Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GE (US 20150370115 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GE discloses a display substrate (e.g., Fig. 8; display 14), comprising: a base substrate (substrate 56); and a plurality of support pillars (spacers 122) disposed on a side surface of the base substrate (substrate 56), wherein the support pillars (spacers 122) have a first surface (surface S1) close to the base substrate (substrate 56) and a second surface (surface S2) opposite to the first surface; and in any direction parallel to the base substrate, a ratio of a width of the first surface to a width of the second surface is greater than or equal to 0.8 and less than or equal to 1.2 (Fig. 8 and [0090]; the first surface has a width D1 and the second surface has a width D2, D1=D2 and D1/D2=1), and the width of the first surface is greater than or equal to 0.8 micrometers and less than or equal to 3 micrometers (Fig. 8 and [0090]; the first surface has a width D1, and D1 =2um or 3um).
4. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NISHIMURA (US 20190302506 A1).
Regarding claim 21, NISHIMURA (Figs. 1-8) discloses a preparation method of a display substrate, comprising: providing a base substrate (e.g., Fig. 2; substrate 40); forming a light-shielding layer and a plurality of support pillars on a side of the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 2; light-shielding layer 41 and spacers 51/52 on the substrate 40), wherein the plurality of support pillars are disposed on a surface of the light-shielding layer away from the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 2; spacers 51/52 disposed on light-shielding layer 41), the light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-shielding patterns, in orthographic projections on the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 2; light-shielding patterns 41), different support pillars are disposed in different light- shielding patterns (e.g., Fig. 2; spacers 51/52 disposed on different light-shielding patterns 41), and shapes of the support pillars and the light-shielding patterns overlapping with each other are substantially the same shape (e.g., Fig. 2; spacers 51 and 52 disposed on different light-shielding patterns 41 have same shape), the plurality of support pillars comprise a first support pillar and a second support pillar (e.g., Fig. 2; spacer 51 and spacer 52), a height of the first support pillar in a first direction is greater than a height of the second support pillar in the first direction, and the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the light-shielding layer (e.g., Fig. 2; spacer 51 has a height greater than a height of spacer 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1; GE’115) in view of GE (US 20140307207 A1; GE’207).
Regarding claim 2, GE’115 (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of support pillars comprises a first support pillar and a second support pillar (e.g., Fig. 8; a first spacer 122 and a second spacer 122), but does not disclose a height of the first support pillar in a first direction is greater than a height of the second support pillar in the first direction. However, the same inventor GE’207 (e.g., Figs. 10 and 15) discloses a display substrate, wherein the plurality of support pillars comprises a first support pillar and a second support pillar (e.g., Fig. 10; a first spacer 102A and a second spacer 102B), a height of the first support pillar in a first direction is greater than a height of the second support pillar in the first direction, and the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the second surface of the support pillars (e.g., Fig. 10 and [0057]; the first spacer 102A has a height H1, the second spacer 102B has a height H2, and H1>H2);. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from GE’207 to the column spacers of the display device of GE’115. The combination/motivation would be to provide column spacers having sufficient support for the display devices.
Regarding claim 3, GE’115 in view of GE’207 discloses the display substrate according to claim 2, GE’115 (e.g., Figs. 8 and 24) discloses wherein a light-shielding layer (black matrix layer 124) is disposed between the base substrate (Fig. 8, substrate 56A; Fig. 24; substrate 56) and the support pillars (spacer 122), and the light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-shielding patterns (black matrix patterns 124); and an orthographic projection of at least one of the support pillars (spacer 122) on the base substrate (substrate 56A or 56) is located in an orthographic projection of one of the light-shielding patterns (black matrix pattern 124) on the base substrate (substrate 56A or 56), and in orthographic projections on the base substrate (substrate 56A or 56), the support pillar (spacer 122) are centrally disposed within the light-shielding patterns (black matrix pattern 124) overlapping with the support pillars (spacer 122).
