50 mm because as Slone teaches the grip should be less than 44 mm and because this allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Regarding 10, Kurokawa discloses the wireless control device according to claim 9, wherein the axial width of the operating element is less than about 20 mm, more preferably less than about 15 mm.
Slone teaches the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kurokawa with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 20 mm because as Slone teaches this results in a combination of the handlebar and grip diameter of less than 44 mm which allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura in view of Slone (US Pub. No. US-20130133467-A1, hereinafter “Slone”).
Regarding 7, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 1, including wherein the wireless control device is part of a grip on a handlebar of a bicycle, but does not explicitly discloses wherein an outer of diameter the operating element is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller.
Slone teaches that the standard bicycle handle bars are generally about 22-24 mm in diameter and grips may be providing wherein the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm, thus resulting in a maximum diameter of 44 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kitamura with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 50 mm because as Slone teaches the grip should be less than 44 mm and because this allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Regarding 8, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim wherein an outer diameter the operating element, excluding the one or more protrusions, is smaller than about 50 mm, preferably smaller than about 45 mm, for example about 40 mm or smaller.
Slone teaches that the standard bicycle handle bars are generally about 22-24 mm in diameter and grips may be providing wherein the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm, thus resulting in a maximum diameter of 44 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kitamura with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 50 mm because as Slone teaches the grip should be less than 44 mm and because this allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Regarding 10, Kitamura discloses the wireless control device according to claim 9, wherein the axial width of the operating element is less than about 20 mm, more preferably less than about 15 mm.
Slone teaches the diameter of the grip is in the range of 15-20 mm (see Slone [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kitamura with the teaching of Slone, to provide a diameter of the operating element smaller than 20 mm because as Slone teaches this results in a combination of the handlebar and grip diameter of less than 44 mm which allows a person having an average size hand to grip the handlebar having the operating element thereon.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa in view of Van Druten et al. (US Pub. No. US-20200156739-A1, hereinafter “Van Druten”).
Kurokawa teaches biasing the base and operating element with a spring to bias towards the default position see at least Kurokawa Figures 3-6 and 13-14 and col 18, lines 46 through col. 19, line 25, “… The rotary operating member 120 further includes a first biasing spring S1 and a second biasing spring S2 that extend in opposite directions around the inner part 128. The first biasing spring S1 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. Similarly, the second biasing spring S2 is fixed to the inner part 128 at a first end, and is fixed to the support member 114b at a second end. The first and second biasing springs S1 and S2 are preloaded under tension to bias the rotary operating member 120 towards the rest position. Therefore, the rotary operating member 120 is biased towards the rest position. In this way, the rotary operating member 120 returns to the rest position after the rotary operating member 120 is rotated in either the first direction D1 or the second direction D2 from the rest position), but do not disclose, using a respective biasing magnet, the biasing magnets being arranged to provide the biasing towards the default position by mutual magnetic interaction.
Van Druten teaches that biasing in a bicycle transmission actuation system can be either by a magnet or a spring (see Van Druten [0008] “The electrical contact elements can be biased into engagement e.g. by magnetic and/or spring force. Alternatively, the detachable electric connection can include a short range wireless connection.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurokawa with the teaching of Van Druten to use a magnetic force rather than a spring force, with a reasonable expectation of success because as Van Druten teaches they are both forces that can be used to provide a bias force.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa in view of Wesling (US Pub. No. US-20140235383-A1, hereinafter “Wesling”).
Regarding claim 30, Kurokawa discloses the a bicycle transmission control system for controlling a bicycle transmission including the wireless control device according to claim 11, configured to:
upon actuation of the operating element to the first activation position, control the first and/or second transmission to activate a gear upshift to the first next higher bicycle transmission ratio (see at least Kurokawa col 3, lines 44-54 “(30) In accordance with a fourteenth aspect of the present invention, the electric twist-grip operating device according to any one of the second to thirteenth aspects is configured so that the rotary operating member is movable in both of the first direction and the second direction about a circumferential direction of the longitudinal axis. The switch unit outputs an upshifting signal upon the rotary operating member being operated in the first direction. The switch unit outputs a downshifting signal upon the rotary operating member being operated in the second direction.” See also col 12 lines 14-50 “In the first illustrated embodiment, the rotary operating member 20 is rotatable in the first and second directions D1 and D2 to operate the rear derailleur RD. In particular, the rotary operating member 20 rotates in the first direction D1 to upshift the rear derailleur RD. Thus, the switch unit 16 outputs an upshifting signal upon the rotary operating member 20 being operated in the first direction D1. In particular, the position sensor PS outputs the upshifting signal to the electronic controller 18 which then outputs upshifting signal to the rear derailleur RD via the wireless transceiver WT.” ) ; and
upon actuation of the operating element to the second activation position, control the first and/or second transmission to activate a gear downshift to the first next lower bicycle transmission ratio (see at least Kurokawa col 3, lines 44-54 “(30) In accordance with a fourteenth aspect of the present invention, the electric twist-grip operating device according to any one of the second to thirteenth aspects is configured so that the rotary operating member is movable in both of the first direction and the second direction about a circumferential direction of the longitudinal axis. The switch unit outputs an upshifting signal upon the rotary operating member being operated in the first direction. The switch unit outputs a downshifting signal upon the rotary operating member being operated in the second direction.” See also col 12 lines 14-50 “Additionally, the rotary operating member 20 is rotatable in the second direction D2 to downshift the rear derailleur RD. Thus, the switch unit 16 outputs the downshifting signal upon the rotary operating member 20 being operated in the second direction D2. In particular, the position sensor PS outputs the downshifting signal to the electronic controller 18 which then outputs downshifting signal to the rear derailleur RD via the wireless transceiver WT.”)
