DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 10, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to the status of the claims is hereby acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 10, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to the objection to claims 11-14 are hereby acknowledged and are persuasive in view of the amendments correction the basis of the objection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 10-11, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to the objection to claims 11-14 regarding informalities are hereby acknowledged and are persuasive in view of the amendments correction the basis of the objection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 10-11, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to the claims objected as being dependent upon a rejected based claim are hereby acknowledged. The examiner notes that the applicant has elected to only incorporate partial allowable features of claims 3 and 4 previously indicated as allowable and as a result has broadened the scope of the limitations as originally recited in claims 3 and 4. In particular, applicant argues the following:
“Claims 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The Examiner is thanked for indicating the allowability of claims 3-14. In response, Applicant incorporates partial allowable features of claim 4 into claims 1 and 26 and deletes claim 3 (which becomes duplicate after claim 1 is amended.) Applicant further amends claim 21 to an independent claim including the limitations of amended claim 1. Applicant respectfully submits that amended claims 1, 21, and 26 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection stated at pages 3-6 of the Office Action and should be in condition for allowance.
All things considered, in view of the partial allowable features of claims 4 into claims 1 and 26, the examiner will set forth a new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 22, 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu; Peihua et al. US 20210382941 A1 (hereafter Wu) and in further view of Zhang; Xiaoran et al. US 20240153536 A1 (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, “an information processing method, wherein the method comprises: displaying, by an electronic device, a first interface, wherein the first interface comprises a first area, a second area, and a video processing control, the video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state, a first image in a first video in a playing state is displayed in the first area, and the second area is used to edit and record information; processing, by the electronic device, the first video in response to an operation on the video processing control, wherein the processing comprises: in response to an operation on the first control in the first state, switching the first control to the second state and recording an image that is displayed in the first video in the first area; and generating, by the electronic device, a processing result for the first video, wherein the generating comprises: in response to an operation on the first control in the second state, stopping recording of the image and generating a second video based on the recorded image, and automatically displaying the second video in a first card in the second area” Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu para 161 teaches a video processing control with an edit function but does not disclose particular states.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches an invention for video editing wherein the editing interface comprises a plurality of editing tasks and a change of state depending on the termination of the performance of a particular subtask and corresponds to video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state based on the response to performing a particular subtask (para 77-93). Regarding the “recording limitation” (i.e., switching the first control to the second state and recording an image that is displayed in the first video in the first area and stopping recording of the image and generating a second video based on the recorded image) Zhang teaches para 115-121, 152-175 recording functions performed on particular video content). With respect to the term card as claimed, the prior art to Zhang teaches the use of what appear to be window cards for displaying video being edited or completion of edited videos and disclosed in Fig. 18 and 21 and corresponding written disclosure para 159-178. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control an editing interface using editing functions initiated in different states for modifying the video with text and image content and display the edited portions of the video in window cards to identify edited content in relation to the original video content in order to facilitate the editing process of video content by simultaneously displaying video editing features on a single interface.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein before the generating, by the electronic device, a processing result for the first video, and then automatically displaying the processing result in the second area, the method further comprises: automatically displaying a current processing status in the second area in a process in which the electronic device processes the first video” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclose editing a video and automatically displaying the resulting requested user edits in a second area after the initial video edits are requested as editing task and editing substasks.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the processing, by the electronic device, the first video further comprises recording an image that is currently displayed in the first video in the first area during playback; the generating, by the electronic device, a processing result further comprises generating a second video based on the recorded image; and the automatically displaying the processing result in the second area comprises automatically displaying the second video in first card corresponding to the recording in the second area” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 wherein Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu para 161 teaches a video processing control with an edit function but does not disclose particular states. See also Zhang’s editing interface comprises a plurality of editing tasks and a change of state depending on the termination of the performance of a particular subtask and corresponds to video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state based on the response to performing a particular subtask (para 77-93). Zhang teaches para 115-121, 152-175 recording functions performed on particular video content). With respect to the term card as claimed, the prior art to Zhang teaches the use of what appear to be window cards for displaying video being edited or completion of edited videos and disclosed in Fig. 18 and 21 and corresponding written disclosure para 159-178. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content.
