DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajihara (US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0084503).
Regarding claim 1, Kajihara discloses a cable holding device, comprising: a body (20) extending in a specific plane and comprising: an attachment section (at a front portion thereof for instance) configured to, with the specific plane facing a seating surface of a seat of a vehicle, attach the body to a seat component of the seat (i.e. the backrest), seat component comprising a cushion pad (of 3; see at least paragraph 25) on the seating surface and a cushion pad support (14 and/or 16 for instance) supporting the cushion pad from below (at least in part); and a lock (at least 42) configured to lock at least a portion of a cable (41) provided for the seat, and wherein the body has a space in a central area facing a central portion of a seating area of the seating surface (see figures), the body being positioned below and near the cushion pad support (it is view as such at the very least in part; see figures).
Regarding claim 4, Kajihara further discloses the body is bent in a C shape extending in the specific plane and having a central space as the central area (this is the general shape see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajihara. Kajihara discloses a device as explained above including the body having a central space as the central area but may not clearly discloses a loop shape. Changes in shape require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shape as claimed based on normal variation because this could improve integrity or support for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Kajihara does not disclose a holding device positioned below a seating surface. While Appliant’s analysis of Kajihara’s arrangement within the back frame is appreciated, it is maintained that the arrangement anticipates the current claim language. Note that at least the forward-facing portion of the seat back would form a seating surface (which could be defined variously thereon) and the body is positioned below and near members of the frame that form a cushion pad support. Though the arrangement may differ somewhat from the invention, it nevertheless meets the limitations as currently set forth.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636