Regarding claim 16, GE’115 in view of GE’207 discloses the display substrate according to claim 2, GE’115 (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses wherein the first support pillar comprises a third surface which is a surface of the first support pillar away from the base (e.g., Fig. 8; sub spacer formed by layer structure 134 has a surface away from substrate 56, corresponding to the second surface S2 of first spacer 122), the second support pillar comprises a fourth surface which is a surface of the second support pillar away from the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 8; sub spacer formed by layer structure 134 has a surface away from substrate 56, corresponding to the second surface S2 of second spacer 122), and a roughness of the third surface is less than or equal to a roughness of the fourth surface (e.g., Fig. 8; third surface and fourth surface are formed by same layer structure 134).
7. Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of ZHOU (CN 115469486 A).
Regarding claim 4, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the support pillars comprise: an inner pillar and an outer pillar. However, ZHOU discloses a display substrate (e.g., Figs. 3-4 and 8), wherein the support pillars (spacers 500) comprise: an inner pillar (inner spacer 510) and an outer pillar (outer spacers 520), the outer pillar (outer spacers 520) is disposed around a periphery of the inner pillar (inner spacer 510), the outer pillar (outer spacers 520) is disposed close to a side surface of the support pillars (inner spacer 510) and a density of the outer pillar (outer spacers 520; [0046]-[0047] and [0082]-[0083]) is less than that of the inner pillar (outer spacers 520). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHOU to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 5, GE in view of ZHOU discloses the display substrate according to claim 4, ZHOU discloses wherein the support pillars comprise: a plurality of sub-pillars stacked sequentially in the first direction (e.g., Figs. 1-5; spacer 500 including a plurality of sub-spacers), at least two of the sub-pillars have different features comprising at least one of a size of holes on a side surface of the sub-pillars, a density of holes on the side surface of the sub-pillars, a lateral inclination angle of the sub-pillars, and a size of the sub-pillars in the second direction (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; spacer 500 including a plurality of sub-spacers having different sizes), the lateral inclination angle is an angle between the side surface of the sub-pillars and the first direction, the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the second surface of the support pillars, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (e.g., Figs. 1-5); and the plurality of sub-pillars comprises a first sub-pillar, a second sub-pillar and a third sub-pillar, the first sub-pillar is disposed close to the base substrate, the third sub-pillar is disposed away from the base substrate, and the second sub-pillar is disposed between the first sub-pillar and the third sub- pillar (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; spacer 500 including three sub spacers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHOU to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 6, GE in view of ZHOU discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, ZHOU discloses wherein a size of holes on a side surface of the second sub-pillar is greater than or equal to a size of holes on a side surface of the first sub- pillar (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; each sub-spacer of spacer 500 including opening 600 having same size), and the size of holes on the side surface of the first sub-pillar is greater than or equal to a size of holes size on a side surface of the third sub-pillar (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; each sub-spacer of spacer 500 including opening 600 having same size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHOU to the spacers of the display device of GE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, GE in view of ZHOU discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, ZHOU discloses wherein a density of holes on the side surface of the second sub-pillar is less than or equal to a density of holes on the side surface of the first sub-pillar (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; each sub-spacer of spacer 500 including openings 600 having same density of openings), and a density of holes on the side surface of the first sub-pillar is less than or equal to a density of holes on the side surface of the third sub-pillar (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 5; each sub-spacer of spacer 500 including openings 600 having same density of openings). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHOU to the spacers of the display device of GE for the same reason above.
