DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase (see claims 4 & 11), “wherein the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a current command value (not shown and referenced in applicants control figs. 2-4 & 8-9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). A control method of an AC motor (see claims 8-13) not shown. The phrase (see spec., page 15, para. [0069], relative claims 2 & 9), “the change amount limiting unit performs control such that the change amount of the voltage phase falls within a predetermined range” is not shown and referenced. No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Therefore, the phrase (see claims 4 & 11), “wherein the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a current command value (not referenced in applicants specification for relative control figs. 2-4 & 8-9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). A control method of an AC motor (see claims 8-13) not shown and referenced in applicants specificaiton. The phrase (see spec., page 15, para. [0069], relative claims 2 & 9), “the change amount limiting unit performs control such that the change amount of the voltage phase falls within a predetermined range” is not shown and referenced in specification. Applicants’ spec (see spec, page 19, para. [0093]) mentions the phrase, “the step response of the change amount ∆T* of the torque command value is applied to the torque command value T*” is not clear as it is not shown relative control figs. 2-4 & 8-9).
Appropriate correction is required wherever necessary in the specification.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to independent claims 1 and 8 of claims 1-13, the limitations are not clear as missing control features (relative to applicant’s fig.2-3, 8 of figs 1-13) such as torque command and torque calculation control 11, as voltage phase control dependent on said torque control, and other control features such as rectangular wave control 15, power converter 2, current detection 3 and conversion 7, position detection 4 and frequency/speed calculation 5 and therefore these features needs to be included in claim 1.
As to claims 4, 11, the phrase (see claims 4 & 11), “wherein the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a current command value” is not clear as the said curetn command value is not shown and referenced in applicants drawings and specification for relative control figs. 2-4 & 8-9).
As to claims 8-13, A control method of an AC motor (see claims 8-13) is not clear as the said control method is not shown and referenced with method steps/blocks in applicants drawings and specification.
As to claims 2, and 9 the phrase (see spec., page 15, para. [0069]), “the change amount limiting unit performs control such that the change amount of the voltage phase falls within a predetermined range” is not clear as the change amount of the voltage phase falls within a predetermined range is not shown and referenced in applicant’s drawings figs.1-13 and specification. Currently figs. 10-13 shows +∆ ϴ limit, and -∆ϴlim (spec., mentions as voltage phase change amount limits see spec., par. [0084]).
As to claims 5, and 12, the phrase, “the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a rotation direction of the AC motor” is not clear as to which part of control figs. 1-13 shows whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase? How is rotation direction is determined from applicants control figs.2 and 8.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamakawa et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0248663 A1 and Yamakawa hereinafter.)
1. (Original) An AC motor control device that converts DC power into AC power based on a voltage phase command output from a voltage phase control unit and outputs the AC power to an AC motor, wherein the voltage phase control unit includes a change amount limiting unit that limits a change amount of a voltage phase.
(As to claim 1, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) that converts DC power (via battery B) into AC power (via inverter 14) based on a voltage phase command output [ϴV] from a voltage phase control unit [400] (figs.5, 6, 9, 11-12, para’s [0089]-[0090]) and outputs the AC power to an AC motor [M1], wherein the voltage phase control unit [400] includes a change amount limiting unit [445-449] (figs.5, 18) that limits a change amount of a voltage phase [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches voltage phase [ϴff] is limited using phase change limit unit 449, see figs.18-19, para’s [0183], [0184] thru [0188]) to provide voltage phase command output [ϴV], see fig.5).
2.(Original) The AC motor control device according to claim 1, wherein the change amount limiting unit performs control such that the change amount of the voltage phase falls within a predetermined range.
(As to claim 2, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) wherein the change amount limiting unit [445-449] (figs.5, 18-19, para’s [0183], [0184] thru [0188]) performs control such that the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] falls within a predetermined range (see para’s [0183], [0187]).
