Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (Patent NO. US 6,019,612; hereinafter Hasegawa).
Regarding Claim 1, Hasegawa teaches a probe apparatus that electrically connects an electrode terminal of a device to be inspected and an electrode pad connected to an inspection device (device in fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 20-65), the probe apparatus comprising:
a housing (housing 204 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 50-65) that has a first surface and a second surface facing the first surface (See first surface and second surface in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 50-65);
a probe (probe 202 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 15-65) that has a first contact portion exposed on the first surface (first contact 210 exposed in first surface of housing 204 n Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 15-65) and a second contact portion exposed on the second surface (second contact 206 exposed in second surface of housing 204 n Fig. 23 and Fig. below) and is supported by the housing (supported by housing 204 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 15-65), and
in which at least either the first contact portion or the second contact portion is made of a conductive ceramic material (probe is made of conductive ceramic material, therefore probe’s contact are also conductive ceramic material in fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 5, Lines 30-36),
a posture of the probe changing inside the housing (posture of probe 202 changes with electrode pad 16 inside housing 204 in fig. 23 and Fig. below) such that a position of a contact region in the second contact portion in contact with the electrode pad changes in response to a displacement of the first contact portion (first and second contact portion 210 and 206 change with electrode pad 16 in fig. 23 and Fig. below); and
an elastic portion (182 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 25-55) that is arranged inside the housing by abutting on the probe and the housing (182 is inside housing 204 abutting 202 and 204 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 25-55),
elastically deformed in response to a change in the posture of the probe inside the housing (182 deforms with posture of probe 202 in fig. 23 and Fig. below; See Col. 15, Lines 25-55), and biases the probe in a direction that cancels the displacement of the first contact portion (; See Col. 15, Lines 25-55).
Regarding Claim 2, Hasegawa teaches the probe apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the whole probe is made of a conductive ceramic material (See Col. 5, Lines 30-36).
Regarding Claim 3, Hasegawa teaches the probe apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the probe has a curved shape (See curve shape probe 202 in Fig. 23 and Fig. below), and the contact region is included in an outer arc-shaped region of the curved shape (See first contact 206 and second contact 210 are in outer arc shape in fig. 23 and Fig. below).
Regarding Claim 5, Hasegawa teaches the probe apparatus according to claim 1, wherein two probes are arranged in parallel (two parallel probes 202 in Fig. 24) with a shield plate made of an insulating material therebetween (insulating material 20 is between probes 202 in Fig. 24; See Col. 5, Lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 6, Hasegawa teaches the probe apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the probe is sandwiched from both sides by shield plates made of an insulating material (probe 132 is sandwiched both sides by shielding plate 134 in Fig. 18; See Col. 12, Lines 30-60), and a plurality of probes with which the shield plates are brought into mutual contact are arranged in parallel inside one slit provided in the housing (parallel probes 132 brought into contact inside slit 76 of housing in fig. 18; See Col. 12, Lines 30-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa in view of Rokkaku et al. (Pub NO. US 2013/0313234 A1; hereinafter Rokkaku).
Regarding Claim 4, Hasegawa teaches the probe apparatus according to claim 1. Hasegawa is silent about wherein the probe has a higher hardness than that of a probe formed by rhenium tungsten.
Rokkaku teaches a probe formed by rhenium tungsten to increase hardness (See [0112]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Hasegawa and Rokkaku by using the probe has a higher hardness than that of a probe formed by rhenium tungsten, in order to achieve excellent in elasticity, toughness and electrical conductivity for the body portion (Rokkaku; [0112]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KOPPEL et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0302504 A1) discloses Measuring Assembly.
Pagani et al. (Patent NO. US 10,186,463 B2) discloses Method of Filling Probe Indentations.
Vallauri et al. (Pub NO. US 2017/0307656 A1) discloses Manufacturing Method of Contact Probe.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858