DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s IDS of January 10, 2025, was not accompanied by a proper certification statement. None of the form checkboxes were ticked, nor was the statement signed and dated. See MPEP § 609 for the requirement to sign an IDS: “In order to have information considered by the Office during the pendency of a patent application, an information disclosure statement must be (1) in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.98, (2) filed in accordance with the procedural requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and (3) signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.33(b) (e.g., a separate signed page which references and accompanies the IDS).”
For this reason the IDS could not be formally acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are pending in this application. Claims 1-8 were amended by preliminary amendment.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The current title is SORTING DEVICE. While applicant discloses a machine they call a “resorting device”, no sorting (or “resorting”) functionality is claimed for it. Rather the device is claimed to have the function of transferring boxes to and from a transport vehicle. The following title is suggested: TRANSFER DEVICE. In the event applicant agrees with this title change, they may wish to rename their device as well, as its name is not apparently descriptive of its function. Even if applicant traverses this objection and maintains that their invention performs a sorting function, either the title should be RESORTING DEVICE or the device itself should be renamed “sorting device” in the claims and disclosure to be consistent with the title.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner would welcome an interview to clarify any of the various rejections seen below in order to expedite prosecution of the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s “resorting device” of claims 1 and 7-8 is interpreted in this office action as a “transfer device” because its only claimed functions are related to the transfer of boxes and not to sorting or “resorting” them.
Applicant repeatedly uses the term “preferably” in claims 1 and 7. All claim clauses following the word “preferably” are disregarded in this office action because a mere preference has no limiting force in claim language. See also rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below regarding the recitation of “in particular” and “particularly”. If applicant were to argue their “preferably” clauses should be regarded similarly to their “in particular” and “particularly” clauses, these “preferably” clauses would likewise be grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to the combination of broad and narrow range in the same claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 7 recite, “resorting device […] which is designed to take over a transport device…” (emphasis added). However, the instant specification provides no support for a resorting device “taking over” a transport device. Rather, in paragraphs [0004] and [0023]-[0024], a gripper is disclosed as “taking over” boxes from the transport device. Also see rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below. It appears that when applicant recites “take over” they actually mean “take”, but this objectionable issue of confused terminology is not the basis for this particular rejection; rather, the claims have omitted the boxes for which written support of taking actually exists. There is likewise no support for a resorting device “taking” a transport vehicle. Claims 2-8 inherit the lack of written support of claim 1, and claims 1-6 and 8 inherit the lack of written support of claim 7.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, no claim in the instant application is independent and in particular claims 1 and 7 are mutually dependent, forming a loop. This makes it impossible to establish definitely the scope of any claim and results in indefiniteness of the claims. For purposes of examination on the merits in this office action, we will suppose that claims 1 and 7 are independent. Therefore, in this office action the “resorting device” of claim 1 is not considered to be limited according to claim 7, nor is the system of claim 7 considered to be limited according to claim 1. This severing of dependencies applies very little change of interpretation in the instant application as claim 7 repeats verbatim many limitations of claim 1. Claims 2-8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and claims 1-6 and 8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 7.
Claims 1 and 7 are also rejected because a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitations:
a transport system
a resorting device
designed to take over a transport device
and claim 1 also recites:
in particular a rail arrangement
in particular according to claim 7
in particular via the transport system
which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitations:
The resorting device
from a storage system
at least one
and claim 7 also recites:
in particular for a storage system according to claim 1
in particular via a transport system or from a transport system
preferably at least two, particularly preferably any number/subset
which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
(The last example is also indefinite on the grounds of being self-contradictory).
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 2-8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and claims 1-6 and 8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 7.
