DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong et al. (US 20190200677, hereinafter “Chong”), and further in view of Noori et al. (US 20180115071, hereinafter “Noori”).
Regarding claim 1, Chong discloses,
A mobile communication terminal comprising:
an antenna configured to transmit and receive wireless signals (The device 100 may also comprise a communications system 242. In the preferred embodiment, Bluetooth low energy radio may be used to communicate with a peripheral device. The communications system 242 may serial interface to the main processor for communicating information with a phone [0089]);
an aerosol generator configured to accommodate therein an aerosol generating article and heat the aerosol generating article by inductive heating (the consumable-containing package 102 to be inserted into the cavity 164 to have the coil surround the susceptor 106 [0065]; The aerosol producing device 200 comprises a case 202 to contain the consumable-containing package 102, the induction heating element 160 to heat the susceptor 106 [0070]); and
a controller configured to control a temperature of the aerosol generator (The trigger 232 is operatively connected to the induction coil driver 240 via the controller 166. The induction coil driver 240 activates the inductive heating element 160 to heat the susceptor 106 [0078]).
However, Chong does not disclose, wherein the antenna is located on a body of the aerosol generator and comprises a patch formed of a conductor and a ground spaced apart from the patch.
In the same field of endeavor, Noori discloses, wherein the antenna is located on a body of the aerosol generator and comprises a patch formed of a conductor and a ground spaced apart from the patch ( As shown in FIG. 5, patch antenna 40 may have a patch antenna resonating element such as patch 110 that is separated from a ground plane structure such as ground 112 [0037]-[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chong by specifically providing wherein the antenna is located on a body of the aerosol generator and comprises a patch formed of a conductor and a ground spaced apart from the patch, as taught by Noori for the purpose of providing dual-frequency patch antenna which exhibit enhanced directionality, which helps ensure that beam steering operations will be successful when using an array of antennas [0046].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Chong discloses, wherein the aerosol generator is shaped to define an accommodation space configured to accommodate the aerosol generating article therein, and wherein the aerosol generator comprises a coil configured to generate a magnetic field for inductively heating a susceptor positioned in the accommodation space (inductive heating element 160 is a conductor 162 wrapped around into a coil that generates the magnetic field when current is passed through the coil. The metal susceptor 106 is placed close enough to the conductor 162 so as to be within the magnetic field. In the preferred embodiment, the coil is wrapped in a manner that defines a central cavity 164. This allows the consumable-containing package 102 to be inserted into the cavity 164 to have the coil surround the susceptor 106 without touching the susceptor 106. The current passed through the coil is alternating current creating a rapidly alternating magnetic field. The alternating magnetic field may create eddy currents in the susceptor 106, which may generate heat within the susceptor 106 [0065] and Figs 8A-8B).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Chong discloses, wherein the aerosol generator comprises a heating assembly having a cylindrical shape to allow the aerosol generating article to be inserted therein, and wherein the heating assembly comprises a heating element for heating the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article (inductive heating element 160 is a conductor 162 wrapped around into a coil that generates the magnetic field when current is passed through the coil. The metal susceptor 106 is placed close enough to the conductor 162 so as to be within the magnetic field. In the preferred embodiment, the coil is wrapped in a manner that defines a central cavity 164. This allows the consumable-containing package 102 to be inserted into the cavity 164 to have the coil surround the susceptor 106 without touching the susceptor 106. The current passed through the coil is alternating current creating a rapidly alternating magnetic field. The alternating magnetic field may create eddy currents in the susceptor 106, which may generate heat within the susceptor 106 [0065] and Figs 8A-8B).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong, in view of Noori and further in view of Garcia Garcia (US 20250098766, hereinafter “Garcia”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Chong discloses, wherein the aerosol generator comprises a heating assembly having a cylindrical shape to allow the aerosol generating article to be inserted therein (inductive heating element 160 is a conductor 162 wrapped around into a coil that generates the magnetic field when current is passed through the coil. The metal susceptor 106 is placed close enough to the conductor 162 so as to be within the magnetic field. In the preferred embodiment, the coil is wrapped in a manner that defines a central cavity 164. This allows the consumable-containing package 102 to be inserted into the cavity 164 to have the coil surround the susceptor 106 without touching the susceptor 106. [0065] and Figs 8A-8B).
However, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, wherein the heating assembly comprises a heating pattern printed on the heating assembly for heating the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article.
