DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “the fourth end” wherein no “third” end is ever recited. This creates uncertainty about how many “ends” there are and is therefore indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Regueiro (US 6,065,441).
Regarding claim 1, Regueiro discloses a prechamber-type engine (Abstract) comprising:
a cylinder 14 and a cylinder head 10 (Fig.1, shown); and
a piston 16 that defines a main combustion chamber between the cylinder and the cylinder head (Fig. 1, shown),
wherein a pre-combustion chamber 46 that communicates with the main combustion chamber through a nozzle hole 52 is defined inside the cylinder head (Fig.1, shown),
the nozzle hole extends from a prechamber-side opening toward a main chamber-side opening such that a distance between a center line of the nozzle hole and a central axis line of the cylinder is reduced (Fig. 1, the nozzle hole 52 is an angled one which moves toward the central axis),
a top surface of the piston has a concave piston cavity 34 (Fig. 1, the piston includes a concave cavity 34), and
in a cross-sectional view in which the central axis line of the cylinder and a center of the main chamber-side opening are present, a first end on a side far from the central axis line of the cylinder in a peripheral edge of the main chamber-side opening is located farther from the central axis line of the cylinder than a second end on a side close to the nozzle hole in a peripheral edge of the piston cavity (Fig. 1, shown passage 52 includes its peripheral edge opening into the main-chamber at a point further than the edge of the piston cavity).
Regarding claim 4, Regueiro disclose the prechamber-type engine according to claim 1, wherein in the cross-sectional view, the piston cavity has an R portion that passes through the second end (Fig. 1, the cavity 34 goes from the 2nd end to an opposite end).
Regarding claim 5, Regueiro disclose the prechamber-type engine according to claim 4, wherein the R portion has a deepest portion having a largest distance from the top surface of the piston to the piston cavity (Fig. 1, the deepest portion of the cavity is indicated at 40 and is further from the cylinder head).
Regarding claim 6, Regueiro disclose the prechamber-type engine according to claim 5, wherein in the cross-sectional view, the piston cavity has an inclined portion that extends from the deepest portion toward a fourth end on a side far from the nozzle hole in the peripheral edge of the piston cavity such that a distance from the top surface of the piston is reduced (Fig. 1, the cavity 34 has a deeper portion 34 which then inclines upward to the portion indicated near 34 which is flat and extends to a fourth end).
Regarding claim 7, Regueiro disclose the prechamber-type engine according to claim 5, wherein in the cross-sectional view, the piston cavity has a flat portion in which a distance from the top surface of the piston is constant (Fig. 1, the portion which extends away from the deepest portion 40 slants upward and then is a flat portion with a constant distance from the cylinder head).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regueiro.
Regarding claim 2, Regueiro disclose the prechamber-type engine according to claim 1, but fails to specify wherein in the cross-sectional view, in a case where a width of the main chamber-side opening is denoted by D, and a distance between the first end and the second end in a direction orthogonal to the central axis line of the cylinder is denoted by L, L/D >0.1 is satisfied; and further wherein in the cross-sectional view, a first tangent line that is a tangent line of a far-side wall surface of the wall surfaces of the nozzle hole on a side away from the central axis line of the cylinder and that passes through the first end passes through the second end of the piston cavity at a predetermined angle of a crank angle of the prechamber-type engine in a range of 5 to 20 degrees after a top dead center.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include such shapes/angles/ranges within the device of Regueiro since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, Regeurio discloses the slanted passage and piston constructions that are nearly identical, as shown in Fig. 1 and disclosed, to that of the instant inventions’ disclosure but simply fails to specify these exact numbers or ranges. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could and would arrive at the best ranges and exact angles through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Omura et al (JP H0893475 A) discloses a precombustion chamber type engine that discloses all limitations of claim 1 (Fig. 5, shown). Regueiro (US 5,417,189) discloses a precombustion chamber engine (Fig. 1, shown).
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747