Claims 1 and 7 are further rejected because they recite, “resorting device […] which is designed to take over a transport device…” (emphasis added). These claims are indefinite firstly because the lack of written support cited above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) calls into question the meaning of the claims, and secondly because the term “take over” means “assume control of”, whereas in applicant’s specification the suggestion seems to be made that boxes are transferred, i.e. simply taken, from the claimed transport device, not “taken over”. Again, confusion over applicant’s intention and meaning renders the claims indefinite. Because of the lack of written support we cannot consider these clauses as having limiting force in this office action, but if there were written support we would interpret “take over” as “take”. Claims 2-8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1, and claims 1-6 and 8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freundt, et al., EP 3241621 (hereinafter Freundt).
Regarding claim 1,
Freundt discloses:
A system (100) [system 1: fig. 1] for storing and organizing materials, comprising:
a storage area [storage areas 3a, 3c: fig. 1], with a plurality of levels, each comprising multiple storage locations (110) that are preferably arranged in rows in at least one horizontal direction, preferably two horizontal directions perpendicular to each other, and serve to accommodate boxes (101) [containers 10: fig. 1] in stacks [container stack 3: fig. 1] as storage locations for the materials,The “preferably” clause is disregarded in this office action.
at least one transport device (130) ) [conveyor 8a: fig. 1], which has a receiving area (131) for individual boxes (101) or a stack of boxes (101),As seen in fig. 1, conveyor 8a’s receiving area is its upper surface on which boxes such as 10a may be received from or picked by a gripper.
a transport system, in particular a rail arrangement, along which the at least one transport device (130) is movable from and/or to and/or within the storage system(s) (100) and is provided to be movable to individual boxes or stacks of boxes in the storage system (100) for their pickup,The transport system comprises all conveyors and lifts of fig. 1, including 4, 5, 7, and 8a. The “in particular” clause is disregarded in this office action.
and a resorting device (310/320) [sorting device 1: fig. 1], in particular according to claim 7 with a loading area (310) [selection access area 3b: fig. 1], which is designed to take over a transport device (130) with or without box(es) (101) from the storage system (100), in particular via the transport system,See claim objection and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) above. In this office action we disregard the reference to claim 7. This limitation is hard to interpret as we cannot find written support for a resorting device either taking or taking over a transport device. In this office action we interpret this limitation as requiring the claimed resorting device to mechanically access, interface, or dock with a transport device, possibly for the purpose of transferring boxes to or from the transfer device. Freundt discloses in fig. 1 and [0023] that gripper system 40 (comprising grippers 41-42) mechanically accesses and interfaces with the transport device.
at least one first gripper (320) [gripper 41: fig. 1] and one second gripper (320), [gripper 42: fig. 1] which are designed to independently pick up and hold at least one, preferably at least two, particularly preferably any number/subset of boxes from a stack of boxes [container stack 3: fig. 1] from the transport device (130) in the loading area (310), and are further designed to return the respectively picked up box(es) (101) to the transport device (130) located in the loading area (310) or another transport device (130) in the loading area (310),Freundt teaches this method throughout its lengthy disclosure, but in particular the action of the grippers is taught in [0022]-[0023] and the insertion of a box into a stack of boxes via gripper is taught in [0050].
a movable deposit device [lifting device 4: fig. 1], which is provided in the loading area (310) or as part of it and is vertically movable ([0036]) to be accessible to the first and second gripper (320), and that the first and second gripper (320) are movably mounted, preferably horizontally, between a retracted holding position, in which the at least one box can be temporarily stored on one of the grippers (320), and a pickup position presented to the deposit device, for picking up and depositing at least one box (101) from/to the deposit device.Freundt teaches a lifting device 4 (deposit device) that is vertically movable per [0036]. Freundt’s grippers must be movable or they could not grip boxes and insert them into stacks as taught for example in [0050]. The position of [0050] in which a box is classified by a gripper bearing a RFID scanner is at least one example of the claimed retracted holding position, while the claimed pickup position is the position from which a gripper picks boxes in the first place and/or stores them again at the end of processing.
Regarding claim 2,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 1 and also:
characterized in that the first and second gripper (320) are arranged at a 90 or 180 [degree] angle to each other opposite the loading area. The meaning of “angle” is vague in the context of this limitation. We consider that Freundt’s two grippers 40 and 41 of fig. 1 are arranged at a 180 degree angle with respect to one another around a central point between them.
