Summary
This is the first Office Action based on Application 18/992,945 and is in response to Request for Continued Examination filed 04/21/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11, 24, 26-30 and 34-35 are previously pending, of those claims, claims 1, 11, and 28 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled, all amendments have been entered. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11, 24, 26-30, and 34-35 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-30 and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by HIDAKA (US 2022/0384903 A1).
HIDAKA teaches an energy storage facility 900 which includes a metal rack 901 and a plurality of energy storage apparatuses 1 (paragraph 0071). The rack includes a rack body 910, covers 920 and 930, and shelf plates 940 (paragraph 0071). The shelf plate 940 supports the plurality of energy storage apparatuses 1 (paragraph 0075). The energy storage apparatus 1 includes the energy storage unit 10 which is a battery module (paragraph 0081). The energy storage unit 10 includes a plurality of energy storage devices 11 (paragraph 0081). The energy storage unit 10 includes an exhaust portion 50 (paragraph 0081). In the energy storage device there is a lid with a gas release valve 111 (paragraph 0083). The exhaust portion 50 is disposed to form an exhaust path for a gas that is discharged from the gas release valve 111 of the energy storage devices 11 (paragraph 0087). The end of the exhaust portion 50 includes a port 51 that protrudes from the end of the outer case 18 (paragraph 0087). The exhaust portion 50 then is taken to be the claimed vent isolators. The exhaust portion 50 includes an exhaust member 60 and a lid member 65 (paragraph 0116). A plurality of holes 61 through which gas release valves 111 of the energy storage devices 11 are exposed are formed in a central portion of the bottom portion (paragraph 0118). A plurality of contact portions 62 are formed and surrounds the holes 61 (paragraph 0118). The hole 61 is then formed longer than the gas release valves 111 (paragraph 0119). The exhaust portion 50, taken to be the vent isolators are coupled to the frame members via the lid of the case (paragraph 0095) and the shelf plates 940 (paragraph 0071).
The exhaust portion 50 includes an exhaust member 60 and lid member 65 (paragraph 0116). The lid member includes wall portions 652 (paragraph 0117). The exhaust member 60 includes wall portions 601 and holes 61 (paragraph 0118). These holes 61 are taken to be the claimed predefined apertures.
With respect to claim 29. HIDAKA teaches that the plurality of battery cells includes a plurality of rows and columns of prismatic battery cells in each battery module (paragraphs 0081-0083 and Figure 2).
With respect to claim 30 and 34. HIDAKA teaches each of the battery modules include an exhaust portion 50 (paragraph 0081) taken to be the claimed vent isolators.
With respect to claim 35. HIDAKA teaches as seen in Figure 5 a length of the exhaust portion 50 is greater than a width of the battery cells 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIDAKA (US 2022/0384903 A1) in view of CAI (CN 114583293 A).
With respect to claims 1 and 4. HIDAKA teaches an energy storage facility 900 which includes a metal rack 901 and a plurality of energy storage apparatuses 1 (paragraph 0071). The rack includes a rack body 910, covers 920 and 930, and shelf plates 940 (paragraph 0071). The shelf plate 940 supports the plurality of energy storage apparatuses 1 (paragraph 0075). The energy storage apparatus 1 includes the energy storage unit 10 which is a battery module (paragraph 0081). The energy storage unit 10 includes a plurality of energy storage devices 11 (paragraph 0081). The energy storage unit 10 includes an exhaust portion 50 (paragraph 0081). In the energy storage device there is a lid with a gas release valve 111 (paragraph 0083). The exhaust portion 50 is disposed to form an exhaust path for a gas that is discharged from the gas release valve 111 of the energy storage devices 11 (paragraph 0087). The end of the exhaust portion 50 includes a port 51 that protrudes from the end of the outer case 18 (paragraph 0087). The exhaust portion 50 then is taken to be the claimed vent isolators. The exhaust portion 50 includes an exhaust member 60 and a lid member 65 (paragraph 0116). A plurality of holes 61 through which gas release valves 111 of the energy storage devices 11 are exposed are formed in a central portion of the bottom portion (paragraph 0118). A plurality of contact portions 62 are formed and surrounds the holes 61 (paragraph 0118). The hole 61 is then formed longer than the gas release valves 111 (paragraph 0119). The exhaust portion 50, taken to be the vent isolators are coupled to the frame members via the lid of the case (paragraph 0095) and the shelf plates 940 (paragraph 0071).
HIDAKA teaches the energy storage facility that includes a frame and covers (paragraph 0071). However, HIDAKA does not teach a battery cold plate in each battery module, or where the cold plate of each battery module layer is secured to a frame member.
