DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the application.
Claim 15 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0161750 A1 to Racicot in view of US 2010/0188569 A1 to Meiners et al.
As to claims 1 and 11, Racicot discloses an apparatus [a method] for combining a plurality of serialised video streams from a plurality of different video sources, each serialised video stream being received over a different communication channel (see fig.1; page.1,¶0010), the apparatus comprising: a receiver configured to separately receive each of the plurality of serialised video streams (see fig.1; page.1,¶0012-¶0013); a plurality of buffers, each buffer configured to buffer at least the active pixels of a received frame line of a serialised frame of one of the plurality of received video streams (see page.1,¶0017,¶0021); one or more processors configured (see fig.1), for each respective group of active pixels in a completely received frame line of pixels in a received frame of a received serialised video stream, to: assign a video source indicator to the respective group of active pixels (see fig.1; page.1,¶0017);and a transmitter configured to onwardly transmit the generated data structures of the plurality of received serialised video streams over the a common channel (see fig.1; page.2,¶0019).
Racicot fails explicitly discloses generate a data structure comprising the respective group of active pixels, the video source indicator assigned to the respective group of active pixels, and a frame line position indicator for the respective group of active pixels, the data structure omitting at least one blanking pixel of the completely received frame line.
Meiners discloses generate a data structure comprising the respective group of active pixels, the video source indicator assigned to the respective group of active pixels, and a frame line position indicator for the respective group of active pixels, the data structure omitting at least one blanking pixel of the completely received frame line (see fig.6 and 7; page.3,¶0044, ¶0046-¶0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Racicot with the teaching as taught by Meiners in order to accommodate delays in selecting and dispatching data from buffers.
As to claim 2, Racicot further discloses wherein the transmitter is configured to pause transmission after a respective data structure from a first video source has been transmitted until a next data structure from a second video source or from the first video source is ready for transmission (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 3, Meiners further discloses wherein the video source indicator identifies a spatial relationship between at least two of the plurality of video sources(see fig.6; page.3,¶0044).
As to claim 4, Racicot further discloses wherein the video source indicator and the frame line position indicator are included in a header of a respective data structure, and wherein a bit size of the header is matched to a parallel width of a serialiser of the transmitter configured to combine the data structures from the plurality of different video sources into one an outgoing serialised video stream (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 5, Racicot further discloses wherein the data structures from the plurality of video sources are interleaved by the serialiser in the outgoing serialised video stream (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 6, Racicot further discloses wherein at least one received serialised video stream is received over a respective communication channel having one or more of: a different data rate; or a different video resolution; to a data rate or a video resolution of at least another communication channel via which another received video stream is received (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 7, Racicot further discloses wherein none of the blanking pixels of received video frame lines are included in the onwardly transmitted data structures (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 8, Racicot further discloses wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the outgoing generated data structures of the plurality of received serialised video streams over the common channel along a wired link and/or over a wireless communication channel to an apparatus configured to cause a display of received video data (see fig.1; page.2,¶0019).
As to claims 9 and 14, Racicot discloses a viewing apparatus [a method for viewing a plurality of serialized video] comprising: a receiver configured to receive a serialised video stream comprising a plurality of data structures (see page.2,¶0019-¶0020), each data structure comprising an active pixel group, a source indicator assigned to the active pixel group, and a frame line position indicator assigned to the active pixel group (see page.1,¶0017,¶0019,¶0026).
Racicot fails explicitly discloses one or more processors configured to: generate a complete line of video data by adding one or more blanking pixels to each active pixel group of a respective data structure until a next data structure comprising a next active pixel group in the serialised video stream is received; and cause the complete line of video data to be output for presentation on a display associated with the source indictor of the complete line of video data at a position in a video frame indicated by the frame line position indicator assigned to the active pixel group of the complete line of video data.
Meiners discloses one or more processors configured to: generate a complete line of video data by adding one or more blanking pixels to each active pixel group of a respective data structure until a next data structure comprising a next active pixel group in the serialised video stream is received; and cause the complete line of video data to be output for presentation on a display associated with the source indictor of the complete line of video data at a position in a video frame indicated by the frame line position indicator assigned to the active pixel group of the complete line of video data (see fig.6 and 7; page.3,¶0044, ¶0046-¶0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Racicot with the teaching as taught by Fudge in order to output for display of the image represented thereby the selected image display format.
As to claim 10, Meiners further discloses wherein the received serialised video stream is processed by one or more processors to add a variable number of blanking pixels for output as a continuous serialised video stream to the display (see fig.7; page.4,¶0047).
As to claim 12, Racicot further discloses after each data structure has been transmitted, determining whether another data structure from another frame line of another serialized frame originating from another one of the plurality of video sources is ready for onwards transmission, and based upon determining that the another data structure is ready for onwards transmission, onwardly transmitting the another data structure from the another one of the plurality of video sources over the common channel (see page.2,¶0019).
As to claim 13, Racicot further discloses after a respective data structure has been transmitted: determining that there is no other data structure from any of the plurality of video sources that is ready for transmission; pausing transmission until another data structure from one of the plurality of video sources is ready for transmission; and onwardly transmitting the another data structure over the common channel (see page.2,¶0019).
Conclusion
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424