Claim Objections
Claim 142 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “six” appears to be misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 129-146 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nivaggioli et al (US Patent Pub. 2005/0244467) in view of Parrag et al. (WO 2019/148291, disclosed by applicant).
Nivaggioli et al. disclose biodegradable implants for implantation in an ocular region for treating ocular conditions (ABSTRACT). Nivaggioli et al. disclose a first implant and a second implant (reference claim 12). Nivaggioli et al. disclose treating patients with an ocular condition including macular edema, retinal disorder, and vision deterioration ([0173]). Nivaggioli et al. disclose the active agent is present from about 10% to about 90% of the implant ([0080]). Nivaggioli et al. disclose an implant comprising dexamethasone; wherein the implant continuously releases the active agent for a period of at least about 50 days (reference claim 39). Nivaggioli et al. disclose the active agent is released in vivo for a period time between about 5 days and about 1 year ([0057]).
Nivaggioli et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose an implant with the active agent compound 1.
Parrag et al. disclose ocular inserts for the sustained release of steroid in the treatment of ocular conditions. Parrag et al. disclose the active agent of formula D1-L-D2, which meets the limitation of instant compound 1 (Abstract). Parrag et al. disclose the ocular condition to be treated can be macular edema (p. 3, line 34).
It is obvious to replace one component for another equivalent component if it is recognized in the art that two components are equivalent and is not based on the Applicant disclosure. It is also prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612