Regarding claim 3,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 1 and also:
characterized in that the first and second gripper (320) are arranged in a common horizontal plane. The common horizontal plane is seen in fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 1 and also:
characterized in that the loading area (310) is horizontally aligned with the transport system in a starting position, thereby providing a transition of a transport device (130) from the transport system (420) to the loading area. The claimed arrangement of 3b and 8a is seen in fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 1 and also:
characterized in that the starting position is arranged above or below the pickup position for the grippers (320).The claimed arrangement of grippers 40 and loading area starting position of 3b and 8a is depicted in fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 1 and also:
characterized in that the grippers (320) are designed to be laterally presented to a box in the loading area or have elements which can be laterally presented to a box in the loading area, whereby it can be picked up by the gripper (320) or aligned relative to a box underneath. Freundt teaches in [0038] that its intermediate storage area 20 is within the action radius of grippers 40. As seen in fig. 1, area 20 is not presently below either gripper, and so the individual grippers 41 and 42 must be able to move laterally on the unnumbered track or gantry that connects them if they are to access area 20. Such movable hoist-type grippers are well known and of long standing in the art.
Regarding claim 7,
Freundt discloses:
The resorting device [sorting device 1: fig. 1], in particular for a storage system (100) according to claim 1, As noted above, in this office action we consider claim 7 to be independent of claim 1.
with a loading area (310) [selection access area 3b: fig. 1], which is designed to take over a transport device (130) [feeding device 5: fig. 1] with or without box(es) (101) [containers 10: fig. 1] in stacks [container stack 3: fig. 1] from a storage system (100) [storage areas 3a, 3c: fig. 1], in particular via a transport system, or from a transport system
at least one first gripper (320) [gripper 41: fig. 1] and one second gripper (320) [gripper 42: fig. 1], which are designed to independently pick up and hold at least one, preferably at least two, particularly preferably any number/subset of boxes from a stack of boxes from a transport device (130) in the loading area (310), and are further designed to return the respectively picked up box(es) (101) to the transport device (130) located in the loading area (310) or another transport device (130) in the loading area,
a movable deposit device [lifting device 4: fig. 1], which is provided in the loading area (310) or as part of it and is vertically movable ([0036]) to be accessible to the first and second gripper (320),
and that the first and second gripper (320) are movably mounted, preferably horizontally, between a retracted holding position, in which the at least one box can be temporarily stored on one of the grippers (320), and a pickup position presented to the deposit device, for picking up and depositing at least one box (101) from/to the deposit device. Freundt teaches a lifting device 4 (deposit device) that is vertically movable per [0036]. Freundt’s grippers must be movable or they could not grip boxes and insert them into stacks as taught for example in [0050]. The position of [0050] in which a box is classified by a gripper bearing a RFID scanner is at least one example of the claimed retracted holding position, while the claimed pickup position is the position from which a gripper picks boxes in the first place and/or stores them again at the end of processing.
Regarding claim 8,
Freundt discloses the limitations of claim 7 and also:
characterized in that the grippers (320) are designed to be laterally presented to a box in the loading area or have elements which can be laterally presented to a box in the loading area, whereby it can be picked up by the gripper (320) or aligned relative to a box underneath.Freundt teaches in [0038] that its intermediate storage area 20 is within the action radius of grippers 40. As seen in fig. 1, area 20 is not presently below either gripper, and so the individual grippers 41 and 42 must be able to move laterally on the unnumbered track or gantry that connects them if they are to access area 20. Such movable hoist-type grippers are well known and of long standing in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0032031 teaches a typical example of dense-grid storage systems that are similar to the storage aspects of applicant’s invention and could have been cited in obviousness rejections of those limitations. KR 20170134837 teaches a sorting system with two grippers that could also have been cited as a reference in the prior art rejections above. US 11,407,601 similarly teaches several aspects of applicant’s invention.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
LAURENCE RAPHAEL BROTHERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3655A
/L.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3655