DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 20, line 13 which recites “…illuminate a touchscreen…” should be corrected to “…illuminate the touchscreen…”. Regarding claim 24, line 13 which recites “…illuminate a touchscreen…” should be corrected to “…illuminate the touchscreen…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 19, 20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2021/0342568) in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333) and Jiang (2019/0251329).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a fingerprint unlocking method, applied to an electronic device, wherein the method comprises: generating an interrupt instruction and detecting a touch area of a touch operation (para [0024] the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) senses that the user's finger approaches, touches, or presses a finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220) in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0023] First referring to FIG. 2, the display panel 220 having the fingerprint sensor 120 is configured, where multiple sensing pixels of the fingerprint sensor 120 may be integrated in multiple display pixels of a pixel array of the display panel 220 so as to provide full-screen fingerprint sensing. para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222.); controlling, in response to the interrupt instruction, the touchscreen to perform an initialization operation (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); illuminating the touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); and controlling, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0028] Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking.).
Huang fails to teach; determining whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation and determining whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to the area threshold; illuminating the touchscreen of the electronic device when the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold; as claimed.
Cheng teaches a fingerprint unlocking method, applied to an electronic device, wherein the method comprises: illuminating a touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (Fig 7; para [0046] In an embodiment, if the FTDI circuit 302 is configured to control a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel, a backlight controller may be included to perform backlight control. Please refer to FIG. 6, which is a schematic diagram of a fingerprint sensing system 60 with backlight control. As shown in FIG. 6, the display panel 304 may be an LCD panel having a backlight unit 610, where the display operation is performed by turning on the backlight unit 610. Also, the display driver circuit 312 may further include a backlight controller 620, which is configured to control the backlight unit 610 to emit light and also control the emitted light intensity.) and the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); determining whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); and controlling, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0023] After the finger touch is detected, the fingerprint sensing circuit may start to perform fingerprint sensing on the touch region and receive the fingerprint image signals. The related image data are then forwarded to the system processor, and the system processor may perform matching and determine whether the received fingerprint image have a predetermined feature in the database. The screen may be unlocked and show the wallpaper if the fingerprint matching is successful. Para [0053] Please note that the touch sensing circuit 314 is still operating to detect the finger touch during the fingerprint recognition process for screen unlocking. In an embodiment, if the touch sensing circuit 314 detects that the touch finger is removed from the display panel 304 during the screen unlocking process, the fingerprint sensing operation may be interrupted, as shown in FIG. 9. At this moment, the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may stop the fingerprint sensing operation and enter the sleep mode. The display driver circuit 312 may stop displaying the exposure icon and enter the sleep mode, and meanwhile the backlight is disabled and the display panel 304 becomes off-screen. The touch sensing circuit 314 restarts to perform the low power wakeup gesture detection with 1D scan, to detect the finger touch. This touch detection during the screen unlocking process may prevent unnecessary fingerprint sensing operation after the finger is removed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Cheng, because screen unlocking method of the device can increase the speed of fingerprint recognition, so as to achieve better user experience of screen unlocking (Cheng : para [0058]).
Huang and Cheng, fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
Jiang teaches a fingerprint unlocking method, comprising: detecting a touch area of a touch operation in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0026] When it is detected that a contact position of the finger-like object with the touch screen is located in a fingerprint sensing region of the electronic device, the operating system of the electronic device is awakened, for example, the screen of the electronic device is lit up.);
wherein an interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting first contact parameter meets first preset condition (para [0031] When it is detected that the first contact parameter meets the first preset condition to awaken the fingerprint recognition function, an operation of detecting the second contact parameter between the object and the touch screen and an operation of awakening the fingerprint recognition function are performed in parallel, instead of serial operations. Para [0035] In another example, awakening the fingerprint recognition function of the electronic device includes sending an awakening instruction (such as a hardware interrupt signal) through the pressure sensor or the touch sensor to awaken the fingerprint sensor; para [0044]; para [0045]; para [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang and Cheng with the teachings of Jiang, because by adopting the parallel operations, the time for unlocking the electronic device with fingerprints can be shortened. (Jaing: para [0031]).
