DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Response to Restriction filed on April 1, 2026. Claims 24-43 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Although the applicant states that claims 23-43 read on the election of Group I, the Restriction Requirement filed on April 1, 2026 clearly sets out that Group I is drawn towards claims 24-34. Given the applicant has elected Group I, and has not distinctly and specifically pointed out any supposed errors in the grouping of the inventions, claims 35-43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 28, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The claim defines the conduit as a second vessel, wherein a vessel is directed to a human organism, therein claiming a part of a human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-27 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bagaoisan et al. (US 2010/0168789, hereinafter Bagaoisan).
Concerning claim 24, an arteriotomy formation system (Figures 1-8; 101), comprising: a center puncturing device, comprising: an elongated cylindrical body (Figure 1B; 130) including an outer wall that slidably engages an inner conduit wall of a conduit mated to a first vessel (Figure 4A; 20), the elongated cylindrical body including a centering passageway extending along a longitudinal axis of the elongated cylindrical body; and a puncturing element that is movable along the centering passageway ([¶ 0038], needle = puncturing element), the puncturing element being movable between a retracted configuration and an extended configuration, a distal end of the puncturing element being positioned within the centering passageway when in the retracted configuration, the distal end of the puncturing element extending out of the elongated cylindrical body when in the extended configuration (needle may be inserted into elongated cylindrical body, with its tip proximal to the distal end of the elongated cylindrical body defining a retracted configuration, and then extended out to puncture a vessel, defining an extended configuration), the puncturing element extending along the longitudinal axis of the elongated cylindrical body thereby allowing formation of a puncture along a wall of the first vessel at a position central to a conduit passageway of the conduit (needle inserted through lumen 136 of elongated cylindrical body); and an arteriotomy formation device, comprising: a tissue fixation element (Figure 1B; 140) including an elongate body having a fixation passageway extending along a length of the tissue fixation element (inflation lumen of 140); a tissue capturing element (Figure 1B; 146) configured to form a first configuration having a first outer diameter (deflated configuration) and a second configuration having a second outer diameter that is larger than the first outer diameter (inflated configuration), the first configuration allowing the capturing element to pass through the puncture (Figure 5A) and the second configuration allowing the tissue capturing element to capture cut out tissue from the wall of the first vessel (Figure 5B); and a tissue cutting element being moveable relative to the tissue fixation element and the tissue capturing element to form an arteriotomy along the wall of the first vessel (Figure 1B; 125), the tissue cutting element including an outer cutting wall that slidably engages the inner conduit wall of the conduit and forms an arteriotomy along the first vessel such that the arteriotomy is centered relative to the conduit passageway (Figure 1B; 120).
Concerning claim 25, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 24, wherein the tissue capturing element includes an inflatable balloon ([¶ 0049]).
Concerning claim 26, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 25, wherein the inflatable balloon forms a disc shape in the second configuration (Figure 5B; 146).
Concerning claim 27, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 25, wherein the first outer diameter is smaller than a diameter of the puncture (Figure 4B; after puncture is dilated).
Concerning claim 32, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 24, wherein the conduit is a sheath.
Concerning claim 33, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 24, wherein the puncturing element may include a removable guidewire therethrough ([¶ 0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagaoisan et al. (US 2010/0168789, hereinafter Bagaoisan) in view of Houser et al. (US 2007/0225642, hereinafter Houser).
Concerning claims 28 and 29, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 24, but does not teach the cutting element comprising a radio-frequency electrode.
However, the Houser reference teaches a tissue cutting element to cut a portion of a tissue wall, wherein the reference teaches that the cutting element may include an RF electrode, which may define it as a distal probe configured to perform electrocautery (Houser; [¶ 0256]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tissue cutting element of the Bagaosian reference include a radio-frequency electrode, therein defining it as a distal probe configured to perform electrocautery as in the Houser reference to provide a more complete circumferential cut through a vessel wall that prevents leaking or oozing (Houser; [¶ 0256]).
Claim(s) 30 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagaoisan et al. (US 2010/0168789, hereinafter Bagaoisan) in view of Arevalos et al. (US 2019/0374254).
Concerning claim 30, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 24, but does not teach the tissue cutting element comprising at least one expandable blade.
However, the Arevalos reference teaches an arteriotomy formation system similar to that of the Bagaoisan reference, wherein the Arevalos reference teaches a cutting element (Figure 1; 108) including at least one expandable blade (Arevalos; Figure 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tissue cutting element of the Bagaoisian reference include at least one expandable blade as in the Arevalos reference to allow the cutting element to allow for excised tissue to be capture and retrieved (Arevalos; [¶ 0340]).
Concerning claim 34, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 33, but does not teach the capturing element being configured to slidably travel along the guidewire.
However, the revalos reference teaches an arteriotomy formation system similar to that of the Bagaoisan reference, wherein the Arevalos reference teaches a capturing element that is configured to slidably travel along a guidewire (Arevalos; [¶ 0309]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the capturing element of the Bagaoisan reference be configured to slidably travel along the guidewire as in the Arevalos to assist in the guidance and delivery of the capturing element through the puncture (Arevalos; [¶ 0307-0310).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagaoisan et al. (US 2010/0168789, hereinafter Bagaoisan) in view of Olson et al. (US 2016/0287797, hereinafter Olson).
Concerning claim 31, the Bagaoisan reference teaches the arteriotomy formation system of claim 33, but does not teach the elongated cylindrical body including a beveled distal end.
However, the Olsen reference teaches a pushing member for pushing out a sealing member similar to the functionality of the elongated cylindrical body of the Bagaoisan reference, wherein the Olsen reference teaches that the pushing member has a beveled distal end that matches a bevel of the sealing member (Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distal end of the elongated cylindrical body and the proximal end of the sealing member of the Bagaoisan reference be beveled as in the Olsen reference to provide the elongated cylindrical body and the sealing member with a matching substantially single planar surface to assist in deployment and translation of the sealing member (Olsen; [¶ 0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Popov et al. (US 5,702,412) reference teaches an arteriotomy formation system including a cylindrical body within a conduit, a puncturing element, and a tissue cutting element; the Goldsteen et al. reference (US 2001/0041931) teaches an arteriotomy formation system including a cylindrical body within a conduit, a puncturing element, a tissue fixation element, and a tissue capturing element; and the Berg et al. reference (US 2002/0108621) teaches a cylindrical body within a conduit, a tissue puncturing element, a tissue fixation element, a tissue capturing element, and a tissue cutting element.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 7/11/2026