DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: disparity remapping function generation unit, multi-band disparity map generation unit, disparity guidance pattern generation unit , image pair generation unit in claims 1-3.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150245007 A1 Hyodo; Yasuhide et al. (hereafter Morioka), and further in view of US 20090075601 A1 NEZHAD-AHMADI; MOHAMMAD-REZA et al. (hereafter NEZHAD-AHMADI).
Regarding claim 1, Hyodo discloses A stereo image generation device that generates a stereo image from image information, a disparity map of an image, and viewpoint information of an observer, the stereo image generation device comprising (Fig.14): a disparity remapping function generation unit that generates a disparity remapping function for converting an amount of disparity of pixels belonging to a certain range from a viewpoint into an amount of disparity within a predetermined range (Fig.14; [152]-[153], [157], a dynamical range of disparity or LR is a predetermined range); a multi-band disparity map generation unit that generates a first multi-band disparity map by low-pass filtering a disparity map (Fig.14, [98], [113], viewed or evaluation image is the result of low-pass filtering disparity), and generates a second multi-band disparity map by correcting the first multi-band disparity map with the disparity remapping function ( [135]-[137], the disparity of LR image is the second multi-band disparity map by enhancing the first multi-band disparity map); a disparity guidance pattern generation unit that generates a first band-pass image by band-pass decomposing image information ([108], original image input is image information), and generates a second band-pass image by shifting the first band-pass image
Hyodo fails to disclose generates a second band-pass image by shifting the first band-pass image by π/2 in a spatial phase.
However, NEZHAD-AHMADI teaches a generates second band-pass image by shifting the first band-pass image by π/2 in a spatial phase (Fig.3, [92], input signal to a polyphase filter 160 is split into sub-bands and filtered).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stereo image generation device disclosed by Hyodo to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of NEZHAD-AHMADI, in order to provide a low-power, compact image reject receiver, transmitter or transceiver, as NEZHAD-AHMADI identified.
Regarding claim 3, Hyodo discloses The stereo image generation device according to claim 1, wherein the multi-band disparity map generation unit processes the disparity map for each horizontal scanning line, and the disparity guidance pattern generation unit processes the image for each horizontal scanning line ([116]).
Regarding claims 4, 6, see the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Hyodo discloses The stereo image generation device according to claim 2, wherein a guidance parallax pattern is generated by using a pair of IL and a multiband parallax map GDF(x,y) ([246]-[248]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo, in view of NEZHAD-AHMADI, and further in view of US 20130050413 A1 Tsukamoto.
Regarding claim 2, Tsukamoto teaches The stereo image generation device according to claim 1, wherein the image information is a stereo image pair IL and IR, and the multi-band disparity map generation unit performs band-pass decomposition of IL and IR to generate band-pass images BLf and BRf, corrects the first multi-band disparity map on the basis of BLf and BRf, and corrects the corrected first multi-band disparity map using the disparity remapping function to generate the second multi-band disparity map ({05], [88]-[91]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Hyodo, NEZHAD-AHMADI and Tsukamoto before him/her, to modify the stereo image generation device disclosed by Hyodo to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of NEZHAD-AHMADI and Tsukamoto, in order to provide a low-power, compact image reject receiver, transmitter or transceiver, as NEZHAD-AHMADI identified, and an processing apparatus, and method, which is capable of suitably performing image quality adjustment of a stereoscopic image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20150124062 A1, CN 103731651 A, US 20140028237 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487