DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi JPS 4942511 A in view of Naoyuki et al. JP 2003340510 A and Shinichi et al. JP 2016065363 A. JPS 4942511 is a published patent hereinafter to be referred to as the Hiroshi patent; JP 2016065363 A is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Shinichi patent; and JP 2003340510 A is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Hiroshi patent.
Regarding claim 1, Hiroshi discloses a production line for a metal strip, comprising a heating unit (Hiroshi – 5; FIG. 1) configured to continuously heat a metal strip being conveyed; a cooling unit (Hiroshi – 7,8; FIG. 1) configured to cool the metal strip heated in the heating unit; a shape adjustment unit (Hiroshi – 23; FIG. 1) configured to perform shape adjustment of the metal strip (Hiroshi Para [0002] 2nd Paragraph: its shape is corrected by a roller leveler 23) cooled in the cooling unit (Hiroshi 7,8). Hiroshi fails to disclose a first warpage shape measurement unit located downstream of the shape adjustment unit and configured to measure a warpage shape of the metal strip; and a warpage shape identification unit configured to identify positional information from a tip of the metal strip and identify a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the first warpage shape measurement unit and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip.
Naoyuki teaches a rolling mill line consisting of a first warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 6; FIG. 2) located downstream of the shape adjustment unit (Naoyuki – 11; FIG. 2) configured to measure a warpage shape of the metal strip (Naoyuki Para [0009]: These shape detectors 6, 7, and 8 measure the shape of the steel plate passing through their positions); and a warpage shape identification unit (Naoyuki – 20; FIG. 2) configured to identify a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the first warpage shape measurement unit and the positional information of the metal strip (Naoyuki Para [0014]; See Naoyuki FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production line disclosed by Hiroshi, to include a warpage shape measurement unit and a warpage shape identification unit, as taught by Naoyuki, to provide a shape control method for producing a metal strip (See Naoyuki Para [0006]: The present invention provides a shape control method for cold rolling that solves the above problems, characterized in that a shape detector is placed at the exit side of the first stand).
Shinichi teaches a steel plate shape measuring apparatus for measuring the shape of steel plate being transported horizontal, wherein warpage shape of the metal strip is measured from the tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production line disclosed by Hiroshi, wherein the warpage of the metal strip is measured from the tip of the metal strip, as taught by Shinichi, to provide a means to measure the entire metal strip, include tip curvature and the flatness (See Shinichi Para [0074]: As a result, the steel plate shape measuring device 1 can measure the shape of the entire steel plate, including the tip curvature 10a or tail curvature 10b and the flatness.)
Regarding claim 3, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the production line for a metal strip is a continuous annealing line for a metal strip (Hiroshi Para [0002]: The present invention relates to a novel continuous annealing equipment array), and the shape adjustment unit (Hiroshi – 23) comprises at least one shape adjustment means selected from a roller leveler (See Hiroshi FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), further comprising a second warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 7; FIG. 1) configured to measure the warpage shape of the metal strip (Naoyuki Para [0009]: These shape detectors 6, 7, and 8 measure the shape of the steel plate passing through their positions), wherein the warpage shape identification unit (Naoyuki – 20) is configured to identify a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the first warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 6), the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the second warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 7)(Naoyuki Para [0017]; See FIG. 2), and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0073]).
Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi does not disclose locating the second warpage shape measurement unit between the cooling unit and the shape adjustment unit, however, MPEP 2144 (VI)(C) provides that a shift in the position of the warpage shape measurement unit would not have modified the operation of the warpage shape measurement unit and thus the position of the warpage shape measurement device has been held to unpatentable (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), further comprising a third warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 8; FIG. 2) configured to measure the warpage shape of the metal strip (Naoyuki Para [0009]: These shape detectors 6, 7, and 8 measure the shape of the steel plate passing through their positions), wherein the warpage shape identification unit (Naoyuki – 20) is configured to identify a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the first warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 6), the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the third warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 8)(Naoyuki Para [0017]; See FIG. 2), and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0073]).
Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi does not disclose locating the third warpage shape measurement unit between the heating unit and the cooling unit, however, MPEP 2144 (VI)(C) provides that a shift in the position of the warpage shape measurement unit would not have modified the operation of the warpage shape measurement unit and thus the position of the shape measurement device has been held to unpatentable (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), further comprising a second warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 7) configured to measure the warpage shape of the metal strip, and a third warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 8) configured to measure the warpage shape of the metal strip (Naoyuki Para [0009]: These shape detectors 6, 7, and 8 measure the shape of the steel plate passing through their positions), wherein the warpage shape identification unit (Naoyuki – 20) is configured to identify a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the first warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 6), the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the second warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 7), the warpage shape of the metal strip measured by the third warpage shape measurement unit (Naoyuki – 8)(Naoyuki Para [0017]; See FIG. 2), and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0073]).
Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi does not disclose locating the second warpage shape measurement unit between the cooling unit and the shape adjustment unit, nor locating the third warpage shape measurement unit between the heating unit and the cooling unit, however, MPEP 2144 (VI)(C) provides that a shift in the position of the warpage shape measurement unit would not have modified the operation of the warpage shape measurement unit and thus the position of the warpage shape measurement device has been held to unpatentable (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 7, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the warpage shape of the metal strip is measured using at least one warpage shape measurement method selected from an image processing method (Shinichi Para [0015]).
Regarding claim 8, Hiroshi discloses a method of determining acceptability of a metal strip, the method comprising a heating step of continuously heating a metal strip being conveyed (Hiroshi Para [0002], 4th Paragraph: The material passes through the roller seals 13 and enters the furnace atmosphere 5); a cooling step of cooling the metal strip heated in the heating step (Hiroshi Para [0002], 4th Paragraph: In the annealing chamber, it is cooled to the overaging temperature in the forced cooling zone (I) 8); a shape adjustment step of performing shape adjustment of the metal strip cooled during the cooling step (Hiroshi Para [0002], 5th Paragraph: The steel strip is then temper-rolled in a four-stage temper-rolling mill…; its shape is corrected by a roller leveler 23). Hiroshi fails to disclose a method wherein a first warpage shape measurement step of measuring a warpage shape of the metal strip after the shape adjustment step; a warpage shape identification step of identifying positional information from a tip of the metal strip and identifying a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured in the first warpage shape measurement step and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip; and a step of displaying a distribution state of warpage height to allow determination of acceptability of the metal strip based on the correspondence relationship, identified in the warpage shape identification step, between the warpage shape of the metal strip and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip.
Naoyuki teaches a shape control method when rolling steel plates with a tandem rolling mill, the method comprising a first warpage shape measurement step of measuring a warpage shape of the metal strip after the shape adjustment step (Naoyuki Para [0013]: The output of the shape detector 6, which shows the actual shape of the first stand exit side); a warpage shape identification step and identifying a correspondence relationship between the warpage shape of the metal strip measured in the first warpage shape measurement step (Naoyuki Para [0014]: Furthermore, the output of the shape detector 6, which is located on the exit side of the first stand, is also input to the prediction control device 20.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip disclosed by Hiroshi, to include a warpage shape measurement step and a warpage shape identification step, as taught by Naoyuki, to provide a shape control method for producing a metal strip (See Naoyuki Para [0006]: The present invention provides a shape control method for cold rolling that solves the above problems).
Shinichi teaches a steel plate shape measuring method for measuring the shape of a steel plate being transported horizontal, the method comprising a warpage shape identification step of identifying positional information from a tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0072]), and a step of displaying a distribution state of warpage height to allow determination of acceptability of the metal strip based on the correspondence relationship, identified in the warpage shape identification step, between the warpage shape of the metal strip and the positional information from the tip of the metal strip (Shinichi Para [0027] – [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip as disclosed by Hiroshi, to include a step wherein a correspondence relationship between the positional information from tip of the metal strip and a step displaying a distribution state of warpage height, as taught by Shinichi, to provide a means to improve the shape of the steel sheet (See Shinichi Para [0028]: Based on the measurement results from the steel sheet shape measuring device 1, the process computer 106 provides feedback control to the reverse finishing rolling mill 101 and feedforward control to the accelerated cooling device 102 in order to improve the shape of the steel sheet 10.)
Regarding claim 10, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip (See claim 8 rejection above), wherein in the shape adjustment step, the shape adjustment of the metal strip is performed using at least one shape adjustment means selected from a roller leveler (Hiroshi Para [0002], 5th Paragraph: The steel strip is then temper-rolled in a four-stage temper-rolling mill, for example, a temper-rolling mill 21 with backup drive and rapid roll replacement of work rolls; its shape is corrected by a roller leveler 23.).
