DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “light supply unit” and “light transfer unit” in claim 6.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 4 recites “module 42” which should be amended to delete the reference number
claim 5 recites “mask unit m” which should be amended to delete “m”
claim 6 recites “the LED” which should be “the LEDs”
claim 7, in line 13 recites the “inner light-blocking member” which should be the “inner light-blocking unit”
claim 7 recites “the LED” which should be “the LEDs”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “a distance between the combination LED module to be installed in the mask unit and the surface of the skin to be cared ensures that 50% of the light irradiation output is irradiated to the skin surface” lack sufficient written description. It is unclear how 50% of light irradiation output is irradiated to the skin surface based on the distance. This would depend on the other properties of the light irradiation including the beam angle. Presumably unless the distance is so great that light extend beyond the boundaries of the face 100% of the light would still reach the skin surface. In the claimed mask it does not appear possible for only 50% of the light to reach the skin.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the combination LED modules are installed on the substrate at intervals of 14 to 20 mm from each other taking a curvature of a facial area into account while ensuring that the internal temperature of the mask unit does not exceed 41 to 43 °C” lacks sufficient written description. The original disclosure does disclose how the spacing interval alone would ensure that the mask unit does not exceed 41 to 43°C. The intensity of the LED modules and the skin type would also affect heat retention. The original disclosure also does no describe how the curvature of the facial area is taken into account when implementing the interval.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 6 positively requires a human face in the limitation “wherein the mask unit comprises an inner mask unit put on a user's face.” The examiner suggests amending to “configured to be put on a user’s face.”
Claims 7-9 depend from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lay et al. (US 2021/0370090).
[Claim 1] Lay discloses a light emitting diode (LED) mask for personal combination stimulation, comprising:
a mask unit (mask, #10) to be put on a face of a user [par. 0259]; and
a light irradiation unit (LED PCB assembly, Fig. 33 #22)installed in the mask unit and comprising a plurality of LEDs (Fig. 33 #36-1, 36-2) arranged on a substrate (substrate, Fig. 33 #38) [pars. 0259, 0297],
wherein the LEDs comprise multiple types of LED chips (first LED light sources, Fig. 33 #36-1 and second LED light sources, Fig. 33 #36-2) to emit light of different wavelengths [par. 0297], and the multiple types of LED chips are configured as a combination LED module in a single support structure and arranged on the substrate [pars. 0259, 0297].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lay et al. (US 2021/0370090) as applied to claim 1 above.
[Claim 2] Lay discloses the combination LED module comprises a first LED chip for a wavelength of 625 to 635 nm (second light source emit light in the range of 610 nm to 630 nm), and a second LED chip for a wavelength of 845 to 855 nm (first light source emit light in the range of 840-860 nm), which are configured in the single support structure [par. 0297]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a wavelength of 625 to 635 nm and a wavelength of 845 to 855 nm because one in the art would have chosen from within the suitable operating wavelength range taught by Lay for providing light therapy.
[Claim 3] Lay discloses the first LED chip has a light irradiance output of 10 mW/cm2± 20% for a wavelength of 630 nm, and the second LED chip has a light irradiance output of 10 mW/cm2± 20% for a wavelength of 850 nm (each of the first and second radiant flux maybe in the range from 1 mW/cm2 to 60 mW/cm2 including 10 mw/cm2) [par. 0015, 0123], and the number of combination LED modules to be arranged ensures that the internal temperature of the mask unit rising due to heat generation caused by light emission does not exceed 41 to 43°C (thermal foldback protection may be provided at a threshold temperature (e.g., >42° Celsius) to prevent a user from experiencing bums or discomfort; thermal foldback protection may trigger a light-emitting device to terminate operation, reduce current, or change an operating state in response to receipt of a signal indicating an excess temperature condition) [par. 0168] and a distance between the combination LED module to be installed in the mask unit and the surface of the skin to be cared (the LEDs are spaced from the face)
Lay does not specifically disclose the number of LED modules causes the temperature to not exceed 41 to 43°C. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention that the disclosed thermal foldback protection that adjusts emission from the LED modules would take into account the number of LED modules to prevent exceeding the temperature limit for discomfort of 42°C. Lay also does not specifically disclose the distance between he LED module and skin surface ensures that 50% of the light irradiation output is irradiated to the skin surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select the emission parameters of LEDs and distance from the face to ensure a desired amount of light for a particular treatment reaches the face including at least 50%.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lay et al. (US 2021/0370090) as applied to claim 3 above in view of Belkowski (US 2023/0010922).
