DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, 14, 15 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a charging connector” then “the standard charging connector.” Claim 11 recites “a standard charging connector” then claim 12 recites “the charging connector” and then claim 14 recites “the actuator charging connector.” Consistent terminology should be maintained.
Claim 15 recites “include” which should read --includes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “standard.” The metes and the bounds of such limitation are unclear. What defines the “standard.” It is understood that connectors change and evolve and are different for different batteries or electrical devices while still being commonplace. For example, wall-block chargers have evolved to micro-USB being, then USB-A, then USB-C while all being commonplace. With evolving charging connectors, it is not clear what defines “standard.”
In view of the 112 issues discussed above the claims have been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-15, 17, 19, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumerel (EP 3896247) in view of Vilhauer et al. (US 2012/0249084), hereinafter referred to as Vilhauer.
Regarding claim 1, Thumerel discloses an actuator for driving a sun protection or privacy screen between a plurality of positions of the actuator, the actuator comprising:
an electric motor (6),
a reduction gear (7),
at least one battery (15) supplying the electric motor,
a control circuit (13), and
a charging connector (194) configured for the connection of the actuator to a power supply device (external device) for supplying power to the at least one battery,
wherein said actuator includes a torque support and a casing (4) with a longitudinal axis housing the electric motor, the reduction gear, the battery and at least one part of the control circuit,
wherein the charging connector (194) is a standard connector, wherein said actuator is adapted to cooperate with the power supply device (C, PV) including a standard connector corresponding to the charging connector of the actuator.
Although Thumerel discloses the power supply is in communication to determine and differentiate recharging supply, Thumerel is silent as to whether the control circuit includes a device for transmitting, to the power supply device, a request of power supply profile comprising at least a fixed voltage and a maximum current. Vilhauer teaches at least one battery (110), a control circuit (100), and a power supply (102 power source; paragraph [0014]). Vilhauer teaches the control circuit includes a device for transmitting, to the power supply device, a request (paragraphs [0020], [0022], [0023], [0031]) of power supply profile comprising at least a fixed voltage (controlled voltage) and a maximum current. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thumerel with the control circuit of Vilhauer in order to provide improved means to control charging of the batteries. The techniques were known in the prior art and modification would not have led to any new or unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Thumerel as modified with Vilhauer above teaches wherein the at least one battery comprises a single battery or a plurality of batteries (Thumerel teaches battery pack 15), wherein the control circuit comprises an evaluator for evaluating power supply parameters of the single battery or the plurality of batteries and a device for transmitting information relating to the power supply parameters evaluated through the standard charging connector (Vilhauer teaches the control circuit determines power needs).
Regarding claim 3, modified Thumerel teaches wherein the charging connector has a plurality of pins and wherein one or more of the plurality of pins is used to transmit the power supply profile required by the actuator (Thumerel teaches a three-point connector which has three pins).
Regarding claim 4, Thumerel as modified with Vilhauer above teaches wherein the at least one battery comprises a single battery or a plurality of batteries (Thumerel teaches a battery pack 15), wherein the control circuit (as taught by Vilhauer) comprise a controller arranged between the charging connector and the single battery or the plurality of batteries, the controller being configured to charge the at least one battery based on the voltage and current at the input of the charging connector (Fig 1 of Vilhauer).
Regarding claim 5, Thumerel as modified with Vilhauer above teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to manage the power supply to the at least one battery in a first mode when the voltage and current at the input of the charging connector correspond to the power supply profile required by the actuator, and in a second mode when the voltage and current at the input of the charging connector differ from the power supply profile required by the actuator (Vilhauer discloses different current levels and circuitry to determine current capacity).
Regarding claim 6, modified Thumerel teaches wherein the control circuit comprises a user interface and is configured to send at least one item of information through the interface to a user that differs depending on the power supply device connected to the actuator (signaling means blink when recharged from an external charger and blink at a lower frequency when recharged from a photovoltaic panel).
Regarding claim 7, modified Thumerel discloses wherein the control circuit comprises a first circuit board (13 has a printed circuit board) supporting a control circuit of the electric motor (13 controls drive of the motor) and a second circuit board supporting the charging connector (Thumerel teaches the connector may be managed by 21 or a dedicated circuit, thus understood to have a second circuit board separate from 13), the second board being arranged perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis at a longitudinal end of the casing (21; Fig 2), the charging connector being oriented radially with respect to the longitudinal axis (Fig 7).
Regarding claims 11, 21-24, Thumerel discloses an assembly including:
at least one actuator (Fig 1) for driving a sun protection or privacy screen between a plurality of positions of the at least one actuator, comprising
an electric motor (6),
a reduction gear (7),
at least one battery (15) supplying the electric motor,
a control circuit (13), and
a standard charging connector (194),
wherein said at least one actuator also includes a torque support and a casing (4) with a longitudinal axis housing the electric motor, the reduction gear, the at least one battery and at least one part of the control circuit,
and a power supply device (external power device), wherein the standard charging connector (194) is configured for the connection of the actuator to the power supply device for supplying power to the at least one battery (194 allows for recharging of the batteries by the power supply device),
wherein said actuator is adapted to cooperate with the power supply device (via 194).
Although Thumerel discloses the power supply is in communication to determine and differentiate recharging supply, Thumerel is silent as to whether the control circuit includes a device for transmitting, to the power supply device, a request of power supply profile comprising at least a fixed voltage and a maximum current. Vilhauer teaches at least one battery (110), a control circuit (100), and a power supply (102 power source; paragraph [0014]). Vilhauer teaches the control circuit includes a device for transmitting, to the power supply device, a request (paragraphs [0020], [0022], [0023], [0031]) of power supply profile comprising at least a fixed voltage (controlled voltage) and a maximum current. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Thumerel with the control circuit of Vilhauer in order to provide improved means to control charging of the batteries. The techniques were known in the prior art and modification would not have led to any new or unpredictable results.
