DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Phan USPA_20110305838_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Phan discloses depositing nanoparticles (corresponds to claimed average particle diameter of 1 to 100 nm), such as silica (paragraph 0036), directly on and in contact with a part of the surface of a substrate (Abstract; Fig. 1A) that is made of aluminum (corresponds to claimed metal foil) (paragraph 0108).
2. Regarding Claim 2, Phan discloses having Van der Waals forces between its substrate (corresponds to claimed metal foil) and its silica particles (paragraph 0057).
3. Regarding Claim 3, Phan discloses that “at least one part of the surface of a substrate” can have said silica particles (Abstract) while the rest would be exposed. Furthermore, Phan discloses that its silica particles are spherical and in point contact with its substrate (corresponds to claimed metal foil) (Fig. 1A).
4. Regarding Claim 4, based on the figures, it seemingly suggests a range of less than 60% (Figs.).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kajita USPA_20220002522_A1.
5. Regarding Claim 1, Kajita discloses a metal foil (element 3 of Fig. 1) with inorganic particles (element 9 in Fig. 1) in contact with it (paragraph 0024); wherein said inorganic particles can be silica (paragraph 0030) with a particle size of 40 nm (paragraph 0027).
6. Regarding Claim 2, Kajita does not disclose the claimed electrostatic attractive force. However, the Examiner respectfully submits that this will inherently be found given that Kajita discloses all of the claimed limitations.
7. Regarding Claim 3, Kajita discloses portions of said metal foil (element 3 in Fig. 1) not having its silica particles in contact with it and moreover discloses said particles to be spherical (element 9 in Fig. 1).
8. Regarding Claim 4, based on the figure 1, it seemingly suggests a range of less than 60% (Fig. 1).
9. Regarding Claim 5, Kajita discloses its metal foil can be a copper foil (paragraph 0040).
10. Regarding Claim 7, Kajita discloses a wiring board (corresponds to claimed electronic component) (Title) that comprises the afore-described metal foil with insulating layers (paragraphs 0006, 0043, Claim 8) with the afore-described silica particles there-between them (Fig. 1).
11. Regarding Claim 8, Kajita discloses said metal foil can be an electrolytic copper foil or rolled copper foil (paragraph 0040).
12. Regarding Claim 9, Kajita discloses that the surface roughness of its metal foil can be 0.5 microns or less (paragraph 0041).
13. Regarding Claims 11, 13, 14, those said particles that are in contact with said metal foil would be at the interface in a planar format between the insulating layer and metal foil and nor are said particles overlapping on a main surface of said foil (Fig. 1).
14. Regarding Claim 12, Kajita discloses a large curvature in its silica particle that is in contact with said metal foil with a known area (element 9 in Fig. 1).
15. Regarding Claim 15, Kajita discloses a concavo-convex surface to its silica particles (paragraph 0024) which will correspond to the claimed neck portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajita USPA_20220002522_A1, as applied to Claims 1-5 and 7-9.
16. Regarding Claim 10, Kajita discloses a ratio of particles in the range of particle size greater than 0μm and 0.5μm or less is preferably 60% or more in terms of number ratio. In particular, 70% or more and 90% or less is preferred (paragraph 0024), with the average being 40 nm (paragraph 0027).
17. Regarding Claim 6, Kajita discloses having clumps (corresponds to claimed aggregates) of its silica particles (paragraph 0025). Although the claimed particle size is not disclosed, Kajita links particle size with adhesion strength (paragraph 0027). As such, the Examiner respectfully submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize this as a result-effective variable and to vary the particle size according to the desired adhesion strength.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 18, 2026