DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment to the claims of application #18993019 received on 3/31/2026. Claims 2-3 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 4-5 and 7-20 are previously presented. Claims 1-20 are pending. All pending claims are considered and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axalto (EP 1544787 A1; provided by Applicant IDS) in view of Finn (US 20180341847 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Axalto discloses (Fig. 5) an integrated circuit card e.g. contactless/dual interface card, uses switch to connect/disconnect pads of antenna comprising:
a device body having a first surface (Fig. 5);
an RFID antenna embedded in the device body and having a coupling portion (¶25, ¶34); and
a switch module 53a mounted to the device body at a position corresponding to the coupling portion (¶24-¶25), the switch module including:
an actuation portion provided on the first surface (Fig. 5, ¶25 – card holder applies some local pressure to the switch 57, as indicated by the arrows);
an integrated circuit 53b configured to perform RFID communications (¶24-¶25); and
a switching portion configured to couple the integrated circuit to the RFID antenna via the coupling portion upon actuation of the actuation portion by a user (¶25).
Axalto does not explicitly disclose wherein the switch module includes a coupling antenna; wherein the coupling portion is formed by one or more coupling sections of the RFID antenna surrounding at least in part the coupling antenna; and wherein the switching portion is configured to inductively couple the integrated circuit to the RFID antenna by electrically connecting the integrated circuit to the coupling antenna upon actuation of the actuation portion.
Finn teaches (Fig. 1) a smartcard with coupling frame antenna comprising: a module 110 carrying a chip 114 and a coupling coil 116 for coupling the module with an antenna 132 and antenna coupling coil 134 in the card body 120 (¶141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the antenna switch of Axalto to the module booster antenna of Finn by including an antenna switch for each antenna that can be switched on/off in order to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having both benefits.
Regarding claim 2, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein: the RFID antenna is an open-circuit RFID antenna including a first terminal end 51a and a second terminal end 51b forming the coupling portion; the switch module includes a first switch contact electrically connected to the first terminal end and a second switch contact electrically connected to the second terminal end; and the switching portion is configured to electrically couple the integrated circuit to the RFID antenna by electrically connecting the integrated circuit to the first switch contact and the second switch contact upon actuation of the actuation portion (Axalto: ¶25).
Regarding claim 4, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein at least the integrated circuit and the switching portion are provided on a common support integrated with the device body (Axalto: Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the switching portion includes a first electrically conducting switch terminal electrically connected to the integrated circuit, and an electrically conducting flexible member configured to be brought into contact with the first electrically conducting switch terminal upon actuation of the actuation portion (Axalto: Figs. 9A, 9B; ¶36-¶37).
Regarding claim 6, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the actuation portion is formed as a cover for the electrically conducting flexible member, wherein the actuation portion is in contact with the electrically conducting flexible member (Axalto: Figs. 9A, 9B; ¶36-¶37).
Regarding claim 7, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the switching portion includes a second electrically conducting switch terminal electrically connected to the integrated circuit and the electrically conducting flexible member (Axalto: Figs. 9A, 9B; ¶36-¶37).
Regarding claim 8, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the switch module includes a switch housing 53 accommodating at least the integrated circuit and the switching portion, the switch module being mounted on the first surface or, at least in part, in a recess 52a/52b formed in the first surface (Axalto: ¶24).
Regarding claim 9, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the switch module includes a substrate 54, at least the integrated circuit and the switching portion being provided on the substrate, wherein the substrate is formed as an insulating sheet laminated with a plurality of layers forming the device body (Axalto: ¶24).
Regarding claim 14, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above and further discloses an RFID system comprising: an RFID reader; and one or more RFID devices (Axalto: ¶8; ¶23) in accordance with claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 14 above and further teaches wherein the RFID system is an access control system, and the RFID device is configured to transmit an access code (Finn: ¶30, ¶94) to the RFID reader upon actuation of the actuation portion of the switch module (Axalto: ¶25).
Regarding claim 16, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the actuation portion is formed as a cover for the electrically conducting flexible member, wherein the actuation portion is configured to deflect towards the electrically conducting switch terminal upon actuation of the actuation portion (Axalto: Figs. 9A, 9B; ¶36-¶37).
Regarding claim 17, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 7 above and further discloses wherein the switching portion includes an insulating portion provided between the first electrically conducting switch terminal and the electrically conducting flexible member and supporting the electrically conducting flexible member (Axalto: Figs. 9A, 9B; ¶36-¶37).
