Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/08/2025, 2/05/2025, 8/20/2025, 9/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-23 filed 12/26/2024 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CHOI IN CHEOL (Hereinafter, “Choi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number KR 102056739 B1 (Publication Date 2019-12-17).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a test contact (magnetic pogo pins and, more particularly, to magnetic pogo pins used to connect a plurality of respective nodes of a circuit board to each other; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2; Figures 3 and 4, the magnetic pogo pin according to an embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0029] Line 1) comprising
a contact tip [115] (rod 115 as the contact pin) (A rod 115; Paragraph [0036] Line 3) A plunger 110 installed in the barrel 100 through the opening 101 of the barrel 100) and
a contact body [102] (inner passage 102 as the contact body) (an inner passage 102 connected to the opening 101; Paragraph [0029] Line 2),
the test contact (Figure 3) having an erecting direction (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi below shows the test contact (Figure 3) having an erecting direction),
wherein the test contact comprises a core [121] (first magnetic 121 as the core) made
of a ferromagnetic material (The plurality of magnetics 120 may be spaced apart from the first magnetic 121; Paragraph [0032] Line 1; magnetics are core and can be ferromagnetic material; The magnetic core is a specific design of magnetic material in a particular shape that possesses high magnetic permeability. It is employed to confine and guide the magnetic fields in electrical, electromechanical, and magnetic devices. The core is typically made of a ferromagnetic material like iron or of ferrimagnetic compounds such as ferrites; https://eepower.com/technical-articles/magnetic-core-characteristics-and-applications/#),
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi
the core [121] being disposed below a center of gravity of the test contact (10) in the erecting direction (The plurality of magnetics 120 may be spaced apart from the first magnetic 121 positioned at one side adjacent to the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 and the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 so as to have an inner passage 102; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-3; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi above shows the core [121] being disposed below a center of gravity (15) of the test contact (10) in the erecting direction; For a uniform object like a perfect sphere or a rectangular block, the center of gravity sits right at the geometric center; https://scienceinsights.org/what-is-the-center-of-gravity-definition-examples/).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches a test contact,
wherein the core [121] is disposed in the contact body [102] opposite the contact tip [115] (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi above shows the core [121] is disposed in the contact body [102] opposite the contact tip [115]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches a test contact,
wherein the contact body [102] comprises an installation surface [100] (barrel 100 as the installation surface) and the core [121] is formed planar and parallel to the installation
surface [100] (The plurality of magnetics 120 may be spaced apart from the first magnetic 121 positioned at one side adjacent to the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 and the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 so as to have an inner passage 102; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-3; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi above shows the contact body [102] comprises an installation surface [100] (barrel 100 as the installation surface) and the core [121] is formed planar and parallel to the installation surface [100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘739 B1 in view of Mathieu et al. (Hereinafter, “Mathieu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090263986 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Choi fails to teach a test contact, wherein the core (14) is made of
iron, nickel or cobalt, has an iron, nickel or cobalt content or is made of a ferromagnetic alloy, in particular a ferromagnetic iron, nickel and/or cobalt alloy.
Mathieu teaches an interconnection (contact) element suitable for effecting pressure connections between electronic components and is particularly useful for contacting semiconductor packages or for contacting a semiconductor directly (Paragraph [0003] Line 1-5),
wherein the core (14) is made of iron, nickel or cobalt, has an iron, nickel or cobalt content or is made of a ferromagnetic alloy, in particular a ferromagnetic iron, nickel and/or cobalt alloy (The body of each interconnection element is comprised of a nickel-cobalt (NiCo) alloy with a Young's modulus of 30.times.10.sup.6 psi (2.1.times.10.sup.6 kg/cm.sup.2); Paragraph [0141] Line 8-11; body comprises the core and therefore core is made from nickel-cobalt (NiCo) alloy). The purpose of doing so is to act as a barrier, to provide durability and toughness under extreme conditions and to have the advantage of last longer, which means less waste and less energy spent over their lifespan.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify in view of Mathieu, because Mathieu teaches to include the core made of iron, nickel or cobalt, has an iron, nickel or cobalt content can act as a barrier (Paragraph [0186]), provides durability and toughness under extreme conditions and have the advantage of last longer, which means less waste and less energy spent over their lifespan.