Huang, Cheng and Jiang fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
However, based on the teachings of Huang and Cheng when combined with parallel operation as taught by Jiang; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to performed the operation of wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; in order to yield predictable results of improving time for unlocking with fingerprints.
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a touchscreen touch module (220/120; Fig 2) and a touchscreen controller (Fig 2; para [0019] the driver integrated chip 110 may be a display driver integrated-circuit (DDI), a touch with display driver integrated-circuit (TDDI), a fingerprint display driver integrated-circuit (FDDI), or a fingerprint touch display driver integrated-circuit (FTDDI) so as to drive the fingerprint sensor 120 and the display panel 220); and the generating an interrupt instruction and detecting a touch area of a touch operation in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device comprises: in response to the touch operation on the fingerprint recognition region in the touchscreen, generating, by the touchscreen touch module, the interrupt instruction (para [0023] First referring to FIG. 2, the display panel 220 having the fingerprint sensor 120 is configured, where multiple sensing pixels of the fingerprint sensor 120 may be integrated in multiple display pixels of a pixel array of the display panel 220 so as to provide full-screen fingerprint sensing. para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222), and detecting the touch area of the touch operation (para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222); and sending, by the touchscreen touch module, the interrupt instruction to the touchscreen controller (para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the controlling, in response to the interrupt instruction, the touchscreen to perform an initialization operation comprises: when receiving the interrupt instruction, performing, by the touchscreen controller, an initialization operation on the touchscreen in response to the interrupt instruction (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation comprises: collecting fingerprint information in the fingerprint recognition region when the touchscreen is illuminated (para [0024] when the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) senses that the user's finger approaches, touches, or presses a finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the fingerprint sensor 120 is driven to obtain a fingerprint image.); performing fingerprint verification based on the fingerprint information (para [0026] Then, in step S320, the driver integrated chip 110 may perform fingerprint verification on the fingerprint image, where the driver integrated chip 110 may read an enrolled fingerprint image pre-stored in the memory 130 or a recorded fingerprint image previously verified so as to compare whether the fingerprint image is verified.); and controlling, based on a current state of the electronic device when the fingerprint verification succeeds, the electronic device to perform an operation corresponding to a fingerprint unlocking function (para [0028] FIG. 4 is an operation flowchart of a driver integrated chip after passing fingerprint verification according to an embodiment of the disclosure. Referring to FIGS. 1 to 4, steps S410 to S430 of FIG. 4 may be combined with the operation method of FIG. 3. When the user's finger touches or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the fingerprint sensing device 100 may perform the following steps S410 to S430. In step S410, when the host processor 210 is in the period of the sleep mode, the driver integrated chip 110 operates the display panel 220 to display a standby screen, where the standby screen is a black screen or an at least partially black screen. Then, in step S420, when the obtained fingerprint image passes verification, the driver integrated chip 110 may light up the display panel 220. The driver integrated chip 110 may simultaneously output a driving signal to the display panel 220 so as to light up the display panel 220, and output a wake-up signal and data related to fingerprint verification to the host processor 210 so as to wake up the host processor 210…. Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking.).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches the method according to claim 8, before the collecting fingerprint information in the fingerprint recognition region when the touchscreen is illuminated, the method further comprises: recognizing a type of the touch operation (para [0024] Then, when the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) senses that the user's finger approaches, touches, or presses a finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220,); and when the type of the touch operation is a touch operation for fingerprint recognition (para [0024] when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220), performing the operation of collecting fingerprint information in the fingerprint recognition region when the touchscreen is illuminated (para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222. Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger).
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the initialization of the touchscreen comprising setting functions of the touchscreen (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger (= claimed setting functions), while maintaining a black screen.).