In the same field of endeavor, Garcia discloses, wherein the heating assembly comprises a heating pattern printed on the heating assembly for heating the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article (The inner wall 14 of the vacuum insulator 12 defines the cavity 26 in which the aerosol generating substrate 32 may be received. In particular, the cavity defined by the inner wall 14 of the vacuum insulator 12 is tubular (e.g. cylindrical) and extends from the base 30 to the opening 26. In this way, an aerosol generating substrate 32 in the form of an elongate rod (e.g. cylinder) may be inserted into the cavity 26 via the opening 28, such that the aerosol generating substrate 32 interfaces with the inner surface 16 and the base 30 of the inner wall 14, [0042]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing wherein the heating assembly comprises a heating pattern printed on the heating assembly for heating the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article, as taught by Garcia for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process and improving the durability of the heating assembly [0009].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong, in view of Noori and further in view of Reevell (US 20200245682, hereinafter “Reevell”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, wherein the aerosol generator comprises: a housing configured to allow the aerosol generating article to be inserted therein, a heater pin; and an induction coil disposed at the housing and configured to inductively heat the heater pin, wherein the pin is positioned to be inserted into the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article into the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Reevell discloses, wherein the aerosol generator comprises: a housing configured to allow the aerosol generating article to be inserted therein (an aerosol-generating device comprising a housing having a chamber configured to receive at least a portion of an aerosol-generating article. The device further comprises an induction heater for heating an aerosol-forming article received within the chamber of the housing [0005]), a heater pin (The heating element may have the same length as the coil. The heating element may have the shape of a pin or blade [0010]); and an induction coil disposed at the housing and configured to inductively heat the heater pin, wherein the pin is positioned to be inserted into the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article into the housing (The induction coil may be arranged in walls within the housing surrounding the chamber. By arranging the induction coil in walls within the housing, the induction coil may be protected from contamination and damage [0016]; Figs. 1-3 show housing portions 12/14, chamber 16, pin shaped heating element 18, induction coil 20, the tapered penetrating tip, and inserted consumable 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing wherein the aerosol generator comprises: a housing configured to allow the aerosol generating article to be inserted therein, a heater pin; and an induction coil disposed at the housing and configured to inductively heat the heater pin, wherein the pin is positioned to be inserted into the aerosol generating article based on insertion of the aerosol generating article into the housing, as taught by Reevell for the purpose of controlling the aerosol generation by changing the relative positions of the heating element and the induction coil of the induction heater [0008].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong, in view of Noori and further in view of Lopez (US 20220225680, hereinafter “Lopez”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in resonant frequency occurring in the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor..
In the same field of endeavor, Lopez discloses, a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in resonant frequency occurring in the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor (system 10 comprises a power source in the form of a direct current (DC) voltage supply 11, a switching arrangement 13, a resonant circuit 14, a susceptor arrangement 16, and a control circuit 18. The switching arrangement 13 and the resonant circuit 14 may be coupled together in an inductive heating arrangement 12. The resonant circuit 14 may comprise a capacitor and one or more inductive elements for inductively heating the susceptor arrangement 16 to heat an aerosol generating material. Heating the aerosol generating material may thereby generate an aerosol, [0049]-[0056] and Figs. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in resonant frequency occurring in the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor., as taught by Lopez for the purpose of driving the switching circuit at or close to resonance helps improve efficiency and reduces the energy being lost to the switching elements [0066].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong, in view of Noori and further in view of Bentley et al (US 6566636, hereinafter “Bentley”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetic force generated by the coil related to a change in temperature of the susceptor..
In the same field of endeavor, Bentley discloses, a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetic force generated by the coil related to a change in temperature of the susceptor (when the surface temperature of a ferromagnetic workpiece has exceeded the Curie temperature during induction heating, can include the following steps: providing a ferromagnetic workpiece having a region that is being heated by an induction heating coil, the workpiece having a time-varying surface magnetic field; placing a magnetic sensor (either passive or active) in close proximity to the heated region; measuring the sensor's response to the time-varying surface magnetic field, while the workpiece is being inductively heated; calculating the time rate of change of the surface magnetic field, dB/dt, as a function of time, from the sensor's output…. The signal can then be integrated to provide actual current. Induction heating coil power supply 42 provides alternating current to heating coil 38. The driving frequency of the AC current to heating coil 38 can be 5-10 kHz, depending on the application. Passive magnetic sensor probe 8, with attached sensor coil 10, is positioned in close proximity to workpiece 36. Output signals from passive sensor 8 pass through electronic filter 44, which filters out unwanted electromagnetic interference. These signals are measured and recorded by a voltage and/or current monitor 46, Col. 13; lines 11-Col. 14; lines 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing a power supply; and a coil, wherein the coil is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied by the power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetic force generated by the coil related to a change in temperature of the susceptor, as taught by Bently for the purpose of improving the efficiency of induction hardening systems, while increasing accuracy and reducing part rework, Col. 3; lines 25-30.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on an equivalent resistance calculated for the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor.