Regarding claim 5, Choi fails to teach a test contact, wherein the test contact comprises an arm, the contact body being disposed on one end of said arm and the contact tip being disposed on the other end of said arm.
Mathieu teaches an interconnection (contact) element suitable for effecting pressure connections between electronic components and is particularly useful for contacting semiconductor packages or for contacting a semiconductor directly (Paragraph [0003] Line 1-5),
wherein the test contact [10] comprises an arm [14], the contact body [14+13] (post 13 and beam or body 14 as the contact body) being disposed on one end of said arm [14] and the contact tip [16] being disposed on the other end of said arm (FIG. 1 shows interconnection element 10 comprising post 13, beam or body 14, and tip structure 16. Post 13 is disposed on terminal 11 of electronic component 9. Post 13 has a height, h.sub.2. Body 14 is coupled at one end to post 13; Paragraph [0124] Line 1-4. Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mathieu below shows that the contact body [14+13] (post 13 and beam or body 14 as the contact body) being disposed on one end of said arm [14] and the contact tip [16] being disposed on the other end of said arm). The purpose of doing so is to adopt a variety of orientations to accommodate various configurations associated with the electronic components which they connect, to connect the integrated circuit chip to a test device such as a probe card assembly or other printed circuit board (PCB) to test the chip.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify test contact structure of Choi by including an arm as disclosed by Mathieu, because Mathieu teaches to dispose the contact body on one end of said arm and the contact tip on the other end of said arm adopts a variety of orientations to accommodate various configurations associated with the electronic components which they connect (Paragraph [0122]), connects the integrated circuit chip to a test device such as a probe card assembly or other printed circuit board (PCB) to test the chip (Paragraph [0005]).
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mathieu
Claim(s)6-9, 12-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘739 B1 in view of Tominaga et al. (Hereinafter, “Tominaga”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090026050 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Choi fails to teach a table device for handling a test contact according to claim 1(See the rejection of claim 1), the table device comprising a plate, wherein a magnetic field unit comprising at least one magnet is disposed on the plate such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the table device [1] (conductive contact unit 1 in Figure 1 as the table device) (A conductive contact unit 1 shown in FIG. 1 is used for testing the conductive state or operating characteristics of testing a circuitry; Paragraph [0068] Line 3-5), comprising a plate [3c] (a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3 as the plate) (a conductive contact holder 3 that accommodates and holds the conductive contacts 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 8-9; a magnet 5 that is attached to a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0068] Line 11-12),
wherein a magnetic field unit [5] comprising at least one magnet [5] is disposed on the plate [3c] such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate [3c] (a magnet 5 that is attached to a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0068] Line 11-12; Figure 1 shows a magnetic field unit [5] comprising at least one magnet [5] is disposed on the plate [3c] such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate 3c). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include the table device comprising a plate can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 7, Choi fails to teach a table device wherein the magnet is disposed below, within, next to or above the plate.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the magnet [5] is disposed below, within, next to [[and/]]or above the plate [3c] (Figure 1 shows that the magnet [5] is disposed below, within, next to the plate [3c]). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to dispose the magnet below, within, next to the plate can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi fails to teach a table device wherein the magnet (23) is an electromagnet or a permanent magnet.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the magnet [5] is an electromagnet or a permanent magnet (In the conductive contact unit according to the present invention, the magnet is an electromagnet; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include electromagnet or a permanent magnet reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Choi fails to teach a table device wherein the magnet (23) is an electromagnet or a permanent magnet.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the table device comprises at least one insert [31] (supporting element as the insert), the insert [31] being disposed on or in the upper side of the plate [3c] (The conductive contact holder 3 is described below. The conductive contact holder 3 includes: a supporting element 31 having an approximately cubic shape with a hollow portion; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-3; Figure 1 shows that the table device [3] comprises at least one insert [31] (supporting element as the insert), the insert [31] being disposed on or in the upper side of the plate 3c). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include an insert to the upper side of the plate can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi fails to teach a table device, wherein the plate is made of a paramagnetic material.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the plate [3c] is made of a paramagnetic material (In the conductive contact holder 3, at least the first guiding member 32 and the second guiding member 33 that are brought into direct contact with the conductive contacts 2, are preferably formed using insulating material to prevent a short circuit. For example, the conductive contact holder 3 may be formed using a synthetic resin of low thermal expansion, and the guiding grooves 321 and the guiding grooves 331 may be formed thereon by dicing and the like. Alternatively, a base material for the conductive contact holder 3 may be formed using a ceramic such as alumina (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), zirconia (ZrO.sub.2), or silica (SiO.sub.2), a thermosetting resin such as a silicone, or an epoxy, an engineering plastic such as a polycarbonate or the like; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-13; Therefore the plate is made of ceramic as the paramagnetic material). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include the plate made of a paramagnetic material can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Choi fails to teach a method for handling a test contact according to claim 1(See the rejection of claim 1) by means of a table device, the table device comprising a plate, wherein a magnetic field unit comprising at least one magnet is disposed on the plate such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate, the method comprising the following steps: a. Placing the test contact (10) on the plate (21) of the table device (20); b. Erecting the test contact (10) by activating the magnet (23)..
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the table device [1] (conductive contact unit 1 in Figure 1 as the table device) (A conductive contact unit 1 shown in FIG. 1 is used for testing the conductive state or operating characteristics of testing a circuitry; Paragraph [0068] Line 3-5), comprising a plate [3c] (a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3 as the plate) (a conductive contact holder 3 that accommodates and holds the conductive contacts 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 8-9; a magnet 5 that is attached to a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0068] Line 11-12),
wherein a magnetic field unit [5] comprising at least one magnet [5] is disposed on the plate [3c] such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate [3c] (a magnet 5 that is attached to a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0068] Line 11-12; Figure 1 shows a magnetic field unit [5] comprising at least one magnet [5] is disposed on the plate [3c] such that the magnetic field of the magnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the plate 3c); the method comprising the following steps:
a. Placing the test contact [2] on the plate 3c of the table device [1] (The conductive contact unit 1 includes a plurality of conductive contacts 2 each having a plate-like shape, a conductive contact holder 3 that accommodates and holds the conductive contacts 2, a bar-shaped member 4 that is fastened to the conductive contact holder 3 and supports the conductive contacts 2; Paragraph [0068] 6-11);
b. Erecting the test contact [2] by activating the magnet [5] (FIG. 4 is a top view in a direction indicated by an arrow A in FIG. 1. In the first embodiment, the conductive contacts 2 are formed using a magnetic material. Thus, affected by the magnet 5, the conductive contacts 2 are aligned substantially uniformly, being in contact with the bottom of the guiding grooves 321 of the first guiding member 32. In this sense, the magnet 5 has functions as an aligning unit that aligns the conductive contacts 2 held in the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include the table device comprising a plate can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 14, Choi fails to teach a method, the method comprising the following steps after step b: C. Gripping the test contact (10) by means of a handling unit, in particular a gripper.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
the method comprising the following steps after step b: C. Gripping the test contact [2] by means of a handling unit [3], in particular a gripper [321] (guiding groove as the gripper) (Moreover, in the conductive contact unit 1, the conductive contacts 2 are held by the guiding grooves 321 and the guiding grooves 331. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a sliding resistance by reducing the area of the conductive contact 2 being in contact with the conductive contact holder 3, enabling the conductive contacts 2 to be extended smoothly; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to enable the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly and to obtain desirable contact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to grip the test contact by means of a handling unit, in particular a gripper enables the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly (Paragraph [0095]) and obtains desirable contact (Paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Choi fails to teach a method, the method comprising the following step after step C: d. Deactivating the magnet and moving the handling unit, in particular the gripper.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