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one processor (210; Fig 1), and the at least one processor is configured to invoke a computer program in memory to cause the electronic device to (para [0020] and the memory 130 stores the fingerprint image and software for related): generate an interrupt instruction and detect a touch area of a touch operation (para [0024] the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) senses that the user's finger approaches, touches, or presses a finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220) in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0023] First referring to FIG. 2, the display panel 220 having the fingerprint sensor 120 is configured, where multiple sensing pixels of the fingerprint sensor 120 may be integrated in multiple display pixels of a pixel array of the display panel 220 so as to provide full-screen fingerprint sensing. para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222.); control, in response to the interrupt instruction, the touchscreen to perform an initialization operation (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); illuminate the touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); and control, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0028] Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking.).
Huang fails to teach; determine whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation and determining whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to the area threshold; illuminate the touchscreen of the electronic device when the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold; as claimed.
Cheng teaches an electronic device comprising: illuminate a touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (Fig 7; para [0046] In an embodiment, if the FTDI circuit 302 is configured to control a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel, a backlight controller may be included to perform backlight control. Please refer to FIG. 6, which is a schematic diagram of a fingerprint sensing system 60 with backlight control. As shown in FIG. 6, the display panel 304 may be an LCD panel having a backlight unit 610, where the display operation is performed by turning on the backlight unit 610. Also, the display driver circuit 312 may further include a backlight controller 620, which is configured to control the backlight unit 610 to emit light and also control the emitted light intensity.) and the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); determine whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); and control, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0023] After the finger touch is detected, the fingerprint sensing circuit may start to perform fingerprint sensing on the touch region and receive the fingerprint image signals. The related image data are then forwarded to the system processor, and the system processor may perform matching and determine whether the received fingerprint image have a predetermined feature in the database. The screen may be unlocked and show the wallpaper if the fingerprint matching is successful. Para [0053] Please note that the touch sensing circuit 314 is still operating to detect the finger touch during the fingerprint recognition process for screen unlocking. In an embodiment, if the touch sensing circuit 314 detects that the touch finger is removed from the display panel 304 during the screen unlocking process, the fingerprint sensing operation may be interrupted, as shown in FIG. 9. At this moment, the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may stop the fingerprint sensing operation and enter the sleep mode. The display driver circuit 312 may stop displaying the exposure icon and enter the sleep mode, and meanwhile the backlight is disabled and the display panel 304 becomes off-screen. The touch sensing circuit 314 restarts to perform the low power wakeup gesture detection with 1D scan, to detect the finger touch. This touch detection during the screen unlocking process may prevent unnecessary fingerprint sensing operation after the finger is removed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Huang with the teachings of Cheng, because screen unlocking method of the device can increase the speed of fingerprint recognition, so as to achieve better user experience of screen unlocking (Cheng : para [0058]).
Huang and Cheng, fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
Jiang teaches an electronic device, comprising: detect a touch area of a touch operation in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0026] When it is detected that a contact position of the finger-like object with the touch screen is located in a fingerprint sensing region of the electronic device, the operating system of the electronic device is awakened, for example, the screen of the electronic device is lit up.);
wherein an interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting first contact parameter meets first preset condition (para [0031] When it is detected that the first contact parameter meets the first preset condition to awaken the fingerprint recognition function, an operation of detecting the second contact parameter between the object and the touch screen and an operation of awakening the fingerprint recognition function are performed in parallel, instead of serial operations. Para [0035] In another example, awakening the fingerprint recognition function of the electronic device includes sending an awakening instruction (such as a hardware interrupt signal) through the pressure sensor or the touch sensor to awaken the fingerprint sensor; para [0044]; para [0045]; para [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Huang and Cheng with the teachings of Jiang, because by adopting the parallel operations, the time for unlocking the electronic device with fingerprints can be shortened. (Jaing: para [0031]).
Huang, Cheng and Jiang fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
However, based on the teachings of Huang and Cheng when combined with parallel operation as taught by Jiang; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to performed the operation of wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; in order to yield predictable results of improving time for unlocking with fingerprints.
