Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “The method of claim 14,…”; it is unclear and thus indefinite how a claim can depend from itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the collection and analyzing of data. More specifically, independent claims 1, 10, 15 and their dependents are directed to the mental process (i.e. abstract idea) of collecting and processing health data.
To determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility, the claim is evaluated according to a stepwise process as described in MPEP 2106(III) and 2106.03-2106.04.
The instant claims are evaluated according to such analysis.
Step 1: Is the claim(s) to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes independent claims 1, 10, 15 and their dependents are to a process (method) and/or computer implemented method.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Does the claim(s) recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim(s) recite an abstract idea of data collection and usage. The steps of data collection and usage carried out in Applicant's claims are akin to a mental process because they are the type of calculations that could theoretically be carried out mentally, but are merely implemented using generic collection technology. The 2019 revised§ 101 guidance makes clear that the "mental process" category of abstract ideas does not only apply to steps actually carried out mentally; it also applies to the types of processes that could be carried out mentally, but are instead carried out using generic processing/collection technology; please see the following analogous types of data manipulations that courts have found to be abstract ideas (all taken from MPEP § 2106.04):
collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1351-52, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1740 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Step 2A (Prong 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the claim(s) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the claim(s) merely use sensor(s) to collect data with already well-known technology. The following are relevant examples of similar limitations which courts have found not to constitute improvements to computers or improvements to other technology or technical field:
Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TIJ Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48.
It is further noted that merely collecting the necessary data using known, generic sensors (or other data gathering components) only amounts to insignificant extrasolution activity; see MPEP § 2106.05(g). The fundamental data collection and processing steps performed by Applicant's claimed invention could theoretically be carried out manually by a person. Applicant's claimed invention does not affect/change the functionality of the technology being used. Rather, Applicant's claimed invention uses the claimed technology for its standard, well-known purpose, e.g. known sensors are used to collect data which they are known to be capable of collecting, known generic processing circuitry is used to perform data calculations/ comparisons, etc. Applicant's invention does not result in improved performance of the sensors, the processing circuitry, etc.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, in addition to the relevant discussion in Step 2A (Prong 2) above, please note, as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(I) (A), limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include those listed therein.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the only additional elements are well- known, routinely-used generic devices/technologies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lou (US 20200163570 A1; 5/28/2020; cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Lou teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
computing first reconstructed electrophysiological signals on a cardiac envelope based on geometry data and electrophysiological data, wherein the electrophysiological data represents electrophysiological signals measured non-invasively from locations distributed across a body surface, and the geometry data represents geometry for the cardiac envelope and geometry for the locations distributed on the body surface where the electrophysiological signals are measured (Fig. 5; [0037] “non-invasively measured”; [0041] “electrograms that have been reconstructed…onto a cardiac envelope with respect to a patient’s heart surface based on signals measured…non-invasively across a patients body”);
computing second reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope based on the geometry data and the electrophysiological data, the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals being representative of far-field signal components (Fig. 5; [0042] “other group…due to noise or far-field sensing”); and
determining near-field components of the electrophysiological signals on at least a portion of the cardiac envelope based on the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals (Fig. 5; [0043]; [0044] “combined set”; the reference is teaching that two groups of reconstructed signals are obtained, candidate segments which read on the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals and one set of potential segments which reads on the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals is further analyzed for noise and discarded whereas potential segments that are consistent are representative of far-field and kept; these two groups are then combined in Fig. 5, 102 and 104 which determines the near-field components).
Claim 10 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 1 above.
Claim 15 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 1 above. Lou further teaches memory to store data and processor (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Lou teaches wherein the electrophysiological signals measured non-invasively from locations distributed across the body surface comprise unipolar signals ([0037] “non-invasively”; [0041] “unipolar”).
Regarding claim 9, Lou teaches further comprising providing a graphical representation based on the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 6-8; [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 11-14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou as applied to claims 1, 10, 15 above, in view of Wang (US 20190304186 A1; 10/3/2019).
Regarding claim 2, Lou does not teach wherein computing the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope comprises using a method of fundamental solutions, and
wherein using the method of fundamental solutions comprises placing at least some source nodes farther from the cardiac envelope for computing the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals than respective source nodes used to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals.
However, Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) wherein computing the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope comprises using a method of fundamental solutions ([0016]).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to include these features as taught by Wang because this enables reconstructing electrical activity on cardiac envelope ([0016]); MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein using the method of fundamental solutions comprises placing at least some source nodes farther from the cardiac envelope for computing the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals than respective source nodes used to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals. However, Lou teaches that far-field signals are sensed ([0042]) which a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to be from farther away source(s) and Wang teaches that plurality of sources can be used as needed ([0017]; [0029] “control the distance”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou and Wang to have placing at least some source nodes farther from the cardiac envelope for computing the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals than respective source nodes used to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals since this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of these teachings.
Claim 11 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein placing at least some source nodes comprises:
placing body source nodes a first uniform distance radially outwardly from the body surface; or computing a distance between the locations on the body surface where measurements are made and cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope; and
adaptively placing body source nodes radially outwardly from the body surface based on the computed distance.
However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05. Merely replicating the treatment step one or more additional times would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least until the desired outcome was achieved. For example, in Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit held that mere repetition of a known procedure until success is achieved was merely the logical result of common sense application of the maxim "try, try again." (see MPEP 2143). Regarding the specifics of the instant claim(s), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal parameters of the instant claim(s). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation")(citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCCPA 1955)).
Claim 12 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein placing at least some source nodes further comprises placing cardiac source nodes a second uniform distance radially inwardly from the cardiac envelope. However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 13 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein placing at least some source nodes comprises:
computing a distance between the locations on the body surface where measurements are made and respective cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope; and
adaptively placing cardiac source nodes radially inwardly from the cardiac envelope based on the computed distance.
However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05. Merely replicating the treatment step one or more additional times would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least until the desired outcome was achieved. For example, in Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit held that mere repetition of a known procedure until success is achieved was merely the logical result of common sense application of the maxim "try, try again." (see MPEP 2143). Regarding the specifics of the instant claim(s), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal parameters of the instant claim(s). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation")(citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein placing at least some source nodes comprises
placing body source nodes a uniform distance radially outwardly from the body surface; or
computing a distance between the locations on the body surface where measurements are made and respective cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope; and
adaptively placing cardiac source nodes radially inwardly from the cardiac envelope based on the computed distance.
However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05. Merely replicating the treatment step one or more additional times would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least until the desired outcome was achieved. For example, in Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit held that mere repetition of a known procedure until success is achieved was merely the logical result of common sense application of the maxim "try, try again." (see MPEP 2143). Regarding the specifics of the instant claim(s), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal parameters of the instant claim(s). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation")(citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein the method of fundamental solutions comprises node placement instructions to place at least some source nodes farther from the cardiac envelope for computing the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals than respective source nodes used to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals, wherein the node placement instructions are programmed to at least one of:
place body source nodes a uniform distance radially outwardly from the body surface; or
compute a distance between the locations on the body surface where measurements are made and cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope; and
adaptively place body source nodes radially outwardly from the body surface based on the computed distance.
However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05. Merely replicating the treatment step one or more additional times would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least until the desired outcome was achieved. For example, in Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit held that mere repetition of a known procedure until success is achieved was merely the logical result of common sense application of the maxim "try, try again." (see MPEP 2143). Regarding the specifics of the instant claim(s), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal parameters of the instant claim(s). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation")(citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lou and Wang does not teach wherein the node placement instructions are further programmed to:
place cardiac source nodes a second uniform distance radially inwardly from the cardiac envelope; or compute a distance between the locations on the body surface where measurements are made and respective cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope; and
adaptively place cardiac source nodes radially inwardly from the cardiac envelope based on the computed distance.
However, as explained above regarding claim 2, this would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with predictable results in light of the teachings of Lou and Wang. Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The claimed limitation is a result-effective variable; MPEP 2144.05. Merely replicating the treatment step one or more additional times would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least until the desired outcome was achieved. For example, in Perfect Web Tech., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328-29, 92 USPQ2d 1849, 1854 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit held that mere repetition of a known procedure until success is achieved was merely the logical result of common sense application of the maxim "try, try again." (see MPEP 2143). Regarding the specifics of the instant claim(s), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal parameters of the instant claim(s). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation")(citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCCPA 1955)).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ghosh (US 20190030332 A1; 1/31/2019).
Regarding claim 6, Lou does not teach wherein computing the second reconstructed electrophysiological signals comprises computing an average value of the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals in a spatial neighborhood respective cardiac nodes on the cardiac envelope. However, note that Lou teaches combining the different segments and that segments which are not spatially consistent are discarded (Fig. 5; [0042]-[0044]). Further, Ghosh teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. Fig. 1-2) using averages for analyzing the signals ([0051]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to use averaging as recited and taught by Ghosh because this is an effective way to obtain the desired signal (Ghosh [0051]; MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 7, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou as applied to claims 1, 15 above, in view of Kovtun (US 20150342536 A1; 12/3/2015).