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a third control in response to an operation on the first control in the first state; and at a first moment in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the third control, adding, by the electronic device, a first time label and a first text addition area to the first card, wherein the first moment is displayed on the first time label, and the first text addition area is used to input text” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 and 4 wherein Zhang further teaches para 182-183.
Regarding claim 7, “wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a fourth control in response to an operation on the first control in the first state; and at a second moment, at which a second image is displayed in the first area, in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the fourth control, capturing, by the electronic device, the second image, and automatically adding the second image to the first card” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6 wherein Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu para 161 teaches a video processing control with an edit function but does not disclose particular states. See also Zhang’s editing interface comprises a plurality of editing tasks and a change of state depending on the termination of the performance of a particular subtask and corresponds to video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state based on the response to performing a particular subtask (para 77-93). Zhang teaches para 115-121, 152-175 recording functions performed on particular video content). With respect to the term card as claimed, the prior art to Zhang teaches the use of what appear to be window cards for displaying video being edited or completion of edited videos and disclosed in Fig. 18 and 21 and corresponding written disclosure para 159-178. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content.
Regarding claim 8, “wherein the method further comprises: at the second moment in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the fourth control, adding, by the electronic device, a second time label and a second text addition area to the first card, wherein the second moment is displayed on the second time label, and the second text addition area is used to input text” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6 wherein See Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu para 161 teaches a video processing control with an edit function but does not disclose particular states. See also Zhang’s editing interface comprises a plurality of editing tasks and a change of state depending on the termination of the performance of a particular subtask and corresponds to video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state based on the response to performing a particular subtask (para 77-93). Zhang teaches para 115-121, 152-175 recording functions performed on particular video content). With respect to the term card as claimed, the prior art to Zhang teaches the use of what appear to be window cards for displaying video being edited or completion of edited videos and disclosed in Fig. 18 and 21 and corresponding written disclosure para 159-178. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content. See also Zhang para 85, 110, 160, 163, 181 disclosing editing functions to include addition of special effects comprising filtering and beautifying control.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a fifth control in a fifth state in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area; switching, by the electronic device, a status of the fifth control to a sixth state in response to an operation on the fifth control in the fifth state; and when the electronic device displays the fifth control in the sixth state, collecting, by the electronic device, a first voice, and displaying, in the first card, text obtained by converting the first voice” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 wherein Zhang para 80 and 110 disclose the additional limitation regarding voice converted from words.
Regarding claim 10, “wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a sixth control in a seventh state in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area; at a third moment at which a third image in the first video is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the sixth control in the seventh state, switching, by the electronic device, a status of the sixth control to an eighth state, extracting text in the third image, and displaying a first text area in the first area, wherein the first text area comprises the text that is in the third image and that is extracted by the electronic device; and at a fourth moment at which when the electronic device displays the sixth control in the eighth state, a fourth image in the first video is displayed in the first area, and the first text area is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the first text area, displaying, by the electronic device, several editing options, wherein the several editing options are used to edit text in the first text area, and the fourth moment is later than the third moment” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-9 wherein Zhang para 192-193 teaches use of extracted word captions as the text area.
Regarding the device claim 20, the claim is grouped and rejected with the method claims 1-2 because the steps of the method claims are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2 and because the steps of the method are easily converted into elements of a computer device by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 26, the method claim is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-10.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, “wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation performed by the user on the first time label; and displaying the first image through a jump in response to the fourth operation” and “wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fifth operation performed by the user on the second time label; and displaying an image corresponding to the second moment through a jump in response to the fifth operation” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Zhang para 83, 138, 139, 147-148 disclose editing a video and automatically displaying the resulting requested user edits in a second area after the initial video edits are requested as editing task and editing substasks with a jump feature; the initial video material may be obtained and the interface jumps to display the editing interface of the target editing subtask; and an editing page is used for performing video editing on the editing subtask corresponding to the video editing component.
