DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/25/2025, 10/28/2025, 11/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims were amended as part of the preliminary amendment filed on 1/9/2025, however, the claims do not appear to correctly reference the base claim. For example, claim 11 now references claim 1 and originally referenced claims 3, however, claim 1 does not recite a third control wherein claim 11 recites a fourth control. See also claims 12-14 similarly reciting fourth, fifth, and sixth controls. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 22, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu; Peihua et al. US 20210382941 A1 (hereafter Wu) and in further view of Zhang; Xiaoran et al. US 20240153536 A1 (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, “an information processing method, wherein the method comprises: displaying, by an electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first area, a second area, and a video processing control, a first image in a first video in a playing state is displayed in the first area, and the second area is used to edit and record information; processing, by the electronic device, the first video in response to an operation on the video processing control; and generating, by the electronic device, a processing result for the first video, and then automatically displaying the processing result in the second area” Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user.
The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content in order to facilitate the editing process of video content by simultaneously displaying video editing features on a single interface.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein before the generating, by the electronic device, a processing result for the first video, and then automatically displaying the processing result in the second area, the method further comprises: automatically displaying a current processing status in the second area in a process in which the electronic device processes the first video” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclose editing a video and automatically displaying the resulting requested user edits in a second area after the initial video edits are requested as editing task and editing substasks.
Regarding the device claim 20, the claim is grouped and rejected with the method claims 1-2 because the steps of the method claims are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 and because the steps of the method are easily converted into elements of a computer device by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 26, “an information processing method, wherein the method is applied to an electronic device and comprises: displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first area, a second area, a first control, and a second control, and the second area is used to edit and record information; playing a first video in the first area; receiving a first operation performed by a user on the first control; capturing a first image in the first video in response to the first operation; displaying the first image and a first time label corresponding to the first image in the second area, wherein the first time label corresponds to a first moment; receiving, after displaying the first time label, a second operation performed by the user on the second control; adding a second time label to the second area in response to the second operation, wherein the second time label corresponds to a second moment, and the second moment is later than the first moment; receiving a third operation performed by the user in the second area; and adding note information to an area corresponding to the second time label in response to the third operation” Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video referenced in the first area and wherein the second area displays generated video clips with labels and time references based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu does not specifically reference a note.
The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text (i.e., note) and image content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content in order to facilitate the editing process of video content by simultaneously displaying video editing features on a single interface.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, “wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation performed by the user on the first time label; and displaying the first image through a jump in response to the fourth operation” and “wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fifth operation performed by the user on the second time label; and displaying an image corresponding to the second moment through a jump in response to the fifth operation” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Zhang para 83, 138, 139, 147-148 disclose editing a video and automatically displaying the resulting requested user edits in a second area after the initial video edits are requested as editing task and editing substasks with a jump feature; the initial video material may be obtained and the interface jumps to display the editing interface of the target editing subtask; and an editing page is used for performing video editing on the editing subtask corresponding to the video editing component.
Regarding claim 29, “wherein the first control and the second control are displayed in a floating manner in the first interface” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Wu para 161 teaches icons are displayed on the surface of the interface.
Regarding claim 30, “wherein the note information comprises at least one of text information and picture information” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text (i.e., note) and image content.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421