[Claim 4] Lay does not disclose the combination LED module has a light irradiation angle of 120° and the distance between the combination LED module and the surface of the skin to be cared is 10 mm ± 10%.
Belkowski discloses an analogous light therapy device comprising LED light sources (#150). The LED light sources may emit with a beam angle between 120 and 135 degrees [pars. 0148, 0246]. The LED light sources may be various distances from the target including 0-1 cm (i.e. 10 mm) based on the intensity of light and the required target treatment parameters [par. 0151].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use LEDs with a light irradiation angle (beam angle) of 120° and at a distance of 10 mm ± 10% in the mask of Lay as taught by Belkowski in order to provide the proper combination of angle, distance, and intensity to generate the light parameters required for treatment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lay et al. (US 2021/0370090) in view of Belkowski (US 2023/0010922) as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Morita et al. (US 2020/0179711) and Moffat (US 2018/0353770).
[Claim 5] Lay in view of Belkowski discloses the combination LED modules are installed on the substrate taking a curvature of a facial area into account (see Fig. 33) while ensuring that the internal temperature of the mask unit does not exceed 41 to 43 °C (thermal foldback protection may be provided at a threshold temperature (e.g., >42° Celsius) to prevent a user from experiencing bums or discomfort; thermal foldback protection may trigger a light-emitting device to terminate operation, reduce current, or change an operating state in response to receipt of a signal indicating an excess temperature condition) [par. 0168]. Lay does not discloses the combination LED modules are installed on the substrate at intervals of 14 to 20 mm from each other.
Belkowksi discloses an analogous photodynamic therapy device comprising an array of LEDs (#15) with a pitch (center-to-center spacing) of 3 to 15 mm [par. 0049].
Moffat discloses an analogous photodynamic therapy device comprising LED arrays. Moffat discloses, as one of skill in the art would recognize, that the intensity of the LED array can be selected by adjusting various parameters of the array and associated components. For example, the intensity of the LED array can be increased by increasing the input energy delivered to the LEDs (e.g., by changing the power source or controls thereon), increasing the quantity of LEDs per unit area, decreasing the distance between the LEDs and the treatment area on the patient (e.g., 0-3 cm), decreasing the degree of light spreading of the lens(es) on the LEDs, and/or changing other features of the LED array that impact the radiation intensity. Conversely, the intensity of the LED array can be decreased by decreasing the level of energy delivered to the LEDs, decreasing the quantity of LEDs per unit area, increasing the distance between the LEDs and the treatment area on the patient, increasing the degree of light spreading of the lens(es) on the LEDs, and/or changing other features of the LED array that impact the radiation intensity [par. 0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination LED modules of Lay to have an interval/pitch of 14 or 15 mm as taught by Belkowski in order to provide the desired intensity for therapy depending on the other parameters of combination LED modules as taught by Moffat. These are result effective variables.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Lay discloses the mask unit comprises an inner transmissive layer (light-transmissive element, #14) placed on the user’s face formed with an inner eye-exposure hole and an outer mask unit (housing, #12) coupled to the inner mask unit and formed with an outer eye-exposure hole communicating with the inner eye-exposure hole but does not disclose the light irradiation unit disposed on an outer surface. Lay has a plurality of standoffs (#31) that provide spacing between the light irradiation unit (LED PCB assembly, #22) and the inner transmissive layer [par. 0259]. Lay discloses a light-blocking member (eyepiece, #24) installed around the inner eye-exposure hole and the outer eye-exposure hole to prevent light from entering the eyes [par. 0259] but does not disclose a light transfer supply means installed in the inner mask unit to irradiate skin around the eyes with light, wherein the light transfer supply means comprises a light supply unit installed around the inner eye-exposure hole and formed of a light-transmitting material to make light enter and exit, and a light transfer unit arranged between the light supply unit and the LED to transfer light to the light supply unit.
Claims 7-9 depend from claim 6 and would also be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(1) Molina (US 2005/0070977) discloses a light emitting face mask comprising an internal flexible printed circuit board (#32) containing LEDs (#36) to provide therapy to the face and a separate set of LEDs (#44) that direct therapy to the eyes within an inner eye patch (#42) located in through holes (#56).
(2) Alexander et al. (US 5,913,883) discloses a therapeutic facial mask with a plurality of LEDs and eye holes.
(3) Chen (US 2007/0135869) discloses a face mask with an array of LEDs and eye through holes.
(4) Kim (US 2022/0152317) discloses a face mask with an array of LEDs on a central layer and eye through holes extending through an exterior mask layer.
(5) Bhardwaj (US 2007/0339462) discloses a phototherapy face mask with an array of LEDs and eye through holes.
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 10 July 2026