In the same field of endeavor, Bentley discloses, wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on an equivalent resistance calculated for the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor (when the surface temperature of a ferromagnetic workpiece has exceeded the Curie temperature during induction heating, can include the following steps: providing a ferromagnetic workpiece having a region that is being heated by an induction heating coil, the workpiece having a time-varying surface magnetic field; placing a magnetic sensor (either passive or active) in close proximity to the heated region; measuring the sensor's response to the time-varying surface magnetic field, while the workpiece is being inductively heated; calculating the time rate of change of the surface magnetic field, dB/dt, as a function of time, from the sensor's output…. The signal can then be integrated to provide actual current. Induction heating coil power supply 42 provides alternating current to heating coil 38. The driving frequency of the AC current to heating coil 38 can be 5-10 kHz, depending on the application. Passive magnetic sensor probe 8, with attached sensor coil 10, is positioned in close proximity to workpiece 36. Output signals from passive sensor 8 pass through electronic filter 44, which filters out unwanted electromagnetic interference. These signals are measured and recorded by a voltage and/or current monitor 46, Col. 13; lines 11-Col. 14; lines 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on an equivalent resistance calculated for the aerosol generator related to a change in temperature of the susceptor, as taught by Bently for the purpose of improving the efficiency of induction hardening systems, while increasing accuracy and reducing part rework, (Col. 3; lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chong and Noori teaches everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however, the combination of Chong and Noori does not teach, a power supply, wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetism of the susceptor related to a change in temperature of the susceptor.
In the same field of endeavor, Bentley discloses, a power supply, wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetism of the susceptor related to a change in temperature of the susceptor (when the surface temperature of a ferromagnetic workpiece has exceeded the Curie temperature during induction heating, can include the following steps: providing a ferromagnetic workpiece having a region that is being heated by an induction heating coil, the workpiece having a time-varying surface magnetic field; placing a magnetic sensor (either passive or active) in close proximity to the heated region; measuring the sensor's response to the time-varying surface magnetic field, while the workpiece is being inductively heated; calculating the time rate of change of the surface magnetic field, dB/dt, as a function of time, from the sensor's output…. The signal can then be integrated to provide actual current. Induction heating coil power supply 42 provides alternating current to heating coil 38. The driving frequency of the AC current to heating coil 38 can be 5-10 kHz, depending on the application. Passive magnetic sensor probe 8, with attached sensor coil 10, is positioned in close proximity to workpiece 36. Output signals from passive sensor 8 pass through electronic filter 44, which filters out unwanted electromagnetic interference. These signals are measured and recorded by a voltage and/or current monitor 46, Col. 13; lines 11-Col. 14; lines 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chong and Noori by specifically providing a power supply, wherein the aerosol generator is configured to heat a susceptor disposed in the aerosol generator based on power supplied from a power supply, wherein the controller is configured to control the power based on a change in magnetism of the susceptor related to a change in temperature of the susceptor, as taught by Bently for the purpose of improving the efficiency of induction hardening systems, while increasing accuracy and reducing part rework, (Col. 3; lines 25-30).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 12063970: An inductive heating assembly is configured to inductively heat an aerosol-forming substrate to a pre-determined operating temperature, the heating assembly including an induction source configured to generate an alternating electromagnetic field; and a susceptor assembly configured to inductively heat the aerosol-forming substrate under influence of the alternating magnetic field generated by the induction source.
US 12478110: Provided is an aerosol generating apparatus including: a main body into which a cigarette is inserted; a first electrically conductive pattern provided on a portion of the main body to function as one of a heater for heating the cigarette and a temperature sensor for sensing a temperature of the cigarette; a second electrically conductive pattern provided on another portion of the main body to function as one of the heater and the temperature sensor.
WO 2020256341: An aerosol generating article includes an aerosol generator including a first aerosol generating material which does not include nicotine; a tobacco filler arranged adjacent to an end of the aerosol generator and including a second aerosol generating material including nicotine; a cooler arranged adjacent to an end of the tobacco filler and configured to cool aerosol; and a mouth piece arranged adjacent to an end of the cooler.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641