DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0043335) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0157265).
Consider claim 1. Kobayashi et al. discloses a stereoscopic image display device comprising: an image generation unit that generates a light field image at a predetermined viewpoint position (para. 0168 describes selecting a predetermined viewpoint from the viewpoint of the input image); and an image display unit that displays an image having a depth in each of both eyes of a user on a basis of the light field image (para. 0179 describes an image display unit that displays an image having a depth in each of both eyes of a user).
However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose a stereoscopic image display device comprising: an image generation unit that generates a light field image at a predetermined viewpoint position; and an image display unit that displays an image having a depth in each of both eyes of a user on a basis of the light field image
Lee et al. teaches wherein the image display unit has a plurality of stacked display surfaces, and the plurality of display surfaces includes at least one first display surface and at least one second display surface having a higher light transmittance than the first display surface (para. 0059 describes a stacked display, including monochrome and color panels, with the monochrome panels having a higher transmittance than the color panels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, wherein the image display unit has a plurality of stacked display surfaces, and the plurality of display surfaces includes at least one first display surface and at least one second display surface having a higher light transmittance than the first display surface, in order to alleviate a color distortion as suggested by the prior art.
Consider claim 2. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein the second display surface is a monochrome display surface (para. 0057 describes a monochrome panel).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 3. . Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein two or more of the plurality of display surfaces are the first display surfaces (para. 0059 describes a stacked display, including monochrome and color panels).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 4. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein two or more of the plurality of display surfaces are the second display surfaces (para. 0059 describes a stacked display, including monochrome and color panels).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 5. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein light incident on the both eyes is transmitted through the second display surface and the first display surface in this order (fig. 1 shows that the image light is transmitted in the order of the third panel (130) and the first panel (110)).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 6. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein a resolution of each of the plurality of display surfaces is different (para. 0057 describes a monochrome panel).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 7. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of display surfaces includes a spatial light modulator (para. 0050 describes an LCD panel)
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 8. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of display surfaces includes an LCD (para. 0050 describes an LCD panel).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 9. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of display surfaces includes an OLED (para. 0051 describes an OLED panel)
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 13. Lee et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a shape acquisition unit that images a stereoscopic shape to obtain stereoscopic information, wherein the image generation unit generates the light field image on a basis of the stereoscopic information (paras. 0054-0056 describes generating the light field image on a basis of the stereoscopic information).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Consider claim 14. Kobayashi et al. discloses the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 13, wherein the stereoscopic information includes luminance information, depth information, or both of the luminance information and the depth information (para. 0179 describes displaying an image having a depth in each of both eyes of a user).
Consider claim 15. Kobayashi et al. discloses the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 1, wherein the display surface is a head mounted display disposed in front of the both eyes (para. 0183 describes glasses for 3D viewing).
Claim 16 is rejected using similar reasoning as corresponding claim 1 above.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0043335) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0157265) in further view of Hua et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0283431).
Consider claim 10. Kobayashi et al. and Lee et al. teaches all claimed limitations as stated above, except wherein the image display unit further includes an eyepiece.
However, Hua et al. teaches wherein the image display unit further includes an eyepiece (para. 0037 describes an eyepiece).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, wherein the image display unit further includes an eyepiece, in order to optimize high-performance light field displays as suggested the prior art.
Consider claim 11. Hua et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 10, wherein the image generation unit corrects the light field image according to a magnification or an aberration of the eyepiece, or both of the magnification and the aberration (para. 0041 describes an eyepiece is inserted to further magnify the 3D scene). The motivation to combine is the same as stated above in claim 10.
Consider claim 12. Hua et al. teaches the stereoscopic image display device according to claim 10, wherein the eyepiece is a freeform surface prism (para. 0077 describes wherein the eyepiece is a freeform surface prism). The motivation to combine is the same as stated above in claim 10.
Conclusion
/MISHAWN N. HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484