As best understood, as modified above, wherein said power supply device includes at least one standard connector (connector of Thumerel) compatible with the standard charging connector of the actuator and wherein, when the power supply device is connected to the actuator and upon reception of the request for the power supply profile comprising at least the fixed voltage and the maximum current, the power supply profile is selected by the actuator according to the capacities provided by the power supply device, the power supply device being configured to supply the voltage and current corresponding to the profile. Thumerle teaches the assembly includes means to adapt and be informed of the type of power supply connected thus determines the charging behavior. As modified above, Vilhauer teaches the determination of the power supply profile. Thus Thumerele in view of Vilhauer teaches when the power supply device is connected to the actuator and upon reception of the request for the power supply profile comprising at least the fixed voltage and the maximum current, the power supply profile is selected by the actuator according to the capacities provided by the power supply device, the power supply device being configured to supply the voltage and current corresponding to the profile.
Therefore, as modified above, the system provides a method of supplying power to an actuator for driving a sun protection or privacy screen between a plurality of positions, the actuator including an electric motor, a reduction gear, at least one battery powering the electric motor, a control circuit, a charging connector configured to enable the actuator to be connected to a device for supplying power to the at least one battery, said actuator further including a casing with longitudinal axis housing the electric motor, the reduction gear, the battery and at least one part of the control circuit, the charging connector being a standard connector, said actuator being adapted to cooperate with a power supply device including a standard connector corresponding to the charging connector of the actuator, the control circuit comprising at least a fixed voltage and one maximum current to be received from the power supply device, said method being implemented by the actuator and comprising at least one step of transmission of a request of a power supply profile comprising at least the fixed voltage and the one maximum current, by the control circuit, to the power supply device and a step of supplying power to the at least one battery by means of the power supply device, according to the requested power supply profile, wherein, upon establishing an electrical connection between the power supply and the actuator, the actuator issues a request for a capacity profile of the power supply prior to the transmission step and, during a selection step, the actuator selects one of a plurality of power supply profiles corresponding to the capacity profile of the power supply device (as taught by Vilhauer), wherein the at least one battery supplies power to the operation of the motor independently of the steps of the power supply method and wherein in the absence of the request of the power supply profile received by the power supply device, further comprising a step of delivery of the fixed voltage and of a minimum current to the actuator is implemented by the power supply device.
Regarding claim 12, Thumerel discloses wherein the actuator and the charging connector thereof are configured to support a power delivery technology according to at least a first power supply profile and a second power supply profile during a charging phase (determination of the power supply being an external charger or PV) and as modified with Vilhauer above, the first power supply profile and the second power supply profile being distinct by at least one power supply profile parameter value, such that the power supply device delivers voltage and current according to the first power supply profile and the second power supply profile (by determination of voltage and current), and wherein the actuator and/or the power supply device include a display device configured to inform a user that a charging phase of the battery, by the power supply device, progresses according to at least one amongst the first and the second power supply profile (Thumerel teaches visual light diodes).
Regarding claim 13, Thumerel as modified with Vilhauer above teaches during the charging phase, the assembly is configured so that the actuator is powered by the power supply device, successively according to the first power supply profile and according to the second power supply profile (taught by Vilhauer).
Regarding claim 14, modified Thumerel teaches wherein the display device (light signal device) is connected in parallel with the actuator charging connector or in parallel with the connector of the power supply device.
Regarding claim 15, modified Thumerel discloses wherein the display device include at least one first electrical circuit comprising at least one first indicator light, the first indicator light comprising a light-emitting diode(LED), wherein the first indicator light illuminates when the charging phase takes place according to at least one of the first and second power supply profiles (LEDs blink at different rates corresponding to different power supplies).
Regarding claim 17, modified Thumerel discloses wherein the first indicator light illuminates when the charging phase progresses according to the second power supply profile (blinks with an external charger) and stays off when the charging phase progresses according to the first power supply profile (not blink when with a photovoltaic panel).
Regarding claim 19, modified Thumerel teaches wherein the display means is configured such that the first indicator flashes upon delivery of voltage by the power supply device according to the first power supply profile and the first indicator stays illuminated steadily upon supply of power to the actuator according to the second power supply profile (different light signals are provided according to provide information on the state of the actuator). Thumerel teaches blinking, not blinking, and blinking at different rates and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a steady light signal. Such modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumerel and Vilhauer, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Thompson et al. (US 2020/0136401), hereinafter referred to as Thompson.
Regarding claim 10, Thumerel fails to specifically disclose wherein the charging connector complies with the USB-C® standard and is configured to transmit information according to a PD (Power Delivery) technology or according to a PPS (Programmable Power Supply) technology. However, Vilhauer teaches the use of a USB-based charger as a charging connector (paragraph [0022]) and Thompson further teaches the use of USB type C connectors and configured to transmit information according to programmable power supply technology (paragraphs [0004], [0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the known charging connector complying with USB-C® standard that is configured to transmit information according to PD or PPS technologies since such technologies are known in the art and such usage would not lead to any new or unpredictable results.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumerel and Vilhauer, as applied in claim 11 above, in further view of Nien et al. (US 2021/0172247), hereinafter referred to as Nien.
Regarding claim 20, although Thumerel teaches a charging connector it is not taught that the charging connector and the power supply device comprise magnetic interlocking means. However, Nien teaches a charging unit having magnetic members in order to fix elements together. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate magnetic interlocking means for improved connection between the charging connector and power supply. Such modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 16, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634