Regarding claim 24, Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (130; Fig 1), wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores computer instructions (para [0020] and the memory 130 stores the fingerprint image and software for related), and when the computer instructions are run on an electronic device (Fig 1), the electronic device is enabled to: generate an interrupt instruction and detect a touch area of a touch operation (para [0024] the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) senses that the user's finger approaches, touches, or presses a finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220) in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0023] First referring to FIG. 2, the display panel 220 having the fingerprint sensor 120 is configured, where multiple sensing pixels of the fingerprint sensor 120 may be integrated in multiple display pixels of a pixel array of the display panel 220 so as to provide full-screen fingerprint sensing. para [0024] In other words, the fingerprint sensor 120 or the display panel 220 (including the touch panel) may sense the finger touching and notify (= claimed interrupt instruction) the driver integrated chip 110 to operate the fingerprint sensor 120 to perform fingerprint sensing on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220 so as to sample the user's fingerprint 222.); control, in response to the interrupt instruction, the touchscreen to perform an initialization operation (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); illuminate the touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.); and control, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0028] Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking.).
Huang fails to teach; determine whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation and determining whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to the area threshold; illuminate the touchscreen of the electronic device when the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold; as claimed.
Cheng teaches an electronic device comprising: illuminate a touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed (Fig 7; para [0046] In an embodiment, if the FTDI circuit 302 is configured to control a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel, a backlight controller may be included to perform backlight control. Please refer to FIG. 6, which is a schematic diagram of a fingerprint sensing system 60 with backlight control. As shown in FIG. 6, the display panel 304 may be an LCD panel having a backlight unit 610, where the display operation is performed by turning on the backlight unit 610. Also, the display driver circuit 312 may further include a backlight controller 620, which is configured to control the backlight unit 610 to emit light and also control the emitted light intensity.) and the touch area is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); determine whether the touch area of the touch operation is greater than or equal to an area threshold (para [0044] In detail, under the capacitive touch sensing scheme, the capacitance value of several sensing electrodes closer to the touch area may be acquired to calculate the extent of touch area and the coordinate point of the touch finger. If the extent of touch area is greater than a predetermined threshold, the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.); and control, when the touchscreen is illuminated, the electronic device to perform a fingerprint unlocking operation (para [0023] After the finger touch is detected, the fingerprint sensing circuit may start to perform fingerprint sensing on the touch region and receive the fingerprint image signals. The related image data are then forwarded to the system processor, and the system processor may perform matching and determine whether the received fingerprint image have a predetermined feature in the database. The screen may be unlocked and show the wallpaper if the fingerprint matching is successful. Para [0053] Please note that the touch sensing circuit 314 is still operating to detect the finger touch during the fingerprint recognition process for screen unlocking. In an embodiment, if the touch sensing circuit 314 detects that the touch finger is removed from the display panel 304 during the screen unlocking process, the fingerprint sensing operation may be interrupted, as shown in FIG. 9. At this moment, the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may stop the fingerprint sensing operation and enter the sleep mode. The display driver circuit 312 may stop displaying the exposure icon and enter the sleep mode, and meanwhile the backlight is disabled and the display panel 304 becomes off-screen. The touch sensing circuit 314 restarts to perform the low power wakeup gesture detection with 1D scan, to detect the finger touch. This touch detection during the screen unlocking process may prevent unnecessary fingerprint sensing operation after the finger is removed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Huang with the teachings of Cheng, because screen unlocking method of the device can increase the speed of fingerprint recognition, so as to achieve better user experience of screen unlocking (Cheng : para [0058]).
Huang and Cheng, fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
Jiang teaches an electronic device, comprising: detect a touch area of a touch operation in response to the touch operation on a fingerprint recognition region in a touchscreen of the electronic device (para [0026] When it is detected that a contact position of the finger-like object with the touch screen is located in a fingerprint sensing region of the electronic device, the operating system of the electronic device is awakened, for example, the screen of the electronic device is lit up.);
wherein an interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting first contact parameter meets first preset condition (para [0031] When it is detected that the first contact parameter meets the first preset condition to awaken the fingerprint recognition function, an operation of detecting the second contact parameter between the object and the touch screen and an operation of awakening the fingerprint recognition function are performed in parallel, instead of serial operations. Para [0035] In another example, awakening the fingerprint recognition function of the electronic device includes sending an awakening instruction (such as a hardware interrupt signal) through the pressure sensor or the touch sensor to awaken the fingerprint sensor; para [0044]; para [0045]; para [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Huang and Cheng with the teachings of Jiang, because by adopting the parallel operations, the time for unlocking the electronic device with fingerprints can be shortened. (Jaing: para [0031]).