3.(Original) The AC motor control device according to claim 1, wherein the change amount limiting unit changes a limit amount of the change amount of the voltage phase in proportion to a rotational speed of the AC motor.
(As to claim 3, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) wherein the change amount limiting unit [445-449] (figs.5, 18-19, para’s [0183], [0184] thru [0188]) changes a limit amount of the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] is used to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19,para. [0187]) in proportion to a rotational speed [Nm] of the AC motor [M1] (Yamakawa shows and teaches, see fig.5, para’s [0088]-[0089], phase change amount [ϴff] is set based on motor rotational speed Nm).
4.(Original) The AC motor control device according to claim 1, further comprising: current detection means for detecting a current of the AC motor, wherein the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a current command value or a current detection value detected via the current detection means, and changes the limit amount of the change amount.
(As to claim 4, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) further comprising: current detection means 24 (figs.1, 5) for detecting a current [iv, iw] of the AC motor [M1], wherein the change amount limiting unit determines [445]-[449] (figs.5, 18) whether or not to limit (see fig.19, S500, Yes-limit-Steps S520, S530, S540 / No-maintain ϴff) the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] (i.e. [ϴv] = [ϴff] +[ϴfb], fig.5) based on a current detection value [iu, iw] (fig.5, para. [0061]) detected via the current detection means 24 and changes the limit amount [ϴlm] of the change amount [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] applied (see S530, S540) to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19, para. [0186], [0187]-[0188]).
5. (Original) The AC motor control device according to claim 4, wherein the change amount limiting unit determines whether or not to limit the change amount of the voltage phase based on a rotation direction of the AC motor, and changes the limit amount of the change amount.
(As to claim 5, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) wherein the change amount limiting unit [445-[449] (figs.1, 18-19) determines whether or not to limit (see fig.19, S500, Yes-limit-Steps S520, S530, S540 / No-maintain ϴff) the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] (i.e. [ϴv] = [ϴff] +[ϴfb], fig.5) based on a rotation direction (i.e. motor M1 can be in a power running direction or regenerative braking (decelerating direction, see para’s [0059]-[0060]) relative to the phase control [ϴv], see fig.4) of the AC motor [M1], and changes the limit amount [ϴlm] of the change amount [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] applied (see S530, S540) to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19, para. [0187]-[0188]).
6. (Original) The AC motor control device according to claim 1, further comprising: a power converter that converts DC power into AC power based on the voltage phase command output from the voltage phase control unit, wherein the power converter uses a rectangular wave pulse.
(As to claim 6, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) an AC motor control device 100 (figs.1,5) further comprising: a power converter 14 that converts DC power into AC power based on the voltage phase command output [ϴv] (see fig.5, para. [0089]-[0090]) from the voltage phase control unit 400, wherein the power converter 14 uses a rectangular wave pulse Vu/Vv/Vw [via Rectangular wave generator 460, see fig.5, para. [0090]).
7. (Currently Amended) An electric automobile comprising: the AC motor control device according to claim 1.
(As to claim 7, Yamakawa teaches (see para. [0047]) an electric vehicle comprising: the AC motor control device 100, see figs.1, 5, para. [0045]-[0046]).
8. (Original) A control method of an AC motor that controls driving of the AC motor, the control method comprising: limiting a change amount of a voltage phase command output from a voltage phase control unit.
(As to claim 8, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1] that controls (via control device 30 (100), see figs.1,5) driving of the AC motor [M1], the control method (see relative figs.18, 19) comprising: limiting (via [445-449], see figs.18-19) a change amount [ϴff] of a voltage phase command output [ϴV] (fig.5) from a voltage phase control unit 400 (Yamakawa teaches voltage phase change amount [ϴff] is limited using phase change limiting unit 449, see figs.18-19, para’s [0183], [0184] thru [0188]) to provide voltage phase command output [ϴV], see fig.5).
9. (Original) The control method of an AC motor according to claim 8, wherein control is performed such that the change amount of the voltage phase command falls within a predetermined range.