However, Kurokawa does not explicitly teach the bicycle transmission having a plurality of consecutive discrete bicycle transmission ratios, the bicycle transmission comprising a first transmission connected in series to a second transmission, wherein:
the first transmission includes a plurality of sprockets associated with an endless drive member, such as a chain, and an electrically actuatable derailleur; and
the second transmission includes an electrically actuatable internal hub transmission or internal crank transmission having at least two selectable transmission ratios;
Wesling teaches a bicycle transmission having a plurality of consecutive discrete bicycle transmission ratios, the bicycle transmission comprising a first transmission connected in series to a second transmission (see at least Wesling Figure 1 semi-automatic shifting system see also [0043] “Referring to FIGS. 1-3 of the drawings in detail, numeral 10 generally indicates a bicycle incorporating an embodiment of the present invention. The bicycle 10 includes a frame 12 supporting a semi-automatic shifting system 21 that accommodates different riding conditions as well as the comfort of different riders with only one rider-operated shifter. The semi-automatic shifting system 21 may include an internally geared mechanism 14 controlled by an automatically actuated shifter 16 and optionally, a derailleur 18 operated by a manually actuated shifter 20. In one embodiment, the internally geared mechanism 14 forms the basis for a multi-speed transmission 15 producing the total set of gear ratios for the bicycle 10.”), wherein:
the first transmission includes a plurality of sprockets associated with an endless drive member, such as a chain, and an electrically actuatable derailleur (see at least Wesling Figures 1-2, sprockets 24, endless drive member 22, actuatable derailleur 18 and [0047] The derailleur 18 shifts a bicycle chain 22 between a plurality of sprockets 24 of a multi-speed sprocket assembly 26 mounted to a hub shaft 25 having an axis X (see FIG. 2). See also [0044-0045] for electrically actuatable); and
the second transmission includes an electrically actuatable internal hub transmission or internal crank transmission having at least two selectable transmission ratios (see at least Wesling Figures 2-4, planetary gear mechanism 68 corresponds to the second transmission system. See at least [0054] “Referring to FIGS. 2-4, the internally geared mechanism 14 is a multi-speed internal geared hub system located in the rear wheel hub 66 adjacent the multi-speed sprocket assembly 26. The internal gear hub system 14 makes use of a planetary gear mechanism 68 to provide a plurality of transmission modes.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurokawa with the teaching of Wesling with a reasonable expectation of success because as Wesling teaches the arrangement allows for a plurality of transmission modes and efficient and safe use of the drive system (see at least Wesling [0054] and [0012]).
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa and Wesling in further view of Hara (US Patent No. US-7900946-B2 hereinafter “Hara”).
Regarding 31, the combination of Kurokawa and Wesling teaches the bicycle transmission control system according to claim 30, including a further operating element but does not explicitly teach that the control system upon actuation of the further operating element, control only the second transmission to activate a gear shift .
Hara teaches the control system upon actuation of the further operating element, control only the second transmission to activate a gear shift (see at least Hara Figure 3 and elements 41, front derailleur downshift switch 41, front derailleur upshift switch 43, rear derailleur downshift switch 51, and rear derailleur upshift switch 52 “As diagrammatically seen in FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the left hand side shifter 12 is preferably provided with four shift switches that produce shift control signals for operating both of the front and rear derailleurs 16 and 18. In particular, the left hand side shifter 12 is includes a front derailleur downshift switch 41, a rear derailleur upshift switch 42, a front derailleur upshift switch 43 and a rear derailleur downshift switch 44. Here, the shift switches 41 to 44 are contactless switches as explained below. However, it will be apparent from this disclosure that other types of switches can be used as needed and/or desired.” See also col 9, lines 30-40 “Returning back to FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the right hand side shifter 14 is preferably provided with two shift switches that produce shift control signals for only operating the rear derailleur 18. In particular, the right hand side shifter 14 is includes a rear derailleur downshift switch 51 and a rear derailleur upshift switch 52. Preferably, the shift switches 51 and 52 are contactless switches similar to the shift switches 41 and 43. In other words, each of the shift switches 51 and 52 includes a magnetic sensor (not shown) disposed on a printed circuit board that is rigidly attached to the inside of the housing of the right hand side shifter 14, and a magnet (not shown) attached to one of the operating levers 36 and 37.” See also col. 4, line 42-50 "The front derailleur 16 (e.g., the first gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the front sprockets F1 and F2 in response to operation of the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12, while the rear derailleur 18 (e.g., the second gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the rear sprockets R1 to R10 in response to operation of the right hand side (rear) shifter 14 or the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12.” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kurokawa and Wesling, to use shifting switches and controller arrangement of Hara with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform gear shifts in an efficient manner.