Huang, Cheng and Jiang fails to teach, wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; as claimed.
However, based on the teachings of Huang and Cheng when combined with parallel operation as taught by Jiang; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to performed the operation of wherein the interrupt instruction is generated in parallel to detecting the touch area of the touch operation; in order to yield predictable results of improving time for unlocking with fingerprints.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2021/0342568) in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333) and Jiang (2019/0251329) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (2021/0027037).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the illuminating the touchscreen of the electronic device when initialization on the touchscreen is completed comprises: illuminating the touchscreen in a preset region, wherein the preset region is at least one of the fingerprint recognition region (para [0024] Further, when a finger approaches, touches, or presses on the finger pressing region 221 of the display panel 220, the driver integrated chip 110 may also drive the display panel 220 to provide part of the illuminating light to the finger pressing region 221 to illuminate the finger, while maintaining a black screen.).
Huang fails to teach, when initialization on the touchscreen is completed and the touch area is greater than or equal to the area threshold, illuminating the touchscreen in a preset region, wherein the preset region is at least one of the fingerprint recognition region; as claimed.
Cheng teaches the method, when initialization on the touchscreen is completed and the touch area is greater than or equal to the area threshold (para [0044]), illuminating the touchscreen in a preset region, wherein the preset region is at least one of the fingerprint recognition region (para [0022] In an embodiment, the display driver circuit may control the panel to show an exposure icon at the finger touch position. Meanwhile, no exposure is required in other areas on the panel (i.e., the areas except for the finger touch position), and thus the black image may be shown in order to save power consumption, as shown in FIG. 2. Para [0023]; para [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Cheng, because screen unlocking method of the device can increase the speed of fingerprint recognition, so as to achieve better user experience of screen unlocking (Cheng : para [0058]).
Huang, Cheng and Jiang fails to teach; and a frame region of the electronic device; as claimed.
Xu teaches a fingerprint recognition method; wherein illuminating display panel in a preset region, wherein the preset region is at least one of the fingerprint recognition region (para [0031] Step 102. If it is detected that the mobile terminal is in a state for fingerprint authentication, control a brightness value of the touch area to be greater than or equal to a first preset brightness value) and a frame region of the electronic device (para [0031] and a brightness value of a display area other than the touch area of the screen of the mobile terminal to be less than the first preset brightness value.). Xu also teaches the display is configured in the form of liquid crystal display (para [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang, Cheng and Jiang with the teachings of Xu, because this can reduce power consumption and extend battery life of the mobile terminal while ensuring a relatively high fingerprint recognition rate. (Xu : para [0017]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (2021/0342568) in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333) and Jiang (2019/0251329) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (2021/0004561) and Roh et al. (2017/0316250).
Regarding clam 10, Huang teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the controlling, based on a current state of the electronic device when the fingerprint verification succeeds, the electronic device to perform an operation corresponding to the fingerprint unlocking function comprises: when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in a screen to-be-unlocked state, unlocking a screen of the electronic device (para [0028] Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking. Para [0028] Then, in step S420, when the obtained fingerprint image passes verification, the driver integrated chip 110 may light up the display panel 220.); when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in an account to-be-logged-in state, performing an account login operation (para [0028] Therefore, the fingerprint sensing device 100 of the present embodiment can provide a good user experience on fingerprint login and screen-unlocking. Para [0028] Then, in step S420, when the obtained fingerprint image passes verification, the driver integrated chip 110 may light up the display panel 220).
Huang fails to teach; when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in a resource to-be-paid state, performing a resource payment operation; or when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in an application lock to-be-unlocked state, unlocking an application lock of a target application to display an application interface of the target application, wherein the target application is any application installed on the electronic device, the target application is set with the application lock and is currently in a to-be-started state, and the application lock is used to encrypt startup of the target application; as claimed.