Regarding claim 11, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip (See claim 8 rejection above), the method comprising producing a metal strip determined to be acceptable by the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip (Hiroshi Para [0002], 5th Paragraph: With the equipment array of the present invention configured in this way, it is possible to obtain w4 strips of exactly the same material as those obtained in an annealing furnace with high production efficiency; Naoyuki Para [0020]: Therefore, according to the present invention, even when rolling difficult-to-roll materials such as high-tensile steel plates with high deformation resistance, it is possible to roll them into the desired final shape; Shinichi Para [0017]: According to the present invention, the shape of a steel plate, such as its curvature and flatness, can be measured with high precision.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshimoto et al. JP 6094722 B2. JP 6094722 B2 is a published patent application hereinafter to be referred to as the Yoshimoto patent.
Regarding claim 2, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the production line for a metal strip (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the production line for a metal strip is a continuous annealing line for a metal strip (Hiroshi Para [0002]: The present invention relates to a novel continuous annealing equipment array) that includes a cooling unit (Hiroshi – 7,8), however, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi fails to disclose the cooling unit includes a cooling fluid injection apparatus and at least a pair of restraining rollers that restrain the metal strip, the cooling fluid injection apparatus comprising a plurality of nozzles that inject a cooling fluid onto the metal strip from both sides of the metal strip.
Yoshimoto teaches a rapid quenching apparatus, wherein a cooling fluid injection apparatus (Yoshimoto – 4; FIG. 1) and at least a pair of restraining rollers (Yoshimoto – 7; FIG. 1) that restrain the metal strip (Yoshimoto – 5; FIG. 1), the cooling fluid injection apparatus (Yoshimoto – 4) comprising a plurality of nozzles (Yoshimoto – 4a; FIG. 1) that inject a cooling fluid onto the metal strip from both sides of the metal strip (Yoshimoto Para [0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling unit disclosed in Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi, to include a least a pair of restraining rollers and a plurality of nozzles that inject cooling fluid onto the metal strip from both sides of the metal strip, as taught by Yoshimoto, to provide a means to rapidly quench the metal strip and thus suppress shape defects that occur in metal strips (See Yoshimoto Para [0013]: rapid quenching apparatus of the present invention, shape defects that occur in the metal plate during rapid quenching can be effectively suppressed.)
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yoshimoto.
Regarding claim 9, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi discloses the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip (See claim 8 rejection above), wherein there is a cooling step (Hiroshi Para [0002], 4th Paragraph: In the annealing chamber, it is cooled to the overaging temperature in the forced cooling zone (I) 8), however, Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi fails to disclose the method of determining acceptability of a metal strip, wherein in the cooling step a fluid is injected onto the metal strip by a plurality of nozzles from both sides of the metal strip while the metal strip is being restrained using at least a pair of restraining rollers.
Yoshimoto teaches a method for manufacturing a metal sheet and a rapid quenching apparatus, wherein a fluid is injected onto the metal strip by a plurality of nozzles (Yoshimoto – 4a) from both sides of the metal strip while the metal strip is being restrained using at least a pair of restraining rollers (Yoshimoto – 7)(Yoshimoto Para [0017]: The water jetting devices 4 provided on the front and back surfaces have nozzles 4a extending in the width direction of the metal plate 5…The water jetting device 4 rapidly cools the metal plate 5 by spraying cooling water onto it from the nozzle 4a; Para [0019]: a pair of restraining rolls 7 are provided in the gap between the nozzle 4a of the water jetting device 4 and the metal plate 5, to restrain the metal plate 5 from both sides.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of determining acceptability of metal strip disclosed in Hiroshi in view of Naoyuki and Shinichi, to include during the cooling step fluid to be injected onto the metal strip by a plurality of nozzles from both sides of the metal strip while the metal strip is being restrained using a least a pair of restraining rollers, as taught by Yoshimoto, to provide a means to rapidly quench the metal strip and thus suppress shape defects that occur in metal strips (See Yoshimoto Para [0013]: rapid quenching apparatus of the present invention, shape defects that occur in the metal plate during rapid quenching can be effectively suppressed.).
Conclusion
D.N.I.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725