Regarding claim 7, Lou does not teach wherein the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are determined based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals. However, Kovtun teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are determined based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals ([0029] “an estimated far-field signal component for each activation signal in the first set of activation signals; and subtract the estimated far-field signal components from the corresponding first activation signals.”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to include these features as taught by Kovtun because this enables mapping ([0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Lou does not teach wherein the instructions to compute the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are programmed to determine the near- field components of the electrophysiological signals based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals. However, Kovtun teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein the instructions to compute the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are programmed to determine the near- field components of the electrophysiological signals based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals ([0029] “an estimated far-field signal component for each activation signal in the first set of activation signals; and subtract the estimated far-field signal components from the corresponding first activation signals.”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to include these features as taught by Kovtun because this enables mapping ([0029]).
In the combination of Lou and Kovtun, Lou teaches and the system further comprises:
an arrangement of electrodes configured to measure the electrophysiological signals from the locations distributed across the body surface ([0037] “non-invasively measured”; [0041] “electrograms that have been reconstructed…onto a cardiac envelope with respect to a patient’s heart surface based on signals measured…non-invasively across a patients body”); and
a display configured to display a graphical visualization generated based on at least one of the reconstructed electrophysiological signals (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 6-8; [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, Lou does not teach wherein the instructions to compute the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are programmed to determine the near- field components of the electrophysiological signals based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals. However, Kovtun teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein the instructions to compute the near-field components of the electrophysiological signals are programmed to determine the near- field components of the electrophysiological signals based on a difference between the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals ([0029] “an estimated far-field signal component for each activation signal in the first set of activation signals; and subtract the estimated far-field signal components from the corresponding first activation signals.”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to include these features as taught by Kovtun because this enables mapping ([0029]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou and Kovtun as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20190304186 A1; 10/3/2019).
Regarding claim 17, in the combination of Lou and Kovtun, Lou teaches wherein the surface of interest comprises a cardiac envelope ([0041] “cardiac envelope”).
The combination of Lou and Kovtun does not teach
wherein processor is configured to compute each of the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope using a method of fundamental solutions, wherein the method of fundamental solutions comprises instructions to:
derive an analytical expression for the method of fundamental solutions that includes a matrix A that relates a location of each source node to the locations distributed across the body surface where the electrophysiological signals are measured;
perform an inverse computation on the A matrix and the measured electrophysiological signals to compute a plurality of source node coefficients;
determine a matrix of coefficients B that relates each cardiac node location on the cardiac envelope to respective source node locations; and
perform a forward computation using B and the plurality of source node coefficients to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope.
However, Wang teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1; Fig. 7) wherein processor is configured to compute each of the first and second reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope using a method of fundamental solutions ([0016]), wherein the method of fundamental solutions comprises instructions to:
derive an analytical expression for the method of fundamental solutions that includes a matrix A that relates a location of each source node to the locations distributed across the body surface where the electrophysiological signals are measured (Fig. 2; [0030]);
perform an inverse computation on the A matrix and the measured electrophysiological signals to compute a plurality of source node coefficients (Fig. 2; [0030]);
determine a matrix of coefficients B that relates each cardiac node location on the cardiac envelope to respective source node locations (Fig. 2; [0031]); and
perform a forward computation using B and the plurality of source node coefficients to compute the first reconstructed electrophysiological signals on the cardiac envelope (Fig. 2; [0031]).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Lou to include these features as taught by Wang because this enables reconstructing electrical activity on cardiac envelope ([0016]); MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kalinin (US 20160338611 A1; 11/24/2016) teaches electrocardiographic mapping (Fig. 2) in which “Cardiac imaging using local electrograms suffers from several disadvantages, however. It is well known that local electrograms have two components—the “near field” reflecting local electrical activity of the myocardium, and the “far field” reflecting electrical activity of the entire myocardium. The presence of the far field component in electrograms complicates electrophysiological analysis, as electrograms do not show directly moments of activation and recovery of the myocardium.” ([0005]) and “When the myocardium is electrically activated, the spatial gradient between APs causes a local (near field) change in the extracellular electrical potentials, as well as a change in the far field. The resulting cumulative electrical potentials can be measured as ECGs on the body surface or as endocardial ECGs or electrograms on the heart surface.” ([0093]).
/JONATHAN T KUO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792