Cheng teaches the method, when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in a screen to-be-unlocked state, unlocking a screen of the electronic device (para [0023] After the finger touch is detected, the fingerprint sensing circuit may start to perform fingerprint sensing on the touch region and receive the fingerprint image signals. The related image data are then forwarded to the system processor, and the system processor may perform matching and determine whether the received fingerprint image have a predetermined feature in the database. The screen may be unlocked and show the wallpaper if the fingerprint matching is successful.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang with the teachings of Cheng, because screen unlocking method of the device can increase the speed of fingerprint recognition, so as to achieve better user experience of screen unlocking (Cheng : para [0058]).
Huang, Cheng and Jiang fails to teach; when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in a resource to-be-paid state, performing a resource payment operation; or when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in an application lock to-be-unlocked state, unlocking an application lock of a target application to display an application interface of the target application, wherein the target application is any application installed on the electronic device, the target application is set with the application lock and is currently in a to-be-started state, and the application lock is used to encrypt startup of the target application; as claimed.
Xu teaches a method comprising: when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in a resource to-be-paid state, performing a resource payment operation (para [0140] With reference to FIG. 34A and FIG. 34B, that payment is performed by using the stored fingerprint template is used as an example. For example, as shown in (a) and (b) in FIG. 34A and FIG. 34B, the user intends to buy an item in a Taobao application. After the item is selected and an order is submitted, as shown in (c) in FIG. 34A and FIG. 34B, the mobile phone displays a pop-up box 3401, and displays a pattern 3402 in the pop-up box 3401, to instruct the user to touch a display position of the pattern 3402 to complete payment. As shown in (d) in FIG. 34A and FIG. 34B, the user touches the display position of the pattern 3402 with a finger, and the touchscreen collects fingerprint information of the user, and matches the collected fingerprint information with the stored fingerprint template. If the matching succeeds, a payment operation is performed, and after the payment is completed, as shown in (c) in FIG. 34A and FIG. 3413, a payment success prompt interface 3403 is displayed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang, Cheng and Jiang with the teachings of Xu, because this will allow user to add an extra level of security for financial transaction, thus improving user experience.
Huang, Cheng, Jiang and Xu fails to teach; when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in an application lock to-be-unlocked state, unlocking an application lock of a target application to display an application interface of the target application, wherein the target application is any application installed on the electronic device, the target application is set with the application lock and is currently in a to-be-started state, and the application lock is used to encrypt startup of the target application; as claimed.
Roh teaches a method comprising: when the fingerprint verification succeeds, if the electronic device is currently in an application lock to-be-unlocked state, unlocking an application lock of a target application to display an application interface of the target application, wherein the target application is any application installed on the electronic device, the target application is set with the application lock and is currently in a to-be-started state, and the application lock is used to encrypt startup of the target application (para [0224] Referring to FIG. 13, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a home screen 1311 including a plurality of application icons may be output to a (touchscreen) display 1310 of an electronic device 1301. Para [0226] For example, when the detected fingerprint is matched with the registered fingerprint (i.e. when the fingerprint is successfully verified), the electronic device 1301 may withdraw a security policy set by the financial application, and may output a screen 1312 in which the security policy is withdrawn (one example of a first function). For example, the screen 1312 may include menu objects in which a security policy is set in advance by a financial institution. As the menu objects included in the screen 1312 are selected, a user may inquire account information held by the user, or may transfer money on line.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Huang, Cheng, Jiang and Xu with the teachings of Roh, because this will allow user to add an extra level of security for financial application, thus preventing unauthorized access and improving user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 15-18 and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 15, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein generating the interrupt instruction comprises: generating the interrupt instruction in a kernel layer of a software system of the electronic device.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 21, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein generating the interrupt instruction comprises: generating the interrupt instruction in a kernel layer of a software system of the electronic device.”; in combination with all other claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Remarks on page 10-11 regarding claims, 1, 20 and 24 have been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, remarks are directed towards amended claim limitation of claim 1 which were not presented earlier. This changes the scope of the claim which required further consideration and updated search. Newly cited prior art in combination with previously relied upon prior art teaches the amended claim limitations as explained in the office action above. Thus applicants remarks are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624