DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Publication No. 2018/0135710 to Sala et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Sala et al disclose an electric braking device (see Figures 1-3) having all the features of the instant invention including: a transmission mechanism 6 that transmits rotation of a motor shaft member 5 in an electric motor 4 (see paragraphs 0116-0131), an actuator section 19 that moves a friction member in response to a rotation of the electric motor 4 transmitted by the transmission mechanism 6, presses the friction member against a rotary body 7 that rotates together with a wheel, and thereby applies a braking force to the wheel (see paragraphs 0116-0131), a rotation stop mechanism 1 that stops rotation in a direction of reducing the braking force among rotational directions of the electric motor 4 when meshing with a rotational section 11 that rotates together with the motor shaft member 5 (see paragraphs 0039, 0068, 0069, and 0087-0090), and a motor bracket 36 as a member to which the electric motor 4 is attached (see paragraph 0103), wherein the rotation stop mechanism 1 is further attached to the motor bracket 36 (see paragraphs 0098-0104 and Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Sala et al further disclose that the rotation stop mechanism 1 is arranged on an opposite side of the motor bracket 36 from the electric motor 4 (see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Publication No. 2018/0135710 to Sala et al in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 116135626 to Chelaidite et al.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Sala et al disclose most all the features of the instant invention as applied above, and further including a case 39 that covers the rotation stop member 1 and the motor bracket 36 (see Figures 1, 5, and 7).
However, Sala et al do not disclose that the case covers the electric motor, rotation stop mechanism, and the motor bracket.
Chelaidite et al are relied upon merely for their teachings of an electric braking device (see Figures 1 and 2) having a case 16/20 that covers an electric motor 28, rotation stop mechanism 36 and a motor bracket 24 (see Figures 1 and 2 and pages 5 and 6 of the examiner provided translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electric braking device of Sala et al with a case that covers the electric motor, rotation stop mechanism, and motor bracket as taught by Chelaidite et al in order to provide a common housing for all the components for ease of assembly and manufacture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PG Publication No. 2022/0307562 to Yoshizu, Chinese Patent No. CN 107614919 to Masuda, WO document no. WO 2020195921 to Goto, and WO document no. WO 2024/029588 to Hirata all disclose electric braking devices similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 09/28/26