DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 10 January 2025.
Claims 1-12 are cancelled.
Claims 13-24 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN US 2016/0309538 A1 in view of Das US 2016/0197776 A1.
As to claim 13, CHEN discloses substantially the invention as claimed, including a method comprising:
setting up, by a control system (Figure 1, the telematics unit 30) of a vehicle (Figure 1, the vehicle 24) with a first access point (Figure 1, the private APN of the telematics unit 30 may be designated as “backend APN, [20], [29]), a connection for a service channel (Telematics unit 30 can be an OEM-installed (embedded) or aftermarket device that is installed in the vehicle and that enables wireless voice and/or data communication over wireless carrier system 12 and via wireless networking This enables the vehicle 24 to communicate with backend system 16, ASP 18, other telematics-enabled vehicles (not shown), or some other entity or device. Telematics unit 30 preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel (a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 12 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel, or via a voice channel using techniques known in the art, [23]) between a vehicle manufacturer (OEM) and an Internet service provider (APN), wherein the control system is configured to maintain at least two access points (two or more Access Point Names (APNs), [9]), wherein the at least two access points include the first access point and a second access point (Figure 1, the public APN designated as “consumer_APN”), [9], [10], [20], [29]), and wherein the second access point provides a further channel Figure 1, the public APN designated as “consumer_APN”), [9], [10], [20], [29]);
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclosed the claimed elements of “collecting, by the control system prior to using the further channel, user-related data, wherein the user-related data is known to the control system or is accessible, via the service channel, to the control system on a server external to the vehicle of the vehicle manufacturer”; and “extracting, after collecting the user-related data and from the collected user-related data, parameters required for establishing an Internet connection via the further channel”; “transmitting, by the control system, the extracted parameters to the Internet service provider; and “transmitting, by the control system, via the first access point”.
Das discloses in Figures 4-6 and [37],[39],[43],[45],[49],[52] that, “collecting, by the control system (Figure 1, the telematics unit 30) prior to using the further channel, user-related data (the identity and credentials for the telematics unit 30, [37]), wherein the user-related data is known to the control system or is accessible (Figures 2, 3, the identity and credentials for the telematics unit 30 in order to access the LTE network 210, [37]), via the service channel, to the control system on a server (Figures 2,3, the network node 220 or the network address server [18]) external to the vehicle of the vehicle manufacturer”; and “extracting, after collecting the user-related data and from the collected user-related data, parameters required for establishing an Internet connection via the further channel”; “transmitting, by the control system, the extracted parameters to the Internet service provider; and “transmitting, by the control system, via the first access point (The vehicle 12 establish a communication path (or tunnel) between the vehicle 12 (or more specifically the telematics unit 30) and the network for data transfer. In this step, the telematics unit 30 may provide a default APN (or default internet APN) to the S-GW 252 that includes, among other things, the identity and credentials of the telematics unit in order to access the LTE network..,; The telematics unit 30 is then able to access the Internet on the basis of the default Internet APN ([37], [43]); and “In step 405, the public ASP 212’ may provide vehicle services to the telematics unit 30 such as application specific interactions and data. This may include internet content provided the public ASP recognizes and associates the default internet APN (and its information) as being from the source lawfully suitable to receive it content...[45])” and “the telematics unit 30 has two Internet APNs – the private Internet APN that is never changed and the default internet APN that may be changed [48]”.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the wireless communication art before the effective filing date of the claimed to have modified Das’s teachings of the identity and credentials of the telematics unit in the user vehicle with the teachings of TCHEN’s, for the purpose of enabling the controller in the telematics unit to access to the Internet based on the preset Internet APN.
As to claim 14, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the extracted parameters comprise at least user identification data for setting up the second access point (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [37], the identity and credentials of the telematics unit of the user vehicle for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 15, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the extracted parameters comprise at least one technical variable for setting up the second access point (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [37], the identity and credentials of the telematics unit of the user vehicle for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 16, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the control system predicts an amount of data required for the further channel and uses the predicted amount of data as the technical variable (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [37], [45]-[47], the capability to wireless send and receive voice and data , regional calling capability or restrictions, various calling features (call forwarding, call waiting , etc.) in the subscription service period of the telematics unit of the vehicle user for the purpose of setting up the accessing the APN).
As to claim 17, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the extracted parameters comprise a country of a vehicle registration (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [45]-[47], [54]-[55], the vehicle registration of the user vehicle in home country or in different country dealership for the purpose of setting up the accessing the APN).
As to claim 18, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein at least one of the extracted parameters (legal transfer or title) is determined by analysis of previous user behavior (traffic violations), present boundary conditions, or preinstalled applications (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [45]-[47], the legality of accessing the streaming content of the user vehicle for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 19, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein after user authentication has been performed, the control system generates a parameter suitable for authentication (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [45]-[47], the user subscription period or whenever the user is authorized to receive content data via the telematics unit of the user vehicle for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 20, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein data required for creating the parameters, which is not known to the control system or is not accessible to the control system, are requested from a vehicle user (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, [46], [47], the querying parameters that are not able to be determined automatically from the vehicle user for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 21, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein in order to allow the extracted parameters to be transmitted via the first access point, access data to a required Internet addresses is allowed via an exception list (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in wireless communication art that the first APN should otherwise be restricted only to “Private”/ vehicle manufacturer-specific services for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 22, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the control system strictly separates data transfer via the service channel and data transfer via the further channel after completion of a setup of the second access point (Das, Figures 4-6 and associated paragraphs, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in wireless communication technologies that the first APN should otherwise be restricted only to “Private”/ vehicle manufacturer-specific services from the data transferred via the further channel once configured for the purpose of setting the accessing the APN).
As to claim 23, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the control system is implemented at least partially on the server external to the vehicle (Das, the network address server (Das, [18]; CHEN, [24]) for providing service channel to the telematics unit 30 of the user vehicle).
As to claim 24, CHEN-Das discloses, wherein the control system is implemented at least partially in a computing unit (Das, the processor 52, [19]; CHEN, the processor 64, [25]) of the vehicle (Das, Figures 1-3 and associated paragraphs, the processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in the memory 54, which enable the telematics unit 30 to provide a wide variety of services). .
The prior art cited in this Office action are CHEN US 2016/0309538 A1; and Das US 2016/0197776 A1.
Conclusion
/HAI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649