Regarding 32, the combination of Kurokawa and Wesling teach the bicycle transmission control system according to claim 30, further comprising a further wireless control device comprising an operating element coupled to a base so as to be rotatable with respect to the base about a rotation axis parallel to a local center line of the handlebar when the base is fixed to the handlebar, the rotatability being at least between a plurality of rotational positions including a default position and at least two activation positions, including a first activation position and a second activation position; and a wireless communication unit configured to wirelessly send one or more messages, including one or more control messages, in response to the operating element rotating among the plurality of rotational positions, the bicycle transmission control system (see citations provided for claim 1, and Figure 3 wherein there are two separate operating units shown in each handlebar grip).
However, the combination of Kurokawa and Wesling does not teach:
upon actuation of the operating element of the further wireless control device to the first activation position, control only the second transmission to activate a gear upshift; and
upon actuation of the operating element of the further wireless control device to the second activation position, control only the second transmission to activate a gear downshift.
Hara teaches
upon actuation of the operating element of the further wireless control device to the first activation position, control only the second transmission to activate a gear upshift (see at least Hara Figure 3 and elements 41, front derailleur downshift switch 41, front derailleur upshift switch 43, “As diagrammatically seen in FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the left hand side shifter 12 is preferably provided with four shift switches that produce shift control signals for operating both of the front and rear derailleurs 16 and 18. In particular, the left hand side shifter 12 is includes a front derailleur downshift switch 41, a rear derailleur upshift switch 42, a front derailleur upshift switch 43 and a rear derailleur downshift switch 44. Here, the shift switches 41 to 44 are contactless switches as explained below. However, it will be apparent from this disclosure that other types of switches can be used as needed and/or desired.” See also col 9, lines 30-40 “Returning back to FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the right hand side shifter 14 is preferably provided with two shift switches that produce shift control signals for only operating the rear derailleur 18. In particular, the right hand side shifter 14 is includes a rear derailleur downshift switch 51 and a rear derailleur upshift switch 52. Preferably, the shift switches 51 and 52 are contactless switches similar to the shift switches 41 and 43. In other words, each of the shift switches 51 and 52 includes a magnetic sensor (not shown) disposed on a printed circuit board that is rigidly attached to the inside of the housing of the right hand side shifter 14, and a magnet (not shown) attached to one of the operating levers 36 and 37.” See also col. 4, line 42-50 "The front derailleur 16 (e.g., the first gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the front sprockets F1 and F2 in response to operation of the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12, while the rear derailleur 18 (e.g., the second gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the rear sprockets R1 to R10 in response to operation of the right hand side (rear) shifter 14 or the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12.” ) ; and
upon actuation of the operating element of the further wireless control device to the second activation position, control only the second transmission to activate a gear downshift (see at least Hara Figure 3 and elements 41, front derailleur downshift switch 41, front derailleur upshift switch 43, “As diagrammatically seen in FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the left hand side shifter 12 is preferably provided with four shift switches that produce shift control signals for operating both of the front and rear derailleurs 16 and 18. In particular, the left hand side shifter 12 is includes a front derailleur downshift switch 41, a rear derailleur upshift switch 42, a front derailleur upshift switch 43 and a rear derailleur downshift switch 44. Here, the shift switches 41 to 44 are contactless switches as explained below. However, it will be apparent from this disclosure that other types of switches can be used as needed and/or desired.” See also col 9, lines 30-40 “Returning back to FIG. 3, in this first embodiment, the right hand side shifter 14 is preferably provided with two shift switches that produce shift control signals for only operating the rear derailleur 18. In particular, the right hand side shifter 14 is includes a rear derailleur downshift switch 51 and a rear derailleur upshift switch 52. Preferably, the shift switches 51 and 52 are contactless switches similar to the shift switches 41 and 43. In other words, each of the shift switches 51 and 52 includes a magnetic sensor (not shown) disposed on a printed circuit board that is rigidly attached to the inside of the housing of the right hand side shifter 14, and a magnet (not shown) attached to one of the operating levers 36 and 37.” See also col. 4, line 42-50 "The front derailleur 16 (e.g., the first gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the front sprockets F1 and F2 in response to operation of the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12, while the rear derailleur 18 (e.g., the second gear shifting device) shifts the chain 22 between the rear sprockets R1 to R10 in response to operation of the right hand side (rear) shifter 14 or the left hand side (front/rear) shifter 12.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kurokawa and Wesling, to use shifting switches and controller arrangement of Hara with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform gear shifts in an efficient manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Krause et al. (US Pub. No. US-20170274957-A1) is cited for showing the preferable diameter of bicycle grips in [0014].
/JENNIFER M ANDA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662