(As to claim 9, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1], wherein control 400 (fig.5) is performed such that the change amount [ϴff] of the voltage phase command [ϴV] (figs.5, 6/9/11/14) falls within a predetermined range (see para’s [0183], [0187], fig.19).
10. (Original) The control method of an AC motor according to claim 8, wherein a limit amount of the change amount of the voltage phase command is changed in proportion to a rotational speed of the AC motor.
(As to claim 10, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1], wherein Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] is used to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], (see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19,para. [0187]) in proportion to a rotational speed [Nm] of the AC motor [M1] (Yamakawa shows and teaches, see fig.5, para’s [0088]-[0089], phase change amount [ϴff] is set based on motor rotational speed Nm).
11. (Original) The control method of an AC motor according to claim 8, wherein it is determined whether or not the change amount of the voltage phase command is limited based on a current command value or a current detection value of the AC motor, and a limit amount of the change amount is changed.
(As to claim 11, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1], wherein the change amount limiting unit [445]-[449] (figs.5, 18) determines whether or not to limit (see fig.19, S500, Yes-limit-Steps S520, S530, S540 / No-maintain ϴff) the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] (i.e. [ϴv] = [ϴff] +[ϴfb], fig.5) based on a current detection value [iu, iw] (via the current detection means 24) of the AC motor [M1] (see fig.5, para. [0061]) and changes the limit amount [ϴlm] of the change amount [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] applied (see S530, S540) to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19, para’s [0186], [0187] & [0188]).
12. (Original) The control method of an AC motor according to claim 11, wherein it is determined whether or not the change amount of the voltage phase command is limited based on a rotation direction of the AC motor, and the limit amount of the change amount is changed.
(As to claim 12, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1], wherein the change amount limiting unit [445-[449] (figs.1, 18-19) determines whether or not to limit (see fig.19, S500, Yes-limit-Steps S520, S530, S540 / No-maintain ϴff) the change amount of the voltage phase [ϴff] (i.e. [ϴv] = [ϴff] +[ϴfb], fig.5) based on a rotation direction (i.e. motor M1 can be in a power running direction or regenerative braking (decelerating direction, see para’s [0059]-[0060]) relative to the phase control [ϴv], see fig.4) of the AC motor [M1], and changes the limit amount [ϴlm] of the change amount [ϴff] (Yamakawa teaches limit amount [ϴlm] applied (see S530, S540) to change voltage phase change amount [ϴff], see steps S520, S530, S540, fg.19, para. [0186], [0187]-[0188]).
13. (Original) The control method of an AC motor according to claim 8, wherein DC power is converted into AC power by using a rectangular wave pulse and the AC power is supplied to the AC motor.
(As to claim 13, Yamakawa teaches (figs.1-19, para’s [0002], [0045]-[0049]) a control method (see figs.7, 8, 10, 13, 16-19, para’s [0031]-[0032], [0037], [0040], [0043] & [0064]) of an AC motor [M1], wherein a converter (inverter) 14 that converts DC power into AC power (see para. [0002]) using a rectangular wave pulse Vu/Vv/Vw [via Rectangular wave generator 460, see fig.5, para. [0090]) and the AC power is supplied to the AC motor [M1]).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Nakamura et al. (Pub.No.US 2014/0125264 A1) teaches (figs.1-22, abstract) control system for AC electric motor and teaches phase limit correction (figs.13-16, para. [0148]).
b) Takahashi et al. (prior art of record, Pub.No.: US 2017/0294863 A1) teaches (figs.1-20) control apparatus for ac motor, wherein voltage amplitude/Phase when limitation is imposed, wherein change rate is limited (see fig.13 C).
c) Yamada (prior art of record, Pub.No.: US 2014/0018991 A1) teaches (figs.1-11, abstract) control apparatus for electric motor, wherein restriction control for rate of change of voltage phase.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837