the method comprising the following step after step C: d. Deactivating the magnet and moving the handling unit, in particular the gripper (The tip of the second contacting element 22 is offset by .DELTA..sub.1 from the longitudinal symmetric axis (central axis) O of the resilient element 23 or the first connecting element 24, as described above with reference to FIG. 5. Therefore, the line of action of the load acting upon the tip of the second contacting element 22 that is brought into contact with the test object 203 does not go through the center of gravity of the conductive contact 2. Thus, a moment is generated in the conductive contact 2. As a result, the resilient element 23 shrinks and the opening 26 is moved away from the bar-shaped member 4. Due to this moment, the conductive contact 2 rotates slightly, while the conductive contact 2 goes through the transition from the state shown in FIG. 7-1 to that shown in FIG. 7-2. This rotation is generated because a small gap is present between the edge of the resilient element 23 and the guiding groove 321, and the other edge thereof and the guiding groove 331, respectively, in the width direction; Paragraph [0092] Line 1-17; Therefore, the magnet is deactivating and moving the handling unit, in particular the gripper). The purpose of doing so is to achieve a large stroke without causing buckling or twisting, even when a certain or more load within an appropriate range is applied to the conductive contact, and to obtain a desirable contact between the second contacting elements.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to deactivate the magnet and to move the handling unit, in particular the gripper achieves a large stroke without causing buckling or twisting, even when a certain or more load within an appropriate range is applied to the conductive contact, and obtains a desirable contact between the second contacting elements (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 16, Choi fails to teach a test contact holding device comprising a test contact holder for handling a test contact according to claim 1(See the rejection of claim 1), the test contact holder (40) comprising a magnetic field unit (42), wherein the test contact holder (40) comprises an in particular a vertical contact surface (41), the magnetic field unit (42) comprising at least one magnet (43), the magnet (43) being disposed such that the magnetic field (44) of the magnet (43) is essentially parallel to the contact surface (41).
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
comprising a test contact holder [3] for handling a test contact [2] (a conductive contact holder 3 that accommodates and holds the conductive contacts 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 8-9),
the test contact holder [3] comprising a magnetic field unit [5] (a magnet 5 that is attached to a side wall 3c of the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0068] Line 11-12),
wherein the test contact holder [3] comprises an in particular a vertical contact surface [3c], the magnetic field unit [5] comprising at least one magnet [5] (FIG. 4 is a top view in a direction indicated by an arrow A in FIG. 1. In the first embodiment, the conductive contacts 2 are formed using a magnetic material. Thus, affected by the magnet 5, the conductive contacts 2 are aligned substantially uniformly, being in contact with the bottom of the guiding grooves 321 of the first guiding member 32. In this sense, the magnet 5 has functions as an aligning unit that aligns the conductive contacts 2 held in the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-9),
the magnet [5] being disposed such that the magnetic field of the magnet [5] is essentially parallel to the contact surface (Figure 1 shows that the magnet [5] being disposed such that the magnetic field of the magnet [5] is essentially parallel to the contact surface 3c). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include test contact holder comprising a magnetic field unit can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 17, Choi fails to teach a test contact holding device, wherein the magnet is disposed above or behind the contact surface, forms a part of the contact surface or forms the contact surface.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the magnet [5] is disposed behind the contact surface [3c], forms a part of the contact surface or forms the contact surface [3c] (Figure 1 shows that the magnet [5] is disposed behind the contact surface [3c], forms a part of the contact surface or forms the contact surface [3c]). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to dispose the magnet behind the contact surface, forms a part of the contact surface or forms the contact surface can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
.
