DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: network unit in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because of the following analysis:
1 – statutory category: Claim 1-11 recite a series of steps and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a process. See MPEP 2106.03. Claims 12 and 13 recite a system, and therefore, falls under the statutory category of being a thing or products. See MPEP 2106.03.
2A – Prong 1: The independent claims 1, 12-13 recite a judicial exception by reciting the limitations of “obtaining heart data including a heart signal measured within a first reference time; and generating heart rate variability for a second reference time, which is a value larger than the first reference time, based on the heart data”. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in mind or by a person using a pen and paper. Therefore, an abstract idea is involved.
It is noted that the act of using a pre-trained (first, second, third, etc.) deep learning model is equivalent to using an equation and falls under the judicial exception of mathematical calculations.
Additionally and/or alternatively, using a pre-trained model, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is understood to be the same as using a generic model. In other words, using a generic model is simply applying an abstract idea on a computer. See 2106.05(f).
2A – Prong 2: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The independent claims 1, 12-13 recite the additional limitations of “computing device”, “processor”, “model”, etc. The mentioned limitations are recited at a high level of generality and are considered to be data gathering/processing which are mere extra-solution activity. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, each of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
2B: The emphasized elements cited above do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’I, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
Claims 2-11 depend on claim 1. The mentioned dependent claims recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the dependent claim recites the limitations “copmuting a mean”, “predicting a probability distribution”, “computing values”, “computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time”, “computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing random sampling []”, “determining whether the predicted probability distribution corresponds to a normal distribution; selecting one of a plurality of sampling techniques for extracting the heart rate variability for the second reference time based on a result of the determination; and computing values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing []”, “rearranging an order of the values []”, “generating an attention map indicating correlations []”, etc., are recited at a high level of generality and are mere extra-solution activity, and recited as performing generic computer functions. i.e., data processing. The elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Thus, claims 1-13 are directed to an abstract idea and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examiner contends that applicant fails to provide adequate written description for the breadth of the claim.
Specifically, the limitation “pre-trained model” in claims 1-13 are broad enough to encompass any way imaginable that an artificial intelligent algorithm could work. Additionally, the specification does not provide any algorithm regarding how the pre-trained model was trained or works. The specification generally recites “a neural network "model" may refer to an overall system implemented as a neural network that is provided with problem-solving capabilities through training”. However, the specification does not shed any light on any algorithms or training. Therefore, since the “pre-trained” model is claimed to perform the steps, the model itself becomes of importance.
Claim 2 states “the heart data further includes at least one of biological information, disease information, or physical activity information of a person from whom the heart signal was measured” which is broad enough to encompass any/all biological information, any/all disease information and any/all physical activity information. The specification does not provide sufficient details regarding this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over single reference to US20110224565A1 to Ong et al. (hereinafter “Ong”).
Regarding [Claim 1, 12 and 13] Ong discloses a method, a computer program stored in a computer- readable storage medium, the computer program performing operations, a computing device of generating long-term heart rate variability based on a short-term measured heart signal (figs 6-8, para 0172-0217), the method being performed by a computing device including at least one processor (para 0052, 0059 0153, “device”, “processing unit”, “memory”, etc. fig. 4), the method comprising: obtaining heart data including a heart signal measured within a first reference time (para 0172 “raw ECG data”, para 0173-0174, ); and generating heart rate variability for a second reference time, which is a value larger than the first reference time, based on the heart data by using (para 0177 “de-noised ECG signal is obtained which is used for further processing to detect QRS and calculate HRV measures”; it is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding the specific windows, length of windows, and/or how the reference times are shorter/longer. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, any signal that is filtered to remove outliers could be argued to be shorter than the window that is represented. Here, Ong provides de-noising the signal acquired (withing an arbitrary window) to calculate HRV, which is HRV of the whole window)) a pre- trained deep learning model (para 0085, 0118-0136, etc.).
Regarding [Claim 2] Ong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the heart data further includes at least one of biological information, disease information, or physical activity information of a person from whom the heart signal was measured (para 0059, 0074-0075, etc.).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20190038148 to Valys et a. (hereinafter “Valys”).
Regarding [Claim 3] Ong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the heart rate variability for the second reference time, which is the value larger than the first reference time, based on the heart data by using the pre-trained deep learning model comprises: computing a mean and a standard deviation for the heart rate variability for the second reference time (para 0069) by inputting the heart data to a pre-trained first model (para 0085, 0118-0136, etc.); but fails to disclose predicting a probability distribution for the heart rate variability for the second reference time based on the mean and the standard deviation; and computing values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time performing sampling based on the predicted probability distribution.
Valys from a similar field of endeavor teaches the trained model to provide a probability distribution for the predicted health-indicator (para 0029, 0036, 0038, 0056, etc.) and wherein the probability distribution function is sampled to select a predicted health-indicator value (para 0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Ong with the known teachings of Valys to provide the predictable result of sampling the probability distribution function to predict the health indicator value.
Regarding [Claim 4] Ong as modified by Valys renders obvious the method of claim 3, wherein computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing the sampling based on the predicted probability distribution comprises: when the predicted probability distribution corresponds to a normal distribution, computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing random sampling on the predicted probability distribution (para 0029, 0036, 0038, 0056, etc.).
Regarding [Claim 5] The method of claim 3, wherein computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing the sampling based on the predicted probability distribution comprises: when the predicted probability distribution does not correspond to a normal distribution, performing modeling on the predicted probability distribution; and computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by performing random sampling on a probability distribution generated through the modeling (para 0036).
Regarding [Claim 6] The method of claim 5, wherein the modeling performed on the predicted probability distribution includes a Gaussian mixture model or a normalizing flow (para 0036).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20230200664 to Peters. (hereinafter “Peters”).
Regarding [Claim 10] The method of claim 1, wherein generating the heart rate variability for the second reference time, which is the value larger than the first reference time, based on the heart data by using the pre-trained deep learning model comprises: computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by inputting the heart data to a third model, (para 0085, 0118-0136, etc.) but fails to explicitly disclose the model is a pre-trained generative model.
Peters, from a similar field of endeavor teaches that it is known for the neural networks to be used interchangeably and to use generative networks (para 0207). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Ong with the known teachings of Peters to provide the predictable result of using various neural networks as desired.
Regarding [Claim 11] The method of claim 1, wherein generating the heart rate variability for the second reference time, which is the value larger than the first reference time, based on the heart data by using the pre-trained deep learning model comprises: computing the values included in the heart rate variability for the second reference time by inputting the heart data to a fourth model (para 0085, 0118-0136, etc.) but fails to explicitly disclose the model is a pre-trained sequence-to-sequence model.
Peters, from a similar field of endeavor teaches that it is known for the neural networks to be used interchangeably and to use sequence-to-sequence model (para 0207). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Ong with the known teachings of Peters to provide the predictable result of using various neural networks as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 105769222; US 20220125376; US 20210282692 A1; US 20190059756.
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796