DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 14-17, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pontisso et al., (WO 2018/163119 cited in IDS).
Pontisso et al. teaches “1-piperidinepropionic acid or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, or pharmaceutical compositions comprising it, for use in the treatment of chronic fibrosing diseases” (Abstract).
In regard to claims 15-17, Pontisso et al. teaches, “By way of example, the composition according to the present description could comprise from 0.01 mg to 10 mg, preferably from 0.05 mg to 5 mg, even more preferably from 0.1 mg to 1mg of PPA as unit dose, and one or more doses (or fractions of doses) of said composition could be administered to the patient. Alternately, the composition could be suitably metered according to the opinion of the doctor in charge” (p. 6, lines 9-13).
Regarding claims 18-21, Pontisso et al. further teaches, “The composition according to the invention could be a composition for parenteral, oral, nasal, aerosol, systemic administration, and could be formulated in the form of suspension, emulsion, cream, spray, granules, powder, solution, capsule, tablet, pill, lyophilized product, lozenge, intramuscular or intravenous injection according to conventional pharmaceutical formulations techniques, with suitable excipients, carriers, preservatives, diluents and the like” (p. 6, lines 14-18).
The prior art teaches administering 1-piperidine propionic acid (PPA) to a patient in an animal model, where PPA was shown to reduce inflammatory damage. Animals were administered PPA daily by intraperitoneal route (p. 8, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 22, PAR2 is inherent to the patient population. Therefore, contact of PAR2 with PPA, post administration, would have been inevitable.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches administering 1-piperidine propionic acid or a salt thereof to a patient. The patient population of the prior art would have been in need thereof of preventing PAR2 related pathological conditions, such as, hantavirus pulmonary syndrome.
Assuming, purely arguendo, that the prior art does not provide sufficient specificity to give rise to anticipation, it would have been obvious to administer 1-piperidine propionic acid (PPA) to patients in need thereof of preventing PAR2 related pathological conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pontisso et al., (WO 2018/163119, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Socie (blood, 29 March 2018).
Pontisso et al., which is taught above, insofar as it does not teach a delivery system, e.g., liposome.
Socie teaches a method of treating “chronic graft-versus-host disease (GVHD)” in a fibrosis patient, where the method shows “vitamin A-coupled liposomes carrying heat shock protein 47 (HSP47) small interfering RNA (siRNA) ameliorate chronic GVHD-induced fibrosis” (Abstract).
Further, “Using vitamin A-coupled liposomes (that bind RBP1) carrying HSP47 siRNA (to inhibit HSP47), they demonstrated that they can inhibit HSP47 expression in TGF-β-stimulated fibroblasts in vitro and that VA-lip HSP47 specifically target skin fibrotic lesions in a multiple minor mismatched chronic GVHD model” (p. 1476, right column, 2nd paragraph).
MPEP 2144.07 states: The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use liposomes as delivery system for treating fibrosis in the method of Pontisso et al. based on the art recognized suitability in using liposomes to treat fibrosis in a patient, as taught by Socie.
Nonstatutory Obvious-type Double Patenting
Claims 14-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,628,163. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a method of administering 1-piperidine propionic acid or salt thereof to a patient. The patient population of the ‘163 patent and the instant claims overlap insofar as steatohepatitis of the ‘163 patent causes “visceral pain”, which is a disease state claimed in the instant method.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612