DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajihara (US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0084503).
Regarding claim 1, Kajihara discloses a cable holding device, comprising: a body (20) extending in a specific plane and comprising: an attachment section (at a front portion thereof for instance) configured to, with the specific plane facing a seating surface of a seat of a vehicle, attach the body to a seat component of the seat (i.e. the backrest); and a lock (at least 42) configured to lock at least a portion of a cable (41) provided for the seat, and wherein the body has a space in a central area facing a central portion of a seating area of the seating surface (see figures).
Regarding claim 2, Kajihara further discloses the seat component comprises: a cushion pad (of 3) on the seating surface; and a cushion pad support (16 for instance) supporting the cushion pad, and wherein the body is so shaped as to be positioned below and near the cushion pad support (it is view as such at the very least in part).
Regarding claim 4, Kajihara further discloses the body is bent in a C shape extending in the specific plane and having a central space as the central area (this is the general shape see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajihara. Kajihara discloses a device as explained above including the body having a central space as the central area but may not clearly discloses a loop shape. Changes in shape require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shape as claimed based on normal variation because this could improve integrity or support for various users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636