Regarding claim 18, Choi fails to teach a test contact holding device, wherein the magnet is an electromagnet or a permanent magnet.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the magnet [5] is an electromagnet or a permanent magnet (In the conductive contact unit according to the present invention, the magnet is an electromagnet; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include electromagnet or a permanent magnet reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 19, Choi fails to teach a test contact holding device, wherein the test contact holder (40) comprises a gripper.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the test contact holder [3] comprises a gripper (guiding groove as the gripper) (Moreover, in the conductive contact unit 1, the conductive contacts 2 are held by the guiding grooves 321 and the guiding grooves 331. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a sliding resistance by reducing the area of the conductive contact 2 being in contact with the conductive contact holder 3, enabling the conductive contacts 2 to be extended smoothly; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to enable the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly and to obtain desirable contact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to include a gripper enables the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly (Paragraph [0095]) and obtains desirable contact (Paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 21, Choi fails to teach a test contact holding device, wherein the essentially vertical contact surface is formed by the lateral surface of a wedge.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the essentially vertical contact surface [3c] is formed by the lateral surface of a wedge (Figure 1 shows the essentially vertical contact surface [3c] is formed by the lateral surface of a wedge). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to form essentially vertical contact surface by the lateral surface of a wedge can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 22, Choi teaches a method for handling a test contact (magnetic pogo pins and, more particularly, to magnetic pogo pins used to connect a plurality of respective nodes of a circuit board to each other; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2; Figures 3 and 4, the magnetic pogo pin according to an embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0029] Line 1) comprising
a contact tip [115] (rod 115 as the contact pin) (A rod 115; Paragraph [0036] Line 3) A plunger 110 installed in the barrel 100 through the opening 101 of the barrel 100) and
a contact body [102] (inner passage 102 as the contact body) (an inner passage 102 connected to the opening 101; Paragraph [0029] Line 2),
the test contact (Figure 3) having an erecting direction (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi below shows the test contact (Figure 3) having an erecting direction),
wherein the test contact comprises a core [121] (first magnetic 121 as the core) made
of a ferromagnetic material (The plurality of magnetics 120 may be spaced apart from the first magnetic 121; Paragraph [0032] Line 1; magnetics are core and can be ferromagnetic material; The magnetic core is a specific design of magnetic material in a particular shape that possesses high magnetic permeability. It is employed to confine and guide the magnetic fields in electrical, electromechanical, and magnetic devices. The core is typically made of a ferromagnetic material like iron or of ferrimagnetic compounds such as ferrites; https://eepower.com/technical-articles/magnetic-core-characteristics-and-applications/#),
the core [121] being disposed below a center of gravity of the test contact (10) in the erecting direction (The plurality of magnetics 120 may be spaced apart from the first magnetic 121 positioned at one side adjacent to the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 and the opening 101 side of the barrel 100 so as to have an inner passage 102; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-3; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Choi above shows the core [121] being disposed below a center of gravity (15) of the test contact (10) in the erecting direction; For a uniform object like a perfect sphere or a rectangular block, the center of gravity sits right at the geometric center; https://scienceinsights.org/what-is-the-center-of-gravity-definition-examples/).
Choi fails to teach the method comprising the following steps: a. Placing the test contact (10) on a position accessible by the test contact holder (40); b. Moving the test contact holder (40) towards the test contact (10); C. Erecting the test contact (10) by activating the magnet (43);
d. Receiving the test contact (10) by means of the test contact holder (40).
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
a. Placing the test contact [2] on a position accessible by the test contact holder [3] b. Moving the test contact holder (40) towards the test contact [1] (The conductive contact unit 1 includes a plurality of conductive contacts 2 each having a plate-like shape, a conductive contact holder 3 that accommodates and holds the conductive contacts 2, a bar-shaped member 4 that is fastened to the conductive contact holder 3 and supports the conductive contacts 2; Paragraph [0068] 6-11);
b. Erecting the test contact [2] by activating the magnet [5] (FIG. 4 is a top view in a direction indicated by an arrow A in FIG. 1. In the first embodiment, the conductive contacts 2 are formed using a magnetic material. Thus, affected by the magnet 5, the conductive contacts 2 are aligned substantially uniformly, being in contact with the bottom of the guiding grooves 321 of the first guiding member 32. In this sense, the magnet 5 has functions as an aligning unit that aligns the conductive contacts 2 held in the conductive contact holder 3; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-9);
d. Receiving the test contact (10) by means of the test contact holder [3] (Moreover, in the conductive contact unit 1, the conductive contacts 2 are held by the guiding grooves 321 and the guiding grooves 331. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a sliding resistance by reducing the area of the conductive contact 2 being in contact with the conductive contact holder 3, enabling the conductive contacts 2 to be extended smoothly; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated, to reduce variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and to supply a test signal stably.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to place the test contact (10) on a position accessible by the test contact holder can narrow the intervals between the arranged conductive contacts so that smaller intervals of connecting terminal arrangement can be accommodated.(Paragraph [0002]), reduces variation in friction force generated between the conductive contacts and the guides, and supplies a test signal stably (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 23, Choi fails to teach a method, the receiving in step d. being effected magnetically or mechanically, in particular by gripping.