CAI teaches a body 1 with a battery mounting frame 12 for supporting battery packs 9 (page 10 lines 19-20). There is included a liquid supply pipeline 5 comprising liquid inlet pipes 51 and liquid return pipe 52 (page 10 lines 25-26). There are included a plurality of branch pipes 515 connected to each of the battery packs 9 (page 9 lines 25-29). Therefore each of the battery packs receive the cooling liquid (page 10 lines 29-30). The battery pack 9 includes the frame 92, electric core 91 and a liquid homogenizing plate mounted in the battery frame (page 11 lines 4-7). The liquid homogenizing plates 93 are connected with a liquid inlet branch to supply coolant to the plate, and then out through outlets (page 11 lines 8-11). As seen in Figure 8 the liquid inlet pipes are attached to the frame members.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the cooling plate 93 of CAI for the battery pack, the energy storage facility 900 of HIDAKA as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 5. HIDAKA teaches for the contact portion 62 for contact with the lid case includes an elastic body 621 (paragraph 0119). The elastic body 621 seals the boundary between the gas release valve 111 and the hole 61 (paragraph 0119).
With respect to claim 6. HIDAKA teaches the exhaust portion includes a plurality of holes 61 through which the gas release valves are exposed to the exhaust member 60 (paragraph 0118). These holes are taken to be the claimed vent aperture, and causes the exhaust to vent away from the battery through the exhaust member.
With respect to claim 8. HIDAKA teaches a stopper 941 that protrudes upward from the end plate of the shelf plate 940 (paragraph 0076). These are taken to be the claimed debris dams that assist in holding the battery cells and assist in protecting at least a portion of each end face of the battery cells (see Figures 3 and 9).
With respect to claim 11. HIDAKA teaches a stopper 941 that protrudes upward from the end plate of the shelf plate 940 (paragraph 0076). These are taken to be the claimed debris dams. As seen in Figures 9 and 17 these are located in areas which are capable of forming the claimed collection space to receive debris.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIDAKA (US 2022/0384903 A1) in view of CAI (CN 114583293 A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of JANARTHANAM (CN 114552116 A).
Claim 24 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of HIDAKA. HIDAKA does not explicitly teach exhaust portion, being the claimed vent isolators, are bare metal.
JANARTHANAM teaches a traction battery ventilation system (abstract). The battery module includes an exhaust passage 70 of the ventilation system, the ventilation passage may be metal (page 6 lines 28-30).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill int eh art would have been motivated to form the exhaust portion of HIDAKA of a metal like JANARTHANAM as this is a simple combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results, as JANARTHANAM teaches a known material to make the exhaust passages with.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIDAKA (US 2022/0384903 A1) in view of CAI (CN 114583293 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHAN (US 2016/0172727 A1).
Claims 26 and 27 are dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of HIDAKA and CAI. HIDAKA does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of battery cells are coated with a fire-retardant material.
CHAN teaches a battery pack which reduces the possibility of thermal runaway and improve heat transfer from the battery to a coolant (abstract). The battery module may then include cylindrical or rectangular in shape (paragraph 0034). Each cell in the module 40 includes a metal shield, which is part of the coolant tank, and a coating 43 (paragraph 0034). The coating 43 acts as a heat transfer medium as well as being a fire retardant layer (paragraph 0036). If a defective cell experiences thermal runaway, then the coating 43 acts as a fire wall (paragraph 0036).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the fire retardant layer, being the coating 43 as taught by CHAN for the battery cells and modules of HIDAKA, as CHAN teaches the benefits of such a coating being for acting as a firewall to a defective cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 04/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 28-30 and 34-35 under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BOECKER have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of HIDAKA (US 2022/0384903 A1).
On pages 8-9 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, Applicant argues against the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 28-30 and 34-35 in view of HIDAKA. On page 7 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant argues that BOECKER does not teach the claim limitation that the vent isolators include a predefined apertures corresponding to the vent valves of the battery cells. Applicant argues that the heat shield 520 of BOECKER is a plate structure with no predefined aperutrues associated with the vent valves of the cells. Rather the aperture is only formed in the heat shield when matter is ejected. Therefore Applicant argues that BOECKER does not the apertures being “predefined” as claimed. This argument is persuasive. However, new grounds of rejection are made in view of HIDAKA.
HIDAKA teaches vent isolators which are taken to be the exhaust portion 50 (paragraph 0081) which includes a plurality of holes 61 through which the gas release valves 111 of the energy storage devices 11 are exposed (paragraph 0118). Therefore the holes 61 are the predefined apertures of the vent isolators.
On pages 7-8 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, Applicant argues against the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11, and 24 in view of BOEKCER and PFUEGER. On page 7 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant argues that the neither BOECKER and PFLUEGER teaches that each of the battery module layer includes a battery cold plate secured to the frame members. On page 7 Applicant argues that the spacers 12 of the battery module housing of PFLUEGER are the vent isolators, but the Applicant argues that the spacers are part of the battery module housing, and are not associated with the vent valve of the battery cell at all. Therefore Applicant argues that PFLUEGER fails to teach vent isolators coupled to the frame members.
New grounds of rejection are made in view of HIDAKA and CAI. HIDAKA then teaches a vent isolator, being the exhaust portion 50 (paragraph 0115). CAI then teaches a cold plate 93 located beneath each battery module 9page 11 lines 4-7 and Figure 8).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722