DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Appleby US 5,293,661.
Re claim 1, Appleby discloses an interdental brush system comprising:
an interdental brush receiver handle 3 comprising:
a handle section [end section in figs. 1-2 connected with grip 3b]; and
a receiver head [3a, 3b] attached to the handle section for retaining an interdental brush 10,
wherein the receiver head comprises a channel [surface 14 and ribs 16] for receiving the interdental brush 10, and
wherein the channel comprises at least one bend 16; and
an interdental brush comprising:
an interdental brush head 10, and a dimpled brush stem comprising at least one bend in accordance with the channel of the interdental brush receiver handle [when in the closed condition]. It is noted that an anticipation rejection has to be provided at least at one moment in time. In this case, in the closed condition the brush creates a dimpled brush stem.
Re claim 2, Appleby discloses an interdental brush head 10, and a dimpled brush stem comprising at least one bend configured in accordance with a channel of an interdental brush receiver handle to secure the interdental brush head in the interdental brush receiver handle [fig. 2]. It is noted that an anticipation rejection has to be provided at least at one moment in time. In this case, in the closed condition, the brush is a dimpled brush stem.
Re claim 7, wherein a shape of the dimpled brush stem comprises three bends 16.
Re claim 8, Appleby discloses a device 1 comprising:
a handle section [end section in figs. 1-2 connected to grip 3b]; and
a receiver head [3a, 3b] attached to the handle section for retaining an interdental brush 10,
wherein the receiver head comprises a channel [surface 14 and ribs 16] for receiving the interdental brush, and
wherein the channel comprises at least one bend 16.
Re claim 11, wherein the receiver head comprises a first opposing side 3b and wherein the first opposing side comprises the channel for receiving the interdental brush [surface 14].
Re claim 12, wherein the receiver head further comprises a second opposing side 3a configured to be detachably secured to the first opposing side 3b.
Re claim 13, wherein the first opposing side 3b and the second opposing side 3a further are connected with a living hinge 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appleby US 5,293,661 in view of Thornton US 2019/0290412.
Re claims 3-6, Appleby teaches the invention of claim 2 as discussed above but fail to teach wherein the interdental brush head comprises at least one nylon yarn strand, each strand comprising a plurality of filaments; wherein the interdental brush head comprises sets of nylon yarn strands alternating with sets of monofilament bristles; wherein the interdental brush head and the dimpled brush stem are formed using a twisted wire core; and wherein the interdental brush head comprises filaments having hydrophilic characteristics.
However, Thornton teaches an interdental brush head comprises at least one nylon yarn strand, each strand comprising a plurality of filaments 202 [fig. 2]; wherein the interdental brush head comprises sets of nylon yarn strands alternating [in combination] with sets of monofilament bristles [¶17, “[a]lthough various embodiments are described in this disclosure with respect to brushes having nylon yarn strands, it will be readily understood that an ergolinear handle may be used with any type of interdental brush, including but not limited to a brush comprising monofilament bristles, nylon yarn strands, and/or any combination of the foregoing”]; wherein the interdental brush head and the dimpled brush stem are formed using a twisted wire core [Abstract, “[s]ome embodiments of the present invention provide a novel, twisted-in-wire type interproximal brush equipped with yarn strands”]; and wherein the interdental brush head comprises filaments having hydrophilic characteristics [¶11, “[a]ccording to some embodiments of the present invention, the nylon filament yarn strands have advantageous hydrophilic characteristics”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thornton with the brush system of Appleby in order to yield the predictable results of combining known monofilaments bristles and twisted wire used in interdental brush, with the compression memory and hydrophilic characteristics of the nylon filament. The hydrophilic characteristic is able to deliver meaningful amounts of liquids, such as drugs, hydrogen peroxide, or chlorhexidine applied to the yarn strands of the brush for optimal benefit [¶11].
Re claims 9-10, Appleby teaches the invention of claim 8 as discussed above but fail to teach wherein the handle section comprises an ergolinear handle comprising at least two curved portions configured for respective placement of a user's fingers.
However, Thornton teaches the handle section comprises an ergolinear handle [fig. 2] comprising at least two curved portions [204, 206, 210] configured for respective placement of a user's fingers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ergolinear handle of Thornton with the brush system of Appleby in order to yield the predictable result of to have increase fine motor control [¶14].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art of Park KR 20080055955 A teaches an upper/lower body clamping hinge similar to Applicant’s clamping hinge.
The prior art of Schiffer DE 202009012010 U teaches a dimpled brush stem.
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723