Tominaga teaches a conductive contact unit that is brought into contact with an electrode or a terminal of an electronic component (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
the receiving in step d. being effected magnetically or mechanically, in particular by gripping (Moreover, in the conductive contact unit 1, the conductive contacts 2 are held by the guiding grooves 321 and the guiding grooves 331. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a sliding resistance by reducing the area of the conductive contact 2 being in contact with the conductive contact holder 3, enabling the conductive contacts 2 to be extended smoothly; Paragraph [0095] Line 1-7; Therefore, the receiving in step d. being effected magnetically or mechanically, in particular by gripping). The purpose of doing so is to enable the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly and to obtain desirable contact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi in view of Tominaga, because Tominaga teaches to being effected magnetically or mechanically, in particular by gripping enables the conductive contacts to be extended smoothly (Paragraph [0095]) and obtains desirable contact (Paragraph [0094]).
Claim(s)10-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi ‘739 B1 in view of Tominaga ‘050 A1, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of DiFonzo et al. (Hereinafter, “DiFonzo”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220102911 A1.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Choi and Tominaga fails to teach a table device, wherein the insert is made of glass.
DiFonzo teaches connector inserts having reliable contacts, as well as connector receptacles having improved magnetic circuits for use in electronic devices having a thin form factor (Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5),
wherein the insert is made of glass (In various embodiments of the present invention, contacts, shields, plungers, springs, intermediate objects, pistons, barrels, and other conductive portions of a connector receptacle or connector insert can be formed by stamping, metal-injection molding, machining, CNC machining, micro-machining, 3-D printing, or other manufacturing process. The conductive portions can be formed of stainless steel, steel, copper, copper titanium, phosphor bronze, or other material or combination of materials. They can be plated or coated with nickel, gold, or other material. The nonconductive portions, such as housings, locks, pistons, and other structures can be formed using injection or other molding, 3-D printing, machining, or other manufacturing process. The nonconductive portions can be formed of silicon or silicone, rubber, hard rubber, plastic, nylon, glass-filled nylon, liquid-crystal polymers (LCPs), ceramics, or other nonconductive material or combination of materials; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-19). The purpose of doing is to connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi and Tominaga in view of DiFonzo, because DiFonzo teaches to include the insert made of glass connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Choi and Tominaga fails to teach a table device,
wherein the device comprises at least two inserts (26) and that the magnetic field unit (22) comprises at least a number of electromagnets corresponding to the number of the inserts (26), each insert (26) being assigned at least one of the electromagnets, the assigned electromagnet being disposed such that the magnetic field (24) of the assigned electromagnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the assigned insert (26).
DiFonzo teaches connector inserts having reliable contacts, as well as connector receptacles having improved magnetic circuits for use in electronic devices having a thin form factor (Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5),
wherein the device comprises at least two inserts (Examples of connector receptacles 100 and connector inserts 200; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-2) and that the magnetic field unit comprises at least a number of electromagnets [150] in Figure 4 corresponding to the number of the inserts, each insert being assigned at least one of the electromagnets (Magnet array 150 can be positioned around contact housing 110. Contact housing 110 can pass through an opening 168 in magnet array 150. Magnet array 150 can include pole piece 152, pole piece 154a, pole piece 154b, pole piece 156a, pole piece 156b, and pole piece 158. Magnet array 150 can include magnet 151, magnet 153a, magnet 153b, magnet 155a, magnet 155b, magnet 157a, magnet 157b, and magnet 159. Each of pole piece can be formed of a soft magnetic alloy or other magnetically conductive material, such as martensitic stainless steel, ferritic stainless steel, low-carbon steel, iron-cobalt, an iron-silicon or nickel-iron alloy, or other ferro-magnetic material, or other material; Paragraph [0050] Line 1-13),
the assigned electromagnet being disposed such that the magnetic field of the assigned electromagnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the assigned insert (Figure 4 shows the assigned electromagnet being disposed such that the magnetic field of the assigned electromagnet emerges essentially perpendicular from the assigned insert). The purpose of doing so is to connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi and Tominaga in view of DiFonzo, because DiFonzo teaches to include the insert made of glass connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information (Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Choi and Tominaga fails to teach a holding device, wherein the test contact holding device comprises at least one transmission channel for transmitting thermal energy or for transferring negative pressure, a channel mouth of the transmission channel being disposed in the area of the contact surface.