8. Claims 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of HASEGAWA (US 5499128 A).
Regarding claim 5, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose the features as claimed in claim 5. However, Wang discloses a display substrate (Figs. 2-21; display device and different structures of support pillars), wherein the support pillars comprise: a plurality of sub-pillars stacked sequentially in the first direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112), at least two of the sub-pillars have different features comprising at least one of a size of holes on a side surface of the sub-pillars, a density of holes on the side surface of the sub-pillars, a lateral inclination angle of the sub-pillars (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112), and a size of the sub-pillars in the second direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112), the lateral inclination angle is an angle between the side surface of the sub-pillars and the first direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112), the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the second surface of the support pillars, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15); and the plurality of sub-pillars comprises a first sub-pillar, a second sub-pillar and a third sub-pillar, the first sub-pillar is disposed close to the base substrate, the third sub-pillar is disposed away from the base substrate, and the second sub-pillar is disposed between the first sub-pillar and the third sub- pillar (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112 including three sub spacers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HASEGAWA to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 8, GE in view of HASEGAWA discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, HASEGAWA discloses wherein a lateral inclination angle of the second sub-pillar is less than or equal to a lateral inclination angle of the first sub-pillar (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; inclination angle of each sub-spacer of spacer 112), and the lateral inclination angle of the first sub-pillar is less than or equal to a lateral inclination angle of the third sub-pillar (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; inclination angle of each sub-spacer of spacer 112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HASEGAWA to the spacers of the display device of GE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 9, GE in view of HASEGAWA discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, HASEGAWA discloses wherein the lateral inclination angle is greater than or equal to 0° and less than or equal to 30° (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; inclination angle of each sub-spacer of spacer 112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HASEGAWA to the spacers of the display device of GE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 10, GE in view of HASEGAWA discloses the display substrate according to claim 5, HASEGAWA discloses wherein a size of the second sub-pillar in the second direction is less than or equal to a size of the first sub-pillar in the second direction, and the size of the first sub-pillar in the second direction is less than or equal to a size of the third sub-pillar in the second direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112 and sub-spacers); or the size the first sub-pillar in the second direction is less than or equal to the size of the second sub-pillar in the second direction, and the size of the second sub-pillar in the second direction is less than or equal to the size of the third sub-pillar in the second direction (e.g., Figs. 4, 7-11, and 15; spacer 112 and sub-spacers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HASEGAWA to the spacers of the display device of GE for the same reason above.
9. Claims 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of CHO (US 20150253608 A1).
Regarding claim 11, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the support pillars comprise at least one of: a boss, disposed at an edge of a surface of the support pillars away from the base substrate, and recessed toward a side close to the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 8; structure 130); and a slit, close to a position where the side surface of the support pillars intersects the first surface (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional). As another reference, CHO discloses a substrate, wherein the support pillars comprise at least one of: a boss, disposed at an edge of a surface of the support pillars away from the base substrate, and recessed toward a side close to the base substrate (e.g., Fig. 4; structure 170). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 18, GE discloses a display panel (e.g., Fig. 8; display 14), comprising: a cell substrate (substrate 58), a liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 52), and the display substrate according to claim 1,wherein the liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 52) is disposed between the cell substrate and the display substrate (e.g., Figs. 8 and 25-26), and the support pillars (spacer 122) are disposed close to the liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 52); and the cell substrate comprises a cell base (substrate 58), and a plurality of bosses (structures 130) disposed on a side of the cell substrate (substrate 58) close to the liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer 52), and the plurality of bosses (structures 130) are disposed opposite different support pillars (spacer 122). As another reference, CHO discloses a display panel (e.g., Fig. 4), comprising: a cell substrate (substrate 100-120), a liquid crystal layer ([0062]; liquid crystal layer), and the display substrate according to claim 1,wherein the liquid crystal layer ([0062]; liquid crystal layer 52) is disposed between the cell substrate and the display substrate (e.g., Fig. 4 and [0062]), and the support pillars (spacers 310/320) are disposed close to the liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer); and the cell substrate comprises a cell base (substrate 100-120), and a plurality of bosses (structures 170) disposed on a side of the cell substrate (substrate 100-120) close to the liquid crystal layer (liquid crystal layer), and the plurality of bosses (structures 170) are disposed opposite different support pillars (spacer 310/320). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 19, GE discloses a display panel, comprising: the display substrate according to claim 1; and a plurality of light-emitting devices (Figs. 8 and 25-26; R, G, and B display pixels, each display pixel corresponding to a light emitter), wherein in orthographic projections on the base substrate, the support pillars are disposed between two adjacent light-emitting devices (Figs. 8 and 25-26; spacer 122 disposed between two adjacent display pixels). As another reference, CHO discloses a display panel, comprising: a plurality of light-emitting devices (Figs. 3 and 4; R, G, and B display pixels, each display pixel corresponding to a light emitter), wherein in orthographic projections on the base substrate, the support pillars are disposed between two adjacent light-emitting devices (Figs. 3 and 4; spacer 310/320 disposed between two adjacent display pixels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure damage to the display devices.
Regarding claim 20, GE in view of CHO discloses a display apparatus, comprising: the display panel according to claim 18; and a driving component, connected to the display panel and configured for driving the display panel to display a picture (e.g., GE, Fig. 6 and [0058]-[0066]; display driver).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of YOON (US 20060238693 A1).