Regarding claim 29, “wherein the first control and the second control are displayed in a floating manner in the first interface” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Wu para 161 teaches icons are displayed on the surface of the interface.
Regarding claim 30, “wherein the note information comprises at least one of text information and picture information” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 26 wherein Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text (i.e., note) and image content.
Regarding claim 31, “wherein the processing the first video further comprises recording an image that is currently displayed in the first video in the first area during playback; the generating, by the electronic device, a processing result further comprises generating a second video based on the recorded image; and the automatically displaying the processing result in the second area comprises automatically displaying the second video in the first card corresponding to the recording in the second area” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-10.
Claim(s) 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu; Peihua et al. US 20210382941 A1 (hereafter Wu) and in further view of Zhang; Xiaoran et al. US 20240153536 A1 (hereafter Zhang) and in further view of Moore; Stephen Trey et al. US 20170200473 A1 (hereafter Moore).
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a second control in a third state in response to an operation on the first control in the first state; and in the process of recording the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area, in response to an operation on the second control in the third state, switching, by the electronic device, a status of the second control to a fourth state, and displaying several color options, and in response to an operation on the image that is in the first video and that is displayed in the first area, displaying a doodle mark in a first color on the image in the first video, wherein the first color is a default color option in the several color options, wherein the second video comprises an image that comprises the doodle mark in the first color” whereas the combination of Wu and Zhang disclose essentially all the elements without using the terms “color options” a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably infer that filtering a video image in an editing process changes the colors. See Wu Fig. 3-4 and para 159-171 teaches a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area 403 and a second area below element 403 and video processing control elements 400, 406, 407, 408, 409 wherein a video is displayed in a first area in a playing state and wherein the second area is used to edit and record clips of the video in the first area based on the editing control functions operated by user. Wu para 161 teaches a video processing control with an edit function but does not disclose particular states. See also Zhang’s editing interface comprises a plurality of editing tasks and a change of state depending on the termination of the performance of a particular subtask and corresponds to video processing control comprises a first control having a first state and a second state based on the response to performing a particular subtask (para 77-93). Zhang teaches para 115-121, 152-175 recording functions performed on particular video content). With respect to the term card as claimed, the prior art to Zhang teaches the use of what appear to be window cards for displaying video being edited or completion of edited videos and disclosed in Fig. 18 and 21 and corresponding written disclosure para 159-178. The motivation to modify the teachings of Wu disclosing a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area is further evidenced by Zhang Fig. 3-9 and para 76-97 disclosing a video editing method and apparatus for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control and editing interface for modifying the video with text and image content. See also Zhang para 85, 110, 160, 163, 181 disclosing editing functions to include addition of special effects comprising filtering and beautifying control.
In an analogous art, Moore para 70 teaches the user can select an effect 564, which is then added to the digital media project at the specified location. In some examples, an effect setting control 566 is provided to select a setting for the selected effect. Example settings can include color, contrast, sharpness, and the like, to be applied with the effect. In some examples, an effect settings icon 568 is provided, and in response to user selection of the effect setting icon 568, a plurality of effect setting controls 566 are displayed, as depicted in FIG. 5L. In some examples, each effect setting control 566 is particular to a respective setting (e.g., color, contrast, sharpness).
Prior art made of record but not relied upon - CHOI; Joonhyun et al. US 20250232495 A1 (hereafter Choi) evidencing use of doodle as disclosed in the combination of Wu, Zhang, and Moore editing functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu and Zhang comprising a user interface of an electronic device comprising a first area and a second area combined with video processing control elements to edit and record video displayed in a first area for displaying video and enabling a user to simultaneously control an editing interface using editing functions initiated in different states for modifying the video with text and image content and display the edited portions of the video in window cards to identify edited content in relation to the original video content in order to facilitate the editing process of video content by simultaneously displaying video editing features on a single interface and by further incorporating known elements of Moore’s invention for a video editor interface enabling a user to modify the colors of the video in order to efficiently display editing functions on a user interface that a readily available for use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421