DiFonzo teaches connector inserts having reliable contacts, as well as connector receptacles having improved magnetic circuits for use in electronic devices having a thin form factor (Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5),
wherein the test contact holding device comprises at least one transmission channel for transmitting thermal energy or for transferring negative pressure, a channel mouth of the transmission channel being disposed in the area of the contact surface (Embodiments of the present invention can provide connector receptacles and connector inserts that can be located in, and can connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices. These connector receptacles and connector inserts can provide interconnect pathways for signals that are compliant with various standards such as one of the Universal Serial Bus (USB) standards including USB Type-C, High-Definition Multimedia Interface® (HDMI), Digital Visual Interface (DVI), Ethernet, DisplayPort, Thunderbolt™, Lightning™ Joint Test Action Group (JTAG), test-access-port (TAP), Peripheral Component Interconnect express, Directed Automated Random Testing (DART), universal asynchronous receiver/transmitters (UARTs), clock signals, power signals, and other types of standard, non-standard, and proprietary interfaces and combinations thereof; Paragraph [0109] Line 1-21). The purpose of doing so is to connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Choi and Tominaga in view of DiFonzo, because DiFonzo teaches to include at least one transmission channel for transmitting thermal energy or for transferring negative pressure connect to, various types of devices such as portable computing devices, tablet computers, desktop computers, laptops, all-in-one computers, wearable computing devices, smart phones, storage devices, portable media players, navigation systems, monitors, power supplies, video delivery systems, adapters, remote control devices, chargers, and other devices, can provide interconnect pathways for signals, o provide a reduced set of functions for one or more of these standards, can be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information (Paragraph [0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khandros et al. (US 20070247175 A1) discloses, “Probe Structures With Electronic Components- [0002] In some embodiments, a probe apparatus can include a substrate, a contact structure attached to the substrate, and electronic component electrically connected to the contact structure. The electronic component can be attached to the contact structure. [0014] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary probe structure 102 with an attached electronic component 104 according to some embodiments of the invention. As shown in FIG. 1, probe structure 102 can be attached to an electrically conductive terminal 106 of a substrate 108, which can include an electrically conductive via 114 for electrically connecting the terminal 106 with another terminal (not shown) or other electrical elements (not shown) on or in substrate 108. Alternatively or in addition, terminal 106 can be electrically connected to other terminals (not shown) or electrical elements (not shown) on or in substrate 108 by an electrically conductive trace (not shown) disposed on a surface of or within substrate 108. Substrate 108 can comprise any material. For example, substrate 108 can comprise, without limitation, one or a combination of the following materials: printed circuit board material, ceramics, organic materials, inorganic materials, plastics, etc. [0015] As also shown in FIG. 1, probe structure 102, which can be made of one or more electrically conductive materials, can comprise a cantilevered beam 110 and a contact tip 112. The contact tip 112 can be configured to be pressed against a terminal (not shown) of an electronic device (not shown). Beam 110 can be flexible and resilient and thus produce a counter force that holds the tip 112 against the terminal (not shown) of the electronic device (not shown). Probe structure 102 can thus establish an electrical connection between substrate 108 and the electronic device (not shown). [0016] As mentioned above, probe structure 102 can include an electrical component 104. For example, the electrical component 104 can be formed with or added (e.g., as a separately fabricated, discrete electronic component) to the probe structure during the process of forming the probe structure 102-However Khandros does not disclose wherein the test contact comprises a core made of a ferromagnetic material, the core being disposed below a center of gravity of the test contact in the erecting direction.
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858