Regarding claim 12, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose but does not disclose the features in claim 12. However, YOON discloses wherein in orthographic projections on the base substrate, a ratio of a minimum distance between an edge of the support pillars and an edge of the light-shielding patterns, to heights of the support pillars in the first direction, is greater than or equal to 1/1.2 and less than or equal to 1, and the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the second surface of the support pillars (Fig. 9 and [0110], [0114]; e.g., a minimum distance D between an edge of the spacer 220 and an edge of the light-shielding pattern 201 is D=60um, the spacer 220 has a height of H=60um, and D/H=1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIN to the spacers of the display device of GE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a light-shielding structure to prevent external light from leaking into the display panel.
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of LIN (US 20180341141 A1).
Regarding claim 14, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose the features in claim 14. However, LIN (e.g., Fugs. 1-6) discloses a display substrate, wherein in orthographic projections on the base substrate, a minimum distance between an edge of the first support pillar and an edge of the light-shielding patterns is substantially equal to a minimum distance between an edge of the second support pillar and the edge of the light-shielding patterns (e.g., Figs. 1-6; minimum distance W from the edge of the spacer 04 to the edge of light-shielding structure 05; [0036]-[0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIN to the spacers of the display device of GE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a light-shielding structure to prevent external light from leaking into the display panel.
12. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over GE (US 20150370115 A1) in view of EBISU (US 20030214623 A1).
Regarding claim 15, GE (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses the display substrate according to claim 1, but does not disclose the features in claim 15. However, EBISU (e.g., Fugs. 1-6) discloses a display substrate, wherein a height of the support pillars in the first direction is greater than or equal to 1.0 micrometers and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers (Figs. 2-3 and 8 and [0114]; e.g., spacer 116 has a height of 1um); and/or a ratio of a size of the support pillars in the second direction to the height of the support pillars in the first direction is greater than or equal to 1/1.3 (Figs. 2-3 and 8 and [0114]; e.g., spacer 116 has a height of 1um and a width of 1um); and the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the second surface of the support pillars, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 2-3 and 8 and [0114]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHO to the spacers of the display device of GE. The spacer structures would provide sufficient support, distribute weight, and prevent pressure light leakage to the display devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a preparation method of a display substrate. The closet prior arts, NISHIMURA (US 20190302506 A1), GE (US 20150370115 A1), GE (US 20140307207 A1), HASEGAWA (US 5499128 A), CHO (US 20150253608 A1), YOON (US 20060238693 A1), LIN (US 20180341141 A1), EBISU (US 20030214623 A1), and ZHOU (CN 115469486 A), individually or in combination, discloses a preparation method of a display substrate, comprising: providing a base substrate; forming a light-shielding layer and a plurality of support pillars on a side of the base substrate, wherein the plurality of support pillars are disposed on a surface of the light-shielding layer away from the base substrate, the light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-shielding patterns, in orthographic projections on the base substrate, different support pillars are disposed in different light- shielding patterns, and shapes of the support pillars and the light-shielding patterns overlapping with each other are substantially the same shape, the plurality of support pillars comprise a first support pillar and a second support pillar, a height of the first support pillar in a first direction is greater than a height of the second support pillar in the first direction, and the first direction is a direction from the base substrate to the light-shielding layer, but fails to teach wherein the forming the light- shielding layer and the plurality of support pillars on the side of the base substrate comprises: forming a light-shielding film on a side of the base substrate; forming a support film on a side of the light-shielding film away from the base substrate; forming a mask pattern on a side of the support film away from the base substrate by a patterning process; etching the support film not covered with the mask pattern to form a plurality of support patterns; etching the light-shielding film not covered with the mask pattern to form a plurality of light- shielding patterns, so as to obtain the light-shielding layer; transversely etching the plurality of support patterns to form a third support pillar and a fourth support pillar; covering a protective film on a side of the third support pillar, a mask pattern connected with the third support pillar, and a light-shielding pattern connected with the third support pillar away from the base substrate; removing the mask pattern connected with the fourth support pillar; removing the protective film; longitudinally etching the fourth support pillar to obtain the second support pillar; and removing the mask pattern connected with the third support pillar to obtain the first support pillar.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623