Regarding claim 18, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 14 above and further teaches a centralized data processing device in communication with the RFID reader, wherein the RFID reader is configured to transmit a code (Finn: ¶30, ¶94), transmitted from the RFID device upon actuation of the actuation portion of the switch module, to the centralized data processing device (Axalto: ¶25).
Regarding claim 19, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 14 above and further teaches a centralized data processing device in communication with the RFID reader, wherein the RFID reader is configured to transmit a code, transmitted from the RFID device upon actuation of an actuation portion of the switch module, to the centralized data processing device (Finn: ¶30, ¶94; Axalto: ¶25).
Axalto modified by Finn as applied to claim 14 does not explicitly teach a plurality of switch modules; and one or more actuation portions of the plurality of switch modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the antenna switch of Axalto modified by Finn by including an antenna switch for each antenna that can be switched on/off in order to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having both benefits.
Claim(s) 10-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axalto modified by Finn in view of Phillips (US 20090065587 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Axalto modified by Finn teaches the apparatus of claim 1 above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the RFID device includes a plurality of switch modules mounted to the device body and being configured to be selectively coupled to the RFID antenna upon actuation of their respective actuation portions.
Phillips teaches (Fig. 13A-13E) an identification token and method of making identification token comprising: Providing a card 502 with a plurality of modules 204 designed to operate with different applications (¶131, ¶152-¶155). Each module 204 can be selected by pressing a corresponding tactile input device 1350 such a dome switch (¶155). Clearly, each module 204 would comprise a unique identification number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the antenna switch of Axalto with the plurality of selections as taught by Phillips by having a plurality of switches for each selected option in order to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having both benefits.
Regarding claim 11, Axalto modified by Finn and Phillips teaches the apparatus of claim 10 above and further teaches wherein each switch module is associated with one of a plurality of different applications (Phillips: ¶131, ¶152-¶155).
Regarding claim 12, Axalto modified by Finn and Phillips teaches the apparatus of claim 10 above and further teaches wherein each switch module includes a unique identifier, and the integrated circuit of each switch module is configured to transmit the associated unique identifier upon interrogation by an RFID reader and actuation of the corresponding actuation portion (Phillips: ¶131, ¶152-¶155).
Regarding claim 13, Axalto modified by Finn and Phillips teaches the apparatus of claim 10 above and further teaches wherein the plurality of switch modules comprises between 2 and 15 switch modules (Phillips: ¶131, ¶152-¶155).
Regarding claim 20, Axalto modified by Finn and Phillips teaches the apparatus of claim 19 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the RFID system is an access control system, and the RFID device is configured to transmit an access code to the RFID reader upon at least one of successive or simultaneous actuation of two or more of the one or more actuation portions.
Phillips teaches (Fig. 13A-13E): Providing a card 502 with a plurality of modules 204 designed to operate with different applications (¶131, ¶152-¶155). Each module 204 can be selected by pressing a corresponding tactile input device 1350 such a dome switch (¶155). Clearly, each module 204 would comprise a unique identification number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the antenna switch of Axalto modified by Finn with the plurality of selections as taught by Phillips by having a plurality of switches for each selected option in order to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having both benefits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Finn at least does not teach or suggest a “switching portion [] configured to … electrically connect [] the integrated circuit to the coupling antenna upon actuation of the actuation portion”. However, this assertion has no bearing on the reasons for rejection. The rejection of claim 3 of the previous Office Action is based on modifying the switchable antenna of Axalto with teachings of a switchable booster antenna from Finn. Axalto discloses a switching portion configured to couple the integrated circuit to the RFID antenna via the coupling portion upon actuation of the actuation portion by a user (¶25). Finn teaches (Fig. 1) a smartcard with coupling frame antenna comprising: a module 110 carrying a chip 114 and a coupling coil 116 for coupling the module with an antenna 132 and antenna coupling coil 134 in the card body 120 (¶141). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the antenna switch of Axalto to the module booster antenna of Finn by including an antenna switch for each antenna that can be switched on/off in order to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of having both benefits. By adapting the antenna switch of Axalto to couple other antennas, like the switchable booster antenna of Finn (Finn: ¶70. ¶73), users are able to control multiple levels of communications from the card device. So, Finn is not relied upon to teach actuating to switch on a booster antenna, but rather teaching a switchable booster antenna in order to combine with the actuated to switch on main antenna of Axalto. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN C LY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876